$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 23, 2014 Check-out: Nov 24, 2014

The Portofino Hotel & Marina

4 stars
260 Portofino Way, Redondo Beach, CA 90277
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
89 reviews
Luxurious and romantic

Spacious rooms, elegantly equipped, with views of the ocean (optional). Comfortable and peaceful... See full review

  • Local Business traveler
  • May 5, 2014
Fantastic couples getaway

We had an awesome time at the hotel and around the beaches nearby. See full review

  • RFC83
  • Aug 8, 2014
Los Angeles's only waterfront resort offers luxury paired with views

Completely upgraded in a recent multimillion-dollar renovation, Los Angeles's only waterfront hotel, The Portofino Hotel and Yacht Club - A Noble House Hotel, boasts unforgettable Pacific Ocean and marine-life views. A world-class seafood restaurant and elegant oceanfront lounge, combined with a range of recreational options (water sports, a heated oceanfront pool, a private marina and free use of beach cruiser bikes) make for a fun, fulfilling and enjoyable stay for all travelers.

Highlights
  • Only Los Angeles-area hotel located directly on the Pacific Ocean
  • Private marina and full slate of recreation activities
  • Acclaimed in-house seafood restaurant and lounge
Rooms
Lively guest rooms at The Portofino Hotel and Yacht Club - A Noble House Hotel offer beach-inspired colors as well as private balconies with either marina or ocean views. Each room comes with a choice of two double beds or a king bed. Marina-side rooms feature 42-inch flat-screen TVs while ocean-side rooms come with 42-inch plasma TVs and DVD players. Wi-Fi is available in all guest rooms (fees apply).

Ocean jacuzzi rooms feature private whirlpool tubs, while spacious ocean-side suites offer separate living rooms and bedrooms, two 42-inch plasma TVs and double-sided fireplaces that open into both rooms.
Features
The unique peninsula location of The Portofino Hotel and Yacht Club - A Noble House Hotel offers unparalleled ocean and marina views, including enchanting marine-life sightings. A private marina offers long- and short-term moorings for various-sized boats.
Dining
The acclaimed Baleen Los Angeles Restaurant at The Portofino Hotel and Yacht Club - A Noble House Hotel features delectable seafood specialties and an all-day menu. Guests can dine in the inviting, dark-wood-paneled interior overlooking the ocean or on the gorgeous, marina-facing patio. The cozy, upscale Living Room Bar serves tantalizing drinks in a three-story atrium setting, fireside sofas and stunning Pacific Ocean views.
Recreation
A 24-hour fitness center, heated oceanfront pool and whirlpool, various water sports and complimentary beach cruiser bicycles for all guests offers plenty of opportunities for recreation and rejuvenation.
Transportation
  • Los Angeles International Airport (8 mi/13 km)
  • Long Beach Airport (20 mi/31 km)
Attractions
  • Santa Monica Pier & Third Street Promenade (15 mi/25 km)
  • Aquarium of the Pacific (16 mi/26 km)
  • J. Paul Getty Museum (22 mi/35 km)
  • Grauman's Chinese Theatre & Hollywood Walk of Fame (29 mi/47 km)
  • Universal Studios Hollywood Theme Park (32 mi/50 km)
  • Disneyland (35 mi/57 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 8,000 square feet of flexible meeting and event space
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi in public areas
Polices & Fees

Complimentary beach cruiser bikes are available for both adults and children. Parking rates are charged per vehicle, per night, for valet or self-parking. Complimentary Internet access is available in the lobby; in-room access is available for a fee.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

33.8448 -118.3958
Area served
Redondo Beach, Manhattan Beach, Hermosa Beach, CA
Nearby airports
Los Angeles International Airport (LAX)
Area description
From the Los Angeles International Airport: Exit right lane to Sepulveda Boulevard South, which becomes Pacific Coast Highway. Continue six miles and turn right on Beryl Street, which becomes Portofina Way. Continue on Portofino Way to hotel entrance.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Portofino Hotel & Marina also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Portofino Hotel & Marina Rooms

Ocean Jacuzzi
Private whirlpool tub for 2 and One king bed. Located on the ground floor of the ocean side of the hotel, these spacious rooms feature a partial ocean view, a private, furnished patio, 42-inch plasma-screen TV, DVD player.
Marina Side
The Portofino's most basic and intimate accommodations, these standard rooms are located on the Marina-side of the hotel usually on the first floor. Rooms offer one King or Two Double beds, private patio, mini bar, hair dryer, TV, clock radio, and iron and ironing board. Bed type is subject to availability at check in. All guestrooms are non-smoking as of July 1, 2006.
Ocean Side
Located on the preferred ocean-side of the hotel, these quaint rooms offer a partial view of the beautiful Pacific Ocean. Furnishings include One King or Two Double beds, private patio, mini-bar, hair dryer, TV, clock radio and iron and ironing board. Bed type is subject to availability at check in. All guestrooms are non-smoking as of July 1, 2006.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

The Living Room Bar
Soaring skies, a crackling fireplace and the perfect martini. Celebrate the end to a glorious day with a cool drink and sweeping views of the Pacific from the comfort of one of our supple lounge chairs. Dirty or neat, The Living Room Bar serves up delightful cocktails meant to be enjoyed in our expansive three-story atrium setting. The Living Room Bar is open from 4:00 pm - 10:00 pm and is closed on Sundays.
Baleen
A grand circular driveway and custom water feature frame the new Baleen, Los Angeles, the whimsical, yet elegant signature restaurant of Noble House Hotels & Resorts. Nationally renown for its serious food and a whimsical mood, the all-new Baleen in Redondo Beach, California brings an eclectic, eccentric fine dining experience to The Portofino Hotel & Yacht Club with monkeys hanging fron chandeliers, and a perfect Pacific Ocean backdrop to the seafood-centric menu. For outside dining, the patio overlooks the marina with dramatic drapery and firepits. Inside, the motif is balanced with dark wood flooring and accents. The upstairs bar offers a cosmopolitan-lounge vibe, with fireside sofas and chairs, and a mixologist - a cocktail chef who creates the essential ingredients of concoctions from natural ingredients to create food-friendly drinks that rise to the level of the acclaimed menu.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
With more than 8,000 square feet of meeting facilities and banquet space, including a freestanding meeting pavilion, The Portofino offers a creative, productive and flexible environment to suit all business needs.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (89)

