$75 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 4, 2014 Check-out: Dec 7, 2014

Casa Via Mar Inn & Tennis Club

2 stars
377 W. Channel Islands Blvd., Port Hueneme, CA 93041
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
31 reviews
Excellent choice for stopover

We had expected this to be just a decent hotel to spend a night, and thought we'd grab fast food... See full review

  • Rob4
  • Oct 4, 2012
Awesome Family Vacation

The staff was so nice!! Wonderful location to the beach!! Will be staying there again in December!! See full review

  • Olivia Taxi mom
  • Aug 24, 2012
Golf, tennis and simple hacienda charm next to Port Hueneme

Casa Via Mar Inn & Tennis Club reflects the old-world California personality of Port Hueneme, a Ventura County beachfront enclave and military community between Santa Barbara and Los Angeles. Here, six tennis courts and an outdoor pool await, with a golf course just across the street. Casa Via Mar Inn has been family-owned and operated since 1979 with the tradition of providing economical accommodations in a stucco and vine-covered hacienda-style motel to visitors of all kinds. 

Highlights

  • Next to Port Hueneme Military Facility
  • Complimentary hot breakfast and donuts
  • Swim in the heated outdoor pool or nearby Pacific Ocean
  • Free parking
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access

Rooms

Rooms at Casa Via Mar Inn & Tennis Club are housed in two-story hacienda-style buildings with exterior corridor access. The 74-room hotel offers the basics such as hair dryers, irons and ironing boards, and refrigerators. Some have kitchenettes, and Deluxe rooms have balconies or patios. All rooms at Casa Via Mar Inn have free wireless Internet access. 

Features

Casa Via Mar Inn & Tennis Club occupies an entire city block of Port Hueneme with its accommodations, six championship tennis courts and outdoor heated pool and whirlpool area with palm trees and bougainvillea vines. The block is shared with several casual family-friendly restaurants so there is always food nearby. Casa Via Mar Inn provides free breakfast, donuts and coffee every morning. The hotel also encourages guests to return in the evening for $1 USD beer and wine (select days). Casa Via Mar Inn operates a 24-hour front desk with free newspapers on hand. 

Transportation

  • Oxnard Airport (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Oxnard Metrolink and Amtrak Station (3.4 mi/5.5 km)
  • Burbank Airport (59.3 mi/95.4 km)
  • Los Angeles International Airport (65.9 mi/106 km)

Attractions

  • Sea Bee Golf Course (Across the street)
  • Port Hueneme Military Facility (Across the street)
  • Port Hueneme Beach Park and Fishing Pier (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • Point Mugu Naval Complex (9.3 mi/15 km)
  • Camarillo Premium Outlets (13.1 mi/21.2 km)

Business

  • Business center
  • Faxing services
  • Meeting room
  • In-room desks
  • Free Wi-Fi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Casa Via Mar Inn & Tennis Club also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Casa Via Mar Inn & Tennis Club Rooms

STANDARD - MOTEL
MHK- A standard room located in the Hacienda section with one King size bed with full bath 27 inch color television with remote control, free cable, free wireless internet access, refrigerator, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, AM/FM alarm clock, designed work station, voice mail
STANDARD - MOTEL
MHDD - Standard room located in the Hacienda section with two double size beds with full bath, 27 inch television with remote control, free cable, free wireless access, refrigerator, iron and iron board, hair dryer, AM/FM alarm clock, designed work station, voice mail
ECONOMY - MOTEL
Mini-Kitchen King - A mini-kitchen room located in the Hacienda inner-court section with one King size bed with full bath, 27 inch color television with remote control, free wireless internet access, refrigerator, microwave, silverware, dishes, coffee maker, toaster, can opener, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, AM/FM Alarm clock, designed work station, voice mail
ECONOMY - MOTEL
Mini-Kitchen DD- A mini-kitchen room located in the Hacienda inner-court section with two double size beds with full bath, 27 inch television with remote control, free cable, free wireless internet access, refrigerator, microwave, silverware, dishes, coffee maker, can opener, toaster, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, AM/FM alarm clock, designed work station, and voice mail
DELUXE - MOTEL
KUK - A fully Kitchen Unit room located in the west inner-court section with one King size bed, 27 inch color television with remote control, free cable, free wireless internet access, stove, pots and pans, refrigerator, micorwave. cookware, silverware, coffee maker, toaster, can opener, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, AM/FM alarm clock, patio or balcony, and voice mail
DELUXE - MOTEL
KUDD - A fully equipped Kitchen Unit room located in the west inner-court section with two double size beds with full bath, 27 inch color television with remote control, free cable, free wireless internet access, stove refrigerator, microwave, cookware,silverware, dishes, coffee maker, toaster, can opener, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, AM/FM alarm clock, patio, or balcony, and voice mail

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Dining
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Mariann's Italian Villa
Traditional and Sicilian pizza have put Mariann's Italian Villa on the dining map, as has its quaint ambiance. Within walking distance
Las Brisas Mexican Grill
Come enjoy a Sunday Brunch at Las Brisas Mexican Grill with flavorful Mexican food, clean and attractive decor. Within walking distance
Roxbury's Deli
Roxbury's Deli is a friendly, spacious neighborhood deli. Within walking distance.
Mandarin House
Mandarin House is within walking distance with a flavorful menu
Pirates Grub 'N Grog
Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Breakfast Sat. & Sun., outdoor Patio Dining. Choose over 109 menu items and the best fish and chips anywhere!

