$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

The Portofino Hotel & Marina

4 stars
260 Portofino Way, Redondo Beach, CA 90277
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
90 reviews
Luxurious and romantic

Spacious rooms, elegantly equipped, with views of the ocean (optional). Comfortable and peaceful... See full review

  • Local Business traveler
  • May 5, 2014
Fantastic couples getaway

We had an awesome time at the hotel and around the beaches nearby. See full review

  • RFC83
  • Aug 8, 2014
Los Angeles's only waterfront resort offers luxury paired with views

Completely upgraded in a recent multimillion-dollar renovation, Los Angeles's only waterfront hotel, The Portofino Hotel and Yacht Club - A Noble House Hotel, boasts unforgettable Pacific Ocean and marine-life views. A world-class seafood restaurant and elegant oceanfront lounge, combined with a range of recreational options (water sports, a heated oceanfront pool, a private marina and free use of beach cruiser bikes) make for a fun, fulfilling and enjoyable stay for all travelers.

Highlights
  • Only Los Angeles-area hotel located directly on the Pacific Ocean
  • Private marina and full slate of recreation activities
  • Acclaimed in-house seafood restaurant and lounge
Rooms
Lively guest rooms at The Portofino Hotel and Yacht Club - A Noble House Hotel offer beach-inspired colors as well as private balconies with either marina or ocean views. Each room comes with a choice of two double beds or a king bed. Marina-side rooms feature 42-inch flat-screen TVs while ocean-side rooms come with 42-inch plasma TVs and DVD players. Wi-Fi is available in all guest rooms (fees apply).

Ocean jacuzzi rooms feature private whirlpool tubs, while spacious ocean-side suites offer separate living rooms and bedrooms, two 42-inch plasma TVs and double-sided fireplaces that open into both rooms.
Features
The unique peninsula location of The Portofino Hotel and Yacht Club - A Noble House Hotel offers unparalleled ocean and marina views, including enchanting marine-life sightings. A private marina offers long- and short-term moorings for various-sized boats.
Dining
The acclaimed Baleen Los Angeles Restaurant at The Portofino Hotel and Yacht Club - A Noble House Hotel features delectable seafood specialties and an all-day menu. Guests can dine in the inviting, dark-wood-paneled interior overlooking the ocean or on the gorgeous, marina-facing patio. The cozy, upscale Living Room Bar serves tantalizing drinks in a three-story atrium setting, fireside sofas and stunning Pacific Ocean views.
Recreation
A 24-hour fitness center, heated oceanfront pool and whirlpool, various water sports and complimentary beach cruiser bicycles for all guests offers plenty of opportunities for recreation and rejuvenation.
Transportation
  • Los Angeles International Airport (8 mi/13 km)
  • Long Beach Airport (20 mi/31 km)
Attractions
  • Santa Monica Pier & Third Street Promenade (15 mi/25 km)
  • Aquarium of the Pacific (16 mi/26 km)
  • J. Paul Getty Museum (22 mi/35 km)
  • Grauman's Chinese Theatre & Hollywood Walk of Fame (29 mi/47 km)
  • Universal Studios Hollywood Theme Park (32 mi/50 km)
  • Disneyland (35 mi/57 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 8,000 square feet of flexible meeting and event space
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi in public areas
Polices & Fees

Complimentary beach cruiser bikes are available for both adults and children. Parking rates are charged per vehicle, per night, for valet or self-parking. Complimentary Internet access is available in the lobby; in-room access is available for a fee.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

33.8448 -118.3958
Area served
Redondo Beach, Manhattan Beach, Hermosa Beach, CA
Nearby airports
Los Angeles International Airport (LAX)
Area description
From the Los Angeles International Airport: Exit right lane to Sepulveda Boulevard South, which becomes Pacific Coast Highway. Continue six miles and turn right on Beryl Street, which becomes Portofina Way. Continue on Portofino Way to hotel entrance.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Portofino Hotel & Marina also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Portofino Hotel & Marina Rooms

