$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 28, 2014 Check-out: Sep 29, 2014

The Portofino Hotel & Marina

4 stars
260 Portofino Way, Redondo Beach, CA 90277
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
89 reviews
Luxurious and romantic

Spacious rooms, elegantly equipped, with views of the ocean (optional). Comfortable and peaceful... See full review

  • Local Business traveler
  • May 5, 2014
Fantastic couples getaway

We had an awesome time at the hotel and around the beaches nearby. See full review

  • RFC83
  • Aug 8, 2014
Los Angeles's only waterfront resort offers luxury paired with views

Completely upgraded in a recent multimillion-dollar renovation, Los Angeles's only waterfront hotel, The Portofino Hotel and Yacht Club - A Noble House Hotel, boasts unforgettable Pacific Ocean and marine-life views. A world-class seafood restaurant and elegant oceanfront lounge, combined with a range of recreational options (water sports, a heated oceanfront pool, a private marina and free use of beach cruiser bikes) make for a fun, fulfilling and enjoyable stay for all travelers.

Highlights
  • Only Los Angeles-area hotel located directly on the Pacific Ocean
  • Private marina and full slate of recreation activities
  • Acclaimed in-house seafood restaurant and lounge
Rooms
Lively guest rooms at The Portofino Hotel and Yacht Club - A Noble House Hotel offer beach-inspired colors as well as private balconies with either marina or ocean views. Each room comes with a choice of two double beds or a king bed. Marina-side rooms feature 42-inch flat-screen TVs while ocean-side rooms come with 42-inch plasma TVs and DVD players. Wi-Fi is available in all guest rooms (fees apply).

Ocean jacuzzi rooms feature private whirlpool tubs, while spacious ocean-side suites offer separate living rooms and bedrooms, two 42-inch plasma TVs and double-sided fireplaces that open into both rooms.
Features
The unique peninsula location of The Portofino Hotel and Yacht Club - A Noble House Hotel offers unparalleled ocean and marina views, including enchanting marine-life sightings. A private marina offers long- and short-term moorings for various-sized boats.
Dining
The acclaimed Baleen Los Angeles Restaurant at The Portofino Hotel and Yacht Club - A Noble House Hotel features delectable seafood specialties and an all-day menu. Guests can dine in the inviting, dark-wood-paneled interior overlooking the ocean or on the gorgeous, marina-facing patio. The cozy, upscale Living Room Bar serves tantalizing drinks in a three-story atrium setting, fireside sofas and stunning Pacific Ocean views.
Recreation
A 24-hour fitness center, heated oceanfront pool and whirlpool, various water sports and complimentary beach cruiser bicycles for all guests offers plenty of opportunities for recreation and rejuvenation.
Transportation
  • Los Angeles International Airport (8 mi/13 km)
  • Long Beach Airport (20 mi/31 km)
Attractions
  • Santa Monica Pier & Third Street Promenade (15 mi/25 km)
  • Aquarium of the Pacific (16 mi/26 km)
  • J. Paul Getty Museum (22 mi/35 km)
  • Grauman's Chinese Theatre & Hollywood Walk of Fame (29 mi/47 km)
  • Universal Studios Hollywood Theme Park (32 mi/50 km)
  • Disneyland (35 mi/57 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 8,000 square feet of flexible meeting and event space
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi in public areas
Polices & Fees

Complimentary beach cruiser bikes are available for both adults and children. Parking rates are charged per vehicle, per night, for valet or self-parking. Complimentary Internet access is available in the lobby; in-room access is available for a fee.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

33.8448 -118.3958
Area served
Redondo Beach, Manhattan Beach, Hermosa Beach, CA
Nearby airports
Los Angeles International Airport (LAX)
Area description
From the Los Angeles International Airport: Exit right lane to Sepulveda Boulevard South, which becomes Pacific Coast Highway. Continue six miles and turn right on Beryl Street, which becomes Portofina Way. Continue on Portofino Way to hotel entrance.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Portofino Hotel & Marina also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Portofino Hotel & Marina Rooms

