$149 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 2, 2015

The Citizen Hotel

3 stars
View map of 926 J Street, Sacramento, CA 95814

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
85 reviews
Great Place to Stay

Citizen Hotel is highly recommended. It is in close vicinity to nice restaurants and bars. They... See full review

  • Stevo
  • Mar 19, 2015
Great weekend getaway

Great hotel in a good location in downtown Sacramento. Close to bars & nice restaurants. Highly... See full review

  • Stevo
  • Mar 3, 2015
Jazz era cool in Sacramento for the modern day politico
The eternal glamour of politics feels downright marvelous at this stylish full-service hotel. The Citizen Hotel opened in fall 2008 in a historic 14-story, 83-year-old brick building, retaining hand-carved stair railings, vintage elevators and vaulted ceilings. This walkable location in the heart of downtown Sacramento is two blocks to the State Capitol and three to the Sacramento Convention Center.
Highlights:
  • Green Certified by the state of California
  • Complimentary wine tasting nightly
  • Apple Mac Mini in all guest rooms
  • On-site restaurant Grange is one of Sacramento's contemporary dining stars
Rooms

Custom design expresses the Citizen Hotel's distinctive 1920s tone. Stately bedding, window treatments and furniture vary in all 198 rooms. Expect quality hand-carved wood, 300-thread count sheets and marble fixtures. Easily join the modern world with in-room Apple Mac Mini computers, iPod docking stations, State Capitol feed channels free on HD LCD TVs and a video library of political movie titles. Most rooms have cityscape views. Refrigerators are available (fees apply). Penthouse suites on the 14th floor have Jacuzzis and share a 400-square-foot balcony. Room service is available. High-speed wired and wireless Internet access is available (fees apply).

Features

Early California is re-imagined in bold marble, brass, leather and velvet in the old world lobby and lofted bar The Scandal, best enjoyed during complimentary weeknight wine tastings. Framed political quips provide a dash of whimsy for classy clientele of this Joie de Vivre property. The Citizen Hotel offers valet parking (fees apply).

Dining

On-site American brasserie-style Grange Restaurant and Bar is a star in the contemporary Sacramento dining scene. Seasonal fare is direct from California's nearby Central Valley. The wine list is entirely from California.

Recreation

A workout room is available. Get fresh air at Cesar Chavez Park across the street or nearby State Capitol building's 40-acre park.

Transportation
  • Sacramento International Airport (11 mi/18 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport (99 mi/159 km)
  • Amtrak station Sacramento (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
Attractions
  • California State Capitol (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Sacramento Convention Center (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Old Town Sacramento (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • California State University Sacramento (4.9 mi/8 km)

 

Business
  • Business center
  • 11,000 square feet of total meeting space
  • Roof deck
  • Historic ballroom
Policies and fees
  • Valet Parking surcharge applies.
  • This hotel is pet-friendly (fees apply).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Citizen Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

The Citizen Hotel Rooms

Executive King - Accessible
City View 300 Sq. Ft. iPod Docking Station High-Definition LCD TV
Deluxe Two Double Beds
DLX 2 DBLS CITY OR CAPITOL VIEW 300SQ-LUXURY BED-SOFT ITALIAN LINENS-KEURIG HDTV EXPND CBLE
Deluxe Queen Bed - Accessible
DLUX ADA 1 Q-CITY-CAPITOL VIEW-225SQFT-LUXURY BED-SOFT ITALIAN LINENS-KEURIG-HDTV EXPND CBLE
Deluxe Queen Bed
Deluxe 1Q-City or Capitol View-225sqft-Luxury Bed Italian Linens-Keurig-HDTV-Expanded Cable
Deluxe King Bed
DELUXE 1 K-CITY OR CAPITOL VIEW-300SQFT-LUXURY BED-SOFT ITALIAN LINENS-KEURIG-HDTV EXPND CBLE
Penthouse Suite - King Bed
City View 575 Sq. Ft. 14th Floor - Private Balcony Jetted Tub
One Bedroom Suite - King Bed
1K-LIVING RM-COUCH-400SQ-DEEP SOAK TUB-LUX BED-SOFT ITALIAN LINEN-KEURIG-2HDTV EXPD CBL
Junior Suite - King
City View - 350 Sq. Ft. iPod Docking Station - High-Definition LCD TV

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
FEMA approved
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Express checkout
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Computer rental
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Hornet Stadium: 4.2 mi
  • Sleep Train Arena: 4.9 mi
  • Arco Arena: 5 mi
  • Folsom: 19.6 mi
  • Hughes Stadium: 881.3 mi

