$115 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 1, 2014 Check-out: Nov 4, 2014

BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

3 stars
2051 Shelter Island Dr., San Diego, CA 92106
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
461 reviews
Beautiful!!

Such a beautiful place! Upon arrival was upgraded at no cost to lovely room with small patio facing... See full review

  • ladyamaya
  • Apr 29, 2014
Vacation getaway

Perfect hotel for week getaway with the significant other. Beautiful and convenient location with... See full review

  • Midwest Guy1
  • Mar 8, 2014
Convenient hotel on Shelter Island with free bike rentals
The Best Western Island Palms Hotel & Marina combines the best of both worlds: a modern hotel with a state-of-the-art marina. The property is located on Shelter Island, which is known among locals as San Diego's Hawaiian isle. Hotel guests can unwind at one of two bayside pools or an outdoor fireplace with breathtaking views of Point Loma. Accommodations span three distinct sections of the hotel, each with a unique theme and feel. The on-site restaurant, Blue Wave Bar & Grill, serves tasty, island style seafood.
Highlights
  • Private Mega-Yacht Marina
  • Two bayside pools, one with outdoor fireplace
  • On-site restaurant serves island-style cuisine
  • Complimentary bike rentals
  • Complimentary shuttle to San Diego Airport and Amtrak
Rooms

The Best Western Island Palms Hotel & Marina offers 227 rooms, including 60 suites. Accommodations span three sections of the hotel: Casa del Mar, Casa Marina and Island Palms. All three have different decor including tropical and Mediterranean themes. Rooms vary in size and configuration, but each comes standard with a flat-screen TV, ironing board, hair dryer and spacious work desk. Most suites include a kitchen with mini refrigerator and microwave. Most accommodations feature balconies and patios. Guests also receive complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access.

Features

The Best Western Island Palms Hotel & Marina sits on Shelter Island, which is known among locals as San Diego's Hawaiian isle for its tropical landscape. The property overlooks a private marina and sits adjacent to bike paths encircling San Diego Bay. The hotel is within one mile of Point Loma.

All guests receive complimentary transfers to the airport or cruise ship terminal, as well as complimentary bike rentals. Guests also have access to two pools, a spa, fitness center and garden patio with outdoor fireplace.

The Blue Wave Bar & Grill specializes in tropical-style cuisine.

Transportation
  • Complimentary shuttle to San Diego Airport and Amtrak
  • MTS Bus (4 blocks)
  • San Diego International Airport (3 mi/5 km)
  • San Diego Trolley (3.5 mi/ 5.6 km)
Attractions
  • Old Town (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • SeaWorld (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Gaslamp District (8 mi/12.9 km)
  • Petco Park (8 mi/12.9 km)
  • San Diego Zoo (8 mi/12.9 km)
Business
  • 6,300 square feet of meeting space accommodates up to 150 guests
  • Outdoor space can be converted into meeting facility
  • Conference windows overlook marina
Policies and Fees

  • Starting 01 June, parking fee will be $10 USD per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.7145 -117.2279
Area served
San Diego. The Island Palms Hotel & Marina is ideally located on Shelter Island, surrounded by San Diego Bay and our private, mega-yacht marina. We take pride in providing excellent service in a tranquil, casual, California setting
Nearby airports
Lindburgh Field 3 miles, San Diego International Airport 3 miles
Area description
Mexican border is just 20 minutes away, San Diego Zoo - 13 miles, Sea World - 5.7 miles, Legoland - 38 miles, Birch Aquarium at Scripps - 13.7 miles, Balboa Park - 5.6 miles, Del Mar Race Track / Fairgrounds - 21.2 miles, Gaslamp Quarter - 5 miles, Seaport Village - 5 miles, La Jolla - 12 miles, Tijuana - 21 miles.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina Rooms

