$79 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 25, 2014 Check-out: Jul 27, 2014

The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs

2 stars
1875 N. PALM CANYON DR., 1875 N. PALM CANYON DR., Palm Springs, CA 92262
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
291 reviews
Wonderful Getaway

My husband and I went on a 5 day get away and stayed at the Garden Vista Hotel. This is the only... See full review

  • Kaialani
  • Jun 4, 2014
Time for a freshen up.

This is the 4th time we've stayed at this hotel (previously The Shilo Inn) so we knew what to... See full review

  • Gruncle mick
  • Oct 24, 2013
Budget-friendly, cozy hotel close to Palm Springs shopping and dining

The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs offers a bright, welcoming atmosphere and budget-friendly amenities, all geared toward helping guests to relax and enjoy Palm Springs. The hotel boasts a beautiful courtyard with a gazebo, two pools, two whirlpools, sauna and steam room. Only minutes from fine dining and shopping options, Garden Vista Hotel is perfectly located for visitors who want to see the best of the area.

Highlights
  • Located close to Palm Springs shopping and dining options
  • Free Wi-Fi and complimentary breakfast
  • Complimentary ariport shuttle
  • Free unlimited local and domestic long distance calls
Rooms

All 124 guest rooms and suites at The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs are non-smoking and have either a balcony or patio that faces the courtyard and pools. Rooms include free Wi-Fi, microwave, mini refrigerator, coffee maker, cable TV with Showtime, air conditioning, iron and ironing board, alarm clock radio, and hair dryer. Decorated in contemporary furnishings, the rooms are spacious and bright, with a table-for-two and comfortable chairs or couches.

Property features

The Garden Vista Hotel helps guests get a good start to the day by offering free breakfast in the hotel's dining area. For a quick snack, fruit and popcorn are available in the lobby throughout the day.


The 100% smoke-free hotel offers a stunning view of the area's mountain range, and guests can take in the natural beauty while swimming in one of the hotel's two pools or lounging in a deck chair. The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs features a sauna, steam room and fitness center.


For special events, the hotel has meeting facilities that can accommodate up to 60 people.

Transportation
  • Palm Springs International Airport (4 mi/6.4 km)

Nearby attractions
  • Palm Springs Convention Center (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Living Desert Wildlife Park (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Palm Springs Desert Museum (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Palm Springs Aerial Tramway (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Oasis Deluxe Water Park (4 mi/6.4 km)  
Business
  • Meeting facilities
  • Free Wi-Fi

 

Policies and fees
  • There is a $25 USD fee per stay for up to two dogs per room

Policies
  • Credit card required upon check-in
  • Children 12 years old and under stay free with an adult.
  • There is a $25 USD fee per stay for up to two dogs per room.

  

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs Rooms

2 Queen 2nd Floor
Description not provided
2 Queen 1st Floor
Description not provided
1 King Bed 1st Floor
Description not provided
1 King Bed 2nd Floor
Description not provided
1 King Bed with Kitchenette 2nd
Description not provided
1 King Bed with Kitchenette 1st
Description not provided
2 Queen Beds with Kitchenette 1s
Description not provided
1 King Bed Handicap
Description not provided
2 Queen Beds Handicap
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Live entertainment
Casino
Golf
Steam bath
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Ramp access to buildings
Room
Television with cable
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Bathroom telephone
Sitting area
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

33.8459 -116.5479
Area served
Palm Springs, Indio, Cathedral City, Palm Desert, Rancho Mirage, Coachella
Nearby airports
Municipal, (PSP), 4.00, MI, SE;
Area description
Resort, Conveniently located on Highway 111 close to downtown Palm Spri

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (291)

Ratings and reviews for The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
74 out of 291
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dnce Convention Mom
Palm Springs
May 6, 2014

Nothing Special. Floors Dirty!

We stayed in a King room. The room layout is nice and very spacious. That is the nicest thing I can say about this hotel. The floors are tile which I assumed would be cleaner than carpet for my toddler to crawl on since they are mopped almost daily. I was wrong! After 5 minutes of being on the floor, my child's feet and knees were black and I am not exaggerating. The bed was o.k. but you could feel the springs pressing on you. They have 2 pool areas which is nice but one is for adults only. The family pool was very dirty with tree debris as well as the patio area. We several attempts at getting it clean to no avail. The adult pool area is clean. The continental breakfast is o.k. nothing fancy. My friend had a dbl queen room with nothing but problems. TV did not work, as well as the microwave and telephone. One lamp was without a light bulb and shower soaps/lotion dispenser was unlabeled. To sum it up the biggest drawbacks are extremely dirty floors, and dirty family pool area. Room layout is nice, bathroom is clean but room furniture is dingy dirty. I don't expect anything fancy for under $100 a night but I do expect clean and functional. I would not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jennichanga
Lexington, KY
Feb 4, 2014

Great location, good price

The room was very large, nice view, very close to the Palm Canyon Drive strip/shops.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
britmorty
stockton,california
Nov 21, 2013

rooms not clean and old

There were four rooms in our party. Ours had pink soap scum all over the shower curtain, area rug was dirty, room smelled like smoke. One room had mildew in the bathroom and microwave didn't work, had ants & smelled of chemicals. pillow didn't have a pillow case and was stained, the sheets had grease on them. My sons room bedspread was stain, sheets dirty, rug dirty

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Majikaa
Apple Valley CA
Mar 25, 2013

Bugs!

In a word.....BUGS!!! Ewwww! After seeing two cockroach-esque like bugs in the middle of the night while using the bathroom, we awoke to find a pleather a of ants attempting to attack our infants bottle warmer on the counter. Coupled with the nats that flew out of the unusable fridge upon inspection, you could say this place was a bug haven. The pools and well kept grounds made the overall picture pretty, but people should be aware of what they are sleeping with; and I'm not talking about your significant other!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Ask the locals!

Review of The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
eddiev g
los angeles, ca
Mar 19, 2013

let down

this hotel used to be a nice place when it was the shilo. Whoever took over is letting it go big time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jcannon
la mesa
May 27, 2012

Just an avergae place to stay

Hotel was clean and staff friendly. Gym was a joke, please do not go there expecting to get a solid workout. Pool was so disgusting we did not even swim. Pool area was nice enough just seemed the pool had not been cleaned. Continental breakfast was pretty lame.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Happy Grandma
West Point, California
Mar 22, 2012

Long needed vacation

Great grounds, birds singing, two pools and hot tubs was marvelous. Room spacious with furniture that made it feel homie!! It was amazing to see snow on the mountains with surrounding palm trees! The only cliche was not being able to communicate with maid to bring a wash rag or towel as were missing and front desk ran out of yogart the last day. I would go back again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Billy Reed was great across the street for old type of lovely eatery! Loved it with the fish and turtles in front of entrance. Good food and for the price.

Review of The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ironman40
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Feb 20, 2012

quick and fun getaway

The room was clean with a fridge and microwave, continental breakfast was a bonus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

about a mile from downtown palm springs shopping and dining

Review of The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dhppq
Orange, CA, USA
Dec 28, 2011

Best budget one

Clean, comfortable with all I need, like wifi, microwave, pool, free parking... Of course, break first... Free. Highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SingleMom2011
Vista, CA, USA
Dec 27, 2011

It is affordable which include all you need.

We picked this hotel because it's close to the tram. We come here just for the snow trip. The room is pretty good size for the family. It includes a microwave, a small coffee maker ,a hair dryer which come very handy. The furniture and room decoration looks a bit old but clean. The price includes the continental breakfast which is very reasonable. The heated family pool is a good size. The jacuzzi tub was hot but the jet did not work other than that we're very happy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top