Dining

Grange Restaurant and Bar
Grange is a culinary expression of all things local reflecting the authentic essence and soul of its community.
Mulvaneys B and L
The Culinary Specialists at Mulvaneys B and L bring handcrafted new American cuisine to your table. Our relationship with the food and where it comes from is the driving force of the way we do business.
Bandera
American Cooking.
Moxie Restaurant
For over 17 years Moxie has offered an unparalleled dining experience and earning its place as a top destination restaurant in Northern California. Located in a very secluded neighborhood Moxie provides the feel of a casual yet classically elegant enviro
Lemon Grass Restaurant
At Lemon Grass Restaurant we present authentic Southeast Asian flavors and signature dishes expressively created by Chef Mai Pham. She draws from the bold and spicy flavors of Thailand and the bright and fresh flavors of Vietnam. These irresistible flavor

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Citizen Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
26 out of 85
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Citizen Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Susan K.
Business
Gloucester
Feb 17, 2015

great business hotel

Whimsical unique political décor. Very comfortable. The staff was very accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Citizen Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kent B.
Business
La Jolla
Jan 12, 2015

Business Trip

Excellent Experience - Hotel is well appointed and convenient to business all other activities in downtown Sacramento

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Citizen Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
adrian p.
Business
N/A
Dec 21, 2014

had an awesome stay

Not my first time staying at that hotel But enjoyed my stay just like the rest of first ten times I stayed it's such a welcoming environment and so calm and homing just love that place I totally recommend the place

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Citizen Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JackSpicer
Business
Washington, DC
Dec 4, 2014

good off brand hotel in downtown Sacramento

stayed here twice and i'll stay here in the future.... bar and lobby are very very noisy but the noise doesn't travel up into the rooms the front door people are scruffy and seem to be poorly trained. they don't have that professional sheen. but they're helpful enough. not a great neighborhood. But then all of downtown Sacramento is a little be sketchy restaurant at hotel is excellent! though pricey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Citizen Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
liu siyuan
Business
san francisco
Nov 16, 2014

nice hotel

nice hotel, nice location. nice services. room is very comfortable. I will recommend it to my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Citizen Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tpcsfgate
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Sep 6, 2014

Neat area

Great area. Neat and cool hotel. I like the old time feel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Citizen Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jaimita
Business
Sacramento
Aug 18, 2014

Made for a great trip

Loved the hotel. The political comics and undertones were wonderful, and it honestly had the greatest chairs of all time. The theme and motif were classy, and the room and staff were great. They gave us a free upgrade to a suite, since we were traveling on our honeymoon. Their suites rock, if you can afford them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Citizen Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Road Warrior C2C
Business
NYC
Jul 3, 2014

Nice Place

I would probably give this hotel 3 1/2 stars if allowed but I think it falls just a notch below 4. My room was very nice and I enjoyed the brand name toiletries and political cartoons that decorated my room. I generally liked the 1920s styling of the hotel. Staff was very nice but I think lacked a little attention to detail - particularly at the hotel restaurant - where there was something wrong with both meals we had there. Also the hotel was not as lively as I hoped but I did stay on a Tuesday night so it is understandable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Some of the wines didn't taste right. Ask to taste the wine if you order a glass. If you like, get a full pour.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Citizen Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KristyLB
Business
Massachusetts
May 17, 2014

Awesome choice! Great location

This hotel stay was only for one night, but the staff was extremely accommodating and made us feel special. The location is perfect in the heart of downtown. Gotta love the view of the park as well! I will definitley return to The Citizen on my next trip to Sacramento !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Morton's steakhouse for a nice dinner and Squeeze Inn for the best burgers ever

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Citizen Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
IB Worker
Business
San Francisco
Dec 16, 2013

Pretty but impractical.

This hotel is lovely to look at -- with wonderful art, fixtures and linens, but difficult to function in. I had to move the coffee pot because there was no plug anywhere near where they had set it up, no counter at all in the bathroom, and tight space in the room. I could hear conversation from next door! Bugs me when the only fridge is the minibar -- some of us like half-and-half with morning coffee rather than the chemical creamer provided. My room lacked the "go green" card, which I would have used for my first night. Neighborhood is dicey for walking back from convention center at night (and I live in an urban environment). Restaurant slow in the morning, which is odd for a business hotel. Again, very pretty, but not so practical for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top