$232 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 27, 2015 Check-out: May 30, 2015

Crowne Plaza REDONDO BEACH AND MARINA

4 stars
View map of 300 N. Harbor Dr, Redondo Beach, CA 90277-2552

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza REDONDO BEACH AND MARINA

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
155 out of 155
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza REDONDO BEACH AND MARINA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Studio City, CA
Jul 5, 2010

Great location and comfort!

I needed a last minute place to stay near the beach for the 4th of July. This hotel was very reasonably priced and was a great place. Highlights include just a few hundred yards to the beach, a very nice private balcony overlooking the marina, and a modern, clean, comfortable room. I would definitely recommend it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza REDONDO BEACH AND MARINA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Feistywon
Business
San Diego, CA
Jun 26, 2010

There Was No Room in the Inn

We have stayed at the Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach Hotel before and have been happy with it. Hubby and I spent our early dating years in the Redondo area so we go to remember and cut loose. Its location is great - across from the pier and harbor with restaurants, water views, and a bar with a good live band for some dancing.[...] We had a graduation to attend that evening and would be arriving late, but we weren't concerned because the credit card had been fully charged for the 2 nights.We arrived at midnight and were told that not only did they not have an ocean view room, the room they had left for us was a smoking room. I'm allergic to smoke and my best friend recently died as a result of smoking so a smoking room was completely unacceptable. I couldn't understand how they took our money but they didn't have our room. Not only that, we're told that that room is our only option since they're sold out for that night. I asked the clerk to speak to the manager and after a conversation with him, she found us a partial ocean view, double bed, non-smoking room for that one night and then we could switch the next day to the room we actually paid for. They comped us 1 night of parking ($20) for the trouble.After this major problem to start our visit, everything else went great. We walked wherever we wanted to go, enjoyed breakfast at Ruby's, enjoyed the jacuzzi in the afternoon. It ended up being a great visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ruby's for breakfast - can't go wrong. Good food, good prices, great service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza REDONDO BEACH AND MARINA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Single mom with two great boys.
Business
Canton, Ohio
Jun 25, 2010

Awesome place to stay

We stayed 5 nights at this hotel while on vacation. It was great. The hotel was very clean. The staff was very helpful and friendly. There is a business center that we used several times to access the internet for free. After a full day of site seeing we would go back to the hotel and enjoy a still in movies pay per view movie. The gift shop was quite useful to buy gifts, snacks and drinks. The beaches in this area are great. We also found the swimming pool and hot tub very nice. I think my favorite part was waking in the morning and having a cup of coffee while sitting on our own balcony overlooking the ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The parking was costly. It was $24 dollars a day. We parked a short few blocks away on a side street for free.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza REDONDO BEACH AND MARINA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Single mom with two great boys.
Business
Canton, Ohio
Jun 25, 2010

Awesome place to stay

We stayed 5 nights at this hotel while on vacation. It was great. The hotel was very clean. The staff was very helpful and friendly. There is a business center that we used several times to access the internet for free. After a full day of site seeing we would go back to the hotel and enjoy a still in movies pay per view movie. The gift shop was quite useful to buy gifts, snacks and drinks. The beaches in this area are great. We also found the swimming pool and hot tub very nice. I think my favorite part was waking in the morning and having a cup of coffee while sitting on our own balcony overlooking the ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The parking was costly. It was $24 dollars a day. We parked a short few blocks away on a side street for free.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza REDONDO BEACH AND MARINA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Harriet, Young Professional
Business
Columbus, Ohio
Jun 23, 2010

Great terrace view of the water!

Overall, I was quite satisfied with my stay at the Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach. The dining options IN the hotel I thought were overpriced, but there are great restaurants nearby - across the street, on the pier, just north of the hotel at Hermosa Beach. The location was nicely situated close to both Redondo and Hermosa Beach. Redondo Beach specifically has a nice pier with restaurants and shops and a large marina for anyone interested in boating. Redondo seemed a bit quieter than Hermosa. Hermosa has a great bar scene near the pier and lots of sand volleyball courts. The Crowne Plaza is about a 5-10 minutes walk from the Redondo Beach Pier and is right beside the Strand which is a great running/biking path that runs along the beach. The service overall was great, especially from the valets. It is definitely worth it to park your car in the valet lot and it is not significantly more expensive to valet versus self park. We called down from the room to request our car and by the time we would get from the second floor to the front door, our vehicle would be there. The hotel has a terrace with a pool and hot tub, tennis courts, and a huge deck for lounging on the second floor. It overlooks the marina and the water and it is beautiful! We had paid for a water view in our room, and I wouldn't recommend it. We could barely see the water from our hotel room's balcony (I guess it was water view if you stretch your neck and squint), but it really isn't necessary anyway because of the great views from the terrace. My only gripe was really a pet peeve of mine. The hotel claimed they had high speed internet in the room, but didn't make it clear on the website that while there is access you must pay a daily charge to use it. The hotel does have a business center, however, where you can look up things if you need it or check in to your flight and print boarding passes, so it wasn't a huge inconvenience, and you should be out enjoying the California sun anyway - not on your laptop in the hotel. They also try to overcharge you for postal stamps, but be aware that there is a post office literally one block north of the hotel. Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Just north of the hotel is a GREAT gelato place called Paciugo. For any ice cream lovers, this is THE place to get high quality, delicious ice cream. They had great flavors, and it was reasonably priced for the quality of gelato you receive (and you can get up to three flavors in even their small bowl/cone). It is near the pier at Hermosa Beach on Hermosa Ave, which would be a short drive or long walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza REDONDO BEACH AND MARINA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Auburndale, FL
Jun 22, 2010

Great Location

The parking garage is expensive so we parked behind on the street for free We were far from the elevators so we walked up and down the one flight of stairs which was right by our room Very nice lobby and pool

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't use the parking garage. Walk to free parking on the streets.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza REDONDO BEACH AND MARINA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kaye & Aaron
Business
Singapore
Jun 19, 2010

Two thumbs up form Sinagpore!!!

The room was spacious and had all the amenities we needed. However because it was a smoking room it was constantly smelling of stale smoke. The staff were very friendly and informative about any questions we had. The location was unbeatable and so peaceful. Free shuttle bus to the mall's was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza REDONDO BEACH AND MARINA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jacksonville, Fl
Jun 13, 2010

Dave from Jacksonville Florida

We payed for a Deluxe Ocean View and when we opened the door to the room most of what we viewed was roof top-we went to complain and was told this was a deluxe water view room and could not change it since we booked through [...]? I told them they were [*] me and they moved me to another room a little better but not a great view of the ocean!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza REDONDO BEACH AND MARINA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jlana
Business
San Francisco
Jun 8, 2010

Crowne Plaza Redondo

Fantastic hotel for the price. My expectations were blown away! Great service, great location right near the beach, rooms were huge for the price and had a nice view of the ocean. The weather wasn't great, but the hotel couldn't control that part!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Hermosa Beach!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza REDONDO BEACH AND MARINA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lancaster, CA
Jun 1, 2010

Excellent Staff and location

We had a wonderful time. We sat outside on the balcony and watched the sunset. Everyone form the Chef at Splash to the Valet was very nice to us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top