$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

The Portofino Hotel & Marina

4 stars
260 Portofino Way, Redondo Beach, CA 90277
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
90 reviews
Luxurious and romantic

Spacious rooms, elegantly equipped, with views of the ocean (optional). Comfortable and peaceful... See full review

  • Local Business traveler
  • May 5, 2014
Fantastic couples getaway

We had an awesome time at the hotel and around the beaches nearby. See full review

  • RFC83
  • Aug 8, 2014
Los Angeles's only waterfront resort offers luxury paired with views

Completely upgraded in a recent multimillion-dollar renovation, Los Angeles's only waterfront hotel, The Portofino Hotel and Yacht Club - A Noble House Hotel, boasts unforgettable Pacific Ocean and marine-life views. A world-class seafood restaurant and elegant oceanfront lounge, combined with a range of recreational options (water sports, a heated oceanfront pool, a private marina and free use of beach cruiser bikes) make for a fun, fulfilling and enjoyable stay for all travelers.

Highlights
  • Only Los Angeles-area hotel located directly on the Pacific Ocean
  • Private marina and full slate of recreation activities
  • Acclaimed in-house seafood restaurant and lounge
Rooms
Lively guest rooms at The Portofino Hotel and Yacht Club - A Noble House Hotel offer beach-inspired colors as well as private balconies with either marina or ocean views. Each room comes with a choice of two double beds or a king bed. Marina-side rooms feature 42-inch flat-screen TVs while ocean-side rooms come with 42-inch plasma TVs and DVD players. Wi-Fi is available in all guest rooms (fees apply).

Ocean jacuzzi rooms feature private whirlpool tubs, while spacious ocean-side suites offer separate living rooms and bedrooms, two 42-inch plasma TVs and double-sided fireplaces that open into both rooms.
Features
The unique peninsula location of The Portofino Hotel and Yacht Club - A Noble House Hotel offers unparalleled ocean and marina views, including enchanting marine-life sightings. A private marina offers long- and short-term moorings for various-sized boats.
Dining
The acclaimed Baleen Los Angeles Restaurant at The Portofino Hotel and Yacht Club - A Noble House Hotel features delectable seafood specialties and an all-day menu. Guests can dine in the inviting, dark-wood-paneled interior overlooking the ocean or on the gorgeous, marina-facing patio. The cozy, upscale Living Room Bar serves tantalizing drinks in a three-story atrium setting, fireside sofas and stunning Pacific Ocean views.
Recreation
A 24-hour fitness center, heated oceanfront pool and whirlpool, various water sports and complimentary beach cruiser bicycles for all guests offers plenty of opportunities for recreation and rejuvenation.
Transportation
  • Los Angeles International Airport (8 mi/13 km)
  • Long Beach Airport (20 mi/31 km)
Attractions
  • Santa Monica Pier & Third Street Promenade (15 mi/25 km)
  • Aquarium of the Pacific (16 mi/26 km)
  • J. Paul Getty Museum (22 mi/35 km)
  • Grauman's Chinese Theatre & Hollywood Walk of Fame (29 mi/47 km)
  • Universal Studios Hollywood Theme Park (32 mi/50 km)
  • Disneyland (35 mi/57 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 8,000 square feet of flexible meeting and event space
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi in public areas
Polices & Fees

Complimentary beach cruiser bikes are available for both adults and children. Parking rates are charged per vehicle, per night, for valet or self-parking. Complimentary Internet access is available in the lobby; in-room access is available for a fee.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

33.8448 -118.3958
Area served
Redondo Beach, Manhattan Beach, Hermosa Beach, CA
Nearby airports
Los Angeles International Airport (LAX)
Area description
From the Los Angeles International Airport: Exit right lane to Sepulveda Boulevard South, which becomes Pacific Coast Highway. Continue six miles and turn right on Beryl Street, which becomes Portofina Way. Continue on Portofino Way to hotel entrance.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Portofino Hotel & Marina also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Portofino Hotel & Marina Rooms

