BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina ★★★

Best price guarantee!

Find a lower price somewhere else and we'll pay 100% of the difference in Orbucks, plus up to $100 in additional Orbucks for Orbitz Rewards members Learn more

$119
avg/night
Rate and special offer based on
Check-in: Feb 28, 2016 Check-out: Mar 1, 2016

Great stay

Would recommend Tue, Jun 5, 2012
A nice hotel in a central location in San Diego (10 mins drive from downtown or Sea World). Lovely views of the marina from hotel.Fantastic service especially in the bar/restaurant, and the rooms were immaculately clean. The pool and hot tub were very nice. (small) There are plenty of nice places to eat within walking distance; a little Thai place, Miguels Mexican, Bali Hai (good happy hour) etc... “Great stay

| Studio city california Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

ok overall

Would not recommend Mon, Jun 4, 2012
My experience was ok. The room was clean. We had a nice view of the boat docking station. The things that i did not like was that i was able to hear the conversation they were having in the room next to us. Not something i want to do at midnight when I am trying to get some sleep. The hair dryer did not blow hot air out. The person who checked me in was fast and looked really bored. Other than that I have no other complaints.

| Inland Empire Family

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 2 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Great Location and good price

Would recommend Sat, Jun 2, 2012
Shelter Island was a great location to stay and very close to everything. The restaurant and room service was of course pricey, but there are tons of places in the area that you could go and eat at. Unfortunately, the pool was right next to our room and it could get loud however, since the air conditioner could be loud as well, it covered the noise.

Attractions

Consider getting one of the museum passes to see all of them for one price. They are all very small and you could probably see them all in a day or two. The zoo is right next door and within walking distance. Get an early start and you should have no problem finding parking.

| New Jersey Couples

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Quiet location, clean comfortable rooms, friendly staff

Would recommend Tue, May 29, 2012
Overall 3.5 out of 5 Pros: 1. Tranquil setting on Shelter Island - quite and relaxed setting. Park right across the hotel. Great for picnics and evening walks. 2. Clean and comfortable rooms - requests promptly fulfilled. 3. Friendly staff at front desk and restaurant- we had problems with the toilet cistern. made this weird and loud whistling nose. Was fixed promptly and offered breakfast credit. 4. Full service bar and restaurant on site. Also, Humphries Hotel and Bar is next door. 5. Room has microwave and fridge - that we liked. Cons: 1. Walls to thin - The 'Sunset Garden' building had really thin walls and creaky ceilings. The 'Casa Del Mar' building is always recommended. 2. Bar and restaurant o - a bit pricey for me. Limited selection. Appetizers w/ 1 drink each came to 25/person. Closes early at 10pm. Then, you have to drive. 3. Not always an everyday value - You have book in advance to get a good deal.

| San Jose, California Couples

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Excellent hotel!

Would recommend Mon, May 28, 2012
The staff was very helpful and friendly. Very pretty location and great room!

Entertainment hint

Sea World is very close and great!!

| Boulder,CO Family

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Got to experience seeing my son getting to see other parts of the U.S.

Would recommend Sun, May 27, 2012
good night sleep, good food and nice view front or back of hotel.

Dining

Don't pay for an upgrade for water view. Because you can see it from the front or back of hotel.

| Indiana Family

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

mr

Would recommend Fri, May 18, 2012
very clean, love the separate bathroom, i stayed in building E right by the pool loved it

| imperial Family

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Can you clean up the garbage?

Would recommend Thu, May 3, 2012
Unfortunately our review from us is that the hotel is just average. Let's start off with the good - beautiful views of both the marina and the shoreline, nice courtyards outside the marina facing rooms, a nice "hot" hot tub, a beautifully appointed lobby, comfortable bed and nice flat screen TV's, and the room was cozy and clean. Now for the not so great - parking is kind of a dick dance. There's not much of it. We had to park 4 buildings away from where our room was located. The rooms, clearly renovated not too long ago, also showed evidence of said renovation. It was clear that they took old out of date rooms and tried to give them more of a boutique feel. They weren't terrible, but you could tell that they were covering up some old old designs. Close but no cigar on the boutique look. The toilet in our room needed a new float and trap - because we had to jiggle the handle to make it stop running. The air conditioner was a wall unit that was located so high on the wall that unless you were tall or stood on a chair you couldn't view the controls or the temperature gauge. But the biggest disappointment of all was the pool area. All of the hampers were overflowing with used towels and there were lots of tables with empty food containers, glasses and drinks. But worst of all were the garbage cans which were overflowing with food. So badly that seagulls were eating from the garbage and at one point there was a gull that almost dropped chicken bones into the pool. There were also gobs of ketchup smeared on the pool deck that people had to walk around. We informed the management (who were very polite when we did tell them) of the mess and it took no less than 45 minutes for someone to come out and clean up the mess. It's a hit or miss on whether we would stay here again - nothing was so horrible (other than the pool) that we wouldn't come back, but for a place that is trying to make themselves out to be a little more upscale, there are probably places in the area that ARE truly upscale and in the same price range.

| Los Angeles Couples

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Perfect Location

Would recommend Wed, May 2, 2012
Check in and out was very easy. Room was exceptionally clean, well organized, stylishly decorated, beautiful view of Downtown and Bay from balcony. Bath was spotless, large, and well appointed. Within easy driving distance of all major tourist attractions and wonderful restaurants.

Dining

Blue Water Seafood on India for lunch. Expect wait on weekends, but fabulous fresh seafood sandwiches and tacos. The shrimp taco was exceptionally good. Moderately priced.

| Bryan, TX, USA L.G.B.T.

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Good as its reviews - honest

Would recommend Sun, Apr 22, 2012
Rooms are a bit small but the views are great. Rsetaurant is very good and not too expensive. If breakfast was included in the price I would have probably given this place 5 stars.

| New Jersey Family

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5