$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 25, 2015 Check-out: Jan 26, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

3 stars
2051 Shelter Island Dr., San Diego, CA 92106
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
470 reviews
Perfect location!

Perfect location! New, clean rooms. Be aware that breakfast is not included. See full review

  • Susan
  • Dec 22, 2014
Fabulous views and total relaxation

We were totally surprised at how lovely this Best Western was. The staff, rooms, quality of food... See full review

  • Coastal Lover
  • Nov 30, 2014
Convenient hotel on Shelter Island with free bike rentals
The Best Western Island Palms Hotel & Marina combines the best of both worlds: a modern hotel with a state-of-the-art marina. The property is located on Shelter Island, which is known among locals as San Diego's Hawaiian isle. Hotel guests can unwind at one of two bayside pools or an outdoor fireplace with breathtaking views of Point Loma. Accommodations span three distinct sections of the hotel, each with a unique theme and feel. The on-site restaurant, Blue Wave Bar & Grill, serves tasty, island style seafood.
Highlights
  • Private Mega-Yacht Marina
  • Two bayside pools, one with outdoor fireplace
  • On-site restaurant serves island-style cuisine
  • Complimentary bike rentals
Rooms

The Best Western Island Palms Hotel & Marina offers 227 rooms, including 60 suites. Accommodations span three sections of the hotel: Casa del Mar, Casa Marina and Island Palms. All three have different decor including tropical and Mediterranean themes. Rooms vary in size and configuration, but each comes standard with a flat-screen TV, ironing board, hair dryer and spacious work desk. Most suites include a kitchen with mini refrigerator and microwave. Most accommodations feature balconies and patios. Guests also receive complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access.

Features

The Best Western Island Palms Hotel & Marina sits on Shelter Island, which is known among locals as San Diego's Hawaiian isle for its tropical landscape. The property overlooks a private marina and sits adjacent to bike paths encircling San Diego Bay. The hotel is within one mile of Point Loma.

The hotel offers complimentary bike rentals. Guests also have access to two pools, a spa, fitness center and garden patio with outdoor fireplace.

The Blue Wave Bar & Grill specializes in tropical-style cuisine.

Transportation
  • MTS Bus (4 blocks)
  • San Diego International Airport (3 mi/5 km)
  • San Diego Trolley (3.5 mi/ 5.6 km)
Attractions
  • Old Town (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • SeaWorld (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Gaslamp District (8 mi/12.9 km)
  • Petco Park (8 mi/12.9 km)
  • San Diego Zoo (8 mi/12.9 km)
Business
  • 6,300 square feet of meeting space accommodates up to 150 guests
  • Outdoor space can be converted into meeting facility
  • Conference windows overlook marina
Policies and Fees

  • Starting 01 June, parking fee will be $10 USD per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina Rooms

Waterview Suite
Just steps away from our private yacht marina, this 600 square foot Island Palms Suite offers one king or two Queen beds per hotel availability in a private bedroom and a living room with sofa sleeper. Fully equipped kitchens feature granite countertops, full size refrigerator, coffee maker, microwave double sink and stove top. Enjoy breathtaking views of motoryachts drifting by or simply enjoy the San Diego sunsets from your private patio.
Island Palms Standard
Our traditional Island Palms guestrooms come equipped with one King or two double beds per hotel availability , sitting area with work desk, complimentary high speed internet access, fresh brew coffee/tea makers, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, cable TV with HBO movies and Nintendo, refrigerator and a beautiful bathroom featuring a slab granite vanity and granite and glass enclosed shower.
Deluxe Waterview
This room has beautiful views of the San Diego Bay or the hotel's private marina. Each room is furnished with two queen or 1 king-sized beds, 42" LCD TV, mini refrigerator, coffee maker, hairdryer, and iron/ironing board. The workspace is equipped with a Herman Miller ergonomic chair, jack pack for your electronic devices, and complimentary wireless internet access. The bathrooms have marble counters and tile-surround bathtubs.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Sunset Cliffs: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.1 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.6 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.4 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.4 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.4 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.7 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.7 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.8 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4.1 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 4.3 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 4.4 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.1 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.6 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.4 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.4 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.4 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.7 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.7 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.8 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4.1 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 4.3 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 4.4 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 4.4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 4.6 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 4.6 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 4.7 mi
  • Botanical Building: 4.7 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 4.8 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 4.8 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 4.9 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 4.9 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5.2 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 5.8 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 6.7 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 8.8 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 9 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12.4 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 29 mi
  • Legoland: 29.1 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,121.9 mi

Dining

Blue Wave Bar and Grill
Step into the Blue Wave Bar & Grill for great waterfront dining with spectacular views of the bay and our private marina. Experience the tropical feel of our bayside restaurant or enjoy the gentle ocean breezes while dining outdoors on the patio. Menu items include fresh seafood, tender steaks, innovative daily specials and much more. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. 6:30am to 9pm Sun - Thurs and 6:30 to 10pm Fri & Sat. Happy Hour daily from 4pm to 6pm.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
6, 300 square feet of flexible waterview conference and banquet facilities. Bay Room 27' x 24' 648 Square Feet Board Room 11' x 17' 187 Square Feet Grand Marina Room 30' x 64' Square Feet Harbor Room 28' x 32' 896 Square Feet Marina Room 1 31' x 31' Square Feet Marina Room 2 30' x 24' 965 Square Feet Sunset Room 30' x 60' 1624 Square Feet Santa Barbara 42'x25' 1076 Square Feet

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (470)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
470 out of 470
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
William Dublin1
Dublin, Ireland
Sep 29, 2012

customer very satisfied!

