$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 6, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

3 stars
View map of 2051 Shelter Island Dr., San Diego, CA 92106

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
514 out of 514
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jakegold
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Jul 27, 2009

Great Hotel!

We wish our stay had been longer because we really enjoyed our night there. We had a wonderful view of the marina behind the hotel and wished we had more time to explore. Our room was brand new, in a building that had just been opened a few weeks earlier.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jacksonville, FL
Jun 18, 2010

Simply amazing!

This trip was very relaxing and leisurely for us making the Best Western an ideal vacation spot. We had one of the suites(I highly recommend paying the little extra for one)that was so big and relaxing it made us forget that home was over 2000 miles away. The room had a very "homey" style about it with a lot of ammenities. I was surprised that the staff even did our dishes every day!! I am most definitely staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the 5 mile trips up the road to La Jolla.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Laguna Hills
Sep 14, 2009

Excellent service

I love coming back to this hotel. The location is amazing. The staff is very friendly and attentive. Any concerns are addressed promptly and to the guests' complete satisfaction. I only wish I could visit this place more frequently.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

One of the best restaurants in town(for food and service) is Di Medici. The attention and care one receives from the staff and the owner is unsurpassed. The atmosphere is very warm and inviting. The selection of seafood and Italian traditional dishes is unbeatable. For a taste of Southern Italian hospitality go to Di Medici. The owner makes you feel like you are his very special guest. We had an unforgettable time at this restaurant.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Douglassville, PA
Sep 14, 2009

Terrific!

The hotel was great! We upgraded to a suite and had plenty of room. We were close to all of the attractions (SD Zoo, Sea World, etc.) The hotel was very clean and the pool was wonderful. You couldn't beat the views and we enjoyed the restaurant on site as well. Extremely friendly staff. We're planning on returning next year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Dinner at the hotel was very good!

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newark, NJ
Aug 8, 2007

post card paradise

The views out the front and back on the hotel are picture post cards. The hotel was amazing and really worth the investment and the stay was right in the center of anywhere you might want to visit. You do need the rent a car to really takew n all of the activities offered. The weather was perfect and so were the accomadations. Well worth the vacation, only wished I stayed for two weeks instead of the 6 days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

San Diego Zoo, Sea World, Balboa Park, Gas Lamp district, the cruses up and down the bay and old San Diego.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Out-of-towners
Business
Chicago, IL
Nov 20, 2009

WONDERFUL!

This is a GREAT hotel! It is far enough away to where you get that "resort" feel, then again close enough to everything there is to do and see in San Diego! We loved it! The hotel staff was very helpful and accommodating. The fitness center was great...we used it once during our stay! We also utilized the outdoor walking path right along the water...just breathtaking! The hotel was very clean...I mean VERY clean (from the inside out...literally...including the pool and hot tub)! The only thing we regret was that we didn't have enough time during our stay to utilize their free bicycles...that would have been fun! This will always be our hotel of choice whenever we visit San Diego in the future! Search no more...stay here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Gulfport
Oct 20, 2008

Great Location and Very Comfortable

This hotel was very nice and the value was wonderful. The location was excellent. We were blessed to have our two rooms side by side in the little bungalo looking setting with gated patios. We stayed 8 days and 9 nights. We would have prefered more reasonable dining. Perhaps even a late night grill with more afordable options. We would also have loved to have microwaves in our rooms for popcorn and warming leftovers from the resturants since we were there for a week. It is a great place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a marina for this hotel and directly across the road is the San Diego bay where you can watch ships go and come and enjoy fishing from a public pier. You can take a peaceful walk along the shore on a sidewalk. Shopping, dining and sightseeing are all within 5 miles.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lancaster, CA
Jul 24, 2008

Great view of bayT

The Best Western Island Palms was very nice, great pool. Very close to the airport and very friendly stuff. Look forward to my next stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Boating, visit large ships in the Bay

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, CA
Apr 20, 2007

Great getaway

The Best Western Island Palms Hotel & Marina in San Diego was the perfect get away spot. It's located on Shelter Island. The view was amazing!! It was very clean & quiet. It was nice falling asleep hearing the waves. The hotel was beautiful & in the perfect location. We were 10 minutes away from the Gaslamp District where we caught a San Diego Padres game & 10 minutes away from Pacific Beach which has a great walk way & shops. I will always stay at this hotel. I recommend it to any one who wants to be in a nice secluded area...and in 10 minutes you can be where all of the action is!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Located on Shelter Island you can take a nice walk, picnic or take a nice run. There are several little lunch spots within walking distance.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chico, CA
Jul 22, 2007

The best ever!

My stay at the Island Palms was fabulous. The staff was courteous and helpful, the room was clean and well equipped and the food was marvelous. The hotel is set in an ideal location bordered by the marina on one side and the ocean on the other. Nice place to take long walks and it seemed that everyone I met was friendly. I can hardly wait to book my next trip to San Diego and I will definitely stay at the Island Palms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk across the street from the hotel and there is a beautiful place to walk along the beach.

Back to menu Return to top