Waterview Suite
Just steps away from our private yacht marina, this 600 square foot Island Palms Suite offers one king or two Queen beds per hotel availability in a private bedroom and a living room with sofa sleeper. Fully equipped kitchens feature granite countertops, full size refrigerator, coffee maker, microwave double sink and stove top. Enjoy breathtaking views of motoryachts drifting by or simply enjoy the San Diego sunsets from your private patio.
Island Palms Standard
Our traditional Island Palms guestrooms come equipped with one King or two double beds per hotel availability , sitting area with work desk, complimentary high speed internet access, fresh brew coffee/tea makers, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, cable TV with HBO movies and Nintendo, refrigerator and a beautiful bathroom featuring a slab granite vanity and granite and glass enclosed shower.
Deluxe Waterview
This room has beautiful views of the San Diego Bay or the hotel's private marina. Each room is furnished with two queen or 1 king-sized beds, 42" LCD TV, mini refrigerator, coffee maker, hairdryer, and iron/ironing board. The workspace is equipped with a Herman Miller ergonomic chair, jack pack for your electronic devices, and complimentary wireless internet access. The bathrooms have marble counters and tile-surround bathtubs.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Sunset Cliffs: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.1 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.6 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.4 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.4 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.4 mi
  • Sea World: 3.5 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.7 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.7 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.8 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 4 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4.1 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4.2 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.1 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.6 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.4 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.4 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.4 mi
  • Sea World: 3.5 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.7 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.7 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.8 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 4 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4.1 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 4.3 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 4.4 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 4.4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 4.6 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 4.6 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 4.7 mi
  • Botanical Building: 4.7 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 4.8 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 4.8 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 4.9 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 4.9 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5.2 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 5.8 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 6.7 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 8.8 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 9 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12.4 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 29 mi
  • Legoland: 29.1 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,121.9 mi

Dining

Blue Wave Bar and Grill
Step into the Blue Wave Bar & Grill for great waterfront dining with spectacular views of the bay and our private marina. Experience the tropical feel of our bayside restaurant or enjoy the gentle ocean breezes while dining outdoors on the patio. Menu items include fresh seafood, tender steaks, innovative daily specials and much more. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. 6:30am to 9pm Sun - Thurs and 6:30 to 10pm Fri & Sat. Happy Hour daily from 4pm to 6pm.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
6, 300 square feet of flexible waterview conference and banquet facilities. Bay Room 27' x 24' 648 Square Feet Board Room 11' x 17' 187 Square Feet Grand Marina Room 30' x 64' Square Feet Harbor Room 28' x 32' 896 Square Feet Marina Room 1 31' x 31' Square Feet Marina Room 2 30' x 24' 965 Square Feet Sunset Room 30' x 60' 1624 Square Feet Santa Barbara 42'x25' 1076 Square Feet

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (461)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
461 out of 461
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pheel
West Chester, Ohio
Aug 19, 2012

wonderful family getaway

Centrally located...easy to get to many other attractions in the San Diego area. Hotel very clean, staff exceptionally nice and helpful. Hotel is very quiet, has excellent dining and so glad all three meals are offered at the Hotel. Plan to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kate0007
LA, CA
Feb 11, 2013

Expecting Better...

OK hotel with nice and helpful staff. The location is great but a bit overprice for what they offer. The rooms are clean but seem dated. A/C was very loud. The bed was way too soft and my back hurts in the morning. Sound prove was very bad so we heard the next door party and upstairs walking all night. We did enjoy the nice winter morning walk by the Marina but that's about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Poppy G
Pittsburgh PA
Jan 30, 2013

Nice stay on the bay

Visited family in San Diego. Spent 6 days at the Island Palms. Beautiful and quiet (except for the incessant fog horn), with a nice view of the city from across the bay. Nicely appointed and comfortable room. A great value! Would stay again for sure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Country Waffles, about 1 mile from the hotel on Midway Dr off of Pacific Hwy....if we lived in San Diego, we would be regulars

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ptolemy
suburban New Jersey
Jan 21, 2013

