$93 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs

2 stars
1875 N. PALM CANYON DR., 1875 N. PALM CANYON DR., Palm Springs, CA 92262
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
175 reviews
Wonderful Getaway

My husband and I went on a 5 day get away and stayed at the Garden Vista Hotel. This is the only... See full review

  • Kaialani
  • Jun 4, 2014
Time for a freshen up.

This is the 4th time we've stayed at this hotel (previously The Shilo Inn) so we knew what to... See full review

  • Gruncle mick
  • Oct 24, 2013
Budget-friendly, cozy hotel close to Palm Springs shopping and dining

The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs offers a bright, welcoming atmosphere and budget-friendly amenities, all geared toward helping guests to relax and enjoy Palm Springs. The hotel boasts a beautiful courtyard with a gazebo, two pools, two whirlpools, sauna and steam room. Only minutes from fine dining and shopping options, Garden Vista Hotel is perfectly located for visitors who want to see the best of the area.

Highlights
  • Located close to Palm Springs shopping and dining options
  • Free Wi-Fi and complimentary breakfast
  • Complimentary ariport shuttle
  • Free unlimited local and domestic long distance calls
Rooms

All 124 guest rooms and suites at The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs are non-smoking and have either a balcony or patio that faces the courtyard and pools. Rooms include free Wi-Fi, microwave, mini refrigerator, coffee maker, cable TV with Showtime, air conditioning, iron and ironing board, alarm clock radio, and hair dryer. Decorated in contemporary furnishings, the rooms are spacious and bright, with a table-for-two and comfortable chairs or couches.

Property features

The Garden Vista Hotel helps guests get a good start to the day by offering free breakfast in the hotel's dining area. For a quick snack, fruit and popcorn are available in the lobby throughout the day.


The 100% smoke-free hotel offers a stunning view of the area's mountain range, and guests can take in the natural beauty while swimming in one of the hotel's two pools or lounging in a deck chair. The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs features a sauna, steam room and fitness center.


For special events, the hotel has meeting facilities that can accommodate up to 60 people.

Transportation
  • Palm Springs International Airport (4 mi/6.4 km)

Nearby attractions
  • Palm Springs Convention Center (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Living Desert Wildlife Park (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Palm Springs Desert Museum (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Palm Springs Aerial Tramway (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Oasis Deluxe Water Park (4 mi/6.4 km)  
Business
  • Meeting facilities
  • Free Wi-Fi

 

Policies and fees
  • There is a $25 USD fee per stay for up to two dogs per room

Policies
  • Credit card required upon check-in
  • Children 12 years old and under stay free with an adult.
  • There is a $25 USD fee per stay for up to two dogs per room.

  

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

33.8459 -116.5479
Area served
Palm Springs, Indio, Cathedral City, Palm Desert, Rancho Mirage, Coachella
Nearby airports
Municipal, (PSP), 4.00, MI, SE;
Area description
Resort, Conveniently located on Highway 111 close to downtown Palm Spri

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs Rooms

2 Queen 2nd Floor
Description not provided
2 Queen 1st Floor
Description not provided
1 King Bed 1st Floor
Description not provided
1 King Bed 2nd Floor
Description not provided
1 King Bed with Kitchenette 2nd
Description not provided
1 King Bed with Kitchenette 1st
Description not provided
2 Queen Beds with Kitchenette 1s
Description not provided
1 King Bed Handicap
Description not provided
2 Queen Beds Handicap
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Live entertainment
Casino
Golf
Steam bath
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Ramp access to buildings
Room
Television with cable
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Bathroom telephone
Sitting area
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Bath tub

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (175)

Ratings and reviews for The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
27 out of 175
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MsGaby69
Los angeles california
Oct 22, 2013

RELAXATION WEEKEND GETAWAY

It was perfect for my best friend and I. We simply wanted some time to chill and relax by the pool. We were able to get a room with a view to the adult pool. It was awesome. Our goal to relax was accomplished!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tinkerfreak805
Oxnard, CA
Sep 9, 2013

Good getaway

The staff was friendly, room was in a good location right next to the pool, not crowded, good atmosphere

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Drive down the same street couple miles and one will find shopping and entertainment

Review of The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pro Soccer Player
Glendale, CA
Aug 9, 2013

Decent hotel for the price

I had a good time at the hotel. The room was comfortable enough. It is not a very good hotel but it is worth the price. Needs some upgrades.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MaiMD
Rancho Cucamonga
Feb 13, 2013

