$53 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 25, 2014 Check-out: Dec 28, 2014

The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs

2 stars
1875 N. PALM CANYON DR., 1875 N. PALM CANYON DR., Palm Springs, CA 92262
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
173 reviews
Wonderful Getaway

My husband and I went on a 5 day get away and stayed at the Garden Vista Hotel. This is the only... See full review

  • Kaialani
  • Jun 4, 2014
Time for a freshen up.

This is the 4th time we've stayed at this hotel (previously The Shilo Inn) so we knew what to... See full review

  • Gruncle mick
  • Oct 24, 2013
Budget-friendly, cozy hotel close to Palm Springs shopping and dining

The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs offers a bright, welcoming atmosphere and budget-friendly amenities, all geared toward helping guests to relax and enjoy Palm Springs. The hotel boasts a beautiful courtyard with a gazebo, two pools, two whirlpools, sauna and steam room. Only minutes from fine dining and shopping options, Garden Vista Hotel is perfectly located for visitors who want to see the best of the area.

Highlights
  • Located close to Palm Springs shopping and dining options
  • Free Wi-Fi and complimentary breakfast
  • Complimentary ariport shuttle
  • Free unlimited local and domestic long distance calls
Rooms

All 124 guest rooms and suites at The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs are non-smoking and have either a balcony or patio that faces the courtyard and pools. Rooms include free Wi-Fi, microwave, mini refrigerator, coffee maker, cable TV with Showtime, air conditioning, iron and ironing board, alarm clock radio, and hair dryer. Decorated in contemporary furnishings, the rooms are spacious and bright, with a table-for-two and comfortable chairs or couches.

Property features

The Garden Vista Hotel helps guests get a good start to the day by offering free breakfast in the hotel's dining area. For a quick snack, fruit and popcorn are available in the lobby throughout the day.


The 100% smoke-free hotel offers a stunning view of the area's mountain range, and guests can take in the natural beauty while swimming in one of the hotel's two pools or lounging in a deck chair. The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs features a sauna, steam room and fitness center.


For special events, the hotel has meeting facilities that can accommodate up to 60 people.

Transportation
  • Palm Springs International Airport (4 mi/6.4 km)

Nearby attractions
  • Palm Springs Convention Center (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Living Desert Wildlife Park (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Palm Springs Desert Museum (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Palm Springs Aerial Tramway (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Oasis Deluxe Water Park (4 mi/6.4 km)  
Business
  • Meeting facilities
  • Free Wi-Fi

 

Policies and fees
  • There is a $25 USD fee per stay for up to two dogs per room

Policies
  • Credit card required upon check-in
  • Children 12 years old and under stay free with an adult.
  • There is a $25 USD fee per stay for up to two dogs per room.

  

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs Rooms

2 Queen 2nd Floor
Description not provided
2 Queen 1st Floor
Description not provided
1 King Bed 1st Floor
Description not provided
1 King Bed 2nd Floor
Description not provided
1 King Bed with Kitchenette 2nd
Description not provided
1 King Bed with Kitchenette 1st
Description not provided
2 Queen Beds with Kitchenette 1s
Description not provided
1 King Bed Handicap
Description not provided
2 Queen Beds Handicap
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Live entertainment
Casino
Golf
Steam bath
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Ramp access to buildings
Room
Television with cable
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Bathroom telephone
Sitting area
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Bath tub

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (173)

Ratings and reviews for The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
173 out of 173
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
C-boys2011
Business
Riverside, Ca.
Jun 21, 2010

Nice and Relaxing

Shilo was great for what we went their for to relax and we did just that. The rate was awesome for the quality of the rooms. Really enjoyed the pet friendly enviroment and other guests were very respectful with their pets also. The only thing that was kind of a hassle was finding some near by eats I guess but we found our way. Also the family pool could be a bit bigger.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seminole, FL
Jun 4, 2010

Spacious and Pleasant

We stayed a week while visiting friends in Palm Springs. The room was huge and made a good home base for exploring the area. My daughter and I particularly enjoyed floating in the heated pool while surrounded by palm trees and looking up at the snow capped mountain behind us. A couple of days the cleaning people did not do the best job, but we picked up after ourselves and it was fine. The rooms were nothing fancy, but they served our needs. It was quiet. We really liked having tile floors instead of the standard icky hotel carpet beneath our feet. There is a nice Thai restaurant nearby and a Pizza Hut my daughter was happy to see. The incline (a local attraction) was just up the road. We also had some local barbeque that was to die for in a place about ten minutes down the main highway... and that's from a southern girl! The hotel's internet connection was a joke. Bring a laptop and head out into town for wifi or you'll just be frustrated. We feel it was good value for the money spent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you are from a warmer climate, be sure to pack for cooler desert nights and the possibility of snow on the mountain in the winter months. Bring extra clothes in a duffle when going up the incline (especially for kids) as being able to get warm and dry makes the trip a delight. If you go after 3pm, it's cheaper for the incline tickets. Extra hot cocoa packets are also good. You can buy one drink and then get hot water refills upstairs. Have fun!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
los angeles, ca
Jun 2, 2010

great getawy!

