$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 30, 2014

BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

3 stars
2051 Shelter Island Dr., San Diego, CA 92106
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
744 reviews
Beautiful!!

Such a beautiful place! Upon arrival was upgraded at no cost to lovely room with small patio facing... See full review

  • ladyamaya
  • Apr 29, 2014
Vacation getaway

Perfect hotel for week getaway with the significant other. Beautiful and convenient location with... See full review

  • Midwest Guy1
  • Mar 8, 2014
Convenient hotel on Shelter Island with free bike rentals
The Best Western Island Palms Hotel & Marina combines the best of both worlds: a modern hotel with a state-of-the-art marina. The property is located on Shelter Island, which is known among locals as San Diego's Hawaiian isle. Hotel guests can unwind at one of two bayside pools or an outdoor fireplace with breathtaking views of Point Loma. Accommodations span three distinct sections of the hotel, each with a unique theme and feel. The on-site restaurant, Blue Wave Bar & Grill, serves tasty, island style seafood.
Highlights
  • Private Mega-Yacht Marina
  • Two bayside pools, one with outdoor fireplace
  • On-site restaurant serves island-style cuisine
  • Complimentary bike rentals
  • Complimentary shuttle to San Diego Airport and Amtrak
Rooms

The Best Western Island Palms Hotel & Marina offers 227 rooms, including 60 suites. Accommodations span three sections of the hotel: Casa del Mar, Casa Marina and Island Palms. All three have different decor including tropical and Mediterranean themes. Rooms vary in size and configuration, but each comes standard with a flat-screen TV, ironing board, hair dryer and spacious work desk. Most suites include a kitchen with mini refrigerator and microwave. Most accommodations feature balconies and patios. Guests also receive complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access.

Features

The Best Western Island Palms Hotel & Marina sits on Shelter Island, which is known among locals as San Diego's Hawaiian isle for its tropical landscape. The property overlooks a private marina and sits adjacent to bike paths encircling San Diego Bay. The hotel is within one mile of Point Loma.

All guests receive complimentary transfers to the airport or cruise ship terminal, as well as complimentary bike rentals. Guests also have access to two pools, a spa, fitness center and garden patio with outdoor fireplace.

The Blue Wave Bar & Grill specializes in tropical-style cuisine.

Transportation
  • Complimentary shuttle to San Diego Airport and Amtrak
  • MTS Bus (4 blocks)
  • San Diego International Airport (3 mi/5 km)
  • San Diego Trolley (3.5 mi/ 5.6 km)
Attractions
  • Old Town (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • SeaWorld (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Gaslamp District (8 mi/12.9 km)
  • Petco Park (8 mi/12.9 km)
  • San Diego Zoo (8 mi/12.9 km)
Business
  • 6,300 square feet of meeting space accommodates up to 150 guests
  • Outdoor space can be converted into meeting facility
  • Conference windows overlook marina
Policies and Fees

  • Starting 01 June, parking fee will be $10 USD per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina Rooms

Waterview Suite
Just steps away from our private yacht marina, this 600 square foot Island Palms Suite offers one king or two Queen beds per hotel availability in a private bedroom and a living room with sofa sleeper. Fully equipped kitchens feature granite countertops, full size refrigerator, coffee maker, microwave double sink and stove top. Enjoy breathtaking views of motoryachts drifting by or simply enjoy the San Diego sunsets from your private patio.
Island Palms Standard
Our traditional Island Palms guestrooms come equipped with one King or two double beds per hotel availability , sitting area with work desk, complimentary high speed internet access, fresh brew coffee/tea makers, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, cable TV with HBO movies and Nintendo, refrigerator and a beautiful bathroom featuring a slab granite vanity and granite and glass enclosed shower.
Deluxe Waterview
This room has beautiful views of the San Diego Bay or the hotel's private marina. Each room is furnished with two queen or 1 king-sized beds, 42" LCD TV, mini refrigerator, coffee maker, hairdryer, and iron/ironing board. The workspace is equipped with a Herman Miller ergonomic chair, jack pack for your electronic devices, and complimentary wireless internet access. The bathrooms have marble counters and tile-surround bathtubs.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.7145 -117.2279
Area served
San Diego. The Island Palms Hotel & Marina is ideally located on Shelter Island, surrounded by San Diego Bay and our private, mega-yacht marina. We take pride in providing excellent service in a tranquil, casual, California setting
Nearby airports
Lindburgh Field 3 miles, San Diego International Airport 3 miles
Area description
Mexican border is just 20 minutes away, San Diego Zoo - 13 miles, Sea World - 5.7 miles, Legoland - 38 miles, Birch Aquarium at Scripps - 13.7 miles, Balboa Park - 5.6 miles, Del Mar Race Track / Fairgrounds - 21.2 miles, Gaslamp Quarter - 5 miles, Seaport Village - 5 miles, La Jolla - 12 miles, Tijuana - 21 miles.

