$143 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2015 Check-out: Aug 3, 2015

The Citizen Hotel

3 stars
View map of 926 J Street, Sacramento, CA 95814

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Citizen Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
85 out of 85
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Citizen Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
IB Worker
Business
San Francisco
Dec 16, 2013

Pretty but impractical.

This hotel is lovely to look at -- with wonderful art, fixtures and linens, but difficult to function in. I had to move the coffee pot because there was no plug anywhere near where they had set it up, no counter at all in the bathroom, and tight space in the room. I could hear conversation from next door! Bugs me when the only fridge is the minibar -- some of us like half-and-half with morning coffee rather than the chemical creamer provided. My room lacked the "go green" card, which I would have used for my first night. Neighborhood is dicey for walking back from convention center at night (and I live in an urban environment). Restaurant slow in the morning, which is odd for a business hotel. Again, very pretty, but not so practical for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Citizen Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SamDiana
Business
Santa Clara, Ca
Dec 9, 2013

Awesome

Fantastic place to stay. Staff was extremely friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Citizen Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Slamr23
Business
Reno, NV
Nov 24, 2013

A night in Sac

After making my way through the one -way streets everything was fine. Classy hotel with classy staff. Everyone from the valet to the front desk to the restaurant, was professional and helpful. If ever I need to stay in Sacramento again I will choose the Citizen. Not your normal chain hotel but one with character and class. And that's I like.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Citizen Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
45gb
Business
Seattle, WA
Nov 21, 2013

Awesome hotel!

Best hotel in the best location in town! I will definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Citizen Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ekajsogkn
Business
sacramento ca
Nov 18, 2013

awesome

the hotel was clean. staff was friendly. check in/out process was fast. would definitely stay there again!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Citizen Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Simple Traveller
Business
North Carolina
Oct 7, 2013

Downtown Sacramento

A nice upscale hotel in downtown Sac. They took an old office building and transformed it into a wonderful "old" style hotel. The political "theme" was cool. The room was clean and accommodating, but a bit small for the price. The staff was great. The food Fantastic!! The valet was a touch high. Great location. Across from a park that has a food market, at least when I stayed. And close to everything in downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The bar/restaurant downstairs was awesome. Great food and service. You can also order room service from the restaurant. Local farm to table stuff. Excellant and tasty combinations. Liquor store across the street will save you a few bucks.

Review of The Citizen Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stevo
Business
Sacramento, CA, USA
Sep 25, 2013

Awesome

Citizen Hotel was awesome! The location is perfect & accommodating! Highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Citizen Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
California Coast
Business
Houston, Texas Area
Sep 3, 2013

Great Hotel, Great Staff, Good Location!

The Citizen Hotel is great place to stay in Sacramento. From the front desk to the valet staff and especially housekeeping were fantastic. The restaurant downstairs, Grange, has excellent food. For a "boutique" hotel our double bed room was plenty spacious. Only drawback is when it's noisy(concerts across the street or parties in hotel). But, the hotel does supply earplugs in the bathroom for that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Since this is a smaller hotel it doesn't have a salon or a boutique. The hotel is downtown and there is plenty of shopping and salons in walking distance.

Review of The Citizen Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stevo
Business
Sacramento, CA, USA
Aug 22, 2013

Awesome

Great hotel! Wonderful staff and a great location! Grange restaurant is amazing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Citizen Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Oaklandkid
Business
Oakland, CA
Aug 16, 2013

Biz Trip

I stayed at the Citizen for business for 4 days. I found the experience to be top notch and very classy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top