$73 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 22, 2014 Check-out: Sep 23, 2014

Casa Via Mar Inn & Tennis Club

2 stars
377 W. Channel Islands Blvd., Port Hueneme, CA 93041
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
31 reviews
Excellent choice for stopover

We had expected this to be just a decent hotel to spend a night, and thought we'd grab fast food... See full review

  • Rob4
  • Oct 4, 2012
Awesome Family Vacation

The staff was so nice!! Wonderful location to the beach!! Will be staying there again in December!! See full review

  • Olivia Taxi mom
  • Aug 24, 2012
Golf, tennis and simple hacienda charm next to Port Hueneme

Casa Via Mar Inn & Tennis Club reflects the old-world California personality of Port Hueneme, a Ventura County beachfront enclave and military community between Santa Barbara and Los Angeles. Here, six tennis courts and an outdoor pool await, with a golf course just across the street. Casa Via Mar Inn has been family-owned and operated since 1979 with the tradition of providing economical accommodations in a stucco and vine-covered hacienda-style motel to visitors of all kinds. 

Highlights

  • Next to Port Hueneme Military Facility
  • Complimentary hot breakfast and donuts
  • Swim in the heated outdoor pool or nearby Pacific Ocean
  • Free parking
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access

Rooms

Rooms at Casa Via Mar Inn & Tennis Club are housed in two-story hacienda-style buildings with exterior corridor access. The 74-room hotel offers the basics such as hair dryers, irons and ironing boards, and refrigerators. Some have kitchenettes, and Deluxe rooms have balconies or patios. All rooms at Casa Via Mar Inn have free wireless Internet access. 

Features

Casa Via Mar Inn & Tennis Club occupies an entire city block of Port Hueneme with its accommodations, six championship tennis courts and outdoor heated pool and whirlpool area with palm trees and bougainvillea vines. The block is shared with several casual family-friendly restaurants so there is always food nearby. Casa Via Mar Inn provides free breakfast, donuts and coffee every morning. The hotel also encourages guests to return in the evening for $1 USD beer and wine (select days). Casa Via Mar Inn operates a 24-hour front desk with free newspapers on hand. 

Transportation

  • Oxnard Airport (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Oxnard Metrolink and Amtrak Station (3.4 mi/5.5 km)
  • Burbank Airport (59.3 mi/95.4 km)
  • Los Angeles International Airport (65.9 mi/106 km)

Attractions

  • Sea Bee Golf Course (Across the street)
  • Port Hueneme Military Facility (Across the street)
  • Port Hueneme Beach Park and Fishing Pier (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • Point Mugu Naval Complex (9.3 mi/15 km)
  • Camarillo Premium Outlets (13.1 mi/21.2 km)

Business

  • Business center
  • Faxing services
  • Meeting room
  • In-room desks
  • Free Wi-Fi

Hotel Map

34.1768 -119.2075
Area served
Port Hueneme
Nearby airports
Oxnard Airport 2.0 miles L.A.X 60 miles
Area description
Casa Via Mar next to Naval Base Ventura County (Port Hueneme) 2.0 miles Channel Islands Harbor

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Casa Via Mar Inn & Tennis Club also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Casa Via Mar Inn & Tennis Club Rooms

STANDARD - MOTEL
MHK- A standard room located in the Hacienda section with one King size bed with full bath 27 inch color television with remote control, free cable, free wireless internet access, refrigerator, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, AM/FM alarm clock, designed work station, voice mail
STANDARD - MOTEL
MHDD - Standard room located in the Hacienda section with two double size beds with full bath, 27 inch television with remote control, free cable, free wireless access, refrigerator, iron and iron board, hair dryer, AM/FM alarm clock, designed work station, voice mail
ECONOMY - MOTEL
Mini-Kitchen King - A mini-kitchen room located in the Hacienda inner-court section with one King size bed with full bath, 27 inch color television with remote control, free wireless internet access, refrigerator, microwave, silverware, dishes, coffee maker, toaster, can opener, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, AM/FM Alarm clock, designed work station, voice mail
ECONOMY - MOTEL
Mini-Kitchen DD- A mini-kitchen room located in the Hacienda inner-court section with two double size beds with full bath, 27 inch television with remote control, free cable, free wireless internet access, refrigerator, microwave, silverware, dishes, coffee maker, can opener, toaster, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, AM/FM alarm clock, designed work station, and voice mail
DELUXE - MOTEL
KUK - A fully Kitchen Unit room located in the west inner-court section with one King size bed, 27 inch color television with remote control, free cable, free wireless internet access, stove, pots and pans, refrigerator, micorwave. cookware, silverware, coffee maker, toaster, can opener, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, AM/FM alarm clock, patio or balcony, and voice mail
DELUXE - MOTEL
KUDD - A fully equipped Kitchen Unit room located in the west inner-court section with two double size beds with full bath, 27 inch color television with remote control, free cable, free wireless internet access, stove refrigerator, microwave, cookware,silverware, dishes, coffee maker, toaster, can opener, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, AM/FM alarm clock, patio, or balcony, and voice mail

