$111 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 13, 2014 Check-out: Aug 14, 2014

Palos Verdes Inn

3 stars
1700 South Pacific Coast Hwy., Redondo Beach, CA 90277
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
37 reviews
great view, nice room

got in late and they'd saved a nice room on 3rd floor where the view of the ocean and downtown was... See full review

  • Uncle DBS
  • Feb 17, 2014
Nice Getaway!

Very clean!! and the staff were all very nice, wish the a/c was not so noisy but you just deal with... See full review

  • First Stept Sheri
  • Jul 27, 2013
Since October 1959, the Palos Verdes Inn has been a landmark in the South Bay communities, and is proud to be the oldest hotel in the South Bay area, serving Redondo Beach, Hermosa Beach and Manhattan Beach. Come and enjoy our full service accommodations that have been a home away from home to many visitors from all over the world! If it isn't luxury you're looking for, but rather a touch of unique ambience, you'll find it at the Palos Verdes Inn. Conveniently located just steps from the beach at the foot of the Palos Verdes Peninsula where the dynamic beach cities meet the burgeoning city of Torrance, the Palos Verdes Inn is only minutes away from the LAX, the King Harbor Marina, Ocean Trails Golf Course, the Palos Verdes Country Club and Del Amo Center, one of the worlds largest shopping malls. For an unforgettable meal, dine at Chez Melange, our four star award-winning restaurant. Please note: valid credit card is required upon check-in.

Palos Verdes Inn Rooms

1 King Bed- Balcony King 2nd Floor
Located on the West side of the hotel these rooms offer fresh air off the Pacific Ocean. Relax on your balcony and enjoy a beautiful Southern California sunset. Each room features RFID electronic door locks, a King bed, balcony, air conditioning, cable television, high speed internet access, in-room coffee maker, hair dryer and voice mail.
1 King Bed-Ocean View King 3rd Floor
Located on the West side of the hotel these rooms offer great views of the Pacific Ocean. Relax on your balcony and enjoy a beautiful Southern California sunset. Each room features RFID electronic door locks, a King bed, ocean view balcony, air conditioning, cable television, high speed internet access, in room coffee maker, mini refrigerator, hair dryer and voice mail.
2 Double Beds-Balcony Double 2nd Floor
Located on the West side of the hotel these rooms offer fresh air off the Pacific Ocean. Relax on your balcony and enjoy a beautiful Southern California sunset. Each room features RFID electronoc door locks, two double beds, balcony, air conditioning, cable television, high speed internet access, in room coffee maker, hair dryer and voicemail.
2 Double Beds-Ocean View Double 4th Floor
Located on the West side of the hotel these rooms offer great views of the Pacific Ocean. Relax on your balcony and enjoy a beautiful Southern California sunset. Each room features RFID electronoc door locks, two double beds, ocean view balcony, air conditioning, cable television, high speed internet access, in room coffee maker, mini refrigerator, hair dryer and voicemail.
1 King Bed-Deluxe Balcony King
Located on the West side of the hotel these larger deluxe rooms feature wet bars and more living space, plus great views of the Pacific Ocean. Relax on your balcony and enjoy a beautiful Southern California sunset. Each room features RFID electronic door locks, a King bed, ocean view balcony, air conditioning, cable television, high speed internet access, in room coffee maker, mini refrigerator, microwave, hair dryer and voice mail.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Palos Verdes Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

33.8186 -118.3822
Area served
Redondo Beach, CA
Nearby airports
Los Angeles International Airport (LAX) and Long Beach Municipal Airport (LBG).
Area description
Located nine miles south of Los Angeles International Airport and 15 miles north of Long Beach Municipal Airport.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (37)

Ratings and reviews for Palos Verdes Inn

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
37 out of 37
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.1

57% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Palos Verdes Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Early Morning Flyer
San Mateo, CA
Jan 2, 2011

Avoid during winter

I stayed there for one night before my flight out of LAX. It was raining much of the week so the weather was really, really cold for SoCal. The room uses an old heating/cooling system that is very loud. If you have to use the heater, you'll have a hard time sleeping as it turns on and off every 15-20 min or so to keep it at the set temperature and it sounds like a blowdryer whenever the heater kicks in. Other than that, the hotel works if all you're looking for is a place to sleep and nothing more during the summer. Good location but the room doesn't offer many amenities; it's pretty bare bones. They also charge a $50 incidental to your credit card ahead of time upon check-in and refund it back to your card if there were no "incidentals." Since it was a one night stay, I did not use Internet services so I cannot comment on their connectivity (if there was even any connectivity--I recommend calling ahead if you need Internet access). The hotel staff were prompt and attentive but the very outdated heating system sadly ruined my experience there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Palos Verdes Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Early Morning Flyer
San Mateo, CA
Jan 2, 2011

