$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 12, 2015 Check-out: Apr 13, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

3 stars
View map of 2051 Shelter Island Dr., San Diego, CA 92106

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
478 out of 478
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Corkey
Business
Myrtle Beach SC
Dec 29, 2013

Great view of Bay

The room had a wonderful view of San Diego bay. The room was large and comfortable. Had two pools and hot tubes. Close to the airport and close to many sights of the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
QC desi
Business
Quad cities, IA/IL
Dec 26, 2013

Great location and nice hotel....

Had a great experience!!! Perfect location to visit seaworld...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Clem's Mom
Business
St Louis, MO
Dec 12, 2013

Wonderful place to stay

I have never been to San Diego and it was just beautiful!! I couldn't have even imagined how great this place could be!! It went way beyond my expectations!! The view was spectacular and the staff was always friendly, especially Danny at the front desk!! Anything we needed he took care of! I will highly recommend this location for anyone I know going to the San Diego area!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
John and Roberta
Business
Cleveland, OH, USA
Dec 9, 2013

Two Weeks in Paradise

The staff at this hotel was extraordinary. The first room that we were provided was unsatisfactory in size for three adults to stay for 2 weeks. The manager was quick to remedy the situation with an upgrade at no charge. The room provided was slightly larger and in the newest part of the complex. The restaurant in the hotel was reasonably priced and outstanding for food quality. Again, the wait staff was more than accommodating and wonderful to see on a daily basis. The location on Shelter Island is the best. With the marina on one side and the bay on the other we had the best of both worlds. We were close to anything we needed yet far away from the down town traffic and noise. The two weeks went by too quickly and we will definitely return to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Great food quality and reasonable prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
son and son in law
Business
San Diego
Dec 9, 2013

Cockroach infested

Found cockroaches in the bed, cockroaches in the bath tub. This room was for my 79 year old mom and 69 year old mother in law to spend the weekend for the harbor Christmas parade of lights. They checked in on Friday and by Saturday morning they were forced to leave the hotel and relocate to another when the hotel staff was completely unresponsive to my mothers concern over the cockroaches in their room. The staff's attitude was "too bad, contact Cheap tickets for a refund!" DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Davydle
Business
Minneapolis
Nov 20, 2013

WiFi

Everything was perfect with one exception: WiFi was as slow as in Jamaica - 0.02

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
San Diego traveler13
Business
Yuma, AZ
Nov 10, 2013

Pleasant stay, pleasant view

Check in was easy, staff was great. Room was small but clean and the bathroom had lots of counter space with a great shower. And the view was good, easy access to the bar/restaurant. Will stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mr Gru
Business
Minions
Oct 28, 2013

Family vacation

Stayed here 4 nights, average hotel. Good and bad staff experiences. Get what you pay for applies to this. Kyle at the front desk is extremely helpful and friendly! Great customer service is always nice. He allowed me to check in early and upgraded us to a full suite for the little one to roam around in. I appreciated it very much! I've received a call to my room and they demanded my credit card info and address because the computer lost my info. Needless to say I don't feel comfortable giving info out on the phone so I'll do it at the desk. They insist I do it on the phone and I declined and hung up. Be aware of FRAUD, folks! I came down to the front desk and ask about my info and they didn't need anything! Hotel was close to the Zoo and conveniently located by Seaworld. We rented a car so traveling isn't an issue. Target and Starbucks was close by. Had a good stay. Food was ok, nothing to rave about. Some staff was helpful, some are not so friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Syr66
Business
Crawley, West Sussex
Oct 17, 2013

Wonderful Location

This hotel was the best hotel I have stayed in, with the beautiful marina on one side of the hotel and the bay on the other the views were fantastic. The staff were extremely helpful, the room was decorated to a high standard and every where was so clean. We were upgraded without even asking and in my opinion to one of the best rooms which was right at one end of the hotel so no one walked past our patio area as that is where the path stopped. Shelter island is beautiful but there is no shop on it so its was essential to have a car and it was only a 10 mins drive to the Gaslamp quarter were all the main restaurants were. San Diego is an amazing place and has so many thing to do and see, I would highly recommend it and The Best Western Plus Island Palms, would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

We went to every shopping mall in San Diego but the best one was the Las Americas Premium Outlets near the Mexican boarder

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mai Taied
Business
Calgary, Alta
Oct 5, 2013

good location, rooms could use some updating

room was okay but being on the main floor meant we got a ton of noise from both the parking lot, people walking by and upstairs noise including people clunking up and down the stairs. There was an awful sewer smell from the bathroom and the old air conditioner was very very noisy. Other side, staff was excellent, pool area great, restaurant location overlooking boats and pool was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Humphrey's show was outstanding and a close by walk!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top