$73 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 22, 2014 Check-out: Sep 23, 2014

Casa Via Mar Inn & Tennis Club

2 stars
377 W. Channel Islands Blvd., Port Hueneme, CA 93041
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
31 reviews
Excellent choice for stopover

We had expected this to be just a decent hotel to spend a night, and thought we'd grab fast food... See full review

  • Rob4
  • Oct 4, 2012
Awesome Family Vacation

The staff was so nice!! Wonderful location to the beach!! Will be staying there again in December!! See full review

  • Olivia Taxi mom
  • Aug 24, 2012
Golf, tennis and simple hacienda charm next to Port Hueneme

Casa Via Mar Inn & Tennis Club reflects the old-world California personality of Port Hueneme, a Ventura County beachfront enclave and military community between Santa Barbara and Los Angeles. Here, six tennis courts and an outdoor pool await, with a golf course just across the street. Casa Via Mar Inn has been family-owned and operated since 1979 with the tradition of providing economical accommodations in a stucco and vine-covered hacienda-style motel to visitors of all kinds. 

Highlights

  • Next to Port Hueneme Military Facility
  • Complimentary hot breakfast and donuts
  • Swim in the heated outdoor pool or nearby Pacific Ocean
  • Free parking
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access

Rooms

Rooms at Casa Via Mar Inn & Tennis Club are housed in two-story hacienda-style buildings with exterior corridor access. The 74-room hotel offers the basics such as hair dryers, irons and ironing boards, and refrigerators. Some have kitchenettes, and Deluxe rooms have balconies or patios. All rooms at Casa Via Mar Inn have free wireless Internet access. 

Features

Casa Via Mar Inn & Tennis Club occupies an entire city block of Port Hueneme with its accommodations, six championship tennis courts and outdoor heated pool and whirlpool area with palm trees and bougainvillea vines. The block is shared with several casual family-friendly restaurants so there is always food nearby. Casa Via Mar Inn provides free breakfast, donuts and coffee every morning. The hotel also encourages guests to return in the evening for $1 USD beer and wine (select days). Casa Via Mar Inn operates a 24-hour front desk with free newspapers on hand. 

Transportation

  • Oxnard Airport (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Oxnard Metrolink and Amtrak Station (3.4 mi/5.5 km)
  • Burbank Airport (59.3 mi/95.4 km)
  • Los Angeles International Airport (65.9 mi/106 km)

Attractions

  • Sea Bee Golf Course (Across the street)
  • Port Hueneme Military Facility (Across the street)
  • Port Hueneme Beach Park and Fishing Pier (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • Point Mugu Naval Complex (9.3 mi/15 km)
  • Camarillo Premium Outlets (13.1 mi/21.2 km)

Business

  • Business center
  • Faxing services
  • Meeting room
  • In-room desks
  • Free Wi-Fi

Hotel Map

34.1768 -119.2075
Area served
Port Hueneme
Nearby airports
Oxnard Airport 2.0 miles L.A.X 60 miles
Area description
Casa Via Mar next to Naval Base Ventura County (Port Hueneme) 2.0 miles Channel Islands Harbor

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Casa Via Mar Inn & Tennis Club also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Casa Via Mar Inn & Tennis Club Rooms

STANDARD - MOTEL
MHK- A standard room located in the Hacienda section with one King size bed with full bath 27 inch color television with remote control, free cable, free wireless internet access, refrigerator, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, AM/FM alarm clock, designed work station, voice mail
STANDARD - MOTEL
MHDD - Standard room located in the Hacienda section with two double size beds with full bath, 27 inch television with remote control, free cable, free wireless access, refrigerator, iron and iron board, hair dryer, AM/FM alarm clock, designed work station, voice mail
ECONOMY - MOTEL
Mini-Kitchen King - A mini-kitchen room located in the Hacienda inner-court section with one King size bed with full bath, 27 inch color television with remote control, free wireless internet access, refrigerator, microwave, silverware, dishes, coffee maker, toaster, can opener, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, AM/FM Alarm clock, designed work station, voice mail
ECONOMY - MOTEL
Mini-Kitchen DD- A mini-kitchen room located in the Hacienda inner-court section with two double size beds with full bath, 27 inch television with remote control, free cable, free wireless internet access, refrigerator, microwave, silverware, dishes, coffee maker, can opener, toaster, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, AM/FM alarm clock, designed work station, and voice mail
DELUXE - MOTEL
KUK - A fully Kitchen Unit room located in the west inner-court section with one King size bed, 27 inch color television with remote control, free cable, free wireless internet access, stove, pots and pans, refrigerator, micorwave. cookware, silverware, coffee maker, toaster, can opener, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, AM/FM alarm clock, patio or balcony, and voice mail
DELUXE - MOTEL
KUDD - A fully equipped Kitchen Unit room located in the west inner-court section with two double size beds with full bath, 27 inch color television with remote control, free cable, free wireless internet access, stove refrigerator, microwave, cookware,silverware, dishes, coffee maker, toaster, can opener, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, AM/FM alarm clock, patio, or balcony, and voice mail

