$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 15, 2014 Check-out: Aug 16, 2014

The Citizen Hotel

4 stars
926 J Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
80 reviews
Treated like royalty

The hotel had a charming decor, room design, furnishings and view. The staff was first class. Great... See full review

  • chris12
  • May 15, 2014
Awesome

Fantastic place to stay. Staff was extremely friendly. See full review

  • SamDiana
  • Dec 9, 2013
Jazz era cool in Sacramento for the modern day politico
The eternal glamour of politics feels downright marvelous at this stylish full-service hotel. The Citizen Hotel opened in fall 2008 in a historic 14-story, 83-year-old brick building, retaining hand-carved stair railings, vintage elevators and vaulted ceilings. This walkable location in the heart of downtown Sacramento is two blocks to the State Capitol and three to the Sacramento Convention Center.
Highlights:
  • Green Certified by the state of California
  • Complimentary wine tasting nightly
  • Apple Mac Mini in all guest rooms
  • On-site restaurant Grange is one of Sacramento's contemporary dining stars
Rooms

Custom design expresses the Citizen Hotel's distinctive 1920s tone. Stately bedding, window treatments and furniture vary in all 198 rooms. Expect quality hand-carved wood, 300-thread count sheets and marble fixtures. Easily join the modern world with in-room Apple Mac Mini computers, iPod docking stations, State Capitol feed channels free on HD LCD TVs and a video library of political movie titles. Most rooms have cityscape views. Refrigerators are available (fees apply). Penthouse suites on the 14th floor have Jacuzzis and share a 400-square-foot balcony. Room service is available. High-speed wired and wireless Internet access is available (fees apply).

Features

Early California is re-imagined in bold marble, brass, leather and velvet in the old world lobby and lofted bar The Scandal, best enjoyed during complimentary weeknight wine tastings. Framed political quips provide a dash of whimsy for classy clientele of this Joie de Vivre property. The Citizen Hotel offers valet parking (fees apply).

Dining

On-site American brasserie-style Grange Restaurant and Bar is a star in the contemporary Sacramento dining scene. Seasonal fare is direct from California's nearby Central Valley. The wine list is entirely from California.

Recreation

A workout room is available. Get fresh air at Cesar Chavez Park across the street or nearby State Capitol building's 40-acre park.

Transportation
  • Sacramento International Airport (11 mi/18 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport (99 mi/159 km)
  • Amtrak station Sacramento (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
Attractions
  • California State Capitol (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Sacramento Convention Center (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Old Town Sacramento (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • California State University Sacramento (4.9 mi/8 km)

 

Business
  • Business center
  • 11,000 square feet of total meeting space
  • Roof deck
  • Historic ballroom
Policies and fees
  • Valet Parking surcharge applies.
  • This hotel is pet-friendly (fees apply).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Citizen Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Queen Guest Room
The room offers 1 queen bed with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Color LCD TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Iron/Ironing board, Laundry service, Mini bar, Modem/data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Refrigerator-at cost, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities, Cordless telephone, Valet service, Voicemail, ipod Docking Stations, Plush Bathrobes.
Deluxe King Guest Room
The room offers 1 king bed with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Color LCD TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Iron/Ironing board, Laundry service, Mini bar, Modem/data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Refrigerator-at cost, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities, Cordless telephone, Valet service, Voicemail, ipod Docking Stations, Plush Bathrobes.
Deluxe Double-Double Guest Room
The room offers two double beds with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Color LCD TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Iron/Ironing board, Laundry service, Mini bar, Modem/data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Refrigerator-at cost, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities, Cordless telephone, Valet service, Voicemail, ipod Docking Stations, Plush Bathrobes.
Junior Suite
The room offers 1 king bed with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Color LCD TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Iron/Ironing board, Laundry service, Mini bar, Modem/data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Refrigerator-at cost, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities, Cordless telephone, Valet service, Voicemail, ipod Docking Stations, Plush Bathrobes.
One Bedroom Suite
The room offers 1 king bed and seperate sitting, with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Color LCD TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Iron/Ironing board, Laundry service, Mini bar, Modem/data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Refrigerator-at cost, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities, Cordless telephone, Valet service, Voicemail, ipod Docking Stations, Plush Bathrobes.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Citizen Hotel also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

38.5801 -121.4939
Area served
Sacramento.
Nearby airports
Sacramento International Airport.
Area description
This California hotel is located in the center of downtown Sacramento, 3 blocks from Downtown Plaza, 2 blocks from the State Capitol, and 2 blocks from the Convention Center.

