$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 1, 2014

BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

3 stars
2051 Shelter Island Dr., San Diego, CA 92106
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
466 reviews
Weekend getaway

We had a great stay at this hotel. The staff was exceptional and the rooms were clean, accessible,... See full review

  • Nancy Jane
  • Nov 21, 2014
What a relaxing birthday!

After choosing between many hotels in the San Diego area, I decided to book this hotel after... See full review

  • Beah and Christian
  • Nov 14, 2014
Surrounded by the enchanting deep blue waters of San Diego Bay, the Best Western Island Palms Hotel & Marina is an island of serenity and relaxation, yet only minutes away from all the attractions San Diego has to offer. Sea World, the world-famous San Diego Zoo and miles of beautiful beaches are within 10 minutes and the excitement of Mexico is just a short 20-minute drive. Shortly after the Best Western Island Palms Hotel & Marina recently completed a $3 Million renovation, it was awarded the American Automobile Association's prestigious "3 Diamonds" and recognized by a national renovation contest in Lodging Hospitality Magazine. This 227-room hotel offers a tropical marina side swimming pool and spa, waterfront restaurant and lounge with outdoor patio dining, exercise room and complimentary bicycle rentals to tour the island! Please note: Beginning June 1, 2014 parking will be $10 per night.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina Rooms

Deluxe Waterview
This room has beautiful views of the San Diego Bay or the hotel's private marina. Each room is furnished with two queen or 1 king-sized beds, 42" LCD TV, mini refrigerator, coffee maker, hairdryer, and iron/ironing board. The workspace is equipped with a Herman Miller ergonomic chair, jack pack for your electronic devices, and complimentary wireless internet access. The bathrooms have marble counters and tile-surround bathtubs.
Waterview Suite
Just steps away from our private yacht marina, this 600 square foot Island Palms Suite offers one king or two Queen beds per hotel availability in a private bedroom and a living room with sofa sleeper. Fully equipped kitchens feature granite countertops, full size refrigerator, coffee maker, microwave double sink and stove top. Enjoy breathtaking views of motoryachts drifting by or simply enjoy the San Diego sunsets from your private patio.
Island Palms Standard
Our traditional Island Palms guestrooms come equipped with one King or two double beds per hotel availability , sitting area with work desk, complimentary high speed internet access, fresh brew coffee/tea makers, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, cable TV with HBO movies and Nintendo, refrigerator and a beautiful bathroom featuring a slab granite vanity and granite and glass enclosed shower.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Sunset Cliffs: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.1 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.6 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.4 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.4 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.4 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.7 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.7 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.8 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4.1 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 4.3 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 4.4 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.1 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.6 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.4 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.4 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.4 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.7 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.7 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.8 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4.1 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 4.3 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 4.4 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 4.4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 4.6 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 4.6 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 4.7 mi
  • Botanical Building: 4.7 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 4.8 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 4.8 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 4.9 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 4.9 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5.2 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 5.8 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 6.7 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 8.8 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 9 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12.4 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 29 mi
  • Legoland: 29.1 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,121.9 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
6, 300 square feet of flexible waterview conference and banquet facilities. Bay Room 27' x 24' 648 Square Feet Board Room 11' x 17' 187 Square Feet Grand Marina Room 30' x 64' Square Feet Harbor Room 28' x 32' 896 Square Feet Marina Room 1 31' x 31' Square Feet Marina Room 2 30' x 24' 965 Square Feet Sunset Room 30' x 60' 1624 Square Feet Santa Barbara 42'x25' 1076 Square Feet

Dining

Blue Wave Bar and Grill
Step into the Blue Wave Bar & Grill for great waterfront dining with spectacular views of the bay and our private marina. Experience the tropical feel of our bayside restaurant or enjoy the gentle ocean breezes while dining outdoors on the patio. Menu items include fresh seafood, tender steaks, innovative daily specials and much more. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. 6:30am to 9pm Sun - Thurs and 6:30 to 10pm Fri & Sat. Happy Hour daily from 4pm to 6pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (466)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
466 out of 466
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
palm springs
Mar 29, 2010

nice rooms

good trip

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

sea port vilage

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
orange county
Mar 29, 2010

harbor stay

Nice Location. Room was small, noisy and old.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Buffalo, NY
Nov 11, 2010

Great location...

