$127 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 10, 2015 Check-out: Jul 12, 2015

Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel

4 stars
View map of 1230 J Street, 1230 J Street, Sacramento, CA 95814

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
52 reviews
Date Night

We stayed here while having a date night on the town while the kids were at grandma's house. It was... See full review

  • Tara M.
  • Jan 5, 2015
great location, great staff

Perfect location for walking to all the restaurants and bars and shops in mid town/ downtown. Great... See full review

  • Rugby RN
  • Nov 24, 2014
The Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel offers a rare chance to stay in a 1920s-era Beaux-Arts building. A preserved facade at the corner of two of Sacramento's most vibrant streets, 13th and J, is the entrance to a vaulted-ceiling atrium that was once the Public Market Building. This conference-friendly hotel was restored and opened in 2001.
Dining

Breakfast, lunch and dinner are served to a mostly-business clientele at on-site California cuisine Morgan's Central Valley Bistro restaurant. Mid-day diners get Wi-Fi with their Dungeness crab salad or seared salmon lunch. Coffee, espresso bar, sandwiches and salads are also available on-site at Glides Market Café throughout the day. Soft piano music and a California wine list set the evening ambiance for Morgan's "California Fusion" dining. The on-site lounge at Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel, Public Market Bar, serves bites and cocktails until midnight.

Rooms

In tune with the historic flair of the building itself, rooms are timeless in understated brown leather, suede upholstery and white Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Beds. City views are available from the hotel's 26 stories. Refrigerators are available in a select number of the Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel's more than 500 rooms and suites (fees apply). High-speed Internet access is available (fees apply). Order room service from the on-site restaurant. Rooms on preferred-guest club floors are more recently renovated.

Property features

Self and valet parking are off the ground level (fees apply). Fitness facilities include a 24/7 workout room and outdoor lap pool. An art deco club lounge offers refreshments and upgraded services to Sheraton Club members.

Highlights
  • Walk to State Capitol and Sacramento Convention Center
  • Large meeting and banquet facilities
  • Non-smoking property
  • Free high-speed Internet in lobby business center
Nearby attractions
  • Sacramento Convention Center (0.1 mi/0.2 km))
  • California State Capitol (0.4 mi/0.6 m)
  • Old Town Sacramento (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • California State University Sacramento (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • Cal Expo California State Fairgrounds (4.5 mi/7.3 km)
Business
  • Computer use and free high-speed Internet in lobby business center
  • Free copying, faxing and printing in club lounge
  • High-speed wireless Internet in all rooms and public spaces (fees apply)
  • 19 meeting spaces
  • 10,500-square-foot ballroom
  • Event staff and catering
Transportation
  • Sacramento International Airport (11 mi/18 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport (99 mi/159 km)
  • Amtrak station Sacramento (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Airport shuttle (fees apply)
Policies

This hotel is pet-friendly (fees apply).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
Television with cable
Phone with speaker

Nearby points of interest

  • Hornet Stadium: 4 mi
  • Sleep Train Arena: 5.1 mi
  • Arco Arena: 5.1 mi
  • Folsom: 19.4 mi
  • Hughes Stadium: 881.1 mi

Dining

Morgan's Restaurant
Morgan’s Restaurant offers a relaxed setting for breakfast in an open atrium environment. We specialize in seasonal California cuisine with a farm-to-table approach, available both at the buffet and à la carte.
Public Market Bar
With plush couches and overstuffed chairs, the Public Market Bar is a great place to gather with friends or network over lunch and drinks. At night, enjoy the energy of the lobby and the city along with a fine dining menu and an extensive wine list.
Glides Market
Glides Market helps you jumpstart your day with a freshly brewed cup of coffee or espresso, plus breakfast pastries, oatmeal, and yogurt. It’s the perfect place to read the morning paper or check email with our wireless High Speed Internet Access.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
52 out of 52
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marc D.
Business
N/A
Apr 17, 2015

Birthday trip

My friends and I got a room so we didn't have to drive back home after a night of bday celebration at the bars and nightclubs of Sac. The hotel had a great location for us bc it was walking distance from the nightclub/ lounge we had bottle service at. When we first arrived we were greeted with smiles and a helpful hand, the bar and dining area was great, with great service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Greg M.
Business
Santa Rosa
Apr 16, 2015

Dance Convention

I have stayed here 3 or 4 times for dance conventions across the street. This time I noticed when we returned home we were billed for 2 days parking ($40) when we only stayed 1 night and left the next morning at 8:00. Talk about gouging...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Greg M.
Business
Santa Rosa
Mar 17, 2015

Dance Competition

This is a great hotel, ideally located close to Memorial Auditorium. However, we noted that there were fleas in our room (allows pets, which is ok by us as long as they take steps to sanitize rooms). That is our only complaint. We hope they address the situation, as we would like to stay there two more times in the next two months.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tara M.
Business
MATHER
Jan 5, 2015

Date Night

We stayed here while having a date night on the town while the kids were at grandma's house. It was within walking distance to everywhere we wanted to go and offered a great view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Alex Cunningham
Business
Sacramento, ca
Nov 30, 2014

Horrbile

The beds were horrible neither my husband and I could sleep on them. Their was a party across the hall and they were up partying till 2:30 AM! The walls were thin we heard it all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Quiet is good
Business
San Jose
Nov 29, 2014

Black Friday shopping retreat

The experience of downtown Sacramento and just away from all the noise. Nice setting for a couples retreat. Very good location. The Thanksgiving dinner and staff was outstanding follow up with a good red or white glass of wine. Thank you, Rocha

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Frank Fats restaurant in old Sac is a great choice. Walk down K street mall after dinner returned in a cab.

Review of Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rugby RN
Business
Las Vegas
Nov 24, 2014

great location, great staff

Perfect location for walking to all the restaurants and bars and shops in mid town/ downtown. Great value! Nice urban feel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mxyptlx
Business
Grand Sehrato Scaramento
Nov 24, 2014

Really liked my stay -- but there's a major BUT

I came in to Scaramento to join some friends from LA who were up visiting family. It's a very nice hotel. Everything was great, EXCEPT -- We had a buffet brunch on the second floor restaurant. This was fine, but the menus said that it was $15 per person and we were charged $20. As if that weren't bad enough, an obligatory 18% gratuity was added. Even in a full service situation, obligatory gratuities don't normally kick in until there are six or more in the party. And this was a BUFFET, not a full service situation. The establishment simply cannot justify an obligatory gratuity in this situation. So while I would unreservedly recommend the hotel to a friend, I would in the same breath warn him off its second floor restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Firehouse Restaurant in Old Sac is wonderful. It is a tad on the pricey side, but I think worth it.

Review of Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
nikkikat3
Business
San Francisco
Sep 29, 2014

Reasonably priced & surprisingly nice

Really big, luxurious rooms. A cool bar to unwind after hitting up the bars around here. Perfect location, easy access to old Sac & surrounding sac areas. Valet parking is worth the extra money--they'd always get my car within 5 minutes (I've waited up to 45 min at past hotels).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frequent Business Trips
Business
Nevada
Jul 27, 2014

Nice location.

You can walk to K street, the Capital and Old Town from here. Many restaurants nearby. The pool is very small and has no view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There are a number of public parking lots within a short walk from the hotel. No need to pay for hotel parking. Look on H street, one road to the north.

Back to menu Return to top