$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 23, 2014 Check-out: Nov 24, 2014

The Portofino Hotel & Marina

4 stars
260 Portofino Way, Redondo Beach, CA 90277
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
89 reviews
Luxurious and romantic

Spacious rooms, elegantly equipped, with views of the ocean (optional). Comfortable and peaceful... See full review

  • Local Business traveler
  • May 5, 2014
Fantastic couples getaway

We had an awesome time at the hotel and around the beaches nearby. See full review

  • RFC83
  • Aug 8, 2014
Los Angeles's only waterfront resort offers luxury paired with views

Completely upgraded in a recent multimillion-dollar renovation, Los Angeles's only waterfront hotel, The Portofino Hotel and Yacht Club - A Noble House Hotel, boasts unforgettable Pacific Ocean and marine-life views. A world-class seafood restaurant and elegant oceanfront lounge, combined with a range of recreational options (water sports, a heated oceanfront pool, a private marina and free use of beach cruiser bikes) make for a fun, fulfilling and enjoyable stay for all travelers.

Highlights
  • Only Los Angeles-area hotel located directly on the Pacific Ocean
  • Private marina and full slate of recreation activities
  • Acclaimed in-house seafood restaurant and lounge
Rooms
Lively guest rooms at The Portofino Hotel and Yacht Club - A Noble House Hotel offer beach-inspired colors as well as private balconies with either marina or ocean views. Each room comes with a choice of two double beds or a king bed. Marina-side rooms feature 42-inch flat-screen TVs while ocean-side rooms come with 42-inch plasma TVs and DVD players. Wi-Fi is available in all guest rooms (fees apply).

Ocean jacuzzi rooms feature private whirlpool tubs, while spacious ocean-side suites offer separate living rooms and bedrooms, two 42-inch plasma TVs and double-sided fireplaces that open into both rooms.
Features
The unique peninsula location of The Portofino Hotel and Yacht Club - A Noble House Hotel offers unparalleled ocean and marina views, including enchanting marine-life sightings. A private marina offers long- and short-term moorings for various-sized boats.
Dining
The acclaimed Baleen Los Angeles Restaurant at The Portofino Hotel and Yacht Club - A Noble House Hotel features delectable seafood specialties and an all-day menu. Guests can dine in the inviting, dark-wood-paneled interior overlooking the ocean or on the gorgeous, marina-facing patio. The cozy, upscale Living Room Bar serves tantalizing drinks in a three-story atrium setting, fireside sofas and stunning Pacific Ocean views.
Recreation
A 24-hour fitness center, heated oceanfront pool and whirlpool, various water sports and complimentary beach cruiser bicycles for all guests offers plenty of opportunities for recreation and rejuvenation.
Transportation
  • Los Angeles International Airport (8 mi/13 km)
  • Long Beach Airport (20 mi/31 km)
Attractions
  • Santa Monica Pier & Third Street Promenade (15 mi/25 km)
  • Aquarium of the Pacific (16 mi/26 km)
  • J. Paul Getty Museum (22 mi/35 km)
  • Grauman's Chinese Theatre & Hollywood Walk of Fame (29 mi/47 km)
  • Universal Studios Hollywood Theme Park (32 mi/50 km)
  • Disneyland (35 mi/57 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 8,000 square feet of flexible meeting and event space
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi in public areas
Polices & Fees

Complimentary beach cruiser bikes are available for both adults and children. Parking rates are charged per vehicle, per night, for valet or self-parking. Complimentary Internet access is available in the lobby; in-room access is available for a fee.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

33.8448 -118.3958
Area served
Redondo Beach, Manhattan Beach, Hermosa Beach, CA
Nearby airports
Los Angeles International Airport (LAX)
Area description
From the Los Angeles International Airport: Exit right lane to Sepulveda Boulevard South, which becomes Pacific Coast Highway. Continue six miles and turn right on Beryl Street, which becomes Portofina Way. Continue on Portofino Way to hotel entrance.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Portofino Hotel & Marina also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Portofino Hotel & Marina Rooms

Ocean Jacuzzi
Private whirlpool tub for 2 and One king bed. Located on the ground floor of the ocean side of the hotel, these spacious rooms feature a partial ocean view, a private, furnished patio, 42-inch plasma-screen TV, DVD player.
Marina Side
The Portofino's most basic and intimate accommodations, these standard rooms are located on the Marina-side of the hotel usually on the first floor. Rooms offer one King or Two Double beds, private patio, mini bar, hair dryer, TV, clock radio, and iron and ironing board. Bed type is subject to availability at check in. All guestrooms are non-smoking as of July 1, 2006.
Ocean Side
Located on the preferred ocean-side of the hotel, these quaint rooms offer a partial view of the beautiful Pacific Ocean. Furnishings include One King or Two Double beds, private patio, mini-bar, hair dryer, TV, clock radio and iron and ironing board. Bed type is subject to availability at check in. All guestrooms are non-smoking as of July 1, 2006.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

