$91 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 30, 2014 Check-out: Nov 1, 2014

Palos Verdes Inn

3 stars
1700 South Pacific Coast Hwy., Redondo Beach, CA 90277
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
21 reviews
great view, nice room

got in late and they'd saved a nice room on 3rd floor where the view of the ocean and downtown was... See full review

  • Uncle DBS
  • Feb 17, 2014
Nice Getaway!

Very clean!! and the staff were all very nice, wish the a/c was not so noisy but you just deal with... See full review

  • First Stept Sheri
  • Jul 27, 2013
Since October 1959, the Palos Verdes Inn has been a landmark in the South Bay communities, and is proud to be the oldest hotel in the South Bay area, serving Redondo Beach, Hermosa Beach and Manhattan Beach. Come and enjoy our full service accommodations that have been a home away from home to many visitors from all over the world! If it isn't luxury you're looking for, but rather a touch of unique ambience, you'll find it at the Palos Verdes Inn. Conveniently located just steps from the beach at the foot of the Palos Verdes Peninsula where the dynamic beach cities meet the burgeoning city of Torrance, the Palos Verdes Inn is only minutes away from the LAX, the King Harbor Marina, Ocean Trails Golf Course, the Palos Verdes Country Club and Del Amo Center, one of the worlds largest shopping malls. For an unforgettable meal, dine at Chez Melange, our four star award-winning restaurant. Please note: valid credit card is required upon check-in.

Hotel Map

33.8186 -118.3822
Area served
Redondo Beach, CA
Nearby airports
Los Angeles International Airport (LAX) and Long Beach Municipal Airport (LBG).
Area description
Located nine miles south of Los Angeles International Airport and 15 miles north of Long Beach Municipal Airport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Palos Verdes Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Palos Verdes Inn Rooms

1 King Bed- Balcony King 2nd Floor
Located on the West side of the hotel these rooms offer fresh air off the Pacific Ocean. Relax on your balcony and enjoy a beautiful Southern California sunset. Each room features RFID electronic door locks, a King bed, balcony, air conditioning, cable television, high speed internet access, in-room coffee maker, hair dryer and voice mail.
1 King Bed-Ocean View King 3rd Floor
Located on the West side of the hotel these rooms offer great views of the Pacific Ocean. Relax on your balcony and enjoy a beautiful Southern California sunset. Each room features RFID electronic door locks, a King bed, ocean view balcony, air conditioning, cable television, high speed internet access, in room coffee maker, mini refrigerator, hair dryer and voice mail.
2 Double Beds-Balcony Double 2nd Floor
Located on the West side of the hotel these rooms offer fresh air off the Pacific Ocean. Relax on your balcony and enjoy a beautiful Southern California sunset. Each room features RFID electronoc door locks, two double beds, balcony, air conditioning, cable television, high speed internet access, in room coffee maker, hair dryer and voicemail.
2 Double Beds-Ocean View Double 4th Floor
Located on the West side of the hotel these rooms offer great views of the Pacific Ocean. Relax on your balcony and enjoy a beautiful Southern California sunset. Each room features RFID electronoc door locks, two double beds, ocean view balcony, air conditioning, cable television, high speed internet access, in room coffee maker, mini refrigerator, hair dryer and voicemail.
1 King Bed-Deluxe Balcony King
Located on the West side of the hotel these larger deluxe rooms feature wet bars and more living space, plus great views of the Pacific Ocean. Relax on your balcony and enjoy a beautiful Southern California sunset. Each room features RFID electronic door locks, a King bed, ocean view balcony, air conditioning, cable television, high speed internet access, in room coffee maker, mini refrigerator, microwave, hair dryer and voice mail.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (21)

Ratings and reviews for Palos Verdes Inn

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
9 out of 21
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.7

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Palos Verdes Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lety B
Pomona, CA, USA
Mar 30, 2013

Nice one night getaway

The location is perfect for riding to the beach or taking a walk. There are plenty of restaurants close by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palos Verdes Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Early Morning Flyer
San Mateo, CA
Jan 2, 2011