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Davis Cup Room 540 Sq. Ft- Appt. only. donuts,coffee,water

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (31)

Ratings and reviews for Casa Via Mar Inn & Tennis Club

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
31 out of 31
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4
Value:
3.8

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Casa Via Mar Inn & Tennis Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
edi on the go
Business
californis
Nov 11, 2013

OK

No that happy this time the girl from front desk seam mad she did not smile one bit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Via Mar Inn & Tennis Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BrandyTri
Business
Port Hueneme,Ca
Oct 18, 2012

Nice place for a getaway

I took a chance, even after seeing some of the reviews, it was a wonderful stay! The room was clean and well maintained. The staff was very helpful and polite (I checked in at 1130pm and they were cheerful). Donuts and coffee at the front desk. Breakfast served in a separate nice building. Overall experience was great. I would recommend it to everyone!! *this is not a brand new place and you must enjoy the rustic charm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Via Mar Inn & Tennis Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rob4
Business
Santa Monica, CA
Oct 4, 2012

Excellent choice for stopover

We had expected this to be just a decent hotel to spend a night, and thought we'd grab fast food from the strip mall next door and spend most of the time in our room. But it turned out to be a very pleasant surprise. The pool/spa area is very nice, and the sushi at the mall was simply amazing. The hotel is also near enough to the marina that it is a nice walk. And the free breakfast in the morning was way better than you expect at an inexpensive motel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hamada Sushi, in the strip mall.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Via Mar Inn & Tennis Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lancaster Couple
Business
Lancaster, CA
Aug 28, 2012

Surprises all around

Our stay, although short was wonderful. PH was having a heat wave (90 degrees), and the room didn't have air conditioning, but they provided a large fan that suited us perfectly as the evening's outdoor temps fell, so did the room's. The room was clean and amazingly quiet, although the rooms around us were full, we couldn't hear anyone else. It is on the corner of a busy intersection but...not the freeway! The staff was very nice, breakfast was wonderful, we would stay there again in a minute.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Via Mar Inn & Tennis Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Olivia Taxi mom
Business
Richmond VA
Aug 24, 2012

Awesome Family Vacation

The staff was so nice!! Wonderful location to the beach!! Will be staying there again in December!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Via Mar Inn & Tennis Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Debri
Business
North Carolina
Aug 8, 2012

Just satisfactory

I wish they had a microwave in the room. The internet was not working the night we checked in. But it was fine from the next day. They had good complimentary breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Via Mar Inn & Tennis Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
boop2006
Business
Camarillo, California
Jul 26, 2012

Cute, Clean & Comfortable

This overnight trip was planned soley for a tiny getaway with my teenage daughter to have a change of scenery. Upon arriving in the afternoon, the male staff member was cheerful and helpful. My room was reserved, however, he offerred options of different variables with no price difference. He made sure our room was equipped with air condition and that we had 2 beds verses the one bed I had reserved. After the friendly check in, we drove around the corner and parked directly in front of our room. The grounds and overall appearance of the motel were neat and clean. Upon entering our room, we were quite pleased with the older style spanish decor. It was bright, warm and inviting. As a habit, I immediatly checked the mattresses for any signs of bed bugs. Was very pleased that the mattresses were bright and brand new looking. Bedding was clean and smelled fresh. Room was overall very tidy and clean and being a clean freak, I did not see anything that appalled me. The carpet had some spots that were slightly worn, but it was acceptable. We brought food with us and was glad to have a working fridge, micro and sink. There was a very large size desk/table that could have fit 5 people or more. My daughter and I both enjoyed sitting there with our laptops. The beds were comfortable and we both slept great through the night without any noise disturbance. Breakfast was splendid and better than most. We definitly want to return there for another treat away from home. I think if you are looking for a brand new and modern place, than you may be more judgemental here. I happen to like the older places that have charecter and this motel fit all my critera of a great place to stay. If you are a drinker, they offer 1.00 drinks for "attitude adjustment" hours at their bar. I thought their flyer was cute with the attitude "saying" on it. I didn't have the opportunity to attend the bar/lounge on this trip. Overall excellent place with a friendly staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Via Mar Inn & Tennis Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
coin
Business
Fremont, CA
Jul 20, 2012

Not worth the money. Bad!

The room smelled bad. Stains on the carpet, comforter, holes in the blanket. There were no supplies except towels for only two people even though the room was for four. You have to go to the front desk and ask for soap, shampoo etc. The pool area was not clean. Other than complimentary breakfast, it is no better than Motel 6. I was disappointed. Will not go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Via Mar Inn & Tennis Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Airluis
Business
Arvin, ca
Jul 9, 2012

Awesome getaway

The service was awesome and the front desk ladies were the best!!! Thank you for such a wonderful clean and spacious room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Via Mar Inn & Tennis Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Evil mask
Business
Salt lake city, Utah
Jul 9, 2012

great value.

Rooms could use an update. The odor in the room wasn't very pleasant, we used some air deodorizer which helped slightly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Beach is very close!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top