$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 23, 2014 Check-out: Sep 24, 2014

BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU

3 stars
6474 El Cajon Boulevard, San Diego, CA 92115-2645
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
26 reviews
Reasonable price for a weekend stay

My husband and I went to San Diego for a weekend and were pleasantly surprised by our experience... See full review

  • smoore2
  • Dec 23, 2013
Overnight in San Diego

Everything was very easy. Friendly staff, clean well appointed room. Breakfast was good with many... See full review

  • smeister
  • Jun 16, 2013
The BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU offers an unbeatable San Diego location, close to San Diego State University & Qualcomm Stadium. The hotel features affordable rates and comfortable accommodations. It's also ranked highly on TripAdvisor and is one of the only hotels in San Diego with no hidden fees. We offer a complimentary continental breakfast, Wi-Fi, parking and movies. Guests of the BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU will find that each spacious accommodation and suite features thoughtful touches to make every stay more comfortable, including a DVD player, complimentary high-speed Internet access, cable satellite television with HBO®, ample desk space, coffee/tea maker and an iron and ironing board. For long-term guests, kitchen units with full-sized appliances are available, with special discounts for extended stays. The hotel is perfect for families looking for value while visiting students at San Diego State University, construction crews wanting weekly and monthly stays, patients visiting nearby Alvarado Hospital or Sharp Grossmont Hospital, and those visiting nearby synagogues and churches. With so much to explore in San Diego, just hop on the trolley! There are 2 stops less than 1.5 miles away at San Diego State University. Let the trolley whisk you away to Old Town, Little Italy, the Gaslamp Quarter, Qualcomm Stadium, Petco Park, the Convention Center and Tijuana, Mexico. Other attractions around this San Diego hotel include Viejas Arena (formerly Cox Arena), SeaWorld®, and the world-famous San Diego Zoo. Complete your stay by waking up to a complimentary continental breakfast with many kosher items and featuring a variety of morning-time favorites, like make your own waffles, relaxing at the outdoor heated pool with BBQ grill, surfing the web on the lobby computer and using our on-site laundry facility. Make your next San Diego stay the best yet - book online today and save with the BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn

Hotel Map

32.7668 -117.0598
Area served
Carlsbad, Escondido, La Mesa, Coronado, El Cajon, Lemon Grove, Del Mar, Chula Vista, La Jolla
Nearby airports
(SAN), 15.00, MI, NE;
Area description
Suburban

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU Rooms

1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,HI SPEED NET,WORK DESK,REFRIG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,SMOKNG,HI SPEED NET,MICR RFRG,TV25 IN,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,HI SPEED NET,MICR RFRG,TV25 IN,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,WALK IN SHOWER,NSMK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,WALK IN SHOWER,SMOK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,MINISUITE,42IN LCD TV,MICRFG,SOFABD,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,HI SPEED NET,FULL KITCHN,MICR RFRG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,SMOK,HI SPEED NET,IRON,COFMKR,TV25IN,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,HI SPEED NET,FULL KITCHN,3BD SOFA,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,SMOK,HI SPEED NET,IRON,COFMKR,TV25IN,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,HI SPEED NET,IRON,COFMKR,TV25IN,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,SMOK,HI SPEED NET,FULL KITCHN,MICRO FRIG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,HI SPEED NET,IRON,COFMKR,TV25IN,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,HI SPEED NET,FULL KITCH,2ND BD SOFA,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Game room
Play ground
Boating
Scuba diving
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Guest laundromat
Security
In-Room Safe
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4.7 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 5.6 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 5.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 5.7 mi
  • Botanical Building: 5.8 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 5.8 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 5.8 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 5.9 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 6.1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 6.1 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 6.2 mi
  • PETCO Park: 7 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 7 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 7.1 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4.7 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 5.6 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 5.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 5.7 mi
  • Botanical Building: 5.8 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 5.8 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 5.8 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 5.9 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 6.1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 6.1 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 6.2 mi
  • PETCO Park: 7 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 7 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 7.1 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 7.3 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 7.3 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 7.7 mi
  • Heritage Park: 7.7 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 7.8 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 7.9 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 7.9 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 8.4 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 9.2 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 9.2 mi
  • Sea World: 9.8 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 10.2 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 10.7 mi
  • Belmont Park: 11.2 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 11.5 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 11.5 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 24.2 mi
  • Legoland: 29.1 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,111.5 mi