Stayed in this hotel with my partner for a10dys holiday and we were completely satisfied! We were staying on the Marina house, which is the last building and got a room with a view of the marina as requested upon booking. Very nice large room, fully equipped with a small fridge, iron and iron board, large bathroom and great TV + desk. There is 2pools and Jacuzzi, tennis courts and a bar/restaurant (which was quite experience in our opinion). We highly recommend this hotel and we are considering going back here for or next trip to San Diego :-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sandiego travel
Business
San diego
May 29, 2013

Thank You

we enjoyed our stay! hotel was clean and nice and close to everything!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SheS
Business
Fort Wayne indiana
May 11, 2013

Weekend trip

We where trailing for my sons graduation at MCRD. It was about a ten-fifteen minute drive from his base. Staff was friendly and helpful. I was surprised that there was not a small store to purchase much needed items like toiletries and much needed sunscreen or alovera, and map of hotel area needs updated, no soda/snack/ice machines that i could find on the property for the guests. But staff was helpful in giving us directions to where we could purchase these items! Our room was just across from where the staff would arrive to work, and deliveries where being made at all hours of the night then on our last day we where woken up several times by loud staff members cursing outside our rooms, and complaining of there jobs! Shame on them.....They should be thankful they have jobs in today's economy, and more curtious to those whom are providing to their income!! The view of san Diego was amazing and in the morning we could hear seals off in the distance! Overall it was just simply ok, nothing to brag about!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
YumaNative
Business
San Diego
May 7, 2013

Great place!

Although I only stayed for two nights, the room was great. The food in the restaurant was very good, and I really enjoyed the outdoor fireplace by the pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mommyceo
Business
Aliso Viejo, CA
Apr 29, 2013

ok but probably would not stay there again

Location good and marina views nice. However, our room had a weird smell. Needs some updating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Geera
Business
Seattle
Apr 22, 2013

4 day get away

We loved the Island Palms. We upgraded to a larger room with a kitchen which worked out great for us since we were travelling with two teens. The cruiser bikes were great fun for the kids and us. The pool being right outside our door was awesome. San Diego weather was fantastic and Shelter Island is with special its tiki style hotels and the coolest tiki place, BALI HAI bar/restaurant. It was a simple bike ride away. Its a drive to beach, but what a great place to chill after a long day of hanging and being a tourist. Oh yes, free parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Puesto in La Jolla.and Papa Luna's Empanada Shop on Garnet in PB.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dabomb
Business
Utah
Apr 7, 2013

Not what we booked

we planned our vacation 3 months in advance paying full price on online thinking we would be placed in a great location and get the queen beds we thought we were paying for. We arrived late after driving 10 hours we got our rooms with double beds on the ground floor witha view of the parking lot instead of the second floor view of the bay with queen beds. The free Internet wasn't working, the lobby was full of others who wanted their Internet to work too but the room was clean and the desk gave us great places to eat. Our friends booked the hotel next door one week before our trip, got a better rate and better rooms with a warm pool, I would probably stay there next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
littlered20
Business
Washington State
Apr 6, 2013

Mom and daughter get away to check out colleges/universities

My daughter and I went to check out colleges/universities in the San Diego area. Great hotel in a more quiet location - so glad we didn't stay downtown. Felt like a relaxing tropical get away that was nice to get back to after our daily outings and adventures. Not too far from public transportation or call a taxi. Well lit and safe. Fire pits and a terrific walking/jogging trail along the bay side of the hotel. Lots of little critters to watch like baby ducks, sandpipers and seagulls.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
brenda525
Business
Omaha, NE
Apr 6, 2013

Can't beat location!

Love the location of this hotel! It is close to the zoo, Sea World, harbor activities, the airport, USS Midway, Seaport Village, Gaslamp Quarter, and Old Town! The view of the bay is amazing. Very friendly staff as well! Our only complaints were the high-speed internet was very intermittent and we could hear the guests in the room above us using the restroom - ugh!! It would also be nice if they offered free breakfast or lowered their rates to make up for not offering breakfast. We would recommend this hotel with no reservations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Next Level Sailing for a whale watching excursion - so fun!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ReinaResendez
Business
Los Angeles, California
Apr 2, 2013

Perfect Weekend Getaway.

This hotel has all the amenities I needed for a quiet birthday weekend getaway with my partner. I was looking for a hotel where I can just lounge around the room and not really have to drive anywhere for a cocktail. Bar on premises was perfect for not having to drive out to grab a drink. I ordered room service for breakfast and it was delicious. It's very tranquil and relaxing. I was extremely satisfied with the staff's friendliness and promptness of service. This was my second visit to this hotel and I plan on returning in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Bar on premises

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bullet Bob
Business
Green Valley AZ
Mar 28, 2013

Perfect location for our visit to San Diego.

Staff was extremely helpful in giving directions to local attractions. Room was clean and well appointed. excellent value for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Anthony's was an excellent restaurant for the seafood lover.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top