$104 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 31, 2014

Sofitel San Francisco Bay

4 stars
223 Twin Dolphin Drive, REDWOOD CITY, CA 94065
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
75 reviews
Great San Francisco / Silicon Valley Vacation.

The rooms were clean and well maintained. The staff was courteous and delivered items of need... See full review

  • CG Traveller
  • Sep 2, 2014
nice

very nice- great lobby. good bar. friendly service. nice curtains. See full review

  • karamba
  • Jun 11, 2014
Luxurious "corporate resort" hotel on shores of San Francisco Bay

Located 15 miles south of San Francisco in Redwood City, this luxurious hotel sits on the shores of San Francisco Bay and is so popular among business travelers that it bills itself as a "corporate resort." The property is a five-minute drive from San Francisco International Airport, and complimentary high-speed Internet access is available in every room. The on-site restaurant, Bay 223, serves French cuisine made from sustainably farmed ingredients.

Highlights
  • Breathtaking location on the shores of San Francisco Bay
  • Close proximity to San Francisco International Airport
  • Dine on French cuisine at the on-site restaurant, Bay 223
  • Jogging path
Rooms

Accommodations -- 421 rooms, including six suites -- are modern and simply decorated. All rooms come standard with flat-screen televisions, a spacious desk, luxury bath amenities and fresh flowers. Many rooms also have a view of San Francisco Bay. Suites include sitting and office areas. Complimentary high-speed Internet access is available in all rooms, and complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access is available throughout the hotel. Pets welcome (fees apply).

Features

The property sits on a "lagoon," a man-made extension of San Francisco Bay, and water is visible from all public areas and most guestrooms. Views such as those are part of the reason the Sofitel San Francisco Bay has received numerous awards, including the AAA Four Diamond Award.

All guests have access to a fitness center with Cybex and PreCor equipment; locker rooms attached to the fitness center offer saunas and hot tubs. There's also an outdoor pool and a nearby tennis court (fees apply). A jogging path across the street from the hotel connects with other paths in the Redwood Shores neighborhood.

Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).

Dining

Enjoy a cocktail or dinner at Bar 223, an on-site restaurant that serves three meals a day. Chefs strive to use only ingredients that have been farmed sustainably. Many of the ingredients also are from farms within a 50-mile radius of the hotel.

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (10 mi/16.1 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (21 mi/33.8 km)
  • BART (2 miles)
Attractions
  • Redwood City
  • Filoli House and Garden
  • San Mateo County coast
  • San Jose
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 17,000 square feet of meeting space
Policies and fees
  • Self-parking costs $20 per day, $4 for the first hour, then 2$ per hour up to $20; while valet parking is $25 per day, $15 for 1 to 4 hours, $20 for 4 to 8 hours and $25 for 8-24 hours.
  • Free accommodation and breakfast for one child under 12 years old sharing parents' room (with space for a crib, rollaway bed or by using existing bedding) having breakfast as a family. No club access.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sofitel San Francisco Bay also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Sofitel San Francisco Bay Rooms

1 Kg bed Sup
SUPERIOR ROOM, 1 king-size bed. 22 sqm, 230 sqf, King bed, high speed internet access, bathroom with bathtub, workspace with desk and chair, TV, alarm clock/radio, hairdryer, coffee maker, safe deposit box
1 Kg bed Clc
Classic Room, 1 king size bed. 22 sqm, 230 sqf, King bed, high speed internet access, bathroom with bathtub, workspace with desk and chair, TV, alarm clock/radio, hair dresser and Coffee Maker.
2 Db beds Dlx
LUXURY ROOM - 2 double beds, lagoon view or mou ntain view. 22 sqm, 230 sqf, upgraded waterfront lagoon or mountain view with King bed, high speed internet access, bathroom with bathtub, workspace with desk and chair, TV, alarm clock/radio, hairdryer, c
1 Kg bed Dlx
Luxury Room - 1 king-size bed, lagoon view or m ountain view. 22 sqm, 230 sqf, upgraded waterfront lagoon or mountain view with King bed, high speed internet access, bathroom with bathtub, workspace with desk and chair, TV, alarm clock/radio, hairdryer,
JrSuite 1 Kg bed
JUNIOR SUITE - 1 King size bed, one large room with sitting area. 42 sqm, 450 sqf, high speed internet, larger bathroom with both shower & bathtub, separate sitting area with loveseat & table, workspace with desk & chair, 2 TVs, alarm clock, hairdryer,
2 Db beds Sup
Superior Room with 2 double beds. 22 sqm, 230 sqf, 2 Double beds, high speed internet access, bathroom with bathtub, workspace with desk and chair, TV, alarm clock/radio, hairdryer, Coffee Maker
Suite 1 Kg bed Sup
Prestige Suite - 1 king-size bed, one large roo m, one living room with office area. 65 sqm, 700 sqf, Large 2 room suite. Separate living room features sofa & chairs, workspace with desk & chair, CD/stereo and panoramic views. King bed, larger bathroom

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Jogging track
Outdoor tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
FAX
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Iron
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Filoli Mansion and Gardens: 4.3 mi

Dining

BAY 223
Bay 223 serves California-inspired French cuisine in a contemporary atmosphere. Overlooking the lagoon, Bay 223 is the perfect place to start your day or unwind.. Breakfast 6am/11am - Lunch 11:30am/3pm - Dinner 5pm/11pm - Sunday Brunch 11am/2pm.
BAY BAR
Have a casual drink and stimulating conversation overlooking the pool and lagoon, Baybar is one of the newest hot spots in the Bay Area. Signature drinks and perfect food selections make Baybar the place to be and be seen... and we are wireless.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (75)

Ratings and reviews for Sofitel San Francisco Bay

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
75 out of 75
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sofitel San Francisco Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lejuana
Business
Denver, Co
Oct 19, 2010