Ocean Jacuzzi
Private whirlpool tub for 2 and One king bed. Located on the ground floor of the ocean side of the hotel, these spacious rooms feature a partial ocean view, a private, furnished patio, 42-inch plasma-screen TV, DVD player.
Marina Side
The Portofino's most basic and intimate accommodations, these standard rooms are located on the Marina-side of the hotel usually on the first floor. Rooms offer one King or Two Double beds, private patio, mini bar, hair dryer, TV, clock radio, and iron and ironing board. Bed type is subject to availability at check in. All guestrooms are non-smoking as of July 1, 2006.
Ocean Side
Located on the preferred ocean-side of the hotel, these quaint rooms offer a partial view of the beautiful Pacific Ocean. Furnishings include One King or Two Double beds, private patio, mini-bar, hair dryer, TV, clock radio and iron and ironing board. Bed type is subject to availability at check in. All guestrooms are non-smoking as of July 1, 2006.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
With more than 8,000 square feet of meeting facilities and banquet space, including a freestanding meeting pavilion, The Portofino offers a creative, productive and flexible environment to suit all business needs.

Dining

The Living Room Bar
Soaring skies, a crackling fireplace and the perfect martini. Celebrate the end to a glorious day with a cool drink and sweeping views of the Pacific from the comfort of one of our supple lounge chairs. Dirty or neat, The Living Room Bar serves up delightful cocktails meant to be enjoyed in our expansive three-story atrium setting. The Living Room Bar is open from 4:00 pm - 10:00 pm and is closed on Sundays.
Baleen
A grand circular driveway and custom water feature frame the new Baleen, Los Angeles, the whimsical, yet elegant signature restaurant of Noble House Hotels & Resorts. Nationally renown for its serious food and a whimsical mood, the all-new Baleen in Redondo Beach, California brings an eclectic, eccentric fine dining experience to The Portofino Hotel & Yacht Club with monkeys hanging fron chandeliers, and a perfect Pacific Ocean backdrop to the seafood-centric menu. For outside dining, the patio overlooks the marina with dramatic drapery and firepits. Inside, the motif is balanced with dark wood flooring and accents. The upstairs bar offers a cosmopolitan-lounge vibe, with fireside sofas and chairs, and a mixologist - a cocktail chef who creates the essential ingredients of concoctions from natural ingredients to create food-friendly drinks that rise to the level of the acclaimed menu.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (90)

Ratings and reviews for The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
90 out of 90
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Five...
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Mar 17, 2012

Disappointing Room assigned

Normally we love the rooms, both ocean and harbor side...but this time we were given a smaller, poorly configured room, with the bathroom right at the foot of the bed, and they were unable to change us, for the 2 nights there...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Five...
St George, UT, USA
Feb 17, 2012

Wonderful, restful ...delightful

This is a lovely hotel, great staff, great food and a fabulous location to just kick back and enjoy life...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Fonz's Restaurant in Manhattan Beach....really great food, and ambience! But so is the restaurant at the hotel...beautiful, and wonderful food!!

Review of The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Well Rested Travelers
Temecula, CA, USA
Jan 20, 2012

Absolute Bliss!

We decided to stay here at The Portofino to show our friends from Florida our hometown of Redondo Beach. We had an amazing experience! Our plan was to rent some strand cruisers to show them around the South Bay area along the strand. We were pleasantly surprised when we were told that the hotel supply their own strand cruisers. We had amazing day/night( as we did not return the bikes until about midnight since we decided to hit the bar scene) :)- the hotel was absolutely okay with that. We got back and enjoyed lounging in the VERY comfortable beds and waking up to the sound of the ocean while sitting on the balcony drinking a cappuccino. We did get a great deal on this hotel ( $140night,) but this hotel is definitely worth $300 plus a night during the high season.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lulubelle14
Rio Rico, AZ
Oct 1, 2011

