$134 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 15, 2014

BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU

3 stars
6474 El Cajon Boulevard, San Diego, CA 92115-2645
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
37 reviews
Excellent value

Price was right. Rather convenient from the airport on our way north. Very fine breakfast. See full review

  • Fifties
  • Jan 21, 2013
Reasonable price for a weekend stay

My husband and I went to San Diego for a weekend and were pleasantly surprised by our experience... See full review

  • smoore2
  • Dec 23, 2013
The BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU offers an unbeatable San Diego location, close to San Diego State University & Qualcomm Stadium. The hotel features affordable rates and comfortable accommodations. It's also ranked highly on TripAdvisor and is one of the only hotels in San Diego with no hidden fees. We offer a complimentary continental breakfast, Wi-Fi, parking and movies. Guests of the BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU will find that each spacious accommodation and suite features thoughtful touches to make every stay more comfortable, including a DVD player, complimentary high-speed Internet access, cable satellite television with HBO®, ample desk space, coffee/tea maker and an iron and ironing board. For long-term guests, kitchen units with full-sized appliances are available, with special discounts for extended stays. The hotel is perfect for families looking for value while visiting students at San Diego State University, construction crews wanting weekly and monthly stays, patients visiting nearby Alvarado Hospital or Sharp Grossmont Hospital, and those visiting nearby synagogues and churches. With so much to explore in San Diego, just hop on the trolley! There are 2 stops less than 1.5 miles away at San Diego State University. Let the trolley whisk you away to Old Town, Little Italy, the Gaslamp Quarter, Qualcomm Stadium, Petco Park, the Convention Center and Tijuana, Mexico. Other attractions around this San Diego hotel include Viejas Arena (formerly Cox Arena), SeaWorld®, and the world-famous San Diego Zoo. Complete your stay by waking up to a complimentary continental breakfast with many kosher items and featuring a variety of morning-time favorites, like make your own waffles, relaxing at the outdoor heated pool with BBQ grill, surfing the web on the lobby computer and using our on-site laundry facility. Make your next San Diego stay the best yet - book online today and save with the BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites

BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU Rooms

1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,HI SPEED NET,WORK DESK,REFRIG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,SMOKNG,HI SPEED NET,MICR RFRG,TV25 IN,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,HI SPEED NET,MICR RFRG,TV25 IN,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,WALK IN SHOWER,NSMK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,WALK IN SHOWER,SMOK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,MINISUITE,42IN LCD TV,MICRFG,SOFABD,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,HI SPEED NET,FULL KITCHN,MICR RFRG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,SMOK,HI SPEED NET,IRON,COFMKR,TV25IN,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,HI SPEED NET,FULL KITCHN,3BD SOFA,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,SMOK,HI SPEED NET,IRON,COFMKR,TV25IN,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,HI SPEED NET,IRON,COFMKR,TV25IN,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,SMOK,HI SPEED NET,FULL KITCHN,MICRO FRIG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,HI SPEED NET,IRON,COFMKR,TV25IN,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,HI SPEED NET,FULL KITCH,2ND BD SOFA,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Game room
Play ground
Boating
Scuba diving
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Guest laundromat
Security
In-Room Safe
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.7668 -117.0598
Area served
Carlsbad, El Cajon, Del Mar, Coronado, Lemon Grove, La Mesa, La Jolla, Escondido, Chula Vista
Nearby airports
(SAN), 15.00, MI, NE;
Area description
Suburban

Nearby points of interest

  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4.7 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 5.6 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 5.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 5.7 mi
  • Botanical Building: 5.8 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 5.8 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 5.8 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 5.9 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 6.1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 6.1 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 6.2 mi
  • PETCO Park: 7 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 7 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 7.1 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4.7 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 5.6 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 5.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 5.7 mi
  • Botanical Building: 5.8 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 5.8 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 5.8 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 5.9 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 6.1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 6.1 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 6.2 mi
  • PETCO Park: 7 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 7 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 7.1 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 7.3 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 7.3 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 7.7 mi
  • Heritage Park: 7.7 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 7.8 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 7.9 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 7.9 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 8.4 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 9.2 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 9.2 mi
  • Sea World: 9.8 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 10.2 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 10.7 mi
  • Belmont Park: 11.2 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 11.5 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 11.5 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 24.2 mi
  • Legoland: 29.1 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,111.5 mi

Dining

DZ Akin's
3 mile(s) from DZ Akin's, kosher style delicatessen and hot meals
Claim Jumper
4 mile(s) from Claim Jumper, American
Dogwood's Eatery
0 mile(s) from Dogwood's Eatery, sandwich shop
Outback Steakhouse
4 mile(s) from Outback Steakhouse, American
Olive Garden
4 mile(s) from Olive Garden, Italian
Red Lobster
3.5 mile(s) from Red Lobster, Seafood
Marie Calendars
3 mile(s) from Marie Calendars, American
El Toritos
2 mile(s) from El Toritos, Mexican
Boston Market
.3 mile(s) from Boston Market, home-style
Café J's
.1 mile(s) from Café J's, Mexican

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (37)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
9 out of 37
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
3
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
smoore2
Las Vegas, NV
Dec 23, 2013

Reasonable price for a weekend stay

My husband and I went to San Diego for a weekend and were pleasantly surprised by our experience here. First, when we got there, the staff gave us a free upgrade to a suite from a regular room. When we got to the room, it was clean, spacious, and didn't have even a hint of cigarette smell (which is more than I can say for rooms at many more expensive hotels I've stayed at). Certainly these aren't five-star accommodations, but they're more than adequate for the $80 nightly rate. I would recommend this place for a weekend stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JayB737
Houston Texas
May 3, 2013

Not the best. Motel type place

Motel type. Outside facing rooms. Not the best part of town in my opinion. Very clean rooms so not too bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fifties
Mechanics burg, PA
Jan 21, 2013

Excellent value

Price was right. Rather convenient from the airport on our way north. Very fine breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tjemee
saint louis
Jun 25, 2011

San Diego, yes!

Good, reasonably priced hotel with good service. Nothing fancy but well maintained. Nice to have breakfast but it was just average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't miss the different gardens at Balboa park

Review of BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tjemee
saint louis
Jun 25, 2011

San Diego, yes!

Good, reasonably priced hotel with good service. Nothing fancy but well maintained. Nice to have breakfast but it was just average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't miss the different gardens at Balboa park

Review of BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
love to wake up for breakfast
orange county
Jun 14, 2011

nice place

We drove and walked around down town san diego, ate at coyote. Location was a bit of a drive from downtown but the free breakfast made up for it. Everyone was very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

We love places providing free breakfast, and good service and we got it here.

Review of BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
love to wake up for breakfast
orange county
Jun 14, 2011

nice place

We drove and walked around down town san diego, ate at coyote. Location was a bit of a drive from downtown but the free breakfast made up for it. Everyone was very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

We love places providing free breakfast, and good service and we got it here.

Review of BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
North Cal
Apr 4, 2010

Excellent value and service!

The reception and housekeeping people in this hotel are great! The room was quiet, clean and nice, the kitchenette a great addition. The hotel is about 1 mi from the highway, quiet and easy to get to. The neighborhood is not that great.. We would definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Buon Apettito in Little Italy. Amazing restaurant.

Review of BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
North Cal
Apr 4, 2010

Excellent value and service!

The reception and housekeeping people in this hotel are great! The room was quiet, clean and nice, the kitchenette a great addition. The hotel is about 1 mi from the highway, quiet and easy to get to. The neighborhood is not that great.. We would definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Buon Apettito in Little Italy. Amazing restaurant.

Back to menu Return to top