Hidden location

Finally, after 18 years, my husband and I decided to visit the San Francisco Bay area. We were able to settle on a package deal that fit our budget. The Sofitel Hotel was included in our travel package. Overall, we experienced comfort and safety. The one thing I really appreciated was the Kiosk located coveniently near the elevators. I would have appreciated one of the elegant rooms advertised rather than a wheelchair accessible room more suited for individuals in need of such accommodations. We got the since that the hotel caters more to the business traveler not for those looking for a more romantic setting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Expect lots of glass buildings and cooperate offices. Shopping area no where in sight. The hotel location is hidden away from any shopping, dining, entertainment

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel San Francisco Bay

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Addison, IL
Jul 15, 2010

Not All That It Appears To Be

The room was small and in need of remodeling. No coffee maker or refrigerator in room. Had to call to get toilet paper, 3 hours later still no toilet paper. No hot tub or swimming pool indoors. Since Redwood City is near San Francisco it is quite cool to have an outdoor pool only.No one was swimming in the pool the whole 5 days we were there. Also, there was a convention and the registration tables were located right near the elevators and there were large crowds of people standing all in front of the elevators and it was very dificult to get in and out of elevators and the noise was quite irritating. Also the location of the computer to print your boarding passes was surrounded by the registrtation tables and once again it ws very difficult to get throught the crowd to get to the computer. The glasses in the room were not clean they had greas, fingerprints and smudges looking like they were not clean at all. I was very dissapointed in the Sofitel Hotel and I would never stay at any Sofitel Hotels again. Also they advertise the beautiful view looking at the Bay, then give you a room facing a rooftop of the meeting room. They don't inform you that you don't get that view of the Bay unless you pay extra. Also, I would never recommend this Hotel Chain to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Pier 39 and Alcatraz

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel San Francisco Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas area
Jul 3, 2010

Love this hotel

We stayed at this hotel some time back and then again just recently. It is exemplary, both in ambiance and customer service!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel San Francisco Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mondorugas
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Jun 28, 2010

Average Hotel

It was ok, came in a few hours early, staff could not find my reservation

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel San Francisco Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pennsylvania
Jun 25, 2010

"Not impressed"

We walked into the hotel very excited because we were taking a trip for our 10th anniversary. The first thing we noticed was the size of the room. It was very small, especially when compared with the pictures on the site. We had the King Deluxe premium room and it was small with no view. It was also not very clean and we could see the vacuum marks where the staff had not swept the whole room, just to the edges of things. The kicker of the whole stay was that there was no complimentary coffee anywhere in the hotel. Even the dinky hotels give you coffee! Not here though. We could buy it for $3 in the market, but it was so not worth it! All in all, very disappointing stay at what was supposed to be a very nice 4-star hotel. Plus internet access was an addition $10 per day, which I did not take advantage of because it would have been over $60 for the time we were there. I think in a hotel that is touted to be the quality this one is, the little things should be taken into consideration.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are lots of local restaurants within a very short distance of the hotel with reasonable prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel San Francisco Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Palm Desert, CA
Jun 16, 2010

Fantastic place to stay!

We have made numerous trips to the San Francisco Bay area landing at San Carlos airport. The Sofitel is by far the most comfortable hotel with the finest amenities and dining room that we have encountered. We are looking forward to our next visit. The location is accessible to the major freeways and all the attractions in the Bay area. On this trip, for family business, we made good time to Woodside, Palo Alto and Santa Cruz from the hotel and appreciated the quiet, elegant, atmosphere that permeate the public areas as well as the guest rooms. The food and the service in the dining room is outstanding and is priced fairly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel San Francisco Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
vdimako
Business
Dallas, TX
Jun 16, 2010

Great Experience!!!

Very Friendly staff. Great environment. Nice big rooms, clean and inviting. Bit far from the city center but there is always the hotel shuttle driving every hour to & from the airport & the BART station. The food at the hotel restaurant is a bit pricey but amazing! Room service is also pretty fast! Overall, great experience without anything negative really to point out. A BIG "Thank You" to our concierge [...], for making our stay even better and definitely memorable!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel San Francisco Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Mexico
Jun 12, 2010

Outstanding

Staff was very friendly and helpful. Excellent facility

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel San Francisco Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Utah Globetrotter
Business
Provo, UT
Jun 7, 2010

Good Value--close to SFO

Mixed experience. I was given a smoking room after being told at the desk that I was confirmed for and was being put in a non-smoking room. The stench was really annoying. Since I was staying for 4 days, I asked to be moved the next day. The room I was moved into had two burned out lights. That seemed odd for a luxury hotel. Then the telphone went out and I coudn't call the front desk to tell them. I am willingt pay a premium to eat hotel food that keeps me on-site, but the food looked particularly unappealing (and I was hungry). So I never tried the food they offered to our large conference ($20 for salad, pasta and a water). No refrigerator in room, so you'll have to use the ice bucket to chill your drinks. They charge a steep fee for wi-fi or internet hookup. Good news is that the bed was extrememly comfortable. The amenities in the bathroom were all scented with lemon verbena--quite nice. The water pressure was good and the hot water arrived quicly. Room was quiet in a busy hotel. Elevators were very speedy and that was nice. I did not try any of the other facilities, but I was told by other conference partipants that the ftiness room was excellent. The ballroom was conveniently located and good for a 400 person event.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

About 1/2 mile away is a nice neighborhood shoppng center. I walked there once or twice a day. Nice sidewalk. Several restaurants to choose from as well as a full grocery store. Also shipping and printing services. Cute ice cream shop with homemade ice cream.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel San Francisco Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newport,RI
Jun 2, 2010

sofitel

The staff at this hotel are the Best around!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top