The Horizon Hotel

4 stars
1050 East Palm Canyon Drive, Palm Springs, CA 92264
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
9 reviews
Amazing!

Perfect and classy. Small hotel but big rooms. Great pool and lovely breakfast. We would love to... See full review

  • inMLA
  • Apr 3, 2014
Great Quiet MidCentury Hideaway in the middle of it all!

Everything was done smoothly & very well here. Beautiful, efficient, thoughtful & considerate in... See full review

  • Mid Century Purist
  • Mar 30, 2014
Architecturally Significant in a Secluded Desert Setting Designed in 1952 by architect William Cody, this restored historic hotel offers upscale and spacious accommodations in a secluded setting amongst a dramatic Mt. San Jacinto backdrop. The bungalow- style hotel sits on over two acres and includes 24 modern simplistically-appointed guest rooms. With its iconic mid-century architecture and rich Hollywood history, the property today includes many modern in-room amenities, a room-service delivery of a deluxe continental breakfast daily, and always free Wi-Fi usage. Retro style bikes are also available for day usage. A combination of a serene surround poolside and impeccable hospitality makes this retreat the perfect boutique-hotel experience just minutes to the downtown village of Palm Springs. Please call the hotel directly if arriving after 8pm. Because the hotel does not have an enclosure around the pool and bar area, all guests must be 21 years of age or older.

Hotel Map

33.8014 -116.5354
Area served
Palm Springs
Nearby airports
Palm Springs International Airport
Area description
Located in the Southern California desert and famous Coachella Valley, Palm Springs is a popular resort community approximately 110 miles east of Los Angeles. The downtown village of Palm Springs lies at the foot of the majestic mountain peaks of 10,834-foot-tall Mount San Jacinto. The city offers an array of attractions for all interests, from outdoor adventure, art, architecture, eclectic cultural interests, gaming, golfing, and entertainment to world-class shopping. The village atmosphere of Palm Springs has been preserved and embellished over the years. The palm-lined streets invite visitors to explore boutique shops, art galleries and dining establishments all while soaking up the sunshine.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Horizon Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Horizon Hotel Rooms

Queen Standard
These bright and comfortable rooms have one queen platform bed and a bathroom with either a walk-in shower or shower/tub combination. Each with a private patio with varied views of the mountain, pool area, or desert landscape. The room includes LCD TV, coffee makers with complimentary coffee or tea, mini-refrigerator with items to purchase, complimentary wireless internet access, irons, robes, In-room safe, and complimentary self-parking. A complimentary continental breakfast is delivered to rooms daily.
King Standard
These larger-proportioned rooms have one king-sized platform bed. Highlights in the bathroom include a full walk-in shower with glass-walled atrium showcasing the desert landscape. Each with a private patio with varied views of the mountain, pool area, or desert landscape. The room includes LCD TV, coffee makers with complimentary coffee or tea, mini-refrigerator with items to purchase, complimentary wireless internet access, irons, robes, In-room safe, and complimentary self-parking. A complimentary continental breakfast is delivered to rooms daily.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (9)

Ratings and reviews for The Horizon Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
9 out of 9
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.2

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EcoLuxe Traveler
St. Louis, MO
Oct 22, 2012

Good value for an expensive market

Horizon hotel had everything we needed. However, do not be expecting bells and whistles. There is a gate to access the hotel which requires a key card. This made me wonder if this part of Palm Springs is not super safe. Nonetheless, the rooms were spacious and clean. Breakfast in the morning is VERY simple (cereal, bagel, juice and coffee) but, again, just enough. With the going rate of other boutique hotels in the area, I would definitely recommend someone stay here. Make sure you get a room with a patio facing the pool. Some have a patio that faces the parking lot which would have been a bummer. They would do well to have in-room bathrobes as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

40 minute drive to Joshua Tree is well worth it. Beautiful views. Hikes of differing lengths and once in a lifetime experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
inMLA
Business
CA
Apr 3, 2014

Amazing!

