$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

3 stars
View map of 2051 Shelter Island Dr., San Diego, CA 92106

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
444 out of 444
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rainbow8
Business
Loveland, Colorado
Feb 28, 2011

Adequate

Adequate sums it up. Nothing much more than a "slightly" nicer Super 8. Hot tub was FANTASTIC. Restaurant was (like all food in San Diego) overpriced and "adequate". Bed was spongy. We wouldn't stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, OR
Oct 26, 2009

Nice hotel, far from downtown

I would stay here again if I found a great [...] price like I did this time. But I would never stay here for full price.The hotel grounds are well-maintained and the view of the harbor is very pretty.However, it's hard to get downtown San Diego if you choose not to rent a car. A downtown location might be better if you're only in town for a couple days.Additionally, the hotel staff was pleasant but not entirely accommodating. We asked for a room with 2 double beds, but were given a king bed and told there were no other available rooms. We also found an opened condom wrapper on the floor of our room. When we called the front desk to tell them, they weren't very amenable and again told us they couldn't move us. They didn't send a hotel staff member to check the room and didn't seem to care that we were grossed out by said condom wrapper.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sangster
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Dec 30, 2010

San Diego Family Trip

-lot of the first floor rooms looked into parking, which could get a little annoying. Second floor rooms would get better views and privacy, but harder to get. -it was clean overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Sea World is only 3.5 miles away.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
LA, CA
Aug 8, 2011

cute but small, no enough parking space

The hotel environment is fine, however, its room is quite small. The worst is that the parking space is not enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco Bay Area
Aug 2, 2009

It was just ok...

Great location, nice pool; although, the room was small, the bathroom smelled of stale water/musty and housekeeping was noisy in the morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Very close to Sea World.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Jul 27, 2009

Great All Girl Getaway

Hotel location was great. We were within 10-20 minutes of any places we wanted to see. We had a great time. Wish we could have stayed longer. We would definitely recommend biking and kayaking tours. If you like a bit of history and Mexican food you would enjoy Old Town. If you like the downtown scene you should make a night of it in the Gas Lamp District.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maryland
Jul 2, 2010

Good location

The hotel room, grounds and staff were very nice. While there was plenty of parking, after 7 pm you could count on a walk to your room. Shelter Island is beautiful, but my room facing the water was very noisy - both "thin walls" and outside noise from a fishing pier across the street, starting as early as 6 am. Nearly every morning I awoke to car alarms going off as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Great restaurant park at Harbor and Nimitz - Oggi's Pizza and Sports Bar, Sushiya (sushi), Subway, Starbucks and a mexican restaurant I didn't have the chance to try. I'd pass on the chinese resturant at Scott and Shelter Island.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oakland, CA
Aug 10, 2009

San Diego August 5th through August 8th

Hotel was in a quiet area between the San Diego marina and shipping channel. Not many child amenities in walking distance. Room we had was on the end and was dark. The carpet was filthy and we had very little natural light coming into the room. A lot of the other rooms had views of the harbor or shipping channel. Must have to pay more for those rooms with a view. Swimming pool was nice. One night, a friday night there was no parking available in the lot. I was expecting a nicer room, and a little bit bigger room for 150 bucks a night. A party was going on in a room the next building over at 11:30 at night. Complained to front desk, and security was there within minutes to break it up. All in all the room was adequate since all we did was sleep there. Still had to drive 5 miles to Sea World and 30 minutes to Legoland. Next time will stay at a less expensive place since all we use the room for is sleeping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RanmaP
Business
San Diego
Jun 1, 2010

Good location for tourist

Good place to rest for the night, we didn't spend much time at the hotel. One thing they didn't have is a centralized type AC system, each room has their own window style AC unit mounted on the wall which is noisy and didn't have a digital themostat which made it hard to reach a certain temperture. Their wireless coverage wasn't good, we were in Room 154 and the wifi signal was 1 bar to 2 bars and it was dropping out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Barb d.
Business
Bellingham, wa
Sep 15, 2014

Wedding

Very nice. Convenient to activities. Comfortable beds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Boats and beaches

Back to menu Return to top