Avoid during winter

I stayed there for one night before my flight out of LAX. It was raining much of the week so the weather was really, really cold for SoCal. The room uses an old heating/cooling system that is very loud. If you have to use the heater, you'll have a hard time sleeping as it turns on and off every 15-20 min or so to keep it at the set temperature and it sounds like a blowdryer whenever the heater kicks in. Other than that, the hotel works if all you're looking for is a place to sleep and nothing more during the summer. Good location but the room doesn't offer many amenities; it's pretty bare bones. They also charge a $50 incidental to your credit card ahead of time upon check-in and refund it back to your card if there were no "incidentals." Since it was a one night stay, I did not use Internet services so I cannot comment on their connectivity (if there was even any connectivity--I recommend calling ahead if you need Internet access). The hotel staff were prompt and attentive but the very outdated heating system sadly ruined my experience there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palos Verdes Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Scalded by the shower wedding couple!
Corona, ca
Jul 18, 2010

I was staying at the Roach Motel!!

I am not a picky person and only stayed for one night because we were going to a wedding in the area, but really considered just grabbing my stuff, losing my money and leaving...When you walk in it's not that bad..but step into the elevator and it begins..when the elevator door opened it was obvious this Roach motel needed some help..the hallways were so dark I grabbed my husbands hand because I was sure someone was going to jump out and mug us..!!! It was like going down a dark alley at midnight..and the smell..Now open your room door, with a old, big, brass key, it was ridiculous..so unsafe, just a regular door knob lock. Now the room was clean to the eye but VERY old and everything was plugged into a power strip cord in the middle the the room. Shower trickled, couldn't regulate water. Portable A/C unit died in the night, no one told us that water had to be emptied in the unit for it to work, so when it died at 3 am we suffocated the rest of the night, when we said something to the desk girl in the morning while checking out, she laughed and said "Oh, no one told you, you have to empty it?" I was in hell at the Roach Motel(and paid for it)...Stay in your car it is probably safer, cleaner and more comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palos Verdes Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Irvine, CA
Jul 6, 2010

close to beach location

Spent 4th of July in our old hometown Redondo on the Esplanade. Good location at this hotel, near Riviera Village and the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Moderate priced hotel in south Redondo close to beach and dining and shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palos Verdes Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Harbor City, Ca.
Oct 28, 2009

Great place, good bargain.

The first stay at this location was great. The second was too much noise. I could hear the shower running in adjacent rooms. Once at 4:45am and another at 5:30am

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palos Verdes Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Harbor City, Ca.
Sep 6, 2009

Nice place to stay. Clean and quiet.

went to dinner and just relaxed with balcony window open enjoying the weather. The most comfortable bed I have ever slept in away from home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

went to local restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palos Verdes Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Beach monky
Orlando, Fl
Jul 5, 2009

great place to stay, great location too

Great location if you want to visit the southbay beaches, short drive to hermosa or manhattan beach, and walking distance to redondo beach. Room was surprisingly large and roomy, with a big balcony facing the water and the bed was comfortable too. Very old place but they keep it in good condition and very clean. Didn't get a chance to use the beach cruiser but we will make sure to do that next time. For the price and location it can't be beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We went to the redondo beach cafe and it was a great little place to eat and reasonably priced, it's a short walk and on the way to the beach. There is also a market next to the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palos Verdes Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jun 23, 2008

Discomfort

First of all, there was only one elevator working, and twice we had to squeeze between a large cart of dirty laundary and the wall. It was unusually hot in the area, so we had to use the portable air conditioner. (on wheels) When the water tray filled, the machine gave several loud beeps and shut off. Once this occurred at 4:30 AM. The first time it shut off, we called the desk. Someone came to empty the tray. After that, we did it ourselves. We had a queensize bed with three very small pillows. This is a problem with certain health issues. The interior of the elevator was worn and marred as was the room furniture. The hotel location was great for our needs, but we certainly wish we had selected another place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palos Verdes Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ottawa
Jun 23, 2008

Excellent value

This is an older hotel (1950's flair) that needs some sprucing up. However, it is excellent value for your money. The room we had was large with a 4-poster bed, wall-to-wall windows with sliding doors and balcony, with an ocean view. The ocean and shops were within walking distance. It has an excellent restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top