$53 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 25, 2014 Check-out: Dec 28, 2014

The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs

2 stars
1875 N. PALM CANYON DR., 1875 N. PALM CANYON DR., Palm Springs, CA 92262
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
173 reviews
Wonderful Getaway

My husband and I went on a 5 day get away and stayed at the Garden Vista Hotel. This is the only... See full review

  • Kaialani
  • Jun 4, 2014
Time for a freshen up.

This is the 4th time we've stayed at this hotel (previously The Shilo Inn) so we knew what to... See full review

  • Gruncle mick
  • Oct 24, 2013
Budget-friendly, cozy hotel close to Palm Springs shopping and dining

The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs offers a bright, welcoming atmosphere and budget-friendly amenities, all geared toward helping guests to relax and enjoy Palm Springs. The hotel boasts a beautiful courtyard with a gazebo, two pools, two whirlpools, sauna and steam room. Only minutes from fine dining and shopping options, Garden Vista Hotel is perfectly located for visitors who want to see the best of the area.

Highlights
  • Located close to Palm Springs shopping and dining options
  • Free Wi-Fi and complimentary breakfast
  • Complimentary ariport shuttle
  • Free unlimited local and domestic long distance calls
Rooms

All 124 guest rooms and suites at The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs are non-smoking and have either a balcony or patio that faces the courtyard and pools. Rooms include free Wi-Fi, microwave, mini refrigerator, coffee maker, cable TV with Showtime, air conditioning, iron and ironing board, alarm clock radio, and hair dryer. Decorated in contemporary furnishings, the rooms are spacious and bright, with a table-for-two and comfortable chairs or couches.

Property features

The Garden Vista Hotel helps guests get a good start to the day by offering free breakfast in the hotel's dining area. For a quick snack, fruit and popcorn are available in the lobby throughout the day.


The 100% smoke-free hotel offers a stunning view of the area's mountain range, and guests can take in the natural beauty while swimming in one of the hotel's two pools or lounging in a deck chair. The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs features a sauna, steam room and fitness center.


For special events, the hotel has meeting facilities that can accommodate up to 60 people.

Transportation
  • Palm Springs International Airport (4 mi/6.4 km)

Nearby attractions
  • Palm Springs Convention Center (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Living Desert Wildlife Park (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Palm Springs Desert Museum (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Palm Springs Aerial Tramway (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Oasis Deluxe Water Park (4 mi/6.4 km)  
Business
  • Meeting facilities
  • Free Wi-Fi

 

Policies and fees
  • There is a $25 USD fee per stay for up to two dogs per room

Policies
  • Credit card required upon check-in
  • Children 12 years old and under stay free with an adult.
  • There is a $25 USD fee per stay for up to two dogs per room.

  

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs Rooms

2 Queen 2nd Floor
Description not provided
2 Queen 1st Floor
Description not provided
1 King Bed 1st Floor
Description not provided
1 King Bed 2nd Floor
Description not provided
1 King Bed with Kitchenette 2nd
Description not provided
1 King Bed with Kitchenette 1st
Description not provided
2 Queen Beds with Kitchenette 1s
Description not provided
1 King Bed Handicap
Description not provided
2 Queen Beds Handicap
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Live entertainment
Casino
Golf
Steam bath
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Ramp access to buildings
Room
Television with cable
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Bathroom telephone
Sitting area
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Bath tub

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (173)

Ratings and reviews for The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
173 out of 173
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tinkerfreak805
Business
Oxnard, CA
Sep 9, 2013

Good getaway

The staff was friendly, room was in a good location right next to the pool, not crowded, good atmosphere

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Drive down the same street couple miles and one will find shopping and entertainment

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pro Soccer Player
Business
Glendale, CA
Aug 9, 2013

Decent hotel for the price

I had a good time at the hotel. The room was comfortable enough. It is not a very good hotel but it is worth the price. Needs some upgrades.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SousanKhanome
Business
Palm Springs
Jul 15, 2013

Notice: NOT Shiloh Inn any more!!!!!