Ocean Jacuzzi
Private whirlpool tub for 2 and One king bed. Located on the ground floor of the ocean side of the hotel, these spacious rooms feature a partial ocean view, a private, furnished patio, 42-inch plasma-screen TV, DVD player.
Marina Side
The Portofino's most basic and intimate accommodations, these standard rooms are located on the Marina-side of the hotel usually on the first floor. Rooms offer one King or Two Double beds, private patio, mini bar, hair dryer, TV, clock radio, and iron and ironing board. Bed type is subject to availability at check in. All guestrooms are non-smoking as of July 1, 2006.
Ocean Side
Located on the preferred ocean-side of the hotel, these quaint rooms offer a partial view of the beautiful Pacific Ocean. Furnishings include One King or Two Double beds, private patio, mini-bar, hair dryer, TV, clock radio and iron and ironing board. Bed type is subject to availability at check in. All guestrooms are non-smoking as of July 1, 2006.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
With more than 8,000 square feet of meeting facilities and banquet space, including a freestanding meeting pavilion, The Portofino offers a creative, productive and flexible environment to suit all business needs.

Dining

The Living Room Bar
Soaring skies, a crackling fireplace and the perfect martini. Celebrate the end to a glorious day with a cool drink and sweeping views of the Pacific from the comfort of one of our supple lounge chairs. Dirty or neat, The Living Room Bar serves up delightful cocktails meant to be enjoyed in our expansive three-story atrium setting. The Living Room Bar is open from 4:00 pm - 10:00 pm and is closed on Sundays.
Baleen
A grand circular driveway and custom water feature frame the new Baleen, Los Angeles, the whimsical, yet elegant signature restaurant of Noble House Hotels & Resorts. Nationally renown for its serious food and a whimsical mood, the all-new Baleen in Redondo Beach, California brings an eclectic, eccentric fine dining experience to The Portofino Hotel & Yacht Club with monkeys hanging fron chandeliers, and a perfect Pacific Ocean backdrop to the seafood-centric menu. For outside dining, the patio overlooks the marina with dramatic drapery and firepits. Inside, the motif is balanced with dark wood flooring and accents. The upstairs bar offers a cosmopolitan-lounge vibe, with fireside sofas and chairs, and a mixologist - a cocktail chef who creates the essential ingredients of concoctions from natural ingredients to create food-friendly drinks that rise to the level of the acclaimed menu.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (90)

Ratings and reviews for The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
90 out of 90
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Local Business traveler
Los Angeles area
May 5, 2014

Luxurious and romantic

Spacious rooms, elegantly equipped, with views of the ocean (optional). Comfortable and peaceful right on the ocean. Personal attention from the staff. A real find but very pricey. For $500 and up a night is it really necessary to charge an extra $26 for parking and Internet?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Friends tell me the hotel restaurant is amazing.

Review of The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rajiv
Cleveland, OH
Mar 25, 2008

good overall for the money

nice view, nice service would come back again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Southern MN
Mar 30, 2010

great getaway!

Four of us ladies decided to take a trip to Cali from MN--this was SUPER affordable and we utilized the 2nd floor patio at LEAST 4-6 hours a day just watching ships sail through-(I highly recommend the ocean side for the extra 50$)..the free beach cruisers took us to the more hoppin Hermosa beach within 5 minutes! So, we stayed in a great hotel with awesome, helpful, willing staff and were able to get other places easier--Hermosa was way more expensive to stay and this hotel was absolutely amazing-and we are a picky group of ladies. Enjoy your stay--we LOVED EVERY MINUTE. Oh yeah--do not forget to hit up Joes Crab Shack-2 min walk and such a FUN atmosphere!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Well Rested Travelers
Temecula, CA, USA
Jan 20, 2012

Absolute Bliss!

