$233 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 5, 2015 Check-out: Jan 7, 2015

The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles

5 stars
1401 South Oak Knoll Avenue, Pasadena, CA 91106
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
49 reviews
Fabulous Amenities

Beautiful grounds and building, impeccable service. See full review

  • brickle1
  • Nov 19, 2014
Perfect Place to Relax

The Langham Huntington Hotel is a trip to a fantasy escape. Right from the setting away from the... See full review

  • pumpyum
  • Oct 1, 2014
Capturing the grace and elegance of classic Southern California, The Langham Huntington is an iconic landmark hotel for a 100 years, located at the base of the picturesque San Gabriel Mountains, just minutes from downtown L.A. in beautiful Pasadena. Situated on 23 acres with grand historic ballrooms and gardens, the hotel features world-class dining, elegant guest rooms and a number of recreational choices such as tennis, walking and bicycle routes and a nearby Nicklaus-designed golf course. The property also features lavish suites, private cottages with fireplaces and the exclusive Langham Club level, offering personalized concierge services and food and beverage presentations daily. Pets under 40 pounds are welcome. A $135 non-refundable pet fee is required and includes use of the Langham pink porcelain pet bowl, gold mat and a plush pink bed pillow, a bag of gourmet doggie treats, a doggie door hanger for your guestroom, a one-time room deep cleaning fee and The Langham Doggie Newsletter. Please be reminded that parking is valet only and is charged at a rate of $27 per night. Chuan Spa at The Langham Huntington, Pasadena " Now Open! The new Chuan Spa, a haven of wellness and transformation, features 12 treatment rooms including a couples suite and VIP suite, locker facilities with showers, sauna, herbal steam and whirlpool, a fitness center and full service salon. The luxurious spa offers signature treatments inspired by Traditional Chinese Medicine (TCM) and cutting-edge skin care technology such as HydraFacial MD and Mistral LHE. Product lines including Kerstin Florian, PRIORI, ZIRH and Deborah Lippmann have created custom services that can only be found at Chuan Spa. The Fitness Center offers TechnoGym equipment and scheduled classes including yoga, Tai Chi and both Mat/Reformer Pilates. Dining options include The Royce | Wood-Fired Steakhouse featuring the finest selection of seasonal aged USDA Prime Cuts, Australian Wagyu and Japanese Kobe-Style Beef, expertly prepared on a wood-fired grill and an interactive Sunday Market Brunch; The Terrace, a casual restaurant serving California bistro-style fare and a Sunday A La Carte Brunch; The Lobby Lounge, offering the Tiffin at The Langham Signature Afternoon Tea and Chocolate Tea with picturesque views of the Horseshoe Gardens and San Marino; and The Tap Room, which serves handmade cocktails, artisanal beers on tap and innovative bar bites. The hotel is in close proximity to world-class museums and institutions, shopping, dining and activities such as Walt Disney Concert Hall, Huntington Library & Gardens, Norton Simon Museum, The Getty Center, Beverly Hills, LA Live, Hollywood, The Rose Bowl and more.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles Rooms

Deluxe Double
Room with 2 double beds including Air conditioning, alarm clock, bathrobe, bathroom amenities, cable/ satellite TV, color TV, disabled facilities, ensuite/ private bathrooms, hairdryer, heating, internet access, iron/ ironing board, mini bar, non smoking rooms, pay-per-view movies, radio, room service, safe in room, tea and coffee making facilities, telephone, valet service and voice mail.
Deluxe King
Room with one king bed including Air conditioning, alarm clock, bathrobe, bathroom amenities, cable/ satellite TV, color TV, disabled facilities, ensuite/ private bathrooms, hairdryer, heating, internet access, iron/ ironing board, mini bar, non smoking rooms, pay-per-view movies, radio, room service, safe in room, tea and coffee making facilities, telephone, valet service and voice mail.
Classic Double
Room with 2 double beds including Air conditioning, alarm clock, bathrobe, bathroom amenities, cable/ satellite TV, color TV, disabled facilities, ensuite/ private bathrooms, hairdryer, heating, internet access, iron/ ironing board, mini bar, non smoking rooms, pay-per-view movies, radio, room service, safe in room, tea and coffee making facilities, telephone, valet service and voice mail.
Classic King
Room with one king bed including Air conditioning, alarm clock, bathrobe, bathroom amenities, cable/ satellite TV, color TV, disabled facilities, ensuite/ private bathrooms, hairdryer, heating, internet access, iron/ ironing board, mini bar, non smoking rooms, pay-per-view movies, radio, room service, safe in room, tea and coffee making facilities, telephone, valet service and voice mail.
Lanai Accommodations
Room with one king bed or 2 double beds including Air conditioning, alarm clock, bathrobe, bathroom amenities, cable/ satellite TV, color TV, disabled facilities, ensuite/ private bathrooms, hairdryer, heating, internet access, iron/ ironing board, mini bar, non smoking rooms, pay-per-view movies, radio, room service, safe in room, tea and coffee making facilities, telephone, valet service and voice mail. These rooms are in the Lanai building located poolside with large balconies or patios. These accommodations offer view of outdoor heated pool and historic picture bridge.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Rose Bowl: 3.4 mi

