$122 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 8, 2015 Check-out: Sep 9, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

3 stars
View map of 2051 Shelter Island Dr., San Diego, CA 92106

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
447 out of 447
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Texas
Jul 17, 2009

Great times at the Best Western!

We were in San Diego on vacation trying to see and visit all that was there. The location of the hotel was perfect. The rooms were comfortable and clean. The best part though was the front desk staff. They answered any question we had and helped us with directions to all the local sites. They were kind and always had a smile!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ms Bishop
Family
Gray, ME
Jul 14, 2009

Island vacation in the city

Came to San Diego with my two teenagers to watch the Big Bay Boom. I was very happy with my decision to stay at the Island Palms. Not only was it the ideal location to see the fireworks, the property impressed me in many other ways. I felt valued the moment I arrived. The front desk was friendly and helpful. (I listened to the exchanges between the staff and some guests that were around me, and I was amazed at how they went out of their way to make people happy, for example, when an older woman asked if they had a portable chairs available for use during the fireworks display, the clerk explained that they did not, but he would make sure that they found something for her.) They even set out fresh apples for the guests at the front desk - a very nice touch. A couple of the big benefits at the hotel were the free bike rentals and complimentary parking. Even though the hotel is in the heart of busy San Diego and close to everything, the location makes you feel like you are a million miles away on a peaceful island. My room (which was brand new and gorgeous) overlooked the marina, and I loved relaxing on the balcony watching the activity around the boats. At night the lights surrounding the marina were breathtaking. I came home with several beautiful photos! The Island Palms definitely made my family's vacation an unforgettable experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Biking is a great way to get around the island. If you want to rent a bike, make sure you get to the lobby early, as this is on a first come, first serve basis. There is a great little place called Marvelous Muffins right off the island on Shelter Island Drive. They make excellent almond poppy seed muffins and spinach and cheese croissants!

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Bakersfield, CA
Jul 14, 2009

Outstanding Hotel

Extremely friendly and helpful staff! The location is beautiful, and it is within walking distance to the Humphrey's concert venue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel is a very short drive from Sea World and is located right on the marina, which was a beautiful backdrop.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Modesto, CA
Jul 10, 2009

Fantastic family getaway.

I love the view of the marina, it was peaceful & relaxing. Great for walking in the afternoon, plus the location of the ... hotel was near great places to eat. I would go back anytime I want to stay in San Diego.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Greatful dad
Family
Seattle, WA
Jul 9, 2009

Great service, beautiful harbor.

Good location for Seaworld and the zoo along with a few days of relaxing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Gaslamp district is only a short 10 minute drive and had many fun restaurants.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Mesa, AZ
Jul 7, 2009

Great Location

Spent a week at the hotel. Had a marina view which was nice. San Diego Bay was across the street - real nice! Rooms were kept very clean for the stay. Great price for the length of time spent - close to everywhere we went. Great pool area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

This was a well located hotel. Only about 10-15 minutes from most major attractions, Seaport Village, Coronado Island, PETCO park and shopping.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
San Diego, CA
Jul 7, 2009

Family

Good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Maine
Jun 29, 2009

Fantastic family getaway

We found this hotel to be clean, spacious and quiet. We had a junior suite which was plenty big and comfortable for our large family. I loved the bathroom! This hotel was located on the marina, beautiful sights and close to (10-20 min.) many of sights offered in San Diego. Would recommend this hotel and would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
parenting get away
Couples
Suffield, ct
Jun 23, 2009

Relaxed environment and great location

front desk service was great, nice room and awesome bathroom, but would recommend a room NOT right next to the pool as very noisy and lacked privacy (although the pool and hot tub were nice).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JNV
Couples
Los Angeles, Cali.
Jun 22, 2009

Quick Weekend Get Away

I love the view of the marina, it was peaceful & relaxing. Great for walking in the afternoon, plus the location of the hotel was near great places to eat. I would go back anytime I want to stay in San Diego.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top