$143 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2015 Check-out: Aug 3, 2015

The Citizen Hotel

3 stars
View map of 926 J Street, Sacramento, CA 95814

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Citizen Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
85 out of 85
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Citizen Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gerardo A.
Business
N/A
Dec 29, 2014

Best Ever!

It was a perfect experience! The room was amazing and the staff was very friendly and helpful. We'll definitely be going back soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Citizen Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
adrian p.
Business
N/A
Dec 21, 2014

had an awesome stay

Not my first time staying at that hotel But enjoyed my stay just like the rest of first ten times I stayed it's such a welcoming environment and so calm and homing just love that place I totally recommend the place

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Citizen Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gerardo A.
Business
N/A
Dec 20, 2014

Best Ever!

It was a perfect experience! The room was amazing and the staff was very friendly and helpful. We'll definitely be going back soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Citizen Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JackSpicer
Business
Washington, DC
Dec 4, 2014

good off brand hotel in downtown Sacramento

stayed here twice and i'll stay here in the future.... bar and lobby are very very noisy but the noise doesn't travel up into the rooms the front door people are scruffy and seem to be poorly trained. they don't have that professional sheen. but they're helpful enough. not a great neighborhood. But then all of downtown Sacramento is a little be sketchy restaurant at hotel is excellent! though pricey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Citizen Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
liu siyuan
Business
san francisco
Nov 16, 2014

nice hotel

nice hotel, nice location. nice services. room is very comfortable. I will recommend it to my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Citizen Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Reno Rosi
Business
Reno,Nv
Nov 16, 2014

Perfect

We got a very good price for one night. The room was clean! The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was a little small, but it wasn't a big deal. Guest Services was very polite and helpful. The hotel is very close to the convention center. Within walking distance to restaurants and bars. We will definitely stay here again. A very beautiful hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Citizen Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JKAJLA
Business
Mpls MN
Sep 29, 2014

Capitol city tour

Good location downtown and close to state capitol. Parking and loading is on Main Street in front of hotel,is limited, and easiest to use valet. Happy hour was disappointing due to limited bar area seating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Capitol is 2 blocks walk.

Review of The Citizen Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tpcsfgate
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Sep 6, 2014

Neat area

Great area. Neat and cool hotel. I like the old time feel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Citizen Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jaimita
Business
Sacramento
Aug 18, 2014

Made for a great trip

Loved the hotel. The political comics and undertones were wonderful, and it honestly had the greatest chairs of all time. The theme and motif were classy, and the room and staff were great. They gave us a free upgrade to a suite, since we were traveling on our honeymoon. Their suites rock, if you can afford them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Citizen Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pam and Rick
Business
South Pasadena, CA
Jul 17, 2014

Fairly good business traveler's hotel

The building itself has great character, but the neighborhood is seedy and probably unsafe at night. The staff, although pleasant, was unable to answer even the simplest questions about local attractions, local geography, or where to rent a car, and showed no willingness to find out the answers. Finally, because Sacramento is very hot in summer, the cold water taps produce hot water for the first ten minutes of use--a tremendous waste in a drought-stricken area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't miss the guided tour of the state capitol. It's a magnificent building, full of hidden treasures you won't see if you don't take the tour.

Back to menu Return to top