The hotel was in a great location. Nice & quiet! The room was fine but the carpets needed to be cleaned,the vent in the bathroom did not work and the balcony light was dead. The person who took care of the room was great! Room #581 was just what we needed for our vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Plenty of great restaurants (including hotel's) in neighborhood. Check reviews for best prices!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
nc
Apr 11, 2010

great location,but thats all

we reserved our room 2 months in advance and requested the new bldg, as the rooms are better suited for four people.didnt happen,checked in at midnite after a 3000 plus mile trip,had a dungeon style under a stairwell with no views at all."SORRY,WE ARE FULL"no reg.coffee some days.no coffee in the lounge.,and 2.25 for resturant coffee.family of four cant get breakfast there for less than 60.00,forget about lunch and dinner unless you are loaded.its a great location,close to the zoo,although we liked the wild animal park better,about 50 miles away.you def need a rental car.i like embassy suites better.we got wrong info from the staff several times,although they work there did not seem to know the area,and sent us out of our way several times,rely on gps.for the staff's info ,not that they read these,u buy the 3 park seaworld zoo combo tickets at the parks,not at the conv.ctr.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

GO TO THE BAY HOTEL. Great happy hour and deals

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco
Jun 25, 2010

Restful and great location

This trip was simply an overnight to pick up my grandson in San Diego and take him to San Francisco where we live. The staff was exceedingly friendly and accomodating. The rooms are o.k., a bit dark but clean. The location is very nice and convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

We were tired and ate at the hotel. It was fine in a great setting

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jameson1
Business
Peoria, IL
Sep 7, 2011

Extended Weekend

Friendly staff, beautiful layout, and beautiful view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sim-er
Business
Columbia, SC
Jul 14, 2010

Honest Review - Better than the Sheraton

Hotel was average for what it offered but location & definitely the staff made up for the lacking. If you are a late starter, the service carts on the cobble stone walkway will end your slumber quite quickly & the walls closer to the floor in the bathroom could really use a cleaning. After experiencing a flight layover and having the airline comp us a stay at the Sheraton, I would say that I would consider staying again at Best Western Island Palms Hotel & Marina over that of the Sheraton primarily due to the size and quality of the amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Ask front desk for all available coupons, make the most of their knowledge.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jb45
Business
Wilmington, DE
Sep 20, 2009

BW Island Palms

Staff was very responsive and helpful. Reservations went as planned. The only negative I have about this hotel is the low, in-wall AC unit. It's either on (low or high) or off, and pretty noisy in either of the 'on' settings. Not a big deal, considering the location of this Best Western on Shelter Island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tzilla
Business
dayton, NJ
Apr 5, 2010

location good, rooms depends..

my initial booking was for 2 days. got a bargin for the first 2 days of say. was pleasantly upgraded to a nice room with a view (new expanded/renovated rooms). Down side on my initial check-in was the room was not ready till about 430pm (it was tough with kids doing the waiting). PARKING is free at this location. so you save a bunch on long stays. on 2nd day i had to extend my stay by another day and bought the same rate room, however, was relocated to a room that was rundown a bit (pillows were bad, microwave was not function, room was crammed!). Short 10-15 minutes drive to many entertainent locations. view from our first room was good but not so from the 2nd room. It was nice to see navy ships moving in waters. In house restaurant was okay with little choice and pricy. we were planning on dinnig out for the most part anyway (old town is nice if you like mexican). In summary, I recommend this hotel for it's location and you pay for the location (unless you book a room 'with the view'). comfort wise it deppends on the room and type of room you are assigned. i will consider this hotel in future if i find a bargain price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Try to loadup your fridge with snacks as they become expensive. they do provide microwave..helpfull even for late night snack. most of the stores /restaurants close around 9. if looking for local entertainment look craiglist/ebay for money saving coupons .

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mel and John
Business
NY
Apr 29, 2009

Great, but false advertising

We loved our stay at the Island Palms, however the photos are deceiving. We thought we would be staying at the hotel they feature on the best western site and on orbitz. Upon check we learned that the property they feature in the photos were just recently added to the Island Palms and still under construction. We were given a waterview room, but in a seperate older section. The rooms were still nice and clean and the staff was great! We just expected something different.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The hotel food was excellent, try the scallops in vanilla sauce : )

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top