Shelter Island location a plus

We stayed two nights during low season and felt we had discovered the perfect location overall to see most San Diego sights. Shelter Island is uncrowded but there are several good restaurants nearby, including the one at the Hotel. Driving from the hotel to various sights is especially easy via Rosecranz or Harbor Drive. The location is particularly convenient for Point Loma National Park--well worth the $5 per car charge--and for Sunset Cliffs, a nice experience to enjoy. The newly refurbished room we had on a second floor was quite nice. We faced the bay and City, not the more expensive Marina view. An early morning walk on the fishing pier across the road from the hotel is fun, a chance to spot pelicans, other birds, even a seal. We did not make use of any of the hotel's facilities other than the good restaurant (it was Restaurant Week in SD,) so we can't really comment on the adequacy of the very small fitness room off the main lobby or the beautiful-looking swimming pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
nuff
Eastern Oregon
Jan 20, 2013

Nice....

The rooms and grounds were well maintained. Great view from the bay in front of our room as well as the marina on the backside of the motel. Pool/hot tub area was very nice. Our room was in an area that was strictly adults so it was very quiet --- other than the navy helicopters! Only downside was the BED!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nana Irene
Fort McMurray, Alberta
Nov 20, 2012

Medical Trip to Mexico

I wanted my husband to experience a hotel with a view of the Bay or the Yacht Club. View was amazing! Room was comfortable but we could hear the child crying in the room next to us. Loved having breakfast out on the terrace overlooking the sailboats. You will need to take a taxi to most of the sights though so consider this into your cost. They have bikes on site to use and also had a nice sized pool. Safe area to be walking in...has a boardwalk right across the street. We walked around at night to another restaurant nearby called Brigantine which I highly recommend as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

Fantastic breakfast! And lots on your plate.....husband thoroughly enjoyed the food and surroundings.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bus Driver Guy
Surrey, BC, Canada
Nov 18, 2012

San Deigo Visit

The hotel is well situated to most of the attractions. The only draw back for me was that the building I stayed in (Casa Marina) was at the far end of the complex. This meant you had to walk a fair distance to the lobby/restaurant and pools. I also paid for a deluxe waterview room and was given a room on the ground floor facing the marina. Nice view of all the boats in the marina but not what I would call a "deluxe" waterview room. The selection for breakfast menu was a bit limited and the service a bit slow at first. I would return to this hotel again but I will ask for a second or third floor room. I would recommend this property to others, as it is a close location from the airport and surrounding attractions as well as a pretty decent value for your dollar. The front desk staff were all fantastic. When I checked into my room, the clock wasn't working well and they sent someone to fix it right away. They were also very helpful in providing answers to any questions that I had. Great job all!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

If staying in one the buildings farthest away from the lobby, drive your vehicle closer to the lobby if your eating at the hotel restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
William Dublin1
Dublin, Ireland
Sep 29, 2012

customer very satisfied!

Stayed in this hotel with my partner for a10dys holiday and we were completely satisfied! We were staying on the Marina house, which is the last building and got a room with a view of the marina as requested upon booking. Very nice large room, fully equipped with a small fridge, iron and iron board, large bathroom and great TV + desk. There is 2pools and Jacuzzi, tennis courts and a bar/restaurant (which was quite experience in our opinion). We highly recommend this hotel and we are considering going back here for or next trip to San Diego :-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tuddie
Nothern Ca.
Sep 20, 2012

Great experience

The staff was excellent and so friendly. I would recommend getting a room on the marina side. The large pool was clean and not to cold. Going back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Live concerts

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tomcat 21
Long Island, NY
Sep 19, 2012

Great Place and Great Stay

One of the best experience for the value and the scenery. It located in prime real estate and close to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

A great view of the bay and the ship channel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Medellin, Colombia
Sep 16, 2012

Excellent location and great room

Excellent location because its just 7 miles from the airport and yet it is on an island with water surrounding you and away from the noise and traffic jam.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top