$49 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 25, 2015 Check-out: Jan 28, 2015

The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs

2 stars
1875 N. PALM CANYON DR., 1875 N. PALM CANYON DR., Palm Springs, CA 92262
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
173 reviews
Wonderful Getaway

My husband and I went on a 5 day get away and stayed at the Garden Vista Hotel. This is the only... See full review

  • Kaialani
  • Jun 4, 2014
Time for a freshen up.

This is the 4th time we've stayed at this hotel (previously The Shilo Inn) so we knew what to... See full review

  • Gruncle mick
  • Oct 24, 2013
Budget-friendly, cozy hotel close to Palm Springs shopping and dining

The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs offers a bright, welcoming atmosphere and budget-friendly amenities, all geared toward helping guests to relax and enjoy Palm Springs. The hotel boasts a beautiful courtyard with a gazebo, two pools, two whirlpools, sauna and steam room. Only minutes from fine dining and shopping options, Garden Vista Hotel is perfectly located for visitors who want to see the best of the area.

Highlights
  • Located close to Palm Springs shopping and dining options
  • Free Wi-Fi and complimentary breakfast
  • Complimentary ariport shuttle
  • Free unlimited local and domestic long distance calls
Rooms

All 124 guest rooms and suites at The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs are non-smoking and have either a balcony or patio that faces the courtyard and pools. Rooms include free Wi-Fi, microwave, mini refrigerator, coffee maker, cable TV with Showtime, air conditioning, iron and ironing board, alarm clock radio, and hair dryer. Decorated in contemporary furnishings, the rooms are spacious and bright, with a table-for-two and comfortable chairs or couches.

Property features

The Garden Vista Hotel helps guests get a good start to the day by offering free breakfast in the hotel's dining area. For a quick snack, fruit and popcorn are available in the lobby throughout the day.


The 100% smoke-free hotel offers a stunning view of the area's mountain range, and guests can take in the natural beauty while swimming in one of the hotel's two pools or lounging in a deck chair. The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs features a sauna, steam room and fitness center.


For special events, the hotel has meeting facilities that can accommodate up to 60 people.

Transportation
  • Palm Springs International Airport (4 mi/6.4 km)

Nearby attractions
  • Palm Springs Convention Center (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Living Desert Wildlife Park (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Palm Springs Desert Museum (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Palm Springs Aerial Tramway (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Oasis Deluxe Water Park (4 mi/6.4 km)  
Business
  • Meeting facilities
  • Free Wi-Fi

 

Policies and fees
  • There is a $25 USD fee per stay for up to two dogs per room

Policies
  • Credit card required upon check-in
  • Children 12 years old and under stay free with an adult.
  • There is a $25 USD fee per stay for up to two dogs per room.

  

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs Rooms

2 Queen 2nd Floor
Description not provided
2 Queen 1st Floor
Description not provided
1 King Bed 1st Floor
Description not provided
1 King Bed 2nd Floor
Description not provided
1 King Bed with Kitchenette 2nd
Description not provided
1 King Bed with Kitchenette 1st
Description not provided
2 Queen Beds with Kitchenette 1s
Description not provided
1 King Bed Handicap
Description not provided
2 Queen Beds Handicap
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Live entertainment
Casino
Golf
Steam bath
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Ramp access to buildings
Room
Television with cable
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Bathroom telephone
Sitting area
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Bath tub

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (173)

Ratings and reviews for The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
173 out of 173
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Salt Lake City, UT
Mar 18, 2011

Good Experience

We enjoyed staying at the Shilo Inn. It has beautiful grounds. The pool area was great. The room was nice. The breakfast was good. The only bad thing was that the air conditioner was noisy but I didn't run it during the middle of the night. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Connecticut
Mar 14, 2011

Great value

Very accomodating. Allowed me to check in early. Did not use many of the amenities as I was there mainly to attend the tennis tournament, but the location is extremely convenient to highway and downtown and airport

