$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 29, 2015 Check-out: Sep 1, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

3 stars
View map of 2051 Shelter Island Dr., San Diego, CA 92106

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
444 out of 444
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jdbjr
Business
Bryan, TX, USA
May 2, 2012

Perfect Location

Check in and out was very easy. Room was exceptionally clean, well organized, stylishly decorated, beautiful view of Downtown and Bay from balcony. Bath was spotless, large, and well appointed. Within easy driving distance of all major tourist attractions and wonderful restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Blue Water Seafood on India for lunch. Expect wait on weekends, but fabulous fresh seafood sandwiches and tacos. The shrimp taco was exceptionally good. Moderately priced.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jersey75
Business
New Jersey
Apr 22, 2012

Good as its reviews - honest

Rooms are a bit small but the views are great. Rsetaurant is very good and not too expensive. If breakfast was included in the price I would have probably given this place 5 stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jack Q
Business
Susanville, CA, USA
Apr 10, 2012

Beautiful getaway

Couldn't ask for a more beautiful setting. Two pools with great atmosphere. Good restaurant onsite with many more within walking distance. Loved it! Would definitely vacation there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bali Hai restaurant is within walking distance. Breathe taking views, excellent food, total atmosphere......a must!

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nicolemg
Business
Atlanta, GA
Apr 9, 2012

Great destination; leisurely pace

Beautiful hotel. Beautiful view. Friendly staff. Only hiccup was that we were located across from the service room/work room and we could hear noise throughout the evening. The hotel had a great location that was steps from the marina and steps from the bay's waterfront. It was only three miles from the airport and had a complimentary shuttle. Serene. Great if you want leisure or a little action. There were many shops nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jstang
Business
Calgary
Apr 8, 2012

Awesome hotel

My daughter and I just got home from a fabulous week in San Diego. The best western island palms was a beautiful hotel. It is located on shelter island between the bay and the marina. The landscaping is luscious, our room was on the 3rd floor in the marina building with a balcony out to the marina. It was very clean, beautiful room. Not one complaint. We loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JCYJ
Business
Colorado
Apr 6, 2012

very good place to stay

Everything was good at this place, except the room noise between rooms. Family with small children was next door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

very easy access into downtown San Diego

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Just do it
Business
Dover, NH
Apr 1, 2012

Beautiful location and room

I decided to upgrade based on the feedback from this site. I don't know what the standard rooms looked like but we stayed at Casa building with frig, sink and coffee maker. Very useful and very cozy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The hotel dining is great, don't go off site thinking you would get better, price, service and taste AMAZING!!

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
1kds
Business
Fargo, ND
Mar 27, 2012

March 2012

The Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina is a very nice place to stay. I would definitely recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
4Andy
Business
Wisconsin, USA
Mar 24, 2012

San Diego

The staff was very helpful and knowledgeable. The room was comfortable, but a little small. The view was amazing. The location was nice -- off the beaten path but close enough to the bus stop, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

No car is necessary if you are willing to walk a little and take public transportation. For $5 a day you can get just about anywhere!

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
vacation Dad
Business
Des Moines, IA
Mar 23, 2012

Family fun

We had a great time in San Diego and a lot of the credit goes to the Best Western Island Palms. The room was very clean and modern, with a lovely balcony looking over the bay. The room was always cleaned and made up nicely, with a very "homey" atmosphere. Also, the onsite restaurant served excellent cuisine and gave us a magnificent view of the marina. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

When checking in, ask the hotel desk clerk for a map of the grounds and a map of the area. These were a great help in getting around. Also, ask them to mark where the vending machines are so you don't have to spend a lot of time looking for them if you get a hankering for something.

Back to menu Return to top