The management team of this hotel is downright obnoxious, and ought to be canned. I was spared the expense and the lousy service because some jerk at the desk decided to play PowerGod on me and deny me service simply for asking to make an appointment with the manager to discuss a reduced rate for a long-term stay. Then they threatened to call the cops on me and got some mace out and brandished it, accusing me of things that I did not even say.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dan and Lori
Business
Seattle
May 27, 2013

Very disappointed!

After staying at the Shilo Inn for a four years, each year it seemed to get worse every year.The new manager, David was very accomodating. Prior to our visit, we saw that the hotel had a new owner and we called to see if the things that were out of order last yr were fixed. We were assured that the steam room and sauna were in working condition, which upon arrival, were not. The lounge chair pads were mostly torn and dirty. The pool area was not cleaned or organized daily. The "coffee maker" consisted of a one cup at a time, with only one regular and one decaf packet. Continential breakfast was very skimpy, just the basics. The first day there, I was bitten by a bird walking to the main desk. Apparently, there were nests in the bushes that werent removed until 4 days later ( and three more attempted attacks using different routes to the office). We left on Saturday and noted 2 large buses. It seems they have bus loads of visitors spend the weekend. I am so glad we were leaving! I can imagine what a mess that was by the pool! We did like the idea of an adult pool and a kiddie pool, however, some didnt pay attention to that. Also, they are pet friendly but the pool area shouldnt be where the pets are allowed. There are signs but some don"t read or pay attention. All the frills of flowers in the back were gone. The small, visual things that could make this place nice again, were gone. There are much better places to stay for the price and after 4 yrs of going there, this was the last time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Sherman's deli is the best!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SSA468
Business
Sacramento, CA
Mar 25, 2013

Good Value for the Price.

Nice place to stay while enjoying the attractions around Palm Springs, not within walking distance of much, but close enough to taxi or easily drive to the casino and downtown restaurant and shopping area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Drive the Vista Las Palmas neighborhood and see beautiful homes, some owned by famous people (or previously owned by famous people).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Majikaa
Business
Apple Valley CA
Mar 25, 2013

Bugs!

In a word.....BUGS!!! Ewwww! After seeing two cockroach-esque like bugs in the middle of the night while using the bathroom, we awoke to find a pleather a of ants attempting to attack our infants bottle warmer on the counter. Coupled with the nats that flew out of the unusable fridge upon inspection, you could say this place was a bug haven. The pools and well kept grounds made the overall picture pretty, but people should be aware of what they are sleeping with; and I'm not talking about your significant other!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Ask the locals!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
eddiev g
Business
los angeles, ca
Mar 19, 2013

let down

this hotel used to be a nice place when it was the shilo. Whoever took over is letting it go big time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MaiMD
Business
Rancho Cucamonga
Feb 13, 2013

Close to downtown, perfect for if you're doing the "TDPS" :)

It's an old hotel, but very clean, strong water pressure, staff were very friendly. The only negative thing I can say was when I called a few days prior to my stay and requested to change my room from 1 King to 2 queens. The hotel staff I spoke to told me that I will be getting the 2 queen beds, but didn't :( Overall, I will go back, recommend the hotel to my friends :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ldells
Business
gilford
Feb 11, 2013

quick getaway

breakfast was poor. room was quite large and a suite but the rug was dirty. older hotel ok for a night or two

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jvanderh
Business
San Diego, CA
Jan 22, 2013

Not horrible, but consider a nicer place

The front desk staff was nice, although the manager was pretty brusque and unfriendly when I called to ask about a late checkout. The room was very ordinary. The soap and shampoo dispensers made me feel like I was in a locker room. I think people like to have a little touch of luxury in a hotel. I might have been on board with it as a green initiative if the dispensers hadn't been so ugly and industrial looking and the bath products had smelled better. There also isn't enough parking. The spots were completely full, and there isn't street parking anywhere nearby. I had to leave my car along a curb on the hotel grounds, which made me really nervous. Most of the signs still say Shilo Inn, which gives the place sort of a cheap, ramshackle vibe. I did like that the dog-friendly room had tile floors, just in case, and the grounds and pool are very pretty. This isn't the kind of place I'd hate to go back to, but for a vacation in Palm Springs, next time I'll probably spend a little more and aim for feeling like a guest rather than chattel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The parrilladas at Rio Azul were delicious.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top