Dining

The Terrace
The Terrace serves breakfast, lunch and dinner daily and a delectable breakfast buffet and Dim Sum Sunday Brunch. The comforting California bistro-style menu is comprised of seasonal and sustainable California cuisine, offering a variety of choices that will delight both the discerning and casual diner. The menu also contains Chuan Body & Soul dishes, which have a greater emphasis on health and nutrition. The Terrace's outdoor patio offers guests lovely alfresco dining with views of the Picture Bridge and pool, and provides the perfect setting for a business lunch or relaxing dinner. Dim Sum Brunch Sundays from 10:00am - 2:00pm $42 per person / $55 includes bottomless Mimosas Enjoy authentic Dim Sum, Eggs and Omelets, Breakfast Meats and Potatoes, Fresh Fruit, Cereal and Pastries, Smoked Fish and Cheese, Orange Juice, Coffee and Tea.
The Lobby Lounge
Originally the main entrance to the hotel, The Lobby Lounge is now home to the Langham's Signature Afternoon Tea, served Thursday through Saturday afternoons. On Sunday's, indulge yourself in Chocolate Afternoon Tea, where tradition takes on a chocolate twist. Afternoon Tea in the Lobby Lounge Monday - Wednesday from 1:00pm - 3:00pm Thursday - Saturday from 1:00pm - 4:00pm $39 per person / $59 includes champagne Chocolate Afternoon Tea on Sundays from 12:00pm - 3:00pm $59 per person
The Tap Room
The Tap Room, named after the hotel's first bar dating back to the 1930s shortly following Prohibition. The Tap Room is a stylish and inviting space featuring classic and innovative handmade cocktails, an eclectic wine selection, premium artisanal beers on tap from around the world and upscale, innovative bar food. Enjoy Live Music Thursday - Saturday Nights (until 1:00am on Friday & Saturday)
The Hideaway Pool Bar and The Terrace
Sizzling BBQ Menu at The Hideaway Pool Bar and The Terrace Available Thursday - Saturday for Dinner and Saturday & Sunday for Lunch, Labor Day through Memorial Day Happy Hour Drinks at The Hideaway Pool Bar Drink Specials Thursday - Saturday from 6:00pm - 9:00pm Wine Tasting and Tapas on Friday evenings.
The Royce | Wood-fired Steakhouse
The Royce | Wood-Fired Steakhouse features the finest selection of seasonal aged USDA Prime cuts, Australian Wagyu and Kobe-style Japanese Beef expertly prepared on a wood-fired grill to sear-in maximum flavor and juiciness. The menu is accented by creative side dishes and the freshest local and global selections of seafood. An interactive brunch experience like no other, including bountiful food displays and chef action stations inside the kitchen offering made-to-order brunch delicacies such as Frittatas, Steak and Eggs Benedict, Cote de Boeuf, Briche French toast, Heirloom Tomatoes and Decadent Desserts. Unlimited Mimosas and Bloody Marys in the White Wine Room. Sundays 11:00am - 3:00pm, $85 per person / $65 without cocktails

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (49)

Ratings and reviews for The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
49 out of 49
Amenities:
4.6
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
O S A R C M Wangs
The Colony, Texas
Oct 30, 2012

Our stay in Pasadena

Outstanding amenities, the room was neat clean and quiet. The grounds were beautiful and very well kept. We were visiting our daughter so we only ate one meal at the hotel, a breakfast, it was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

shop with a friend or relitive who lives in the area

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
bluequest
Business
Victoria, BC, Canada
Mar 27, 2012