NICE VACATION SPOT

Hotel location was nice. You can take bikes that the hotel offers & ride along the coastline/bike way. Its very comfortable, really cool how you see seals hanging out in the marina all the time. If it wouldn't have been for cheap tickets, it wouldn't have been possible. The hotel is not too far from disneyland either. Very nice. Only thing I felt like I couldn't touch anything without getting billed. And FYI no continental brekfast offered. We couldnt even open the mini fridge without braking into their candies. All in all though perfect. :) Hotel is nice though, very comfy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Use bikes to get to venice beach, a bit of a long ride, but no gas, you find so much there & so cheap!!! And you get to see/ hang out along all the beaches on the way.

Review of The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Palo Alto, CA
Apr 24, 2011

Needs upgrading

Hotel condition was not as pictured on website. Hotel was worn down and the hotel room was extremely small. No beach access from hotel. Guests are charged $23 per night for self parking or valet parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BML
New Orleans, LA
Mar 22, 2011

Great area for a terrific price

The Portofino is a beautiful hotel in a great location. I really enjoyed that it wasn't too far from LA, the eating establishments nearby and the closeness to the beach. I discovered two of the towel in the room were dirty, but the rest of the hotel seemed fine. Also, it was nice having an ocean view room and a fireplace in the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There were several restaurants within a short distance from the hotel.

Review of The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
black barbie
Las Vegas, NV
Jan 4, 2011

Could have been better

Temperatures at night were in the low 30's and our room heater didn't work properly. We had to have maintenance come in a few times to fix. The pillows were too thin, even when doubled! You are required to pay over $20 per night to use their parking as their guest, meanwhile, the people going fishing for the day, park for free! I don't think you should pay to park if you are a guest of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: In Hotel

The restaurant on property is very good and so was the room service.

Review of The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bookwoman22
Business
Indianapolis IN
Dec 13, 2010

A great stay at the Portofino

I stayed at the Portofino on business--which I have done many times. The hotel is lovely but the staff is even better--friendly and willing to help. The only slight negative was that there was a crib still in my room when I checked in--but they promptly removed it when I requested it. I love the Portofino and will continue coming back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great seafood restaurant is the BlueWater Grill--just a short walk on the boardwalk around the marina outside the Portofino.

Review of The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Denver, CO
Nov 12, 2010

Great Property, but...

This is a Fantastic property with a welcoming front desk staff, great bartender, nice rooms, and a picturesque scene. I have 160 room nights in hotels this year, so I have some experience with hotels. Unfortunately, my travel companion left two articles of clothing in the room, and those items were allegedly "not discovered" by housekeeping after I checked out. I gave my address and credit card information to the front desk staff to have them shipped to me. Since the cleaning staff claims the articles were not there, I have no recourse, and my travel companion is out $400 in clothing. This is very troubling to me since I expect honesty and integrity from other people. I will not stay here again, and I will discourage others from staying there. I wish I didn't have to do that, but I'm very frustrated with the manner in which the hotel has dealt with this issue. An otherwise Fantastic property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chart House has a great happy hour from 4:30 to 6:30 pm. Additionally, the bartender named [...] is probably one of the best bartenders I have had the pleasure of meeting.

Review of The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mequon, WI
Nov 12, 2010

A Very Nice Stay

Hotel location was outstanding with easy access to all attractions in LA(30-45min max) and even San Diego which we also visited. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The rooms were comfortable and large with a very nice bathrooms and ameneties. At this price point, the bathroom could have had a whirlpool tub, but that's a minor deficiency. $22/day for parking??? In that location, was not completely necessary and is an overcharge, but understandable. Valet, was available at all times. Nearby restaurants are plentyful at all levels. Beaches and water activities nearby. Sea lions right outside the window.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Most dining appretites can be satisfied within a 20 minute walk right outside the club with a great variety from a very inexpesive diner on the pier with decent food to a pricey higher end dining options.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search