$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 6, 2015 Check-out: Jul 8, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

3 stars
View map of 2051 Shelter Island Dr., San Diego, CA 92106

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
514 out of 514
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MJ72
Business
Ohio
Jul 19, 2012

Great stay

We stayed in the Casa Marina and had a nice 2queen bed room. We overlooked the marina and Point Loma. The room was very nice. Big flat screen tv. Nice mini fridge. Microwave. Coffee... with TWO packets of regular and TWO packets of decaf. Really nice to be able to make more than one cup of caffeinated coffee. The beds had dials on them to change from soft to firm. Kinda cool. Bathroom was nicely done - wish it had a little brighter lighting, though. Temps were a little below normal during our stay - but our kids loved the pool and said the water was warm. I enjoyed sitting by the fire while watching them swim. We saw the bigger pool by the front desk, but didn't use it. (A little to far away.) One of the reasons I chose the hotel was for the free parking - which was nice considering we stayed for 4 days. Some really great restaurants nearby. We ate at the hotel restaurant one night. It was good, but pricey. Only disappointment of the stay (NOT THE HOTEL'S FAULT) was that the SD fireworks had a malfunction and were over in 20 seconds. One of the main reasons I chose this hotel was the proximity to the bay for the fireworks. We were able to watch the Sea World fireworks from our balcony. Not as exciting, though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Point Break Cafe... hidden treasure. We ate there multiple times (different meals) and LOVED it. Pleasant staff and EXCEPTIONAL food.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Melba5k
Business
San Diego
Jul 16, 2012

Vacation/comic-con

Location was excellent. We loved being close to the water! The rooms were a little uncomfortable and humid despite running the air conditioner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Julio68
Business
Escondido
Jul 11, 2012

Family Getaway

The place was great beautiful clean. The only thing is they did not have the room I wanted and confirmed with them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
vacation aide
Business
Boston Area
Jul 3, 2012

Shelter island

The Best Western Island Palms Hotel and Marina was a very pleasant place to stay while visiting San Diego. The island is relaxing and offers wonderful views of the city. The staff were very friendly and the room was clean. The only areas that needs improving upon is the room temperature and the window. It was hot in the room. There was an air conditioning unit but it was so cool outside if we could have the window open we would not have had to use it. The window opened but it was not working properly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Balboa Park is beautiful! It has 14 museums, wonderful gardens and is bigger than Central Park.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
59Diamonds
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Jul 2, 2012

Family Getaway Vacation

Took the family out on a vacation to Sea World and we stayed here. Nice place right by the ocean, great view, the kids loved it because the hotel provides free bike rides. Great family getaway

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Annieaerobics
Business
Wisconsin
Jun 30, 2012

Great relaxing getaway.

Hotel location was great for us. Very quite and peaceful. We had a room on the marina side which was just fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Great entertainment a few blocks away

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bob the Wanderer
Business
St. George, Utah
Jun 22, 2012

Enjoyed my stay

One of the best places I've stayed. Beautiful Marina & Bay across the street, clean quiet room, good food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nancy in albuq
Business
albuquerque, NM
Jun 18, 2012

beautiful setting

it sits on a little pennisula called shelter island. on one side is the boat marina and on the other is an inlet where boats come in and out, so great views all around. 2 separate pools for the kids to enjoy and very close to the entertainment places.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

pizza nova was delicious great for kids and right on the marina

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Birthday girls
Business
Kansas City
Jun 7, 2012

Great location and good value

Hotel is on Shelter Island right across the street from the bay and a fishing pier. It was easy to get around to all the sites we wanted to visit but you have to have a car - good news was parking was free. We had a corner room that was a good size but the other couple we were traveling with were disappointed in their room which was smaller. Several restaurants were near by and the staff was very helpful. Very pleasant stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rururu
Business
Studio city california
Jun 5, 2012

Great stay

A nice hotel in a central location in San Diego (10 mins drive from downtown or Sea World). Lovely views of the marina from hotel.Fantastic service especially in the bar/restaurant, and the rooms were immaculately clean. The pool and hot tub were very nice. (small) There are plenty of nice places to eat within walking distance; a little Thai place, Miguels Mexican, Bali Hai (good happy hour) etc... “Great stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top