$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 12, 2014 Check-out: Aug 13, 2014

The Portofino Hotel & Marina

4 stars
260 Portofino Way, Redondo Beach, CA 90277
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
148 reviews
Luxurious and romantic

Spacious rooms, elegantly equipped, with views of the ocean (optional). Comfortable and peaceful... See full review

  • Local Business traveler
  • May 5, 2014
Weekend Get Away

It was pretty really easy find, since I got there everyone was very pleasant and said hi. I got the... See full review

  • Frankie.Rodriguez
  • Feb 19, 2013
Los Angeles's only waterfront resort offers luxury paired with views

Completely upgraded in a recent multimillion-dollar renovation, Los Angeles's only waterfront hotel, The Portofino Hotel and Yacht Club - A Noble House Hotel, boasts unforgettable Pacific Ocean and marine-life views. A world-class seafood restaurant and elegant oceanfront lounge, combined with a range of recreational options (water sports, a heated oceanfront pool, a private marina and free use of beach cruiser bikes) make for a fun, fulfilling and enjoyable stay for all travelers.

Highlights
  • Only Los Angeles-area hotel located directly on the Pacific Ocean
  • Private marina and full slate of recreation activities
  • Acclaimed in-house seafood restaurant and lounge
Rooms
Lively guest rooms at The Portofino Hotel and Yacht Club - A Noble House Hotel offer beach-inspired colors as well as private balconies with either marina or ocean views. Each room comes with a choice of two double beds or a king bed. Marina-side rooms feature 42-inch flat-screen TVs while ocean-side rooms come with 42-inch plasma TVs and DVD players. Wi-Fi is available in all guest rooms (fees apply).

Ocean jacuzzi rooms feature private whirlpool tubs, while spacious ocean-side suites offer separate living rooms and bedrooms, two 42-inch plasma TVs and double-sided fireplaces that open into both rooms.
Features
The unique peninsula location of The Portofino Hotel and Yacht Club - A Noble House Hotel offers unparalleled ocean and marina views, including enchanting marine-life sightings. A private marina offers long- and short-term moorings for various-sized boats.
Dining
The acclaimed Baleen Los Angeles Restaurant at The Portofino Hotel and Yacht Club - A Noble House Hotel features delectable seafood specialties and an all-day menu. Guests can dine in the inviting, dark-wood-paneled interior overlooking the ocean or on the gorgeous, marina-facing patio. The cozy, upscale Living Room Bar serves tantalizing drinks in a three-story atrium setting, fireside sofas and stunning Pacific Ocean views.
Recreation
A 24-hour fitness center, heated oceanfront pool and whirlpool, various water sports and complimentary beach cruiser bicycles for all guests offers plenty of opportunities for recreation and rejuvenation.
Transportation
  • Los Angeles International Airport (8 mi/13 km)
  • Long Beach Airport (20 mi/31 km)
Attractions
  • Santa Monica Pier & Third Street Promenade (15 mi/25 km)
  • Aquarium of the Pacific (16 mi/26 km)
  • J. Paul Getty Museum (22 mi/35 km)
  • Grauman's Chinese Theatre & Hollywood Walk of Fame (29 mi/47 km)
  • Universal Studios Hollywood Theme Park (32 mi/50 km)
  • Disneyland (35 mi/57 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 8,000 square feet of flexible meeting and event space
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi in public areas
Polices & Fees

Complimentary beach cruiser bikes are available for both adults and children. Parking rates are charged per vehicle, per night, for valet or self-parking. Complimentary Internet access is available in the lobby; in-room access is available for a fee.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Portofino Hotel & Marina Rooms

Ocean Jacuzzi
Private whirlpool tub for 2 and One king bed. Located on the ground floor of the ocean side of the hotel, these spacious rooms feature a partial ocean view, a private, furnished patio, 42-inch plasma-screen TV, DVD player.
Marina Side
The Portofino's most basic and intimate accommodations, these standard rooms are located on the Marina-side of the hotel usually on the first floor. Rooms offer one King or Two Double beds, private patio, mini bar, hair dryer, TV, clock radio, and iron and ironing board. Bed type is subject to availability at check in. All guestrooms are non-smoking as of July 1, 2006.
Ocean Side
Located on the preferred ocean-side of the hotel, these quaint rooms offer a partial view of the beautiful Pacific Ocean. Furnishings include One King or Two Double beds, private patio, mini-bar, hair dryer, TV, clock radio and iron and ironing board. Bed type is subject to availability at check in. All guestrooms are non-smoking as of July 1, 2006.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Portofino Hotel & Marina also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

33.8448 -118.3958
Area served
Redondo Beach, Manhattan Beach, Hermosa Beach, CA
Nearby airports
Los Angeles International Airport (LAX)
Area description
From the Los Angeles International Airport: Exit right lane to Sepulveda Boulevard South, which becomes Pacific Coast Highway. Continue six miles and turn right on Beryl Street, which becomes Portofina Way. Continue on Portofino Way to hotel entrance.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
With more than 8,000 square feet of meeting facilities and banquet space, including a freestanding meeting pavilion, The Portofino offers a creative, productive and flexible environment to suit all business needs.

