$106 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 24, 2014

BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

3 stars
2051 Shelter Island Dr., San Diego, CA 92106
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
466 reviews
Fabulous views and total relaxation

We were totally surprised at how lovely this Best Western was. The staff, rooms, quality of food... See full review

  • Coastal Lover
  • Nov 30, 2014
Weekend getaway

We had a great stay at this hotel. The staff was exceptional and the rooms were clean, accessible,... See full review

  • Nancy Jane
  • Nov 21, 2014
Convenient hotel on Shelter Island with free bike rentals
The Best Western Island Palms Hotel & Marina combines the best of both worlds: a modern hotel with a state-of-the-art marina. The property is located on Shelter Island, which is known among locals as San Diego's Hawaiian isle. Hotel guests can unwind at one of two bayside pools or an outdoor fireplace with breathtaking views of Point Loma. Accommodations span three distinct sections of the hotel, each with a unique theme and feel. The on-site restaurant, Blue Wave Bar & Grill, serves tasty, island style seafood.
Highlights
  • Private Mega-Yacht Marina
  • Two bayside pools, one with outdoor fireplace
  • On-site restaurant serves island-style cuisine
  • Complimentary bike rentals
Rooms

The Best Western Island Palms Hotel & Marina offers 227 rooms, including 60 suites. Accommodations span three sections of the hotel: Casa del Mar, Casa Marina and Island Palms. All three have different decor including tropical and Mediterranean themes. Rooms vary in size and configuration, but each comes standard with a flat-screen TV, ironing board, hair dryer and spacious work desk. Most suites include a kitchen with mini refrigerator and microwave. Most accommodations feature balconies and patios. Guests also receive complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access.

Features

The Best Western Island Palms Hotel & Marina sits on Shelter Island, which is known among locals as San Diego's Hawaiian isle for its tropical landscape. The property overlooks a private marina and sits adjacent to bike paths encircling San Diego Bay. The hotel is within one mile of Point Loma.

The hotel offers complimentary bike rentals. Guests also have access to two pools, a spa, fitness center and garden patio with outdoor fireplace.

The Blue Wave Bar & Grill specializes in tropical-style cuisine.

Transportation
  • MTS Bus (4 blocks)
  • San Diego International Airport (3 mi/5 km)
  • San Diego Trolley (3.5 mi/ 5.6 km)
Attractions
  • Old Town (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • SeaWorld (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Gaslamp District (8 mi/12.9 km)
  • Petco Park (8 mi/12.9 km)
  • San Diego Zoo (8 mi/12.9 km)
Business
  • 6,300 square feet of meeting space accommodates up to 150 guests
  • Outdoor space can be converted into meeting facility
  • Conference windows overlook marina
Policies and Fees

  • Starting 01 June, parking fee will be $10 USD per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina Rooms

Deluxe Waterview
This room has beautiful views of the San Diego Bay or the hotel's private marina. Each room is furnished with two queen or 1 king-sized beds, 42" LCD TV, mini refrigerator, coffee maker, hairdryer, and iron/ironing board. The workspace is equipped with a Herman Miller ergonomic chair, jack pack for your electronic devices, and complimentary wireless internet access. The bathrooms have marble counters and tile-surround bathtubs.
Waterview Suite
Just steps away from our private yacht marina, this 600 square foot Island Palms Suite offers one king or two Queen beds per hotel availability in a private bedroom and a living room with sofa sleeper. Fully equipped kitchens feature granite countertops, full size refrigerator, coffee maker, microwave double sink and stove top. Enjoy breathtaking views of motoryachts drifting by or simply enjoy the San Diego sunsets from your private patio.
Island Palms Standard
Our traditional Island Palms guestrooms come equipped with one King or two double beds per hotel availability , sitting area with work desk, complimentary high speed internet access, fresh brew coffee/tea makers, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, cable TV with HBO movies and Nintendo, refrigerator and a beautiful bathroom featuring a slab granite vanity and granite and glass enclosed shower.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Sunset Cliffs: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.1 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.6 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.4 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.4 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.4 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.7 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.7 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.8 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4.1 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 4.3 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 4.4 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.1 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.6 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.4 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.4 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.4 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.7 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.7 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.8 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4.1 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 4.3 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 4.4 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 4.4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 4.6 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 4.6 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 4.7 mi
  • Botanical Building: 4.7 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 4.8 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 4.8 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 4.9 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 4.9 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5.2 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 5.8 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 6.7 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 8.8 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 9 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12.4 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 29 mi
  • Legoland: 29.1 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,121.9 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
6, 300 square feet of flexible waterview conference and banquet facilities. Bay Room 27' x 24' 648 Square Feet Board Room 11' x 17' 187 Square Feet Grand Marina Room 30' x 64' Square Feet Harbor Room 28' x 32' 896 Square Feet Marina Room 1 31' x 31' Square Feet Marina Room 2 30' x 24' 965 Square Feet Sunset Room 30' x 60' 1624 Square Feet Santa Barbara 42'x25' 1076 Square Feet

Dining

Blue Wave Bar and Grill
Step into the Blue Wave Bar & Grill for great waterfront dining with spectacular views of the bay and our private marina. Experience the tropical feel of our bayside restaurant or enjoy the gentle ocean breezes while dining outdoors on the patio. Menu items include fresh seafood, tender steaks, innovative daily specials and much more. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. 6:30am to 9pm Sun - Thurs and 6:30 to 10pm Fri & Sat. Happy Hour daily from 4pm to 6pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (466)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
466 out of 466
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shine818
Encino
Jun 21, 2013

Beautiful, updated accommodations.

