BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU ★★★

Best price guarantee!

Find a lower price somewhere else and we'll pay 100% of the difference in Orbucks, plus up to $100 in additional Orbucks for Orbitz Rewards members Learn more

$94
avg/night
Rate based on
Check-in: Feb 8, 2016 Check-out: Feb 9, 2016
3.8 /5
Overall score
86%
Would recommend
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.9
1 2 3 4 5

Select your room

Overview

The BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU offers an unbeatable San Diego location, close to San Diego State University & Qualcomm Stadium. The hotel features affordable rates and comfortable accommodations. It's also ranked highly on TripAdvisor and is one of the only hotels in San Diego with no hidden fees. We offer a complimentary continental breakfast, Wi-Fi, parking and movies. Guests of the BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU will find that each spacious accommodation and suite features thoughtful touches to make every stay more comfortable, including a DVD player, complimentary high-speed Internet access, cable satellite television with HBO®, ample desk space, coffee/tea maker and an iron and ironing board. For long-term guests, kitchen units with full-sized appliances are available, with special discounts for extended stays. The hotel is perfect for families looking for value while visiting students at San Diego State University, construction crews wanting weekly and monthly stays, patients visiting nearby Alvarado Hospital or Sharp Grossmont Hospital, and those visiting nearby synagogues and churches. With so much to explore in San Diego, just hop on the trolley! There are 2 stops less than 1.5 miles away at San Diego State University. Let the trolley whisk you away to Old Town, Little Italy, the Gaslamp Quarter, Qualcomm Stadium, Petco Park, the Convention Center and Tijuana, Mexico. Other attractions around this San Diego hotel include Viejas Arena (formerly Cox Arena), SeaWorld®, and the world-famous San Diego Zoo. Complete your stay by waking up to a complimentary continental breakfast with many kosher items and featuring a variety of morning-time favorites, like make your own waffles, relaxing at the outdoor heated pool with BBQ grill, surfing the web on the lobby computer and using our on-site laundry facility. Make your next San Diego stay the best yet - book online today and save with the BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn

Dining

Olive Garden
4 mile(s) from Olive Garden, Italian
Café J's
.1 mile(s) from Café J's, Mexican
El Toritos
2 mile(s) from El Toritos, Mexican
Boston Market
.3 mile(s) from Boston Market, home-style
Dogwood's Eatery
0 mile(s) from Dogwood's Eatery, sandwich shop
DZ Akin's
3 mile(s) from DZ Akin's, kosher style delicatessen and hot meals
Claim Jumper
4 mile(s) from Claim Jumper, American
Red Lobster
3.5 mile(s) from Red Lobster, Seafood
Outback Steakhouse
4 mile(s) from Outback Steakhouse, American
Marie Calendars
3 mile(s) from Marie Calendars, American

Recommendations for you

Guest score 3.7 / 5
$89
Guest score 2.3 / 5
$47
Guest score 3.8 / 5
$104
Guest score 3.6 / 5
$94

Amenities

Featured

  • Free breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi in Room
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities

General

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
  • Pet friendly
  • Free local telephone calls
  • Ice machine

Activities

  • Heated pool
  • Game room
  • Play ground
  • Boating
  • Scuba diving

Dining

  • Free breakfast
  • Coffee maker in room

Services

  • 24 hour front desk
  • Guest laundromat
  • Security
  • In-Room Safe
  • Copy service

Internet

  • Free Wi-Fi in Room

Parking

  • Free parking
  • Outdoor parking

Accessibility

  • Accessible facilities

Room

  • DVD player
  • Television with cable
  • Kitchen
  • AM/FM alarm clock
  • Hairdryer in room
  • Cribs available
  • Sofa bed
  • Ironing board

Reviews

3.8 /5 Overall score

86% Would recommend

  • Amenities: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4.3/5
  • Hotel staff: 4.3/5
  • Comfort: 4/5
  • Location: 3.6/5
  • Value: 3.9/5

Great place to stay near SDSU!