Ratings and reviews for The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
89 out of 89
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Nov 3, 2010

Wonderful setting

Wonderful setting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KD
Business
PA
Nov 2, 2010

So Cal Getaway

...nice weather, boardwalk at the beach and nightlife

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Captain Kids

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
If you have to be in California
Business
New York, NY
Nov 1, 2010

Great Hotel but...

I travel to LA a lot for business. I always like staying close to the beach. Sometimes I will bring my daughter. I have been staying at this hotel regularly for the last 3 years. Initially it was a great experience. Great rooms, clean, reasonable prices. Although most of this continues to be true there is much more nickel and diming. This means paying for parking, internet, etc. This was a nice treat that it was previously all included.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Murphy-Kinney Wedding
Business
Justin, TX
Oct 22, 2010

Comfort and Convenience

First time there. The room was very clean and the bed and pillows were extremely comfortable. We had a balcony over-looking the ocean. Staff was exceptionally courteous. Valet parking attendants were very helpful and prompt - Completely satisfied!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ruby's Diner for breakfast!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LadyVader
Business
Portland, OR
Oct 9, 2010

Great hotel with hidden expenses

We have stayed at the Portofino before and have really enjoyed the location, rooms and restaurant both times. The breakfast is fantastic (they even make oatmeal into a feast)! However, on this trip there were hidden charges which definitely took away from the enjoyment of the trip. We were charged $22 per day for parking (where we haven't had to pay for parking in the past). We were unaware of this charge. So, we did not know about this fee until we were checking out. That $22/day can really add up! In addition, when we tried to use the internet (wifi) connection, we called the front desk and were told that there would be a $10 a day charge for this as well. They did waive this fee when my husband told them that he could get this service as the Holiday Inn without extra charges, but still ... they are charging for everything possible. There is a frig in the room, but you cannot use it for your own food or drinks. It has a "lock" on it so they can charge you for eating/drinking the food that they put in the room for you. The bed and shower were both fantastic and the room was incredibly quiet. I did not hear anyone else (though the parking lot indicated that they were probably booked up). It's just a shame to spoil it with these hidden expenses.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We did a 12 mile run on "The Strand", a 22 mile path along the ocean. Just head North on Harbor Drive to Redondo Beach and the path is clearly labeled. There is a lot to see on the path (the ocean, surfers, volleyball) and the homes on the inland side.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
PA
Sep 28, 2010

location of the hotel is great

hotel is in a wonderful location. although the service is average. room is small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Playa Vista, California
Sep 26, 2010

absolutely terrific getaway

Best closeby weekend getaway from Los Angelas we have ever found. The Redondo Beach pier and many great restaurants are in walking distance.The hotel restaurant, Baleen, served one of our best dinners ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Eat at the hotel restaurant, Baleen. Absolutely fabulous!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
annarbor, michigan
Aug 14, 2010

Reduces Stress Levels

Had a very pleasant and relaxing stay. Perfect place to simply stare at the ocean and listen to the sea lions. Would have appreciated access to a medical kit when I awoke with a splitting migraine at 3am. (There was no headache medication available at the front desk and no easy access to a pharmacy.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location if you crave an ocean view.Ideal for walks along the pier and the beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte, NC
Aug 4, 2010

Enjoyed it here very much!

I stayed here for an entire week with my 16 yr.old son, and we both loved it! At first my son was disappointed that we couldn't walk directly down to the beach, but on our second day, we went for a bike ride with the complimentary bikes, and rode to the pier and then to the beach. A short and very enjoyable ride! Spent the afternoon enjoying the sand and surf! One major disappointment: the pool is embarressingly small. Although we wanted to, we never used it, because if even 4-5 others were in it, it would seem crowded. VERY SMALL! This entire hotel was immaculately clean! Our room was oceanside on the second floor, and we loved watching the boats, and listening to the sea lions from our balcony.We had a small room, but since we were there for a week, it would have been nice to have a drawer or two to unpack. Also, wished there was a full-length mirror somewhere in the room. Housekeeping was more than than adequate, except that when I had a question, I asked 2 housekeeping staff but neither spoke English. This place has one of the most beautiful and inviting lobby areas EVER! The tall, tall windows, the lovely furnishings, and especially the fireplace all make one want to spend some time there. The front desk staff was competent,friendly, professional and accomodating. Fixed a check-in glitch with no problems. Room service, Baleen's all fantastic. Couldn't have been better. Things are pricey, but a wonderful stay. Best compliment: when we left my son said that if we are able to return to LA area, he wanted to stay here again! After a long day of sightseeing and dealing with the LA traffic, it was wonderful to be able to come back to this relaxing, and comfortably elegant retreat. We hope to return whenever we can!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Poop Deck
Business
Over the Rainbow,CA
Jul 31, 2010

Very quiet for the most part

A very nice hotel on the marina in Redondo Beach. Pleasant, helpful staff. A more relaxed attitude than you would expect from a place with "Yacht Club" in their name. One notable drawback: paper-thin walls between some rooms. If your room has an adjoining door, or if you open the balcony door or window, you are going to hear the slightest whisper next door and vice-versa.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top