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Dining
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Mariann's Italian Villa
Traditional and Sicilian pizza have put Mariann's Italian Villa on the dining map, as has its quaint ambiance. Within walking distance
Las Brisas Mexican Grill
Come enjoy a Sunday Brunch at Las Brisas Mexican Grill with flavorful Mexican food, clean and attractive decor. Within walking distance
Roxbury's Deli
Roxbury's Deli is a friendly, spacious neighborhood deli. Within walking distance.
Mandarin House
Mandarin House is within walking distance with a flavorful menu
Pirates Grub 'N Grog
Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Breakfast Sat. & Sun., outdoor Patio Dining. Choose over 109 menu items and the best fish and chips anywhere!

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Davis Cup Room 540 Sq. Ft- Appt. only. donuts,coffee,water

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (31)

Ratings and reviews for Casa Via Mar Inn & Tennis Club

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
31 out of 31
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4
Value:
3.8

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Casa Via Mar Inn & Tennis Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
avenal,ca
Aug 17, 2009

I WILL NEVER USE ORBITZ AGAIN!!!!

WHEN WE GOT TO THE HOTEL, THEY TOLD USE THAT THEY WERE FULL AND DID NOT HAVE A ROOM, THEN WE TOLD THEM WE HAD RESERVATIONS THROUGH ORBITZ AND THEY REPLIED YES WE KNOW, BUT ORBITZ BOOKS ROOMS ALL THE TIME EVEN IF THERES NO ROOMS, SO AFTER COMPLAINING AND WAITING AROUND FOR A HOUR, THEY FINALLY GAVE US A ROOM THAT THEY DIDN'T HAVE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Via Mar Inn & Tennis Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
coin
Fremont, CA
Jul 20, 2012

Not worth the money. Bad!

The room smelled bad. Stains on the carpet, comforter, holes in the blanket. There were no supplies except towels for only two people even though the room was for four. You have to go to the front desk and ask for soap, shampoo etc. The pool area was not clean. Other than complimentary breakfast, it is no better than Motel 6. I was disappointed. Will not go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Via Mar Inn & Tennis Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Manteca, CA
Nov 28, 2009

Not my first, but probably my last!

[...] On Thanksgiving morning, we were awakened at 8:15am by the maid who wanted to clean our room! She did not understand English and gave me a dirty look when I asked her to come back later...10 minutes later another maid showed and said the first one did not understand. I asked them to come back in a hour. Our room was NEVER made that day...no towels, bed unmade, etc. And when I told [...] when I checked-out, she grunted! I even wished her a happy holiday and she ignored me! The rooms are worse than before the remodel, and the staff is rude!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

McDonald's is very close!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Via Mar Inn & Tennis Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sunnyvale, CA
Sep 12, 2009

Very Modest Hotel

Bathroom was a little dirty. Staff is very friendly. The nightly rate seems a little high for the low end feel of the Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Via Mar Inn & Tennis Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
edi on the go
californis
Nov 11, 2013

OK

No that happy this time the girl from front desk seam mad she did not smile one bit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Via Mar Inn & Tennis Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
THammond
Palm Springs Ca
Jun 18, 2012

Nice size room but very bad odor!!!!

We walked into our room and the odor was horrific. It smelled like a nail salon very strong acrylic nail smell or some kind of chemical. My husband called the front desk to change rooms but the girl said that was the only room. We asked if they could send someone to check the smell and maybe spray but she said there was no one to do this. we tried leaving the door open to get fresh air but it really did not help the matter. Also in the morning got in the shower and found out you physically have to walk to the front desk to get your own shampoo.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Via Mar Inn & Tennis Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Golfgeek
Bakersfield,ca
Aug 15, 2009

Good place to rest

It was a good place to rest but they should really think about updating they're rooms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Via Mar Inn & Tennis Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
wyofish
Glendale, CA, USA
Mar 28, 2012

ok value, nothing special

The room was ok--spacious, good bed (the important thing), ordinary bathroom. The television was old and missing several channels

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Via Mar Inn & Tennis Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
A.V.
Business
Clovis, Ca
Jun 27, 2009

hotel needs updating

Staff is friendly. Room was clean. Hotel is very old. Needs updating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Via Mar Inn & Tennis Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Evil mask
Salt lake city, Utah
Jul 9, 2012

great value.

Rooms could use an update. The odor in the room wasn't very pleasant, we used some air deodorizer which helped slightly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Beach is very close!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search