Nearby points of interest

  • Sunset Cliffs: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.1 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.6 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.4 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.4 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.4 mi
  • Sea World: 3.5 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.7 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.7 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.8 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 4 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4.1 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4.2 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.1 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.6 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.4 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.4 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.4 mi
  • Sea World: 3.5 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.7 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.7 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.8 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 4 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4.1 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 4.3 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 4.4 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 4.4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 4.6 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 4.6 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 4.7 mi
  • Botanical Building: 4.7 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 4.8 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 4.8 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 4.9 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 4.9 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5.2 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 5.8 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 6.7 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 8.8 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 9 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12.4 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 29 mi
  • Legoland: 29.1 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,121.9 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
6, 300 square feet of flexible waterview conference and banquet facilities. Bay Room 27' x 24' 648 Square Feet Board Room 11' x 17' 187 Square Feet Grand Marina Room 30' x 64' Square Feet Harbor Room 28' x 32' 896 Square Feet Marina Room 1 31' x 31' Square Feet Marina Room 2 30' x 24' 965 Square Feet Sunset Room 30' x 60' 1624 Square Feet Santa Barbara 42'x25' 1076 Square Feet

Dining

Blue Wave Bar and Grill
Step into the Blue Wave Bar & Grill for great waterfront dining with spectacular views of the bay and our private marina. Experience the tropical feel of our bayside restaurant or enjoy the gentle ocean breezes while dining outdoors on the patio. Menu items include fresh seafood, tender steaks, innovative daily specials and much more. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. 6:30am to 9pm Sun - Thurs and 6:30 to 10pm Fri & Sat. Happy Hour daily from 4pm to 6pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (744)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
744 out of 744
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cincinnati, OH
Jun 20, 2010

San Diego Trip - Best Western Isl Palms

Spectacular location. Lovely rooms. Very friendly staff. Provides a resort feeling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jester in San Diego
Toronto, ON
Dec 1, 2010

Best Western Island Palm ... very happy

I was very impressed with the Island Palm Best Western. I was put in the newer building and my view and location was amazing. I had booked my parents to stay there too with our little nephew. He was given a crib immediately and a microwave (no questions and quick service). The restaurant is reasonably priced for breakfast and parking is amble. The hotel has 2 pools, 2 hot tubs, tennis courts and bikes that you can sign out for free to roam the island. Honestly, i would stay here again. If your in the San Diego area and looking for a hotel under $100 a night, quiet safe location, by the sea and minutes from downtown, attractions, etc... this is the hotel you would stay at. I will go again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cincinnati, OH
Jun 20, 2010

San Diego Trip - Best Western Isl Palms

Spectacular location. Lovely rooms. Very friendly staff. Provides a resort feeling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hassle Free Travel Seeker
Metro DC
May 14, 2010

Great Stay!

Very clean and professional staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Near airport, but first class accomodation

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
love the ocean
Colorado
Feb 22, 2014

Great ocean view

It was just what I was looking for with the bay on both sides of you, and a pleasant boardwalk on a dead-end drive with loads of restaurants, and activities close by. The hotel staff was very pleasant and helpful, and the rooms were wonderful. I will definitely stay here again when I travel to San Diego.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are several restaurants within walking distance giving you a delightful mixture of cuisine choices.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PavelPPV
Columbus, OH
May 9, 2010

Excellent stay in San Diego!

Fantastic hotel, great location on bay shore just minutes away from San Diego downtown and airport, helpful and friendly stuff. They upgraded our room for no charge. Very quiet and relaxing. Spotless rooms and pool. And a very low price! Definitely will recommend it to all my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Point Break Tavern. Great for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Excellent food for low price. Casual and relaxing.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Gulfport
Oct 20, 2008

Great Location and Very Comfortable

This hotel was very nice and the value was wonderful. The location was excellent. We were blessed to have our two rooms side by side in the little bungalo looking setting with gated patios. We stayed 8 days and 9 nights. We would have prefered more reasonable dining. Perhaps even a late night grill with more afordable options. We would also have loved to have microwaves in our rooms for popcorn and warming leftovers from the resturants since we were there for a week. It is a great place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a marina for this hotel and directly across the road is the San Diego bay where you can watch ships go and come and enjoy fishing from a public pier. You can take a peaceful walk along the shore on a sidewalk. Shopping, dining and sightseeing are all within 5 miles.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Base and Lahn
Fairfax, VA
May 27, 2010

Comfortable and Quiet Getaway

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Best Western for 6 days and nights. It was affordable and the staff was very accommodating, even personally running plates to our room on one occasion. The bus stops are a mile walk from the hotel and they have free parking if you have a car. The room we had was a little small but who stays in their room when in San Diego. They also have free shuttles to and from the airport. Its located right on San Diego Bay so you get that fresh water smell that in-landers don't. I would defiantly stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

For the vegans: Evolution (Buffalo Chicken sandwich), Ranchos (Enchiladas). Also highly recommend shopping at Henrys Grocery located at Rosecrans and Nimitz. It an all natural/ organic grocery. The strawberry rhubarb pie is amazing and vegan.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chandler, AZ
Nov 16, 2010

great hotel and location for the price

Wonderful location, great price, wonderful staff, free parking and free internet connection was a plus. We stayed on the first floor and that was not the best, we couldn't see the marina, or any type of view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jrivera
Aurora, CO, USA
Sep 12, 2011

Honeymoon with a baby and a blackout

I had fairly high expectations after I read different reviews on this hotel on this site as well as others. They were all true. The room was very clean and well maintained by housekeeping. The outside of the hotel really was not bad at all as some reviews had said. We stayed at the older part, and it was very nice. We were on our honeymoon, and although we didn't get a free upgrade, we did get a nice room very close to the water and champagne and strawberries. The hotel did a great job helping people during the blackout in San Diego, our last night there, so I'm sure they can handle just about anything. We didn't try the restaurant just because I read it wasn't very good, but you're close to the airport and downtown, so there are many other restaurants. There is a great view of Coronado Island as well as downtown. The area is also very safe and they have security that walk the premises, so even a beach stroll at night is ok :).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top