Fancy but not good at all

Only one restaurant serves breakfast so we have to wait 35 minutes outside. Garden was blocked due to wedding on Saturday. pool is in outdoor and cold. Fitness center is another building across parking lot. Room #444 we stayed have adjacent door with another suite so there is no sound insulation, I had to call security at 1:50am to make ladies in that suite to turn off music and stop them talking. What a five star hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Huntington Library.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
netts
Business
los angeles
May 26, 2009

overpriced and nothing special

nothing special for its reputation. the room was not ready when we arrived and we had to wait 2 hours for it to be ready. We paid extra for a garden / mountain view and were in a tiny room on the second floor which had a very distant view of the mountains. Everything was overpriced and it was overrun with weddings so you couldnt really enjoy any of the grounds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SON3
Business
Sacramento, CA
Jul 26, 2010

OK Hotel but not great

The building design is a classic. However the rooms are outdated. The service is inconsistent. There was a patron that ordered room service and the leftover food was left in the hallway for two days with the sweet sour pork beginning to literally sour. The valet service scratched my car!! Not a little scratch but a very big one. We didn't see the damage until the next day. This place is great for events like weddings. DO NOT eat at the Terrace resturant!! This place is way gross and they should be ashamed to serve garbage breakfast food. The Dining Room resturant, however, is spectacular. I would not recommend this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
the bar was awesome tho
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Feb 17, 2012

Bizarre...

We spent the night here as a one-night getaway from our little one. Upon checking in, we found that it appeared that someone had used the room to freshen up (there were many events happening at the hotel that day) but that they hadn't really cleaned up. The bathmat was on the floor, there was a food ticket on the floor, a robe was hanging on the back of the door, no hand towels, and most telling was the used plastic cup on the desk. It took two calls for housekeeping to do anything about this. They (supposedly) couldn't move us to another room as they were filled to capacity. Then later we found that the heater didn't work. It took another two calls to finally get someone to our room at 10:30 at night to fix it. This was a totally bizarre experience for us since everything else about the hotel was beautiful, polished and well-tended. Upon checkout, they did discount our stay somewhat to make up for the negative experiences though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wedded25years
Business
Riverside, CA, USA
Apr 21, 2012

Hotel was beautiful - room was average

The hotel and grounds were lovely, however, for a FIVE STAR hotel, our room was average....three star quality. The bathtub was cracked around the drain, and the shower head was horrible. Decor was very sparse, not warm and inviting. (It looked like furniture had possibly been removed as there were very empty spaces.) Also, I had informed the registration desk this was our 25th wedding anniversary, and they barely even acknowledged that I mentioned it, let alone make any minute gesture to make it special. Hotel was close to Huntington Library and Gardens...which is beautiful, however, unless I get a better deal than I got this time, I do not think we will return to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

If you do go here, I recommend asking for an early check-in. Regular check-in is 3:00pm, however our room was not ready till nearly 5:00pm.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TravelerLV
Business
Pasadena CA
Feb 22, 2013

Overpriced and Ineffective

I've stayed at this hotel four times because it's near family and friends, and the last stay was over Christmas. The room rate is high for what you get, and charges for extras like parking, Internet access, and laundry services are exhorbitant. Hotel staff is generally slow, sometimes rude, and occasionally criminal - I had money stolen from my room over Christmas. Management did nothing about it and was unresponsive to the situation, as well as officious and rude to me. I don't recommend staying here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
wishing they had more staff at check in
Business
southern california
May 2, 2011

weekend of gardens

nice facility; gardens disappointing; need attention; food expensive and very mediocre

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
drosenseo
Business
dana point, ca
Jun 26, 2014

not so good afterall

not so good : -having a photo shoot right next door. banging on the walls -no ice machine that worked on my floor -loud noise from early in the morning -not being told at front desk of promo with special on spa credit, valet parking credit and free robes i wont be going back, not a place you can rest. i feel i was ripped off and had to stack pillows on my head to even sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
40years.a.visitor
Business
Great Falls, VA, USA
Feb 24, 2012

Wonderful experience in Pasadena

The classes at the Spa for Yoga and Pilates with Teresa were top notch. The fitness facility also first rate. The hotel has beautiful grounds and is a very nice base to use for exploring Pasadena and close to downtown LA. I did not like paying $25 a night for parking. I have been coming to this hotel for 40 years and the charge for parking has been put in place by the Langham. I do not recall this with the Ritz Huntington or the Huntington Sheraton - the predecessor hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Norton Simon is one of the great museums of the World - not to be missed

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sue Bee 14
Business
Aurora, IL
Apr 1, 2013

Loved the Langum

Beautiful Old Hollywood property. Lovely grounds and hotel. The staff was top notch. The on property dinning was very expensive and somewhat limited if you stay extends past a few dates. It would be excellent to have a small cafe for coffee and snacks instead of only sit down options. Beyond that it was a great area to retn the bikes, tour Pasedena, enjoy museums.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top