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Dining
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Mariann's Italian Villa
Traditional and Sicilian pizza have put Mariann's Italian Villa on the dining map, as has its quaint ambiance. Within walking distance
Las Brisas Mexican Grill
Come enjoy a Sunday Brunch at Las Brisas Mexican Grill with flavorful Mexican food, clean and attractive decor. Within walking distance
Roxbury's Deli
Roxbury's Deli is a friendly, spacious neighborhood deli. Within walking distance.
Mandarin House
Mandarin House is within walking distance with a flavorful menu
Pirates Grub 'N Grog
Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Breakfast Sat. & Sun., outdoor Patio Dining. Choose over 109 menu items and the best fish and chips anywhere!

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Davis Cup Room 540 Sq. Ft- Appt. only. donuts,coffee,water

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (31)

Ratings and reviews for Casa Via Mar Inn & Tennis Club

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
13 out of 31
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.9
Value:
4

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Casa Via Mar Inn & Tennis Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rob4
Santa Monica, CA
Oct 4, 2012

Excellent choice for stopover

We had expected this to be just a decent hotel to spend a night, and thought we'd grab fast food from the strip mall next door and spend most of the time in our room. But it turned out to be a very pleasant surprise. The pool/spa area is very nice, and the sushi at the mall was simply amazing. The hotel is also near enough to the marina that it is a nice walk. And the free breakfast in the morning was way better than you expect at an inexpensive motel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hamada Sushi, in the strip mall.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Via Mar Inn & Tennis Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lancaster Couple
Lancaster, CA
Aug 28, 2012

Surprises all around

Our stay, although short was wonderful. PH was having a heat wave (90 degrees), and the room didn't have air conditioning, but they provided a large fan that suited us perfectly as the evening's outdoor temps fell, so did the room's. The room was clean and amazingly quiet, although the rooms around us were full, we couldn't hear anyone else. It is on the corner of a busy intersection but...not the freeway! The staff was very nice, breakfast was wonderful, we would stay there again in a minute.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Via Mar Inn & Tennis Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Debri
North Carolina
Aug 8, 2012

Just satisfactory

I wish they had a microwave in the room. The internet was not working the night we checked in. But it was fine from the next day. They had good complimentary breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Via Mar Inn & Tennis Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
THammond
Palm Springs Ca
Jun 18, 2012

Nice size room but very bad odor!!!!

We walked into our room and the odor was horrific. It smelled like a nail salon very strong acrylic nail smell or some kind of chemical. My husband called the front desk to change rooms but the girl said that was the only room. We asked if they could send someone to check the smell and maybe spray but she said there was no one to do this. we tried leaving the door open to get fresh air but it really did not help the matter. Also in the morning got in the shower and found out you physically have to walk to the front desk to get your own shampoo.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Via Mar Inn & Tennis Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sob359
Vacaville, CA
Aug 5, 2011

Clean, location and price friendly

It was just what we were looking for. Near our family and places we wanted to visit and the cost was great. The "mini" kitchen was great although not mentioned on the web site. I would have been better prepared if I had known. But was able to purchase what I needed near by. I will definitly return on my next visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

There is much to see and do with the ocean, shopping fishing and all it has to offer.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Via Mar Inn & Tennis Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Temecula CA
Mar 27, 2011

Better Than Mom's Extra Room!

Friendly staff, feels like a family business. Facilities are pretty basic - 70's decor, aging amentities - but comfortable. We stay here when visiting family in Oxnard. The peace and privacy at the end of the day is priceless. Fits our needs and the price is right

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Channel Islands Harbor and several nice beaches within 5 miles.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Via Mar Inn & Tennis Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles
Sep 1, 2010

Hotel Review

OK. Was a noisy, but that may have been bad luck with the guests in the room next to us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Close to Channel Island Harbor - lots of boats...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Via Mar Inn & Tennis Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
California City, CA
Jul 26, 2010

Nice trip

We were going on an early AM fishing trip and needed a few hours of sleep and a shower in the morning. The check in was easy an check out was even easier.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Via Mar Inn & Tennis Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
channel islands harbor
Apr 2, 2010

decent room

loud upstairs above our room. bed was not comfortable...too hard. friendly staff and spacious room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Via Mar Inn & Tennis Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
avenal,ca
Aug 17, 2009

I WILL NEVER USE ORBITZ AGAIN!!!!

WHEN WE GOT TO THE HOTEL, THEY TOLD USE THAT THEY WERE FULL AND DID NOT HAVE A ROOM, THEN WE TOLD THEM WE HAD RESERVATIONS THROUGH ORBITZ AND THEY REPLIED YES WE KNOW, BUT ORBITZ BOOKS ROOMS ALL THE TIME EVEN IF THERES NO ROOMS, SO AFTER COMPLAINING AND WAITING AROUND FOR A HOUR, THEY FINALLY GAVE US A ROOM THAT THEY DIDN'T HAVE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search