$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 9, 2015 Check-out: Aug 10, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

3 stars
View map of 2051 Shelter Island Dr., San Diego, CA 92106

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
443 out of 443
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Jul 27, 2009

Great All Girl Getaway

Hotel location was great. We were within 10-20 minutes of any places we wanted to see. We had a great time. Wish we could have stayed longer. We would definitely recommend biking and kayaking tours. If you like a bit of history and Mexican food you would enjoy Old Town. If you like the downtown scene you should make a night of it in the Gas Lamp District.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Palm Springs, CA
Jul 23, 2009

Pleasnatly Surprised

We enjoyed our balcony view over the marina.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
tinley park il.
Jul 22, 2009

Terrific San Diego vacation

The staff was outstanding in every way.Upgraded to a room on the marina side it was well worth it.The pool was great plenty of towels the Tiki bar is a nice touch.For dinner try Miguels and Pizza Nova both were very nice family restaurants.The area around the hotel was very safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
almost the newlywed couple!!!!
Business
Thousand Oaks, CA
Jul 20, 2009

Perfect spot!!!

We had a limited interaction w/staff but what there was was very friendly w/smiles. We so enjoyed our room location facing the water. We walked right across the street to picnic on the lawn, went for a jog, people watched, boat watched. The pool was great. Our bed was comfortable & room was clean. We loved the cozy sheets. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles CA
Jul 20, 2009

Vacation Getaway

Go to the beach Ride Bicycles. Swim. Relax.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mom and Daughter vacation
Business
Calgary Alberta
Jul 18, 2009

Fantastic get away for mom and daughter

My daughter and I went for a nice get a way and this hotel and city were superb!!!!! I was so very impressed with all the staff at the hotel and it was a beautiful location. The hotel provided a shuttle bus to and from the airport and that was very convenient. This hotel and a few others are located in the shelter Island area. There is no bus available to take you to downtown from here. It would be very nice if the few hotels in the area would agree to provide a shuttle bus that could pick up passengers from each hotel at a designated time and take them to the attractions such as sea World and the Zoo and charge a small fare. IT is quite expensive to get a cab costing from $20.00 to $30.00. But it was a wonderful trip and our best family trip ever!!!! We are anxious to come back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The mall, and of course Sea World and the downtown area, gaslamp

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Jul 17, 2009

Great times at the Best Western!

We were in San Diego on vacation trying to see and visit all that was there. The location of the hotel was perfect. The rooms were comfortable and clean. The best part though was the front desk staff. They answered any question we had and helped us with directions to all the local sites. They were kind and always had a smile!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ms Bishop
Business
Gray, ME
Jul 14, 2009

Island vacation in the city

Came to San Diego with my two teenagers to watch the Big Bay Boom. I was very happy with my decision to stay at the Island Palms. Not only was it the ideal location to see the fireworks, the property impressed me in many other ways. I felt valued the moment I arrived. The front desk was friendly and helpful. (I listened to the exchanges between the staff and some guests that were around me, and I was amazed at how they went out of their way to make people happy, for example, when an older woman asked if they had a portable chairs available for use during the fireworks display, the clerk explained that they did not, but he would make sure that they found something for her.) They even set out fresh apples for the guests at the front desk - a very nice touch. A couple of the big benefits at the hotel were the free bike rentals and complimentary parking. Even though the hotel is in the heart of busy San Diego and close to everything, the location makes you feel like you are a million miles away on a peaceful island. My room (which was brand new and gorgeous) overlooked the marina, and I loved relaxing on the balcony watching the activity around the boats. At night the lights surrounding the marina were breathtaking. I came home with several beautiful photos! The Island Palms definitely made my family's vacation an unforgettable experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Biking is a great way to get around the island. If you want to rent a bike, make sure you get to the lobby early, as this is on a first come, first serve basis. There is a great little place called Marvelous Muffins right off the island on Shelter Island Drive. They make excellent almond poppy seed muffins and spinach and cheese croissants!

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bakersfield, CA
Jul 14, 2009

Outstanding Hotel

Extremely friendly and helpful staff! The location is beautiful, and it is within walking distance to the Humphrey's concert venue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel is a very short drive from Sea World and is located right on the marina, which was a beautiful backdrop.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Modesto, CA
Jul 10, 2009

Fantastic family getaway.

I love the view of the marina, it was peaceful & relaxing. Great for walking in the afternoon, plus the location of the ... hotel was near great places to eat. I would go back anytime I want to stay in San Diego.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top