$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 12, 2015 Check-out: Apr 13, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

3 stars
View map of 2051 Shelter Island Dr., San Diego, CA 92106

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
478 out of 478
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Guy 1
Business
Minnesota
Aug 3, 2014

Good for the price

Good hotel for the price. Staff was accommodating tended to our needs and would definitely go back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bailey's Review
Business
Anthem, AZ
Jun 16, 2014

Not what I expected!

Way too expensive for an "average" hotel. The rooms are very out of date, and the bed was really uncomfortable. Pool was ok, but some kids made it unbearable. They never had towels stocked, and no outside drink or food service. Bathroom shower was updated, which was a plus. Very limited food options on the Island and no shopping - although there is a mall a few miles away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Little Italy, Coronado beach

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TT0909
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Jun 15, 2014

Great Location & awesome view

This hotel is located at shelter Island which is looking at cross harbor of downtown, Coronado Island, and point loma. It is walking distance to several restaurants with Happy Hours. The Staffs are very friendly and helpful. It was wonderful time for first time visiting San Diego. It was good value too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Point Loma fan
Business
Tulsa, OK
May 14, 2014

Great location

We stay at Point Loma every time we are in San Diego, which is often. This stay at Best Western Island Palms was our second. The location of the hotel is as good as it gets, rooms are clean, although pretty small. One issue is that the thermostats in the rooms can not be adjusted past 68 degrees for the AC. For me, that's too hot to sleep. Other than that - great location, a little expensive for what you get.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Point Break - best breakfast in the area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Leslie V.
Business
Alta Loma, California
May 13, 2014

Birthday getaway

My husband and I decided to get away from the everyday busy life that we have. We had never heard of Shelter Island so we decided to try it. It was a very calm and relaxing place to stay, We had a nice time at the Best Western Island Palms Hotel & Marina. Beautiful ocean view from the front of the hotel with a walkway next to the water to get some exercise. The restaurant over looked the pool area and marina. Staff was very courteous and helpful. We recommend this place to come and relax. We will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CarolSueM
Business
Peoria IL
Apr 30, 2014

Harbor view from our front door

Located on Shelter Island best Western Island Palm had views of the harbor from our back door and of San Diego across the bay from the front. Great for active families. There are bikes to use and a swimming pool with drink service. You are connected to the harbor walk. We walked 5 miles along the Bay each day. The staff were friendly and efficient. Parking was free. We'll definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The piña coladas and appetizers were excellent and you are looking out over the harbor.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ladyamaya
Business
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Apr 29, 2014

Beautiful!!

Such a beautiful place! Upon arrival was upgraded at no cost to lovely room with small patio facing beach. Lovely room and the views! Navy ships, helicopters and such was a treat and not too loud. Restaurant so so, rather drive to into city. Small community feel to area and definitely loved the relaxation! Join their mail list, great offers and promotions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chris Travel
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Apr 21, 2014

good stay

the location is good. It is close to downtown and other attraction. The room is clean and everything is ok. One bad thing is room smell.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gaifran
Business
Washington
Apr 11, 2014

Spring Break

Nice relaxing vacation....head's up though...it is across from the naval base. You hear the jets in the morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TT0909
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Mar 31, 2014

Enjoyed our stay very much

It's perfect location with great view by the ocean. Easy access to Downtown and Airport. There are plenty good restaurants around the hotel, and all of them has happy hours and discount snacks. Or you can eat at this hotel, the price is reasonable and food is good too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top