$42 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 23, 2014 Check-out: Oct 26, 2014

Howard Johnson Express Inn - Redding

2 stars
2731 Bechelli Lane, Redding, CA 96002
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.3
out of 5
72 reviews
Visit to Bethel Church

Had a great time and enjoyed visit. Next time will need a room for handicapped. Had a hard time... See full review

  • Dee 72
  • Dec 17, 2013
Home away from home

Stayed a week to visit Bethel Church. The hotel is just a short drive away from everything, incl.... See full review

  • Toby 5210
  • Sep 18, 2014
Take the family to this Howard Johnson Express Inn-Redding situated along the Siskiyou Trail in northern California near excellent skiing and golf at Mount Shasta as well as many popular restaurants. Fish the Sacramento River, Whiskeytown Lake and Lake Shasta. Play games and slot machines at Win-River Casino, and sightsee at the Sun Dial Bridge and Mount Lessen. Start your day with a complimentary Rise and Dine continental breakfast. Relax with a swim in the outdoor pool, and take advantage of the laundry and valet services. Plan your exciting day from the comfort of your spacious guest room with complimentary wireless Internet access, work desk and lush bedding. Suites, smoke-free, handicapped-accessible and business rooms are available. Pets are welcome at this lodging.

Hotel Map

40.5677 -122.3627
Area description
Shopping district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Express Inn - Redding also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (72)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Express Inn - Redding

Overall score

2.3 / 5
5.01.0
72 out of 72
Amenities:
2.2
Room cleanliness:
2.6
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
2.4
Location:
3.3
Value:
2.8

43% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Redding

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Travel Katt
Business
Montana
Oct 16, 2014

DIRTY, loud, total bummer.

I had to get to sleep while traveling so I didn't bother complaining but this place was pretty darn awful. No cleaning had been done prior to my arrival aside from the obligatory arranging of items to make it appear tidy. The floor hadn't been vacuumed, the shower and sink and floors all had hair in plain sight. Toilet paper roll was half gone, pool was full of leaves & patio chairs had been tossed into it. I slept in my sleeping bag with my own pillow on top of the yucky, hard bed. If any of these things are a deal breaker for you, don't bother coming here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Redding

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
passing through Cali
Business
redding, ca
Oct 3, 2014

last minute booking

Not a place I would want to stay at again. When you first walk in room looks tidy. After unloading our things and got settled, noticed everything needs updating. Wires hanging from ceiling, stains on the pillowcase and towels, housekeeping needs more attention to cleaning ( we found a rag on top of the curtain rod in bathroom which wasn't ours because we only stayed that one night), refrigerator made some fanning noises all night, out dated carpet, and walls of room were cracked. The whole place needs a makeover STAT. Friendly staff who seems to be used to seeing all sorts of characters.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Redding

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Biz Boy
Business
Oregon
Oct 2, 2014

OK for a dive

Friendly attendative staff, no hassle booking. Great value. Not updated, pets allowed (lots of dogs).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Redding

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jsb807
Business
Missouri
Sep 22, 2014

Howard Johnson Redding

Hotel was clean enough for economy class. Good breakfast. Staff is very helpful and nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Redding

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Toby 5210
Business
Germany
Sep 18, 2014

Home away from home

Stayed a week to visit Bethel Church. The hotel is just a short drive away from everything, incl. the church, shopping centers and restaurants. The staff was great, made me feel at home. Room had all the amenities I needed, incl. iron & ironing board, microwave and refrigerator. Definitely worth the money :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Wal-Mart and In-N-Out Burger

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Redding

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
anhngo
Business
San Jose, CA
Sep 2, 2014

Labor Weekend

The PRO:The staff who check us in was really friendly, nice, and helpful. They serve donuts and juices for breakfast. The Internet was strong and the AC keep the room cool. There is a refrigerator and microwave. The CON: Cleaning Staff-We was away for the day, but when we get back around 3:30-4:00pm, the room was not clean. We did not get fresh towel until I went to the front desk to ask for it and told her about the situation. She was friendly and say she look into but by the time we got back from dinner, nothing was clean. I don't think it her fault, might be a problem with the cleaning staff. Room: The front door did not close tightly, you could see light getting though around the edge. The bathroom door do not close, if you close it then a few minute later the door would slowly open. One of the bed make alot of noise when you move. You could heard everything that happen in front of your room and when people walk down the stairs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Good for one night sleep, more and it would be unpleasant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Redding

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TPKG
Business
Reno, nv
Mar 24, 2014

disgusting place

The room was dirty. The furniture was old scratched up and stained. The floor had gross stains on it. The bed was old and uncomfortable. The sheets were dirty so we slept on top of the covers. The towels were scratchy and stained. The bathroom floor was dirty. And there wasn't even a clock in the room. Overall this is probably the most disgusting place I have ever stayed at. I would never recommend this place to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Redding

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
KittyQueen
Business
Sacramento,CA
Jan 3, 2014

Hobos Stay at Hojo

This is the worst hotel I've ever stayed in. The sheets and chair upholstery were stained, hair was left in the shower, dusty surfaces and to top it off, a sticky remote. Now I know why locals say the "Hobos stay at Hojo!" At least the front desk staff was friendly and hopeful I'd be reimbursed for canceling 2 of my 3 reserved nights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Redding

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dee 72
Business
Fresno, CA
Dec 17, 2013

Visit to Bethel Church

Had a great time and enjoyed visit. Next time will need a room for handicapped. Had a hard time turning on the faucet with my arthritis, but enjoyed everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Lumberjack restaurant and From the Hearth are great places to eat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Redding

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Belle traveler
Business
Vancouver WA
Dec 16, 2013

very dirty

Sorry to say this hotel was dirtiest we have ever stayed in. The tub was horrible...long dark hairs and short dark curly hairs...ugh. since it was paid, we stayed but left as early as we could.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top