Ocean Jacuzzi
Private whirlpool tub for 2 and One king bed. Located on the ground floor of the ocean side of the hotel, these spacious rooms feature a partial ocean view, a private, furnished patio, 42-inch plasma-screen TV, DVD player.
Marina Side
The Portofino's most basic and intimate accommodations, these standard rooms are located on the Marina-side of the hotel usually on the first floor. Rooms offer one King or Two Double beds, private patio, mini bar, hair dryer, TV, clock radio, and iron and ironing board. Bed type is subject to availability at check in. All guestrooms are non-smoking as of July 1, 2006.
Ocean Side
Located on the preferred ocean-side of the hotel, these quaint rooms offer a partial view of the beautiful Pacific Ocean. Furnishings include One King or Two Double beds, private patio, mini-bar, hair dryer, TV, clock radio and iron and ironing board. Bed type is subject to availability at check in. All guestrooms are non-smoking as of July 1, 2006.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

The Living Room Bar
Soaring skies, a crackling fireplace and the perfect martini. Celebrate the end to a glorious day with a cool drink and sweeping views of the Pacific from the comfort of one of our supple lounge chairs. Dirty or neat, The Living Room Bar serves up delightful cocktails meant to be enjoyed in our expansive three-story atrium setting. The Living Room Bar is open from 4:00 pm - 10:00 pm and is closed on Sundays.
Baleen
A grand circular driveway and custom water feature frame the new Baleen, Los Angeles, the whimsical, yet elegant signature restaurant of Noble House Hotels & Resorts. Nationally renown for its serious food and a whimsical mood, the all-new Baleen in Redondo Beach, California brings an eclectic, eccentric fine dining experience to The Portofino Hotel & Yacht Club with monkeys hanging fron chandeliers, and a perfect Pacific Ocean backdrop to the seafood-centric menu. For outside dining, the patio overlooks the marina with dramatic drapery and firepits. Inside, the motif is balanced with dark wood flooring and accents. The upstairs bar offers a cosmopolitan-lounge vibe, with fireside sofas and chairs, and a mixologist - a cocktail chef who creates the essential ingredients of concoctions from natural ingredients to create food-friendly drinks that rise to the level of the acclaimed menu.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
With more than 8,000 square feet of meeting facilities and banquet space, including a freestanding meeting pavilion, The Portofino offers a creative, productive and flexible environment to suit all business needs.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (89)

Ratings and reviews for The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
89 out of 89
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Santa Clarita, CA
Jan 31, 2010

Unclean, overpriced

Jacuzzi tub jets were full of algae and debris. Bathroom had insufficient space and lack of privacy. Pillows and bed were uncomfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
black barbie
Las Vegas, NV
Jan 4, 2011

Could have been better

Temperatures at night were in the low 30's and our room heater didn't work properly. We had to have maintenance come in a few times to fix. The pillows were too thin, even when doubled! You are required to pay over $20 per night to use their parking as their guest, meanwhile, the people going fishing for the day, park for free! I don't think you should pay to park if you are a guest of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: In Hotel

The restaurant on property is very good and so was the room service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
St Louis, MO
May 28, 2007

Terrible Staff... Not worth the money overall

Staying at the Portofino Hotel & Yacht Club was a horrifying experience. Upon initial inspection, the grounds were decent, the rooms were mod and nice but given the fact that the front desk had a long line of angry customers over various issues should have been a foreboding of things to come. The incident that was worst for us was when we were in the elevator, I looked up to check what floor we were on and my 3 year old son put his hand on the elevator door for a second to balance himself and the door started opening and sucked his hand in. The door didn't stop like it was supposed to. It kept pulling his arm in. I was hitting the alarm and screaming at the top of my lungs for help as my sons fingers popped and he screamed as it pulled his arm in further. Luckily, a Marine heard us screaming after A MINUTE AND A HALF of this pain for my son (Did I mention we were within a 10 second jump from the front desk on the second floor and they said they heard us loud and clear and NO ONE CAME?) Luckily the Marine was able to pull open the door and save my son's fingers. When questioned as to why they didn't help, they simple said, Sorry. We called maintenance and were waiting on a call back. They also acknowledged that this has happened before. Their manager said they would take care of all expenses relating to this - meaning transportation and medical care - and once I got to the Urgent Care facility with my son, they decided NOT to help us afterall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Teresa K
Redondo Beach, CA
Jun 22, 2009

Will NOT reserve here again....