Close to downtown, perfect for if you're doing the "TDPS" :)

It's an old hotel, but very clean, strong water pressure, staff were very friendly. The only negative thing I can say was when I called a few days prior to my stay and requested to change my room from 1 King to 2 queens. The hotel staff I spoke to told me that I will be getting the 2 queen beds, but didn't :( Overall, I will go back, recommend the hotel to my friends :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Rhonda from South Dakota
South Dakota
Aug 13, 2012

mistake

We were put on the 2nd floor because we booked through an online source. We are 2 older ladies and had lug haul our luggage upstairs in 117 degree heat! Ice Makers were empty and air conditioners could not cool off the room. We booked this hotel because it was close to the airport and offered a free shuttle......but the shuttle van was out of service. The staff was OK, but they were also not helpful, sympathetic, apologizing or understanding. Also, the power went out for 2+ hours because of overload.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sunnybee
Los Angeles
Jun 11, 2012

Overnight Trip

We came in for a quick girl's weekend trip. Checked in at about 2:00 p.m. at first we got the impression that the place was more of a motel than a hotel, but we were pleasantly surprised by the clean and well decorated rooms. The adult pool area was nicely maintained with plenty of loungeers and chairs. the weather was too hot to use the sauna or steam room but I'm sure in the winter they are an awesome ++. Overall we enjoyed the proximity to the Spa Casino, the popular shops on the strip and Tahquitz hiking trails:)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mishaela
San Diego, CA, USA
Apr 10, 2012

Way overpriced for what you get

Located about a mile away from the bustling center of town, the Shilo Inn is a budget hotel that charges a nightly rate akin to that of a resort or swanky boutique hotel. The rooms are a good size, albeit somewhat outdated, and they were fairly clean. The first thing we noticed was that there was only 1 bath towel and 1 washcloth for each of us, with no handtowels. We immediately called down to the front desk to ask for more towels and were informed that we could each have 1 more towel. We also noticed that each bed had two very low quality pillows (the soft, squishy kind where you lay your head down and it practically touches the mattress), so we also asked for more pillows. Again we were informed that we could have 1 more pillow each. It made us feel like they either did not have enough to go around (and the hotel was by no means close to being full) or they thought we were going to make off with their pillows and towels. Either way, it was not a good start to what was supposed to be a nice, relaxing vacation. The next morning, we went down and enjoyed some of their complimentary continental breakfast. It is in the lobby, in the corner, and could certainly be spread out a bit more as I don't particularly care for people I don't know reaching over my food. They had toast, bagels, muffins, hard boiled eggs, assorted cereals and one kind of milk (2%, I believe), Activia yogurt, fruit cups, butter, cream cheese and assorted jellies, coffee, hot water, decaf, and a machine that did mochas, lattes or french vanilla coffee. On a side table were apples, bananas and oranges. Everything was fresh, so that was good. After we ate and showered, we walked down to the center of town. It's a long walk, but okay if it's not too hot. We did see taxis driving along so we knew we could hail a taxi if necessary and it probably would not have cost too much to make it back to the hotel. We returned to the hotel a few hours later and went to the pool. They have an adult pool and a children's pool, which is very nice. After we went to the lobby to pick up 1 pool towel each (they charge you $10 per towel if you don't return them to the lobby because you check them out under your room number), we hit the adult pool. That was the best part of our trip. The pool area was clean, the temperature of the pool was perfect, and there was plenty of seating, both in the sun and shade.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Palm Springs, CA
Jun 27, 2011

Hotel review

Everything was great. The only thing was the drains were a little slow in the bathroom-nothing too tragic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The pool was amazing and just steps away from our room. It was a great weekend of relaxation with friends. The hotel staff was very helpful and answered all of our questions about the area-dining, bars, etc.

Review of The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Salt Lake City, UT
Mar 18, 2011

Good Experience

We enjoyed staying at the Shilo Inn. It has beautiful grounds. The pool area was great. The room was nice. The breakfast was good. The only bad thing was that the air conditioner was noisy but I didn't run it during the middle of the night. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
comp1
Lancaster
Dec 29, 2010

Great Price on a Great Location

Great location, just minutes from Aerial Tramway, right next door to a great inexpensive and very popular breakfast joint! Rooms are spacious and courtyard view is great. I would recommend you give this one a try!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Short drive to many downtown spots for dinner or lunch.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search