We decided to stay here at The Portofino to show our friends from Florida our hometown of Redondo Beach. We had an amazing experience! Our plan was to rent some strand cruisers to show them around the South Bay area along the strand. We were pleasantly surprised when we were told that the hotel supply their own strand cruisers. We had amazing day/night( as we did not return the bikes until about midnight since we decided to hit the bar scene) :)- the hotel was absolutely okay with that. We got back and enjoyed lounging in the VERY comfortable beds and waking up to the sound of the ocean while sitting on the balcony drinking a cappuccino. We did get a great deal on this hotel ( $140night,) but this hotel is definitely worth $300 plus a night during the high season.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Frankie.Rodriguez
Phoenix, Az
Feb 19, 2013

Weekend Get Away

It was pretty really easy find, since I got there everyone was very pleasant and said hi. I got the marina view, the rooms were comfortable, and the lobby was beautiful they had a mini from which I spent all the my nights there. The bartender Pau definitely provided excellent customer service, was very professional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Ask for Paul.

Review of The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Orange County, CA
Jun 24, 2007

Great get away

Great location,colorful room,freindly help.Nice place to take a walk on the water. We already have plans to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Some very nice restaurants close by.

Review of The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Phoenix, AZ
Mar 17, 2008

Perfect Vacation Hotel

I love the Portofino. Sitting in the window seat overlooking the ocean in the lobby/bar area is always one of my favorite parts of the trip, they sea lions are the perfect music. The room is beautiful and airy, there is a bar for evening, coffee in the morning and cucumber infused water all day long. I do wish that the rooms were large enough to hold two queen beds, as the doubles are small. Free loan of their beach cruiser bikes is a fabulous chance to ride along the Strand through the beach cities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

It is a manageable walk or short cab ride to Hermosa Beach (or a bit further to Manhattan Beach) where there are wonderful restaurants, bars and a variety of music to be had. We managed to hear three different types of music within two blocks.

Review of The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Colorado Biker
Denver, CO
Oct 14, 2009

Ocean Views are amasing!

My wife and I have spent our last 2 wedding anniversaries (30th and 31st) here. We love the beach but the hotel is nestled between Redondo Beach Pier and Hermosa Beach with Manhattan Beach a short bike ride to the north. We have a very romantic weekend watching the sunsets and walking the beaches.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, TX
Dec 16, 2007

for sun, for sea, four starts

I lucked into a magnificent choice! The Portofino Hotel & Yacht Club is right on the water. The rooms overlook the marina (great view) or the Pacific (greater view). My room was large, sunny, well-appointed, clean, and welcoming. Housekeeping does a marvelous job, and detail receive attention, as would be expected at a 4-star hotel. The front desk staff is pleasant and mostly professional--it appears they use local college students rather than career hotel professionals, but they do choose and train them well. While it was less than impressive when the lobby ran out of coffee (AND the reserve coffee was gone too), I must say the breakfast & lunch restaurant on the marina is cozy, with a fabulous view of the sunlit marina, and the food is good. The salmon omelet made for a marvelous breakfast. The hotel provides beachcomber bikes free for guests to sally up the boardwalk and enjoy breathtaking views of the Pacific. Beautiful beaches are not even three minutes bike ride away. If--no, WHEN--I return to Los Angeles for holiday, I'll definitely consider staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jun 10, 2007

A little piece of heaven...

The first evening at the Portofina, Rodondo Beach we spent viewing the stars and listening to the seals just outside our deck. The atmosphere was peaceful and romantic. We had a couple of meals in the restaraunt. Breakfast was good but dinner was a little pricy and not quite as tasty. The beds were quite plush and comfortable. It was obvious that the rooms were newly renovated. The bathroom was elegant and nicely decorated. Comfy terry robes were in the rooms. The pool area was small but nice. The hot tub was soothing and clean. This place is a treasure. There is quite a walk from the end rooms to the elevator. However, there are stairs close if you don't mind using them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are many good restaraunts in the area.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search