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Long Beach, CA
Mar 9, 2011

Surprise in Palm Springs

We found the room to be an excellent value. It was large and comfortable, and the heating (rarely needed in Palm Springs) worked perfectly. There was a bit of an unusual oder at one point, but seemed to dissipate. Our only complaint was with control of the water in the sinks. In both sinks, control of the volume and temperature was very difficult -- almost impossible. Improvement would probably require a new faucet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Rick's Restaurant, just north of the hotel, is an excellent place for breakfast or lunch. We didn't try it for dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Covina, Ca
Mar 7, 2011

Just ok

The room was very clean but the room was very cold not warm and inviting no rugs just tile floors and beds on wheels which the slightes move would make the bed roll on the tile floors also the only throw rug in the room was filthy.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

take the wheels off the beds and get a carpet

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mesa ronz
Business
Mesa, AZ
Feb 27, 2011

Great Price (book early-save 50%)

Spacious room with wonderful King size bed. Accomodating front desk staff...always at the ready to help with directions. Only problem was a leaky refregirator..which we fixed and reported to front desk. Never had maid service but I caught up with her and obtained extra towels Great inexpensive restaurants nearby...very close to downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Try upscale koofi - pricey buy worth the treat.Dinner across the street at the Mexican restaurant...excellent food service and prices. There's also a Vegan restaurant further down N. Palm Dr. - Native Food...and don't forget Denny's.There is so much to do that we could accomplish in 2 days. We were in town for the firt time and had come from AZ. Great value for the money - IF YOU BOOK EARLY ours was 50% less than current listed price. We would stay here again.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego
Feb 13, 2011

Doesn't deserve the 3 stars rating...

How did we spend our valentine's weekend you ask? Well....Water main line was down when we checked in and was not up and running till over 5hours later. The water was milky even after we let it run for awhile. I could not get myself to brush my teeth with it. I took a picture of it and showed it the manager but he said nothing. The toilet was leaking and kept us up all night. Most of the outlets were not working. Their continental breakfast was mediocre; stale coffee and dry bagels. The lobby tv was so old that the picture was orange. [...]We will never go to Shilo again!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sun City, CA
Feb 13, 2011

Little too dry

It would have been a great stay except for the fact that there had been a water pipe break and it was not fixed in a timely manner. We did not stay the night instead electing to drive back home. Put a negative tone on the romantic Valentine's Day weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Atumeg
Business
San Diego, CA
Jan 30, 2011

Dingy, not worth the price...

We booked this place because I could't find anything else when trying to book a last minute weekend trip on a Friday night. The place was just not worth the price, We found it to be the shabbiest place we've ever stayed at. There was no carpet in the room, don't think I've seen a tiled floor in a hotel room before. We didn't care for the bathroom supplies either. When we returned to our room after dinner there no parking spots available, after waiting for a while we left our car in the guest registration spot and called the front desk to let them know. I'm glad we were only staying for a night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Stop by at Cheeky's for breakfast, it's pretty amazing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ivette espinosa
Business
Downey CA
Jan 24, 2011

NOT SATISFIED

To Whom It May Concern: I stayed in the Shilo Hotel, Palm Springs for one night, January 15,, 2011 till January 15, 2011. I booked the hotel online and thought I had secured a great hotel accommodation. They advertised working Jacuzzi's that were not operational, No clean towel on the following day, and the coffee was deplorable. There was no continental breakfast as they advertised. I checked out on the 1/16/11 and told the front desk the reason I was checking out and they did not care.I am asking that you please refund me the extra days I was charged. You can validate with the Shilo Hotel that I checked out on 01/16/11 because I was disgusted with the service, and the non-amenities they did not deliverIf it is not refunded promptly I will dispute the charge with my credit card company and complain to my state attorney general and the Better Business Bureau. Please contact me at [@] to let me know when the resort fee will be refunded.Sincerely, Ivette Espinosa

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

[...]

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
arizona
Jan 23, 2011

homey

The hotel service was grear, the hotel was descent overall. I mean u get wat u pat for thats all. I couldnt expect much more for wat i paid for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top