$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 17, 2015 Check-out: Jul 18, 2015

Sofitel San Francisco Bay

4 stars
View map of 223 Twin Dolphin Drive, REDWOOD CITY, CA 94065

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sofitel San Francisco Bay

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
86 out of 86
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sofitel San Francisco Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tahoe, CA
Feb 19, 2010

Quick trip to the Bay Area

The last portion of the "Overview" of the Sofitel on your page reads: The 421 guestrooms at this Sofitel hotel feature signature SoBeds, Roger & Gallet toiletries, and high-speed Internet access. The toiletries we all know are free, and the mention of "high-speed internet access" after, made me think that it was free as well. It's actually $10 a day. I think a hotel of this stature should offer this service free of charge and stop the nickel and dimeing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel San Francisco Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stella L.
Business
Boston, MA
Feb 11, 2010

Great for what I needed

This hotel was perfect for what I needed- basically just a place to stay for the weekend. The staff is extremely polite, rooms are clean, nice that parking is free. The only thing is that it's in a strange location, but really convenient to the businesses in the immediate area. If you need to go anywhere else though (even the grocery store or pharmacy), you need a car or a shuttle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel San Francisco Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Danville
Feb 8, 2010

Perfect. It doesn't get any better

Went to dinner with friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel San Francisco Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
glazequeen
Business
Connecticut
Jan 21, 2010

A little worn out but welcoming

This hotel is not quite the luxurious experience expected from Sofitel, although it may have been at one time. Still, the rooms were very comfortable, the staff was pleasant for the most part, the bar was very nice. For us the location was perfect - visiting family in Redwood City. Close to SFO. The pastry was SO delicious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel San Francisco Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
hollywood, ca
Nov 29, 2009

Sofitel is only So-So...

[...] The water pressure in the shower was NON-EXISTENT. Really quite awful. Standard extras (fridge, coffee-maker) are nowhere to be found here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel San Francisco Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ron the Grampa
Business
Vonore, Tennessee
Nov 29, 2009

Mixed Bag of Good/Bad

Although the hotel was visually very nice, the service was a mixed bag. The front desk room staff were fantastic. Great workout room. However, the dining and bar service was very slow and understaffed. Likewise the coffee/pastry bar had customers backed up sometimes 6 or 7 deep waiting for a single person to operate both the expresso machine and handle purchases. Food value was very poor. I will not hesitate to stay there again if the price is right but will choose to eat elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Due to poor service in drinking eating areas and poor value, choose to eat/drink outside hotel

Review of Sofitel San Francisco Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
hrgirl
Business
MIAMI florida
Nov 2, 2009

old lady needing a lift

the appearance at first glance is wonderfull but the hotel is old and needs to update the rooms. TV not working properly (issues on going) telephone issues were supposed to be repaired-no phone in room. Housekeeping was deaf to my requests even after complaining to the general manager. Poor hot water flow also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel San Francisco Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Oct 19, 2009

Peaceful Location

I like this place because you can generally get great quality for a reasonable price. This is partly because the hotel isn't exactly "centrally located" to night life and great restaurants but that's a good thing if you're looking for some rest and relaxation. You're into downtown San Francisco in about 20 minutes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Other than San Francisco, great dining can be found in Palo Alto and Redwood City - only about 10 minutes drive.

Review of Sofitel San Francisco Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Satisfied Guess
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Oct 7, 2009

Perfect Vaction Getaway

This was the perfect hotel!!! My girlfriend and I were on vacation for her birthday, and the staff did everything to ensure that it was an enjoyable one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel San Francisco Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
austin, tx
Oct 7, 2009

Overall a good experience

Overall we enjoyed our stay. A few comments on various aspects: Location: The location was good for us, as were doing medical treatments in San Mateo. We also went into the city (SF) several times and each time it was a very quick easy trip in. HOWEVER, you do need a car, as there is nothing close the the hotel except a big business park. Downtown San Mateo is 5 minutes away and has great shops as does another small town a few minutes away...but you are NOT in San Fran, and it is a bit of a drive to get in. Hotel Staff: We were very pleased with the hotel staff and accomodations. Room: The room is pretty average for 4 star. It was clean and average size. We did have an issue the first night (toilet overflowed) which was unpleasant, but the staff handled it quickly and appropriately.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Main Street in San Mateo (take 3rd street exit off of 101 and go west) is darling...lots of great local restaurants, shops, etc.

Back to menu Return to top