Dining

Café J's
.1 mile(s) from Café J's, Mexican
Dogwood's Eatery
0 mile(s) from Dogwood's Eatery, sandwich shop
Red Lobster
3.5 mile(s) from Red Lobster, Seafood
Boston Market
.3 mile(s) from Boston Market, home-style
Claim Jumper
4 mile(s) from Claim Jumper, American
Outback Steakhouse
4 mile(s) from Outback Steakhouse, American
Marie Calendars
3 mile(s) from Marie Calendars, American
DZ Akin's
3 mile(s) from DZ Akin's, kosher style delicatessen and hot meals
El Toritos
2 mile(s) from El Toritos, Mexican
Olive Garden
4 mile(s) from Olive Garden, Italian

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (26)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
26 out of 26
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fifties
Mechanics burg, PA
Jan 21, 2013

Excellent value

Price was right. Rather convenient from the airport on our way north. Very fine breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ajacobs224
Bayport, NY
Jul 19, 2014

just an OK motel

This is a motel, with some redeeming qualities, like free parking and a pool. The room was clean, the staff was friendly, and the price was fair. The location itself was not really near anything as far as attractions, unless you are visiting someone at SDSU, so it is pretty much a college town atmosphere. Overall, no real complaints, its just an OK motel. While I would recommend it if you are looking to save some money, I would say that if I am back in the area, I would pay more to upgrade to a nicer hotel in a more convenient area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Totem
San Diego
Jul 9, 2014

Clean but very old an d Noisy

Disappointed based on photographs. Very old hotel similar to Motel 6. No real amenities. On busy noisy street. Wall AC blew drapes up all night. Room very stuffy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
smoore2
Las Vegas, NV
Dec 23, 2013

Reasonable price for a weekend stay

My husband and I went to San Diego for a weekend and were pleasantly surprised by our experience here. First, when we got there, the staff gave us a free upgrade to a suite from a regular room. When we got to the room, it was clean, spacious, and didn't have even a hint of cigarette smell (which is more than I can say for rooms at many more expensive hotels I've stayed at). Certainly these aren't five-star accommodations, but they're more than adequate for the $80 nightly rate. I would recommend this place for a weekend stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
smeister
Business
Spring Valley, NY
Jun 16, 2013

Overnight in San Diego

Everything was very easy. Friendly staff, clean well appointed room. Breakfast was good with many choices. An excellent choice near SDSU.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JayB737
Houston Texas
May 3, 2013

Not the best. Motel type place

Motel type. Outside facing rooms. Not the best part of town in my opinion. Very clean rooms so not too bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Leaf fan 4evr
Langley, British columbia
Mar 27, 2013

Week in San Diego

Our family of four (kids 9 and 6) had a great time on our vacation. The hotel and staff were great, my only concern was the area. We did not know the area where we were staying and although it was conveniently located by the freeways we would not venture off the hotel grounds to walk to restaurants or anything else. Overall we would stay there again in a pinch, but if we visit San Diego again it will likely be at a different hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

All attractions were relatively close to this hotel ,

Review of BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
gulamalo
San Francisco
Jul 28, 2012

ok

Clean, but small, wifi but no sat/cable TV, not much nearby for eating. Near SDSU, quick in-n-out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SDSU Mom
KY
May 22, 2012

Great weekend stay

Everything I needed while visiting in San Diego for SDSU graduation. The staff were especially nice, friendly and helpful. Clean, comfortable room, quiet at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grammybear
San Bruno, CA
May 1, 2012

Quiet, enjoyable location

check-in and check-out were done quickly and with a friendly staff. Staff that cleaned rooms did an EXCELLENT job. Location was chosen because of distance to San Diego Zoo. Easy to get to zoo and back to Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

San Diego Zoo very close by. Easy drive.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search