Perfect and classy. Small hotel but big rooms. Great pool and lovely breakfast. We would love to come back!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mid Century Purist
Business
Coastal, Maine
Mar 30, 2014

Great Quiet MidCentury Hideaway in the middle of it all!

Everything was done smoothly & very well here. Beautiful, efficient, thoughtful & considerate in every way. The only thing that would keep some people away that I could see is that the bathroom shelves were in serious need of refinishing & the shower/tub was very worse for wear-- with huge chunks (grapefruit sized) of enamel missing in the tub, w/stained grout. While I liked the place so much I did not let it phase me & it may have been the only vintage tub in that condition, maybe the more particular folks would want to double check in advance that they'll not get a tub in that state.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

As the main restaurant strip in Palm Springs is a bit of a tourist Zoo, like a boardwalk (unless you like it that crowded) I would do take away & enjoy the atmosphere of your room patio instead. Or there is a retro/hip hotel restaurant a block East you could walk to.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JoJim
Business
East Bay, CA
Feb 11, 2014

Gem in the desert

Had an amazing time here after having an awful experience at another hotel close by. Very relaxing starting with breakfast being delivered to our patio every morning. Can't wait to return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EcoLuxe Traveler
Business
St. Louis, MO
Oct 22, 2012

Good value for an expensive market

Horizon hotel had everything we needed. However, do not be expecting bells and whistles. There is a gate to access the hotel which requires a key card. This made me wonder if this part of Palm Springs is not super safe. Nonetheless, the rooms were spacious and clean. Breakfast in the morning is VERY simple (cereal, bagel, juice and coffee) but, again, just enough. With the going rate of other boutique hotels in the area, I would definitely recommend someone stay here. Make sure you get a room with a patio facing the pool. Some have a patio that faces the parking lot which would have been a bummer. They would do well to have in-room bathrobes as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

40 minute drive to Joshua Tree is well worth it. Beautiful views. Hikes of differing lengths and once in a lifetime experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
funkyzee
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Feb 27, 2012

Great escape

We stayed there for a night and had a wonderful time. This hotel is not like a typical hotel. Each room is a sectioned off unit (one floor) and has a patio. We liked our room, which is at the back and not facing the pool, as we had more privacy while having breakfast at the patio looking out the mountains. Overall, very satisfying stay. Great for those looking for some quiet and relaxing time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Collins, CO
Jun 2, 2011

Can't wait to stay again!

Fun alternative to the typical chain hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jan 17, 2011

Super trendy

I've been to Palm Springs several times and this has been my favorite hotel by far. The rooms are clean and the decor is very cool mid-century modern. It's a small one story hotel, so nobody is walking above you and they don't allow kids which is great. The outdoor showers are wonderful and breakfast delivered poolside (for free) is a great perk. Overall I would highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 1, 2010

Great, great place!

This hotel is retro without being campy-- you don't feel faintly foolish being here. This hotel is hip without being a scene-- you ARE cool enough to stay here. This hotel is quiet, but not dead. The service is wonderful, casual and personal. The rooms/beds were very comfortable and superbly clean-- no weird smells. My favourite hotel experience so far.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 5, 2010

just chill

Our reason for this trip was to just get away. We only stayed one night and chose this hotel because of the minimal guests and the pool. The pool was great. It was like having our own space. I am sure it gets noisy and crowded on weekends but we had a mid week trip. My only complaint was the room darkening blinds in the room. They didn't pull shut enough so by 7:00 am there was sooo much light in the room that we were forced to get moving. No problem there. We had room service delivered poolside at 8am and then we went for a swim before heading back home. By the way water should b e complimentary in the summer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We drove through Joshua Tree National Park. It was 113 degrees outside so walking seemed a stretch but the park is amazing and their are a ton of photo ops. It took about 40 minutes to get there but it was worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top