Dining

The Living Room Bar
Soaring skies, a crackling fireplace and the perfect martini. Celebrate the end to a glorious day with a cool drink and sweeping views of the Pacific from the comfort of one of our supple lounge chairs. Dirty or neat, The Living Room Bar serves up delightful cocktails meant to be enjoyed in our expansive three-story atrium setting. The Living Room Bar is open from 4:00 pm - 10:00 pm and is closed on Sundays.
Baleen
A grand circular driveway and custom water feature frame the new Baleen, Los Angeles, the whimsical, yet elegant signature restaurant of Noble House Hotels & Resorts. Nationally renown for its serious food and a whimsical mood, the all-new Baleen in Redondo Beach, California brings an eclectic, eccentric fine dining experience to The Portofino Hotel & Yacht Club with monkeys hanging fron chandeliers, and a perfect Pacific Ocean backdrop to the seafood-centric menu. For outside dining, the patio overlooks the marina with dramatic drapery and firepits. Inside, the motif is balanced with dark wood flooring and accents. The upstairs bar offers a cosmopolitan-lounge vibe, with fireside sofas and chairs, and a mixologist - a cocktail chef who creates the essential ingredients of concoctions from natural ingredients to create food-friendly drinks that rise to the level of the acclaimed menu.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (148)

Ratings and reviews for The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
148 out of 148
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
WWTravelers
Tokyo
Aug 1, 2012

Could improve front desk staff

We are a party of 4 guests staying in one room so we booked the 2 double bed, ocean side room through a travel company on-line. We get to the hotel front desk and checked in. The front desk staff checks us into a one king bed room as we are all standing there waiting. It is kind of obvious we would need the 2 double bed room. So we have to have her change to the double beds. Then she says we can "upgrade" to the ocean side room for extra money, but we booked and were charged for the ocean side room already, so she had to fix that and she looked annoyed instead of being sorry, as if we are making all these changes... can you please get this right the first time? You are a 4 star hotel and check-in is like first impression... not very impressed with the staff for being the best hotel in Redondo... otherwise a very nice hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make reservations for sunset time and watch from a restaurant on the pier.

Review of The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Carla from Canada
Alberta Canada
Jul 18, 2012

Beautiful location

We just returned from our stay in Redondo Beach. The area is gorgeous and the hotel was lovely. The lobby and sitting area are well appointed and the pier view is spectacular. We enjoyed a refreshing bike ride along the beach with the complimentary bicycles. The only downside was the noisy guest above us that decided to start banging around at 5:30 am. I think the walls and ceiling might not be very well insulated. The staff were friendly and accommodating!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hammoudah
saudi arabia
Jul 13, 2012

good location and atmosphere.

I liked it, the hotel staff try to be friendly. Manager in the front disc needs to be more friendly and less greedy. good room manager.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

good beaches close by.

Review of The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fun lady
Virginia, USA
Mar 26, 2012

Great vacation

Starting from the time I arrived until I checked out. The experience was top notch. The staff was above average. They were helpful, polite and went out of their way to make sure you had everything you wanted. The restaurant was in a separate building, but only a few steps away and the food was worth the walk. I would gladly return to the Portofino Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

You can even ride a hotel bike to small shops and other restaurants.

Review of The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Doc Green
Garberville, CA, USA
Mar 21, 2012

Great Location!

Everybody at the hotel was always eager to help. The ocean view rooms were wonderful along with the harbor seals right outside my sliding glass door. The you give you free beach cruisers to ride up and down the strand. That means no bike rentals necessary! Oh, and the heated pool. Nice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Great sports bar called " On The Rocks" in stumbling distance!

Review of The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Five...
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Mar 17, 2012

Disappointing Room assigned

Normally we love the rooms, both ocean and harbor side...but this time we were given a smaller, poorly configured room, with the bathroom right at the foot of the bed, and they were unable to change us, for the 2 nights there...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Five...
St George, UT, USA
Mar 17, 2012

A little disappointed this time....

Usually we have had a great experience at this hotel, but after 3 different stays in about 8 weeks, this fourth time was a bit of a disappointment. This room was smaller than before, and the bathroom faced the foot of the bed. I asked to change rooms when we first checked in, (for 2 nights)...they did, but gave us the exact same room, farther down the hall...and then there were no other choices...So the experience was not quite as pleasant as in the past. This was for Tues and Wed nights, so it was surprising to me that they couldn't do better...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

Breakfast is always excellent, and really good service and personnel....

Review of The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Five...
St George, UT, USA
Feb 17, 2012

Wonderful, restful ...delightful

This is a lovely hotel, great staff, great food and a fabulous location to just kick back and enjoy life...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Fonz's Restaurant in Manhattan Beach....really great food, and ambience! But so is the restaurant at the hotel...beautiful, and wonderful food!!

Review of The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Well Rested Travelers
Temecula, CA, USA
Jan 20, 2012

Absolute Bliss!

We decided to stay here at The Portofino to show our friends from Florida our hometown of Redondo Beach. We had an amazing experience! Our plan was to rent some strand cruisers to show them around the South Bay area along the strand. We were pleasantly surprised when we were told that the hotel supply their own strand cruisers. We had amazing day/night( as we did not return the bikes until about midnight since we decided to hit the bar scene) :)- the hotel was absolutely okay with that. We got back and enjoyed lounging in the VERY comfortable beds and waking up to the sound of the ocean while sitting on the balcony drinking a cappuccino. We did get a great deal on this hotel ( $140night,) but this hotel is definitely worth $300 plus a night during the high season.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lulubelle14
Rio Rico, AZ
Oct 1, 2011

NICE VACATION SPOT

Hotel location was nice. You can take bikes that the hotel offers & ride along the coastline/bike way. Its very comfortable, really cool how you see seals hanging out in the marina all the time. If it wouldn't have been for cheap tickets, it wouldn't have been possible. The hotel is not too far from disneyland either. Very nice. Only thing I felt like I couldn't touch anything without getting billed. And FYI no continental brekfast offered. We couldnt even open the mini fridge without braking into their candies. All in all though perfect. :) Hotel is nice though, very comfy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Use bikes to get to venice beach, a bit of a long ride, but no gas, you find so much there & so cheap!!! And you get to see/ hang out along all the beaches on the way.

Back to menu Return to top