$127 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 7, 2014 Check-out: Nov 8, 2014

The Citizen Hotel

4 stars
926 J Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
64 reviews
Made for a great trip

Loved the hotel. The political comics and undertones were wonderful, and it honestly had the... See full review

  • Jaimita
  • Aug 18, 2014
Treated like royalty

The hotel had a charming decor, room design, furnishings and view. The staff was first class. Great... See full review

  • chris12
  • May 15, 2014
Jazz era cool in Sacramento for the modern day politico
The eternal glamour of politics feels downright marvelous at this stylish full-service hotel. The Citizen Hotel opened in fall 2008 in a historic 14-story, 83-year-old brick building, retaining hand-carved stair railings, vintage elevators and vaulted ceilings. This walkable location in the heart of downtown Sacramento is two blocks to the State Capitol and three to the Sacramento Convention Center.
Highlights:
  • Green Certified by the state of California
  • Complimentary wine tasting nightly
  • Apple Mac Mini in all guest rooms
  • On-site restaurant Grange is one of Sacramento's contemporary dining stars
Rooms

Custom design expresses the Citizen Hotel's distinctive 1920s tone. Stately bedding, window treatments and furniture vary in all 198 rooms. Expect quality hand-carved wood, 300-thread count sheets and marble fixtures. Easily join the modern world with in-room Apple Mac Mini computers, iPod docking stations, State Capitol feed channels free on HD LCD TVs and a video library of political movie titles. Most rooms have cityscape views. Refrigerators are available (fees apply). Penthouse suites on the 14th floor have Jacuzzis and share a 400-square-foot balcony. Room service is available. High-speed wired and wireless Internet access is available (fees apply).

Features

Early California is re-imagined in bold marble, brass, leather and velvet in the old world lobby and lofted bar The Scandal, best enjoyed during complimentary weeknight wine tastings. Framed political quips provide a dash of whimsy for classy clientele of this Joie de Vivre property. The Citizen Hotel offers valet parking (fees apply).

Dining

On-site American brasserie-style Grange Restaurant and Bar is a star in the contemporary Sacramento dining scene. Seasonal fare is direct from California's nearby Central Valley. The wine list is entirely from California.

Recreation

A workout room is available. Get fresh air at Cesar Chavez Park across the street or nearby State Capitol building's 40-acre park.

Transportation
  • Sacramento International Airport (11 mi/18 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport (99 mi/159 km)
  • Amtrak station Sacramento (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
Attractions
  • California State Capitol (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Sacramento Convention Center (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Old Town Sacramento (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • California State University Sacramento (4.9 mi/8 km)

 

Business
  • Business center
  • 11,000 square feet of total meeting space
  • Roof deck
  • Historic ballroom
Policies and fees
  • Valet Parking surcharge applies.
  • This hotel is pet-friendly (fees apply).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

38.5801 -121.4939
Area served
Sacramento.
Nearby airports
Sacramento International Airport.
Area description
This California hotel is located in the center of downtown Sacramento, 3 blocks from Downtown Plaza, 2 blocks from the State Capitol, and 2 blocks from the Convention Center.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Citizen Hotel also booked these hotels.

The Citizen Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Queen Guest Room
The room offers 1 queen bed with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Color LCD TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Iron/Ironing board, Laundry service, Mini bar, Modem/data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Refrigerator-at cost, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities, Cordless telephone, Valet service, Voicemail, ipod Docking Stations, Plush Bathrobes.
Deluxe King Guest Room
The room offers 1 king bed with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Color LCD TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Iron/Ironing board, Laundry service, Mini bar, Modem/data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Refrigerator-at cost, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities, Cordless telephone, Valet service, Voicemail, ipod Docking Stations, Plush Bathrobes.
Deluxe Double-Double Guest Room
The room offers two double beds with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Color LCD TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Iron/Ironing board, Laundry service, Mini bar, Modem/data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Refrigerator-at cost, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities, Cordless telephone, Valet service, Voicemail, ipod Docking Stations, Plush Bathrobes.
Junior Suite
The room offers 1 king bed with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Color LCD TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Iron/Ironing board, Laundry service, Mini bar, Modem/data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Refrigerator-at cost, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities, Cordless telephone, Valet service, Voicemail, ipod Docking Stations, Plush Bathrobes.
One Bedroom Suite
The room offers 1 king bed and seperate sitting, with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Color LCD TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Iron/Ironing board, Laundry service, Mini bar, Modem/data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Refrigerator-at cost, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities, Cordless telephone, Valet service, Voicemail, ipod Docking Stations, Plush Bathrobes.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed

Nearby points of interest

  • Hornet Stadium: 4.2 mi
  • Sleep Train Arena: 4.9 mi
  • Arco Arena: 5 mi
  • Folsom: 19.6 mi
  • Hughes Stadium: 881.3 mi

Dining

Grange
Grange is a culinary expression of all things local, reflecting the authentic essence and soul of its community. Service is warm, friendly. With an intimate atmosphere of urban sophistication. Grange restaurant mirrors the classic and eclectic atmosphere of the Citizen Hotel. From the grand, two-story wine vault, to the intimate bar and lounge; Grange offers a unique experience to satisfy the melange of citizens who visit both hotel and restaurant.
Scandal
At Scandal bar and lounge, the hotel staff creates "culinary" cocktails with local ingredients. The perfect place to unwind with friends or enjoy desserts and California inspired collection of cognacs, ports and liqueurs, bar and lounge has it all.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
0300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (64)

Ratings and reviews for The Citizen Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
18 out of 64
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.7

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Citizen Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tpcsfgate
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Sep 6, 2014

Neat area

Great area. Neat and cool hotel. I like the old time feel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Citizen Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jaimita
Business
Sacramento
Aug 18, 2014

Made for a great trip

Loved the hotel. The political comics and undertones were wonderful, and it honestly had the greatest chairs of all time. The theme and motif were classy, and the room and staff were great. They gave us a free upgrade to a suite, since we were traveling on our honeymoon. Their suites rock, if you can afford them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Citizen Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Road Warrior C2C
Business
NYC
Jul 3, 2014

Nice Place

I would probably give this hotel 3 1/2 stars if allowed but I think it falls just a notch below 4. My room was very nice and I enjoyed the brand name toiletries and political cartoons that decorated my room. I generally liked the 1920s styling of the hotel. Staff was very nice but I think lacked a little attention to detail - particularly at the hotel restaurant - where there was something wrong with both meals we had there. Also the hotel was not as lively as I hoped but I did stay on a Tuesday night so it is understandable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Some of the wines didn't taste right. Ask to taste the wine if you order a glass. If you like, get a full pour.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Citizen Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
IB Worker
Business
San Francisco
Dec 16, 2013

Pretty but impractical.

This hotel is lovely to look at -- with wonderful art, fixtures and linens, but difficult to function in. I had to move the coffee pot because there was no plug anywhere near where they had set it up, no counter at all in the bathroom, and tight space in the room. I could hear conversation from next door! Bugs me when the only fridge is the minibar -- some of us like half-and-half with morning coffee rather than the chemical creamer provided. My room lacked the "go green" card, which I would have used for my first night. Neighborhood is dicey for walking back from convention center at night (and I live in an urban environment). Restaurant slow in the morning, which is odd for a business hotel. Again, very pretty, but not so practical for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Citizen Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Oaklandkid
Business
Oakland, CA
Aug 16, 2013

Biz Trip

I stayed at the Citizen for business for 4 days. I found the experience to be top notch and very classy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Citizen Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A Couple
Business
San Francisco, California
May 6, 2013

All good but a bit pricey

I have been to Citizen hotel for last 3 weeks for a one-night stay every time. Their staff is courteous and accommodating. Rooms are clean and OK size. The only thing that I am not too happy about is the price. More than $300 for a night's stay in Sacramento is a kill. I paid that much to stay in a 4 star hotel in New York, walking distance from Times Square. For me, It was paid by my company but still it's not worth the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Grange - Breakfast portions are so huge. I could hardly finish half of my order which was just one b'fast dish.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Citizen Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MossyBuddha
Business
San Francisco
Apr 26, 2013

A very pleasant place

The place had a wonderfully warm feel. Great place to stay when visiting Sacramento for business.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Citizen Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Emeritus Dean
Business
Goleta, CA
Mar 28, 2013

An Old Place Made New

Very nice, quiet hotel about three blocks from the California Capitol. The site has been completely redone, converting from an office building to a modern hotel with considerable charm, If you are bored with the chains, and don't need a pool, this is a great stop. My room with two large doubles had a large shower, but no tub. My only complaint is the daily charge for Internet use. Since this hotel has no lobby to speak of, you have to go into the restaurant to latch free Web. Sadly this is typical of upscale hotels. (But, the restaurant is quite good and not too expensive.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Citizen Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KMG1
Business
San Diego, CA
Jun 15, 2012

Great Charm

This hotel had character, large rooms, clean and great detail. Great price point. Any higher and would have to go elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Citizen Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
yacpek
Business
Big Fork, Mt
May 13, 2011

Great Hotel

They are spot on in every way at this hotel, great beds, very clean, great room service. Just a great hotel, I travel every week and stay in a hotel every week and this is definitely in the top 5 of all time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top