Avoid during winter

I stayed there for one night before my flight out of LAX. It was raining much of the week so the weather was really, really cold for SoCal. The room uses an old heating/cooling system that is very loud. If you have to use the heater, you'll have a hard time sleeping as it turns on and off every 15-20 min or so to keep it at the set temperature and it sounds like a blowdryer whenever the heater kicks in. Other than that, the hotel works if all you're looking for is a place to sleep and nothing more during the summer. Good location but the room doesn't offer many amenities; it's pretty bare bones. They also charge a $50 incidental to your credit card ahead of time upon check-in and refund it back to your card if there were no "incidentals." Since it was a one night stay, I did not use Internet services so I cannot comment on their connectivity (if there was even any connectivity--I recommend calling ahead if you need Internet access). The hotel staff were prompt and attentive but the very outdated heating system sadly ruined my experience there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Palos Verdes Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
palos verdes california
Dec 30, 2010

palos verdes inn

I would not stay i n this hotel again. There was a huge space heater in the corner of the room that clicked off and on all night. The room never did get warm. I was worried about the safety factor and didn't sleep well because of it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Palos Verdes Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
palos verdes california
Dec 30, 2010

palos verdes inn

I would not stay i n this hotel again. There was a huge space heater in the corner of the room that clicked off and on all night. The room never did get warm. I was worried about the safety factor and didn't sleep well because of it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Palos Verdes Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Asheville, NC
Oct 27, 2010

Great location in Redondo Beach

Iw was within easy walking distance of restaurants, cute shops and the Ocean. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. It was great to have a balcony overlooking the ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to dining, shopping and the ocean. Great location!

Review of Palos Verdes Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Asheville, NC
Oct 27, 2010

Great location in Redondo Beach

Iw was within easy walking distance of restaurants, cute shops and the Ocean. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. It was great to have a balcony overlooking the ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to dining, shopping and the ocean. Great location!

Review of Palos Verdes Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Riverside, CA
Aug 4, 2010

Dissappointed

It wasn't what we expected, the picture on the website isn't what it appears to be. It is very old, noisy, no outlets to plug iron into. The locks on the doors were broken (like someone had broken in at one time) which didn't make us feel safe. Place needs alot of TLC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Palos Verdes Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Riverside, CA
Aug 4, 2010

Dissappointed

It wasn't what we expected, the picture on the website isn't what it appears to be. It is very old, noisy, no outlets to plug iron into. The locks on the doors were broken (like someone had broken in at one time) which didn't make us feel safe. Place needs alot of TLC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Palos Verdes Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Scalded by the shower wedding couple!
Corona, ca
Jul 18, 2010

I was staying at the Roach Motel!!

I am not a picky person and only stayed for one night because we were going to a wedding in the area, but really considered just grabbing my stuff, losing my money and leaving...When you walk in it's not that bad..but step into the elevator and it begins..when the elevator door opened it was obvious this Roach motel needed some help..the hallways were so dark I grabbed my husbands hand because I was sure someone was going to jump out and mug us..!!! It was like going down a dark alley at midnight..and the smell..Now open your room door, with a old, big, brass key, it was ridiculous..so unsafe, just a regular door knob lock. Now the room was clean to the eye but VERY old and everything was plugged into a power strip cord in the middle the the room. Shower trickled, couldn't regulate water. Portable A/C unit died in the night, no one told us that water had to be emptied in the unit for it to work, so when it died at 3 am we suffocated the rest of the night, when we said something to the desk girl in the morning while checking out, she laughed and said "Oh, no one told you, you have to empty it?" I was in hell at the Roach Motel(and paid for it)...Stay in your car it is probably safer, cleaner and more comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Palos Verdes Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Scalded by the shower wedding couple!
Corona, ca
Jul 18, 2010

I was staying at the Roach Motel!!

I am not a picky person and only stayed for one night because we were going to a wedding in the area, but really considered just grabbing my stuff, losing my money and leaving...When you walk in it's not that bad..but step into the elevator and it begins..when the elevator door opened it was obvious this Roach motel needed some help..the hallways were so dark I grabbed my husbands hand because I was sure someone was going to jump out and mug us..!!! It was like going down a dark alley at midnight..and the smell..Now open your room door, with a old, big, brass key, it was ridiculous..so unsafe, just a regular door knob lock. Now the room was clean to the eye but VERY old and everything was plugged into a power strip cord in the middle the the room. Shower trickled, couldn't regulate water. Portable A/C unit died in the night, no one told us that water had to be emptied in the unit for it to work, so when it died at 3 am we suffocated the rest of the night, when we said something to the desk girl in the morning while checking out, she laughed and said "Oh, no one told you, you have to empty it?" I was in hell at the Roach Motel(and paid for it)...Stay in your car it is probably safer, cleaner and more comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top