I saw a picture of this hotel on-line and took a chance. All the employees are very nice and helpful and found out after a short exchange at the front desk that they had up-graded my room to a suite. They did this even on a night they were sold- out. Got to the room and was blown-away. Almost as big as my house. Everything was great.... Flat screen , bathroom, balcony , view , beds and very quiet. Only stayed one nite but wish I could've stayed a week. Sincerely a Great place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There is an adjacent hotel that has a venue for live music .

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tims Family
Business
Lodi, WI
Oct 29, 2011

Great with little kids

We took our 2 year old for 5 nights. I picked this hotel because of the free parking and free wifi. It turns out the hotel is on a shelter island and most of the island is a park. The location very close to the airport, sea world, and about a 10 minute easy drive from downtown and the zoo. Our casa marina room overlooked the bay and a navy base on the other side of the water. This meant front row seats to watch helicopters, jets, ships, and even a few dolphins. The kicker was the playground directly across the street. We could let our child run around for an hour or 2 and he would wear himself out just in time for bed. If they had free breakfast, this place would be perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Hector's mexican. Seemed like a local place. There was one person working there... Hector. Everyone else seemed to know him. Great burritos. Cheap prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GENO8
Business
MANAHAWKIN NJ
Nov 14, 2011

nice experience

saty was perfect.... staff was excellant and very curtious

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
WallyJ
Business
Urbanna, VA.
Nov 18, 2011

Great San Diego location

A very lovely hotel. We were made to feel right at home. The staff very helpful. Room warm and comfy. Restaurant and staff were also helpful. We would return again. Thank you for a great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Great location to all San Diego attractions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TiffR
Business
Kansas City, MO, USA
Jan 28, 2012

Terrific hotel!

The Best Western Island Palms is a beautiful hotel that is centrally located--minutes away from downtown, the Gaslamp District, La Jolla and many other destinations. The rooms were very clean and the view from the 3rd floor marina rooms was fantastic! Danny at the front desk was so helpful and upgraded our room. Everyone we dealt with from the hotel was fantastic and the food at the restaurant was very good. We will stay here every time we go to San Diego!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The hotel restaurant has a great, reasonable breakfast available. Go eat outside and enjoy the view!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
C and V
Business
Euless, TX
Feb 13, 2012

Fabulous birthday stay

From the time we arrived we knew we had a great pick. We got in very early but the front staff was very helpful in trying to get us in a room early and we were told that we were upgraded to a junior suite, which was the perfert start to my surprise weekend with my husband for his 50th birthday! The view of the marina from the pool is awesome. The room was so clean and huge! The staff was great, very nice and friendly at ever turn. Our front staff was great about getting us directions to everywhere we needed to go. Very nice bar and restuarnt also. Nice location, even saw a seal jumping in the water in front of the hotel! We will definetly come back and stay! Thank you so much for a wonderful time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Cabrillos which you can see from the hotel. A great place to see whales and ships if the season!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
puttster
Business
Bozeman, Mt, USA
Feb 12, 2012

Nice surprise!

We had never stayed on Shelter Island before and this hotel was great! The location was perfect for walking along the Bay with a beautiful view. There was a nice restaurant, ample, safe parking, a pool and hot tub, and a very friendly staff. The rooms and outdoor areas were clean and pretty. Next time we visit San Diego, this is the place we want to stay. In one direction you view the Bay with the San Diego skyline in the background, and the other direction offers a lovely view of the yacht harbor.We saw dolphins from the park across the street, and whales from the ocean side of the island. Just fabulous!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Babynurse515
Business
Massillon, OH, USA
Mar 8, 2012

Great hotel

beautiful location and beautiful hotel. Wish we could have spent more time there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Apprentice1
Business
North County San Diego, C.A.
Mar 19, 2012

Comfort says it all!

I enjoyed the location the most. The rooms were very comfortable and i would definately go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Point loma seafood

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BenVaca
Business
Dayton, IN, USA
Mar 20, 2012

Wow!!

Great Hotel. We even got upgraded to a King Suite right on the water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Noma Pizza right on the water

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RickardAustin
Business
Tempe, AZ, USA
Mar 25, 2012

Perfect for any getaway

It was the ideal location to be in san diego! There were no weird people roaming around at night so we felt safe and secure at all times. It was the best vacation spot I have personally been to. I will be going back soon thats for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Gluten free restaurants were all over and had amazing food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top