$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 12, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

3 stars
View map of 2051 Shelter Island Dr., San Diego, CA 92106

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
511 out of 511
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pete Roman
Business
Alexandria
Dec 16, 2014

Nice Hotel

Every Think was very nice!!!!! Loved It and so did my wife.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jerry 66
Business
N/A
Dec 16, 2014

peaceful area

All in all , it was a great place to stay-beautiful,quiet waterfront and marina, with walking paths throughout.Restaurant had an excellent breakfast, but pricey. Weather was fine in early Dec. (about 70).If you want nightlife though, you have to know where to go as seemed to shut down around 11pm most places-though maybe that's what happens offseason. This is a big and working yacht waterfront with plenty of businesses related to the industry. Rooms were fine,service too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chouchou wu
Business
Miami, FL
Dec 5, 2014

The service is very good

I lost a scarf in this hotel but the housekeeping person sent to me by mail immediately. I wanna thank her sincerely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Coastal Lover
Business
Wilmington, NC
Nov 30, 2014

Fabulous views and total relaxation

We were totally surprised at how lovely this Best Western was. The staff, rooms, quality of food were all superb. We ate dinner at the hotel two notes because the food was excellent. We will return to this hotel on our next visit to San Diego!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Food excellent and the views are wonderful!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jen Single Traveler
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Nov 25, 2014

All Around Great Getaway

The location is great. Easy access to everything but also not in the craziness of downtown. Great area for walking and running and some great city views. Hotel property is beautiful and staff is very friendly. The room had a mini fridge and a microwave which was great for a traveller trying to save money. I was able to have some meals in my room and bring back leftovers if I went out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Travel during October - March. I was told that this was the slow season and it was noticably more tranquil this trip versus another trip when I went in September. Crowds were low and I was able to get around attractions easily.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nancy Jane
Business
California
Nov 21, 2014

Weekend getaway

We had a great stay at this hotel. The staff was exceptional and the rooms were clean, accessible, and perfect for our stay. For the price - the location and value of this hotel was just what we needed. Everything was a short drive away and we fully enjoyed our stay in San Diego thanks to Best Wester Plus! Will be sure to come back again soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Beah and Christian
Business
Glendora, CA
Nov 14, 2014

What a relaxing birthday!

After choosing between many hotels in the San Diego area, I decided to book this hotel after reading the many great reviews. I knew that it was nice - but this place definitely exceeded my expectations. It was amazing!! Our check in time was 4pm on a Tuesday and checkout time was 12pm on a Thursday. We got there at 11am and Danny the concierge was able to check us in at 11! He was very helpful and upgraded us to an incredible room with a great view. We had a patio that was right in front of the pool area with the outdoor fireplace. He also waved our parking fee for my birthday! I was so happy. We saved $20 This hotel was very quiet and relaxing. I don't think I've ever slept in a more comfortable bed than this hotel has provided. The pillows were like marshmallows and everything was clean. I just wish the bathroom had a nicer bath tub but I guess the basic ones they have will do. The hotel has a really nice restaurant called Blue Wave. We didn't have a chance to eat there but we did find the time to stop by the bar! The price seemed affordable and the drinks were amazing. The hotel is pretty close to gas lamp and the zoo. When we booked here we thought they would be further but it was actually closer than we thought. There are many things to do around the hotel that I wish we had more time too! There were free bike rentals that we didn't have the chance to do but plan on when we take another vacation here :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

My favorite part would be that the parking is close to the hotel buildings you are staying at! We mostly parked right in front of the lobby area of our hotel building and our room was directly over to the right. They also provide parking structures which is also fairly close.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yelvis
Business
Corvallis, OR
Nov 10, 2014

Great place to stay in San Diego

What a view, great ammenties, great location - winner!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tim Oz
Business
South East Kansas
Oct 22, 2014

Chiefs Game in Dan Diego

It was nice. For what I paid I would expect a little better. Parking was an absolute pain each night and the fact they charge $10 to park it should not have been this way. The second night if someone had not left we would not have had a place to park. We got in well past midnight and drove through the lot twice before someone left. Sink was stopped up upon our arrival. They did come and fix it but left a mess on the sink and floor. Also we had ants each morning around the sink and floor in the bathroom. I am glad we were not there much during our 3 night stay or I would have been more disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Got in between 9 & 9:30 west coast time and had a very difficult time finding a place to eat near the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Barb d.
Business
Bellingham, wa
Sep 15, 2014

Wedding

Very nice. Convenient to activities. Comfortable beds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Boats and beaches

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top