$83 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 9, 2014 Check-out: Dec 10, 2014

Thunderbird Lodge

2 stars
2711 University Ave, Riverside, CA 92507
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
9 reviews
Excatly what I was looking!!!

Staff was very friendly, rooms clean, comfortable enviorment. See full review

  • Olivcro
  • Aug 15, 2014
Valentine Getaway

My Husband and I had a great time at our stay. The Red Heart Shaped Jacuzzi Tub in our room was... See full review

  • lovely leslie
  • Feb 17, 2014
The Old Riverside Foundation just awarded us with the Historical Preservation award. Come see our transformation of one of the few Historical locations in Riverside. We are located in the heart of Riverside just blocks away from Downtown Riverside, Convention Center and many restaurants. The University of California Riverside (UCR) is located just one mile down the street. We are proudly part of the Riverside Historical Development area on University Ave. and Victoria Ave. which is in the designation process to be listed in the National Register of Historic Places. Whether you are here for business or pleasure we will make sure to make your stay a pleasant one.

Hotel Map

33.9768 -117.3624
Area served
Riverside, Ontario, San Bernadino
Nearby airports
ONT
Area description
In the heart of Riverside, Convention Center 1mi, Federal & State courthouses 1mi, UCR 1 mi, Restaurants & Entertainment walking distance

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Thunderbird Lodge also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Thunderbird Lodge Rooms

Superior King
Plush pillow-top King bed, 500 DirecTV channels, microwave, refrigerator, hair-dryer, in-room coffee
Superior Double
Plush pillow-top two double beds, 500 DirecTV channels, microwave, refrigerator, hair-dryer, in-room coffee
Spa Suite
Spacious and comfortable in-room jacuzzi, lush pillow-top King bed, 500 DirecTV channels, microwave, refrigerator, hair-dryer, in-room coffee
Superior Queen
Plush pillow-top queen bed, 500 DirecTV channels, microwave, refrigerator, hair-dryer, in-room coffee
Suite
Spacious with a separate sitting area with sofa and lounge chairs, pplush pillow-top queen bed, 500 DirecTV channels, microwave, refrigerator, hair-dryer, in-room coffee

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Golf
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Tour desk
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (9)

Ratings and reviews for Thunderbird Lodge

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
9 out of 9
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.3

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Thunderbird Lodge

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JasmineJ
Business
San Diego, Ca
Oct 2, 2014

Family run motel... Not worth price paid

When I first checked in it took 5 mins before anyone even came to front desk to check in me in. Getting to room there were no towels and smell vaguely like Indian food. Constant police presences because of the loud college students. NO BREAKFAST! Smoking rooms look different than rooms advertised. When checking out, @ 1030 I actually had to go find a staff member just so I could check out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thunderbird Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Olivcro
Business
San Luis AZ
Aug 15, 2014

Excatly what I was looking!!!

Staff was very friendly, rooms clean, comfortable enviorment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

Wanted something just outside of the city

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thunderbird Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lovely leslie
Business
San Diego,CA
Feb 17, 2014

Valentine Getaway

My Husband and I had a great time at our stay. The Red Heart Shaped Jacuzzi Tub in our room was very cute and a lot of fun! Perfect for a romantic getaway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Guillano's Italian Restaurant was very good with reasonable prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thunderbird Lodge

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pdinesurfer
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Sep 22, 2012

Won't be staying here again

Upon arrival, the receptionist was rude and condescending. The pool is not maintained (black sludge in the pool and jacuzzi. The room was nice at first glance, but the bathtub would not drain and late in the evening the toilet backed up. The bed was lumpy and uncomfortable. When checking out, I had to wait at the front desk, and look for someone who worked there for almost 10 minutes. Finally, a man in pajamas (the morning receptionist) came out and checked me out of the room. It was a budget stay, but I'll give my money to another budget hotel next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thunderbird Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Poppa Bear 8031
Business
Los Angeles, California
Sep 19, 2012

Awesome Place!

This place was perfect for my concert experience. It was nice and clean, close to the downtown scene and right next to the freeway. 4 thumbs up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You have to go visit the Mission.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thunderbird Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Johnny Wit
Business
los angeles california
Aug 21, 2012

nice and quiet

Nice clean room comfortable bed and not a bad location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thunderbird Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jakatax
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Dec 24, 2009

Thunderbird Hotel - Riverside, CA

Excellent location off of the 91. Beautiful renovation and nice rooms. Not alot of traffic so no Continental breakfast. Very quiet and peaceful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thunderbird Lodge

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
los angeles, Ca.
Dec 14, 2009

Hotel is Hype!

I rested before heading out for a concert. When you first walk in the room, there is a STENCH that emanated from the Carpet. You could see that it was dirty, and in dire need of cleaning, or replacement. I didn't want to walk on it in my socks! when coming back from concert, I pulled the covers back, and there wad HAIRS on the pillow, and the sheets! the comforter was visibly dirty, and I could not lie down and get any sleep. I slept on top of covers, and only under my own blanket that I brought with me. I don't feel that The owner of the Thunderbird lodge should charge the ridiculous price of 71.99 when he can't even have CLEAN SHEETS, AND CLEAN BLANKETS AND CARPETS, AND HAIRLESS BEDS. I deserve at least 51.99 back!!!!!!! I chose this place because of the location near the Amtrak, and the Municipal Auditorium. I should have paid 15.00 more, and gotten a 4-star hotel, with 4-star hotel room smell and clean sheets!!!!! Never again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thunderbird Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mlynehl
Business
Oxnard, ca
Oct 14, 2009

Great renovation!

Traveled there for a friends party. Decent location. Content with stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top