$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

3 stars
View map of 2051 Shelter Island Dr., San Diego, CA 92106

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
447 out of 447
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sjava
Family
Riverside, CA
Sep 5, 2012

Good value on great location

The hotel located on a great location. My son had a great time in the pool. I wish my room has view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pheel
West Chester, Ohio
Aug 19, 2012

wonderful family getaway

Centrally located...easy to get to many other attractions in the San Diego area. Hotel very clean, staff exceptionally nice and helpful. Hotel is very quiet, has excellent dining and so glad all three meals are offered at the Hotel. Plan to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Back Home Again
Family
Colorado
Aug 19, 2012

Son's graduation from MCRD

Can't wait to go back--won't consider any other place to stay--it was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Broken yokes for breakfast Tin fish for seafood!!

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mary may
Couples
Uk
Aug 4, 2012

Week away with hubby

Been to San Diego before and this hotel had better Amenties and the location was fab. 1000% will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Meloraeats
Couples
Denver, CO
Jul 23, 2012

Wonderful Getaway!

We stayed at the Best Western Island Palms on Shelter Island and I have to say, we'll be staying there again. The lobby was beautiful with a nice water fountain and greenery. The staff was very nice and it was easy to check in. Our room was next to the pool and had a view of the marina. It was a king size bed and was very clean. They are a very family friendly hotel. The Sunday that we were there, they had a movie night in the pool area, showing "Horton Hears a Who." It was fun floating in the pool watching the movie. We had breakfast and two dinners at the hotel's restaurant, the Blue Wave Bar & Grill. The food was delicious and the staff was very friendly. They have patio seating that over looks the pool area and a wonderful view of the marina. We even got to see the fireworks from Sea World as we had late night drinks and desert. The price range is typical of what you would expect from a hotel restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MN Traveler to SD
Couples
Savage,MN
Jul 21, 2012

Shelter Island

This hotel was located in a quiet area and we enjoyed the proximity to the bay and the walking paths. However, our room was poolside and the noise from the evening movies, restaurant and pool were troublesome. The room was well furnished and comfortable, but small. After reviewing layouts of the entire property wished we had been assigned to a larger room in the Del Mar location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MJ72
Family
Ohio
Jul 19, 2012

Great stay

We stayed in the Casa Marina and had a nice 2queen bed room. We overlooked the marina and Point Loma. The room was very nice. Big flat screen tv. Nice mini fridge. Microwave. Coffee... with TWO packets of regular and TWO packets of decaf. Really nice to be able to make more than one cup of caffeinated coffee. The beds had dials on them to change from soft to firm. Kinda cool. Bathroom was nicely done - wish it had a little brighter lighting, though. Temps were a little below normal during our stay - but our kids loved the pool and said the water was warm. I enjoyed sitting by the fire while watching them swim. We saw the bigger pool by the front desk, but didn't use it. (A little to far away.) One of the reasons I chose the hotel was for the free parking - which was nice considering we stayed for 4 days. Some really great restaurants nearby. We ate at the hotel restaurant one night. It was good, but pricey. Only disappointment of the stay (NOT THE HOTEL'S FAULT) was that the SD fireworks had a malfunction and were over in 20 seconds. One of the main reasons I chose this hotel was the proximity to the bay for the fireworks. We were able to watch the Sea World fireworks from our balcony. Not as exciting, though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Point Break Cafe... hidden treasure. We ate there multiple times (different meals) and LOVED it. Pleasant staff and EXCEPTIONAL food.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Melba5k
Family
San Diego
Jul 16, 2012

Vacation/comic-con

Location was excellent. We loved being close to the water! The rooms were a little uncomfortable and humid despite running the air conditioner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Julio68
Family
Escondido
Jul 11, 2012

Family Getaway

The place was great beautiful clean. The only thing is they did not have the room I wanted and confirmed with them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
vacation aide
Friends
Boston Area
Jul 3, 2012

Shelter island

The Best Western Island Palms Hotel and Marina was a very pleasant place to stay while visiting San Diego. The island is relaxing and offers wonderful views of the city. The staff were very friendly and the room was clean. The only areas that needs improving upon is the room temperature and the window. It was hot in the room. There was an air conditioning unit but it was so cool outside if we could have the window open we would not have had to use it. The window opened but it was not working properly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Balboa Park is beautiful! It has 14 museums, wonderful gardens and is bigger than Central Park.

Back to menu Return to top