The Living Room Bar
Soaring skies, a crackling fireplace and the perfect martini. Celebrate the end to a glorious day with a cool drink and sweeping views of the Pacific from the comfort of one of our supple lounge chairs. Dirty or neat, The Living Room Bar serves up delightful cocktails meant to be enjoyed in our expansive three-story atrium setting. The Living Room Bar is open from 4:00 pm - 10:00 pm and is closed on Sundays.
Baleen
A grand circular driveway and custom water feature frame the new Baleen, Los Angeles, the whimsical, yet elegant signature restaurant of Noble House Hotels & Resorts. Nationally renown for its serious food and a whimsical mood, the all-new Baleen in Redondo Beach, California brings an eclectic, eccentric fine dining experience to The Portofino Hotel & Yacht Club with monkeys hanging fron chandeliers, and a perfect Pacific Ocean backdrop to the seafood-centric menu. For outside dining, the patio overlooks the marina with dramatic drapery and firepits. Inside, the motif is balanced with dark wood flooring and accents. The upstairs bar offers a cosmopolitan-lounge vibe, with fireside sofas and chairs, and a mixologist - a cocktail chef who creates the essential ingredients of concoctions from natural ingredients to create food-friendly drinks that rise to the level of the acclaimed menu.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
With more than 8,000 square feet of meeting facilities and banquet space, including a freestanding meeting pavilion, The Portofino offers a creative, productive and flexible environment to suit all business needs.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (89)

Ratings and reviews for The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
89 out of 89
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco
Jul 7, 2009

Decent

Pool was smaller than it appears in pictures. Room service request for breakfast was never picked up, we had to call in our order that morning. Front desk staff didn't seem too concerned about the error when we checked out, and didn't thank us for staying. Front desk gave incorrect info about happy hour at Baleen/in-house restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Auburn, WA
Jun 29, 2009

South Bay Favorite

Get a taste of the good life while staying at The Portofino Hotel. Minutes away from the strand and popular Hermosa Pier, the Portofino is our favorite place to stay. Tucked between Redondo Marina and the Pacific Ocean, you'll feel like you ventured to a secluded island. If your room faces the water, be prepared for noisy sea lions!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Hermosa Pier offers great nightclubs and restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Teresa K
Business
Redondo Beach, CA
Jun 22, 2009

Will NOT reserve here again....

I made the reservation at the Portofino for my daughter in-law and two grandchildren because, She wanted to get the whole vacation experience during her visit to california. I called the hotel the day before her arrival to confirm her late check in and to assure the crib was in their room upon arrival. The lady that checked us in, was extremly rude to my us. The "crib" was not in the room and the bell guy didn't have a clue where to find one. BTW, the bellguy was very sweet. So he finds the "crib" which was a portable playpen. When it came time to check out they tried to charge my DIL, $24.00 a day plus tax for parking even when she didn't have a car the entire trip. Once again, the woman checking us out was extremly rude as well. I offered to talk to her manager and she changed her toned quickly. She finally adjusted the parking bill to $8.00 per day for three nights as stated during our check in. BTW, the rooms are really really small, however the beds were comfy according to my DIL. I live very close to this hotel and it's really beautiful but if you can't afford or don't want to pay for an ocean view room and go through directly through the hotel to reserve don't bother. Other than the bell guy's and valet the rest of the staff are extremmly rude, even the housekeepers (They saw us walking down the hall with two small children and boatload of luggage but still left cleaning two carts in the hallway then walked away themselves. All in all very inconsiderate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ft. myers,fl
Jun 22, 2009

priced too high for what we got....bad p

was very disappointed with pool and grounds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, New York
Jun 21, 2009

Wonderful!

we were looking for a hotel on (or near) the ocean, so we booked an ocean-view room in this hotel for 3 nights. the hotel's location was perfect and within walking distance to many local attractions; its interior/exterior decor simply beautiful; and its staff was very professional & friendly. our room was a lot larger than standard, beautifully decorated, very comfortable, & clean. valet parking was provided (at the same cost of self-parking), as well as free bicycle rentals (which we took advantage of -- riding 22 scenic miles from Redondo Beach to Venice Beach and back!). we would HIGHLY recommend this hotel to family & friends, and will DEFINITELY stay there again! A+++++!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Redmond WA
Jun 11, 2009

Loved this hotel!

Found the staff friendly and helpful. Loved the fact everyone that worked at the hotel were eager to please. I also liked the bottle of water the valet gave us each morning when we picked up our car. Nice touch! The rooms are nice and make you feel at home. I would highly recommend this hotel for people that like that personal touch away from home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Joes crab house next door for a causual dinning. Charter House for a more formal dinner at sunset is lovely.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Staten Island, NY
May 30, 2009

Wonderful Getaway

Traveled to California for an event and decided to stay in the L.A. Beach community to change things up a little. The hotel was fabulous as far as scenery, room rate, dining, etc.. The name of the hotel was The Portofino Hotel & Yacht Club, however, each yacht is privately owned and guests are not allowed to go on excursions, which was a little teasing b/c the yachts are such an attraction that anyone would ask to go out for a light sail. Overall, I have no complaints. In comparison to other hotels occupied, it is great for individuals traveling on business, couples & friends. It would be a nice feature for the hotel being on the marina if they could make previsions available for guests that would like to go out into the water for canoeing, sailing, etc., I know I would have loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

This hotel is a little ways distance from the airport so, do not take a taxi to commute to/from the airport/hotel. Make reservations with Super Shuttle as it is WAY cheaper.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Arlene cawich
Business
Los angeles
May 26, 2009

Honey moon

Every thing was great service was excellent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice walk by the beach side

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
connecticut
May 19, 2009

personel exceptional

location was great, staff most professional, food good, lovely spot

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Griffith3
Business
Long Island,NY
Apr 11, 2009

Best hotel to relax at after sightseeing

The staff was extremely helpful and knowledgeable about anything you might be looking to do. They would plan your trips for you and have the tour vans come right to the hotel. Everyone here was very friendly, I was greeted by name every time I returned for the day. The rooms were very clean and comfortable and very relaxing. If I needed anything the staff was very quick to bring it to the room. I also like the fact that if I wanted to conserve on water I could use my towel twice. I will definitely return to this hotel when I go back to California.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Anything you might need to get is within a mile or less of the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top