$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 12, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

3 stars
View map of 2051 Shelter Island Dr., San Diego, CA 92106

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
511 out of 511
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
vacation aide
Business
Boston Area
Jul 3, 2012

Shelter island

The Best Western Island Palms Hotel and Marina was a very pleasant place to stay while visiting San Diego. The island is relaxing and offers wonderful views of the city. The staff were very friendly and the room was clean. The only areas that needs improving upon is the room temperature and the window. It was hot in the room. There was an air conditioning unit but it was so cool outside if we could have the window open we would not have had to use it. The window opened but it was not working properly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Balboa Park is beautiful! It has 14 museums, wonderful gardens and is bigger than Central Park.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
59Diamonds
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Jul 2, 2012

Family Getaway Vacation

Took the family out on a vacation to Sea World and we stayed here. Nice place right by the ocean, great view, the kids loved it because the hotel provides free bike rides. Great family getaway

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Annieaerobics
Business
Wisconsin
Jun 30, 2012

Great relaxing getaway.

Hotel location was great for us. Very quite and peaceful. We had a room on the marina side which was just fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Great entertainment a few blocks away

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bob the Wanderer
Business
St. George, Utah
Jun 22, 2012

Enjoyed my stay

One of the best places I've stayed. Beautiful Marina & Bay across the street, clean quiet room, good food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nancy in albuq
Business
albuquerque, NM
Jun 18, 2012

beautiful setting

it sits on a little pennisula called shelter island. on one side is the boat marina and on the other is an inlet where boats come in and out, so great views all around. 2 separate pools for the kids to enjoy and very close to the entertainment places.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

pizza nova was delicious great for kids and right on the marina

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Birthday girls
Business
Kansas City
Jun 7, 2012

Great location and good value

Hotel is on Shelter Island right across the street from the bay and a fishing pier. It was easy to get around to all the sites we wanted to visit but you have to have a car - good news was parking was free. We had a corner room that was a good size but the other couple we were traveling with were disappointed in their room which was smaller. Several restaurants were near by and the staff was very helpful. Very pleasant stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rururu
Business
Studio city california
Jun 5, 2012

Great stay

A nice hotel in a central location in San Diego (10 mins drive from downtown or Sea World). Lovely views of the marina from hotel.Fantastic service especially in the bar/restaurant, and the rooms were immaculately clean. The pool and hot tub were very nice. (small) There are plenty of nice places to eat within walking distance; a little Thai place, Miguels Mexican, Bali Hai (good happy hour) etc... “Great stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cliff
Business
Pueblo Colorado
Jun 5, 2012

50th highschool reuinon

This hotel is awsome. Great rooms and staff. Would recommend to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great restuarant at the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Squigglemoo
Business
Inland Empire
Jun 4, 2012

ok overall

My experience was ok. The room was clean. We had a nice view of the boat docking station. The things that i did not like was that i was able to hear the conversation they were having in the room next to us. Not something i want to do at midnight when I am trying to get some sleep. The hair dryer did not blow hot air out. The person who checked me in was fast and looked really bored. Other than that I have no other complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Freakin' Puerto Rican
Business
New Jersey
Jun 2, 2012

Great Location and good price

Shelter Island was a great location to stay and very close to everything. The restaurant and room service was of course pricey, but there are tons of places in the area that you could go and eat at. Unfortunately, the pool was right next to our room and it could get loud however, since the air conditioner could be loud as well, it covered the noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Consider getting one of the museum passes to see all of them for one price. They are all very small and you could probably see them all in a day or two. The zoo is right next door and within walking distance. Get an early start and you should have no problem finding parking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top