Nearby points of interest

  • Hornet Stadium: 4.2 mi
  • Sleep Train Arena: 4.9 mi
  • Arco Arena: 5 mi
  • Folsom: 19.6 mi
  • Hughes Stadium: 881.3 mi

Dining

Grange
Grange is a culinary expression of all things local, reflecting the authentic essence and soul of its community. Service is warm, friendly. With an intimate atmosphere of urban sophistication. Grange restaurant mirrors the classic and eclectic atmosphere of the Citizen Hotel. From the grand, two-story wine vault, to the intimate bar and lounge; Grange offers a unique experience to satisfy the melange of citizens who visit both hotel and restaurant.
Scandal
At Scandal bar and lounge, the hotel staff creates "culinary" cocktails with local ingredients. The perfect place to unwind with friends or enjoy desserts and California inspired collection of cognacs, ports and liqueurs, bar and lounge has it all.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
0300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (80)

Ratings and reviews for The Citizen Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
80 out of 80
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Citizen Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Desifer
Manteca, CA
Oct 25, 2012

Told one thing by the front desk and another by management

I have no experience to tell of because when I, my wife, and 3 year old daughter showed up there were no rooms available even though I booked a room online. My wife was really excited to stay there because of friends stating it was a very nice hotel and the historical archeticture was beautiful, so I booked a room for her birthday. Joe at the front desk informed me that the hotel was over booked and that he would compensate us by putting us up in a room at The Sheraton, giving us $50 cash and refunding us our original fee of $174.30. He said it would take about 2 weeks for management to take care of the refund because it was booked through a 3rd party. I waited the 2 weeks and called the hotel. I was told that they don't issue refunds and that getting a refund back from a 3rd party is extrememly difficult. They told me that Joe 'their employee' had given me false information and after repeating to me that it is difficult to get a refund from a 3rd party, apparently they didn't want to do the leg work of getting the refund, I agreed to a comped nights stay at the hotel because my wife does want to experience a night at The Citizen Hotel. They connected me with the front desk manager Ben who informed me that he would be sending a voucher to my email for the comped nights stay. 1 month later I'm still waiting, guess they told me that to get me off the phone. I Guess I wasn't aggressive enough but it shouldn't take that from such a supposed professional staff. I will not be booking anymore rooms through 3rd party web sites to try and save a few bucks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Make sure you get the right information from the front desk. Front desk and management don't seem to communicate what the proper protocol is.

Review of The Citizen Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Quan31
Albany ga
Oct 15, 2012

The citizen hotel was what I expected. I enjoyed my stay.

Wonderful experience! The rooms were gorgeous. The staff was courteous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Citizen Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ms.Pamela
Malibu
Aug 27, 2012

Very comforting.

The staff was very accomodating. Small, but beautiful rooms. My room did not have a bath tub. And no shuttle to/from airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of The Citizen Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KMG1
Business
San Diego, CA
Jun 15, 2012

Great Charm

This hotel had character, large rooms, clean and great detail. Great price point. Any higher and would have to go elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Citizen Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
anitam56
Ione, CA, USA
Feb 19, 2012

Good Location

the staff were friendly; the rooms although small, were clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Citizen Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pico
San Francisco, CA, USA
Jan 29, 2012

Great Boutique Hotel

The room on the 11th floor had great views. The room was well decorated and the bed was great. The staff members were warm and welcoming. The hotel restaurant has a great menu. I really liked their selection for Brunch. They also have bartenders that know how to make a great drink!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Citizen Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Harriett11
Seattle
Dec 9, 2011

Great find

best place to stay in sacramento - good restaurant as well

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Citizen Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lynnz
Neenah, WI
Nov 21, 2011

Left Napa Waiting for our Flight from Sacaramento

What a treat!!!!! We were wineried out and left Napa early to get to the Citizen since our flight was out of Sacramento. This hotel is a GEM!!!!!! The rooms are so different, the bathrooms awesome, the bartenders took complete care of us!! We didn't eat at the restaurant since we were having so much fun eating apps & drinking at the bar but I'm sure the food was fantastic. Who would have thought the building was an insurance company before 2008. What a transformation. Definately do it again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Citizen Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travel A Lot
Santa Rosa, CA, USA
Oct 29, 2011

We Would Stay Again...

The rooms are small, but CLEAN! Hotel has a true European feel. Staff isn't always friendly, just depends on who is working.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Citizen Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
braindancer
San Francisco, CA, USA
Sep 6, 2011

Awesome cozy cabins

Great place. The cabin was super-cozy and well-designed. Quality bed and mattress. Heat supplied by a gas fireplace - looks great and heats great. The only minor issues I have are the ridiculous double-faucet arrangement at the bathroom sink (yes, hot and cold water come from to SEPARATE faucets, good luck washing your hands!) and wireless, which is advertised on the website but was not working in our far-end cabin. Make sure you explicitly ask whether wireless is working in the cabin you are reserving. Other than that, great place - will stay again and will definitely recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top