I made the reservation at the Portofino for my daughter in-law and two grandchildren because, She wanted to get the whole vacation experience during her visit to california. I called the hotel the day before her arrival to confirm her late check in and to assure the crib was in their room upon arrival. The lady that checked us in, was extremly rude to my us. The "crib" was not in the room and the bell guy didn't have a clue where to find one. BTW, the bellguy was very sweet. So he finds the "crib" which was a portable playpen. When it came time to check out they tried to charge my DIL, $24.00 a day plus tax for parking even when she didn't have a car the entire trip. Once again, the woman checking us out was extremly rude as well. I offered to talk to her manager and she changed her toned quickly. She finally adjusted the parking bill to $8.00 per day for three nights as stated during our check in. BTW, the rooms are really really small, however the beds were comfy according to my DIL. I live very close to this hotel and it's really beautiful but if you can't afford or don't want to pay for an ocean view room and go through directly through the hotel to reserve don't bother. Other than the bell guy's and valet the rest of the staff are extremmly rude, even the housekeepers (They saw us walking down the hall with two small children and boatload of luggage but still left cleaning two carts in the hallway then walked away themselves. All in all very inconsiderate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Jun 7, 2007

Not enough amenities for the price

The Portofino Hotel and Yacht Club's rooms are nicely decorated, as is the bathroom. However, the parking is terrible and the pool area is severly lacking. There is no place poolside to grab a snack or drink and they lock it up at 10pm so if you go out for dinner and want to use the hot tub or take a swim you are out of luck. There were also very few hangers in the room and absolutely no dresser in the room, only a couple small drawers under the tv console.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Joes Crab shack is awesome for crab legs at a great price

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Palo Alto, CA
Apr 24, 2011

Needs upgrading

Hotel condition was not as pictured on website. Hotel was worn down and the hotel room was extremely small. No beach access from hotel. Guests are charged $23 per night for self parking or valet parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Denver, CO
Nov 12, 2010

Great Property, but...

This is a Fantastic property with a welcoming front desk staff, great bartender, nice rooms, and a picturesque scene. I have 160 room nights in hotels this year, so I have some experience with hotels. Unfortunately, my travel companion left two articles of clothing in the room, and those items were allegedly "not discovered" by housekeeping after I checked out. I gave my address and credit card information to the front desk staff to have them shipped to me. Since the cleaning staff claims the articles were not there, I have no recourse, and my travel companion is out $400 in clothing. This is very troubling to me since I expect honesty and integrity from other people. I will not stay here again, and I will discourage others from staying there. I wish I didn't have to do that, but I'm very frustrated with the manner in which the hotel has dealt with this issue. An otherwise Fantastic property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chart House has a great happy hour from 4:30 to 6:30 pm. Additionally, the bartender named [...] is probably one of the best bartenders I have had the pleasure of meeting.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
ft. myers,fl
Jun 22, 2009

priced too high for what we got....bad p

was very disappointed with pool and grounds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hemet,ca
Dec 31, 2009

good bad and the ugly

Hotel is very nice, but staff not very friendly and they charge guests $20.00 for parking per day!! Ridiculous!! They did not tell us this ahead of time. Insult to guests!! Mini-bar prices outrageous!! Restaurant prices too high for average food. Will not stay there again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ordinary Traveler
Sacramento, CA
Sep 12, 2009

OK hotel not worth the price!

This was my first time at this hotel so I didn't really know what to expect. First, the hotel is at the end of a pier with a marina on one side and a harbor facing the ocean with sea lions on the other. I would highly recommend a room on the harbor side. Our reservations were made with the cheaper marina view room however, the pool was closed that day (and of course we were not informed of that at check in) so, they gave us an upgrade to a harbor side room on the 3rd floor after we complained. The room was nicer and was more roomy then the first one. There were just a lot of little things that added up to make this hotel experience not that great. The hotel demagnitized our room keys and we had to get them replaced, some of the towels were not replaced in our room by housekeeping, and the hotel in general just smelled bad. They have humidity issues and it just smelled bad in the hallways, the rooms, and elevator. The elevator looked very old and scary we used the stairs mostly. It looked like the hotel was remodeled within the past 5 years or so but other than the lobby (the lobbly looked just like the pictures on their website) the remodel looked very superficial and incomplete. If you looked really close at the paint on the walls or the tile jobs in the bathrooms you could easily see that some more work needed to be done. Also, the food at the restaurant was very delicious and the service was wonderful. So, overall it is a nice hotel but not worth the price or the 4 star rating. I would stay there only if I absolutely had to stay on the water as the beach is a good 15 minute walk away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

There are no coffee makers in the rooms however there is complimentary coffee in the lobby down stairs. Plus, the complimentary bikes can only be loaned to you for a maximum of 2 hours.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search