$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2014 Check-out: Aug 11, 2014

BEST WESTERN PLUS Cabrillo Garden Inn

3 stars
840 A Street, San Diego, CA 92101-4613
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
29 reviews
Gaslamp district vacation

For the price this hotel was nice, clean, staff was very friendly and close" walking distance 15... See full review

  • ANGELRED75
  • Apr 19, 2014
Great Location

We walked to every place we wanted form this Hotels location. We all agreed nice place to stay. See full review

  • Bill Jr
  • Mar 17, 2014
Centrally located in downtown San Diego, adjacent to Symphony Hall, just minutes away from Gaslamp Quarter, the downtown San Diego business district and famous Horton Plaza shopping mall, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Cabrillo Garden Inn is perfect for families, couples and business travelers alike. Stay at this charming San Diego hotel and you'll be in the heart of a thriving, exciting and fun city. Explore downtown San Diego by indulging in decadent restaurants at the nearby Gaslamp District, shopping at Horton Plaza shopping mall and Seaport Village, catching a game at PETCO Park, seeing a concert at San Diego Copley Symphony Hall or attending a conference at the San Diego Convention center - home of the world-famous San Diego Comic-Con and Fancy Food Show®. And with convenient access to Southern California's 163 Freeway and other nearby freeways, BEST WESTERN PLUS Cabrillo Garden Inn guests can enjoy attractions, like SeaWorld®, the San Diego Zoo®, Balboa Park, famous Old Town San Diego and local beaches. After exploring everything that surrounds this boutique downtown San Diego hotel, unwind in spacious, well-appointed accommodations - each of which comes complete with cable television and free wireless high-speed Internet access. Other amenities at this 100% non-smoking San Diego downtown hotel include a complimentary continental breakfast each morning and self-parking - based on availability - for just a $15 overnight fee (oversized vehicle and trailer parking is not available). Guests staying at this hotel in downtown San Diego for business reasons will also appreciate on-site limited business services and a close proximity to the San Diego Convention Center, USS Midway Carrier, Cruise Terminal, Marine Corps Recruit Depot, downtown San Diego business district and more. Book a stay today at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Cabrillo Garden Inn - a world-class downtown San Diego hotel that offers all the comforts of home and an unbeatable location!

BEST WESTERN PLUS Cabrillo Garden Inn Rooms

1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,DELUXE FURNISHINGS,REFRIGERATOR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,DELUXE FURNISHINGS,REFRIGERATOR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,MOBILITY ACC,COMMASSIST,ROLL SHWR,NSMK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,MOBILITY ACC,COMMASSIST,BATHTUB,NSMK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Live entertainment
Horseback riding
Scuba diving
Fishing
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Cabrillo Garden Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.7191 -117.1568
Area served
Carlsbad, Los Angeles, Tijuana, Coronado Island, El Cajon, Chula Vista, Las Vegas,, Carmel Valley, LaJolla, Oceanside
Nearby airports
(SAN), 4.00, MI, NE;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.8 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.8 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.9 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Botanical Building: 0.9 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.1 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.1 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.8 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.8 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.9 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Botanical Building: 0.9 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.1 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.1 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.4 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.1 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.4 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.4 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.5 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4.1 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 5.1 mi
  • Sea World: 5.2 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 5.5 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5.9 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 6.4 mi
  • Belmont Park: 6.6 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 7.3 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 7.8 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 27.8 mi
  • Legoland: 29.8 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118 mi

Dining

Croce's Restaurant & Bar
0.6 mile(s) from Croce's Restaurant & Bar, 3:00 p.m. to 2:00 a.m.
Twiggs Restaurant
0.3 mile(s) from Twiggs Restaurant, 6:30 a.m. to 11:00 p.m.
Bandar
0.6 mile(s) from Bandar, Persian cuisine, 12:00 Noon to 11:00 p.m.
Bella Luna
0.6 mile(s) from Bella Luna, Italian, 11:30 a.m. to 2:00 p.m. and 5:30 p.m. to 9:00 p.m.
La Gran Tapa
0.3 mile(s) from La Gran Tapa, Spanish cuisine, 11:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m.
Panda Restaurant
0.5 mile(s) from Panda Restaurant, Chinese, 11:30 a.m. to 9:00 p.m.
Chive
0.7 mile(s) from Chive, Continental, 3:00 p.m. to 2:00 a.m.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (29)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Cabrillo Garden Inn

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
4 out of 29
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4
Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Cabrillo Garden Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chiraq
Las Vegas, Nevada
Sep 3, 2013

Average

It wasn't dirty at all, which was my main concern. Staff was nice, nothing special. Location is very close to the gas lamp district, which was nice. It was what I expected for the price i paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Cabrillo Garden Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sandy jh
arizona
Mar 26, 2012

Super cute and clean for the gardening fan

Booked my room based on several factors. I was looking for a hotel in Dontown San Diego that had parking, breakfast and in room amenities like fridge, etc. Thought the pictues posted online looked cozy and added a homey feel to the property. All my needs were met. Hotel parking was only $10/day--way better than the $20-40 other, larger hotels were charging. Free Continental breakfast was mostly ready at 6am--great becasue I was in SD for a race and wanted to get some food in me before I went to the start line. Most hotels have breakfast at 7am, so pleased to find out I could take advantage of the food. Staff were friendly at check-in and saw them sweeping the courtyard/parking lot to keep it immaculate. Room was what you would expect for a Best Western of that age and size, but my friend and I had plenty of room. The room looked recently refurbished with clean carpet and newish bedding and the (small) bathroom had new tile, fixtures, glass shower and rainfall showerhead and good water pressure. Location is just north of the GasLamp district, so you get a great short walk to restaurants/nightlife without having to be disturbed by traffic and revelers in the wee hours of the morning. Best surprise feature was all the plants in pots and planters around the courtyard. My friend, a gardener, was speechless at the size, variety and colorfulness of all the plants. If you have ever stayed in a hotel with dead palms or bushes in the planters and felt depressed because of it,you will certainly appreciate all the flowers and succulents around the offices and rooms. Also a small viewing deck on top of the roof with more plants for meditation and quiet time. Would definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are traveling with tween or teenage girls or just like fun jewelry, visit the So Good jewelry store on 6th Ave in the GasLamp. Store is bursting with fun, shiny, inexpensive jewelry (much on sale at 30-50% off) and the walls are covered in pink polka dot taffeta. Would be a great place to buy bridal party gifts or fun souvenirs other than mugs, t-shirts and othe SD branded items.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Cabrillo Garden Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bakersfield, Ca
Dec 21, 2010

Nice & cozy, great location.

It was a nice and small place with beautiful grounds. My daughter came back from her ships deployment and wanted to stay in the city for a little getaway not far from her base. There was lots to do as far as sightseeing and it felt good to know that we weren't to far away. Although I am not use to paying for parking but it was good to walk through the town since we don't have that kind of experience in our hometown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

If you love to walk this would be a great location. Since you would have to pay for parking. The trolley station is just a few blocks or you can take a short taxi drive to the pier for some sea food.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Cabrillo Garden Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bakersfield, Ca
Dec 21, 2010

Nice & cozy, great location.

It was a nice and small place with beautiful grounds. My daughter came back from her ships deployment and wanted to stay in the city for a little getaway not far from her base. There was lots to do as far as sightseeing and it felt good to know that we weren't to far away. Although I am not use to paying for parking but it was good to walk through the town since we don't have that kind of experience in our hometown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

If you love to walk this would be a great location. Since you would have to pay for parking. The trolley station is just a few blocks or you can take a short taxi drive to the pier for some sea food.

Back to menu Return to top