Would recommend Mon, Apr 6, 2015
My daughter and I were there to see SDSU, and this hotel fit all our needs. It was comfortable, great service, clean and close to the campus. We'd stay there again!

| Evergreen Family

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

just an OK motel

Would recommend Sat, Jul 19, 2014
This is a motel, with some redeeming qualities, like free parking and a pool. The room was clean, the staff was friendly, and the price was fair. The location itself was not really near anything as far as attractions, unless you are visiting someone at SDSU, so it is pretty much a college town atmosphere. Overall, no real complaints, its just an OK motel. While I would recommend it if you are looking to save some money, I would say that if I am back in the area, I would pay more to upgrade to a nicer hotel in a more convenient area.

| Bayport, NY Family

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 2 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Reasonable price for a weekend stay

Would recommend Mon, Dec 23, 2013
My husband and I went to San Diego for a weekend and were pleasantly surprised by our experience here. First, when we got there, the staff gave us a free upgrade to a suite from a regular room. When we got to the room, it was clean, spacious, and didn't have even a hint of cigarette smell (which is more than I can say for rooms at many more expensive hotels I've stayed at). Certainly these aren't five-star accommodations, but they're more than adequate for the $80 nightly rate. I would recommend this place for a weekend stay.

| Las Vegas, NV Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 3 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Overnight in San Diego

Would recommend Sun, Jun 16, 2013
Everything was very easy. Friendly staff, clean well appointed room. Breakfast was good with many choices. An excellent choice near SDSU.

| Spring Valley, NY Business

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Not the best. Motel type place

Would not recommend Fri, May 3, 2013
Motel type. Outside facing rooms. Not the best part of town in my opinion. Very clean rooms so not too bad.

| Houston Texas Couples

2 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 2 /5
  • Location: 2 /5
  • Value: 2 /5

Week in San Diego

Would recommend Wed, Mar 27, 2013
Our family of four (kids 9 and 6) had a great time on our vacation. The hotel and staff were great, my only concern was the area. We did not know the area where we were staying and although it was conveniently located by the freeways we would not venture off the hotel grounds to walk to restaurants or anything else. Overall we would stay there again in a pinch, but if we visit San Diego again it will likely be at a different hotel.

Attractions

All attractions were relatively close to this hotel ,

| Langley, British columbia Family

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 3 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Excellent value

Would recommend Mon, Jan 21, 2013
Price was right. Rather convenient from the airport on our way north. Very fine breakfast.

| Mechanics burg, PA Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

ok

Would recommend Sat, Jul 28, 2012
Clean, but small, wifi but no sat/cable TV, not much nearby for eating. Near SDSU, quick in-n-out.

| San Francisco Family

2 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 2 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 2 /5
  • Location: 2 /5
  • Value: 2 /5

Great weekend stay

Would recommend Tue, May 22, 2012
Everything I needed while visiting in San Diego for SDSU graduation. The staff were especially nice, friendly and helpful. Clean, comfortable room, quiet at night.

| KY Singles

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Quiet, enjoyable location

Would recommend Tue, May 1, 2012
check-in and check-out were done quickly and with a friendly staff. Staff that cleaned rooms did an EXCELLENT job. Location was chosen because of distance to San Diego Zoo. Easy to get to zoo and back to Hotel.

Attractions

San Diego Zoo very close by. Easy drive.

| San Bruno, CA Family

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Top hotels

Nearby points of interest

Qualcomm Stadium 4.7 mi
Spanish Village Art Center 5.6 mi
Fleet Space Theater and Science Center 5.6 mi
San Diego Natural History Museum 5.6 mi
Casa De Balboa 5.7 mi
Botanical Building 5.8 mi
San Diego Zoo 5.8 mi
Timken Museum of Art 5.8 mi
San Diego Museum of Man 5.9 mi
San Diego Automotive Museum 6.1 mi
San Diego Museum of Art 6.1 mi
San Diego Aerospace Museum 6.2 mi
PETCO Park 7 mi
Firehouse Museum 7 mi
Childrens Museum of San Diego 7.3 mi
San Diego Convention Center 7.3 mi
Family Fun Center 7.7 mi
Heritage Park 7.7 mi
Junipero Serra Museum 7.8 mi
Whaley House Museum 7.9 mi
Old Town San Diego 7.9 mi
Bazaar Del Mundo 8 mi
Port of San Diego 8.4 mi
Chula Vista Nature Center 9.2 mi
Mission Bay Park 9.2 mi
Hospitality Point 10.2 mi
Pacific Beach 10.7 mi
Belmont Park 11.2 mi
Sunset Cliffs 11.5 mi
Sorrento Valley 11.5 mi
California Center For The Arts Museum 24.2 mi
Legoland 29.1 mi
Viejas Arena 2,111.5 mi

Hotel Policies

  • Check-in: 03:00 PM
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

$94
avg/night
Choose dates
Rate based on Check-in: Feb 8, 2016 Check-out: Feb 9, 2016