We drove in from Los Angeles and stayed the weekend. We were able to visit several casinos and went to the arial tram which was our main focus. The hotel was very centrally located in palmsprings for all that we wanted to do

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Single Sisters loving Palm Springs
Business
San Diego, CA
Jun 1, 2010

A birthday getaway

First of all we come to Palm Springs every year for my birthday and we stay at two other hotels on a regular basis, this time they had no availables, so we tried Shilo. The website seemed perfect for us, especially the adult pool and in room amenities. The hotel overall was nice, the rooms were fairly clean, we found things on the floor that shouldn't have been there, there was no coffeepot and the front desk seemed put off that we asked them to bring one.Going out at night you would be lucky to find a parking space when you came back, the front desk doesn't ask for license plate numbers, so who knows if all the cars parked there were actual paying guests. [...] We were given ground floor, and a view of a stucco enclosure with caution tape all around it, not impressed, we didn't say anything to the staff to switch rooms, as they seemed put off already and on our third night, we couldn't get in the room because the front desk staff never changed our key cards. As for the two pools, that was a great amenity,(no kids in the adult pool yeah!) boy were we in for a rude awakening, everyday there were kids in the pool, we had to go to the office everyday and on our last day, we were trying to enjoy our last few hours at the pool and here come the kids, splashing, throwing things in the pool, etc and the parents were right there as well and didn't make an attempt to leave to go to the pool they should have been at in the first place. We called the office, and went to the office to report it once again and by the time we left the pool area about 11:00 am, no-one from staff had even shown up. Our feeling is that staff needs to make sure their guests are given what the hotel says they get,not seem put off and should always monitor the pool area, take license plate numbers of registered guests and tow away cars that are not registered and accommodate the registered guests. If they want to have repeat clients, word of mouth brings loads of business and it can also stop business. In spite of it all, we will try the Shilo (sometime) in the future to see if things have changed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Jun 1, 2010

Wonderful,convenient, great location!

Clean room, great location, wonderful pool, nice staff. I always stay there when in Palm Springs. Large rooms, micro, refrigerator, adult pool. Close to town, but not right in the middle of PS. You can walk to town if you want a nice walk--good restaurant right accross the street. Great choice for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

About 1 1/2 miles to walk to town--early morning is great. Good restaurant right accross the street. Staff is friendly and great with directiions and suggestions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Jun 1, 2010

Good Value

Went to relax for a couple of days. Excellent staff, nice and clean. There were some guest very noisy, nothing to do with the hotel, though the staff warn them a couple of times 2, 3, 4AMs, but still continued

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
May 31, 2010

Nice place but bad service

Overall it was good, but could have been much better. The location is very good (between downtown and the Air Tram), the room and the pool are okay, and the service is bad. For breakfast you'll have one or two types of bread, and a lot of people will have to share only two old toasters that barely work. Tables were dirty (when they were available). Also, the air conditioner at the gym was blowing warm air, even though is was in the coldest possible temperature. One more thing: I needed to ask for pool towels at the front desk, but seemed like I was invisible. It took a long time for somebody to ask me what I needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hunter O
Business
90254
May 24, 2010

A nice, clean hotel with a decent pool.

NIce hotel and a decent price. I'd suggest walking over to the pool at the Rivera but still a great place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Athens, Greece
May 20, 2010

Quiet

I was generally very happy with the hotel. The only thing that I didn't like was all the Styrofoam and paper cups and plates used for breakfast. Surely more environmentally friendly/economical solutions could be found to the incredible waste produced!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Whittier, Ca
May 19, 2010

Shilo Inn - Palm Springs

Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. Having two pools, one for adults and one for children is very nice. Sometimes we travel with our children and grandchildren, other times just the two of us. It is nice to have some quiet time. Security comes around to check and make sure 18 and older is enforced, which is nice. Rooms are very large and all rooms face the inner pool area. Rooms could use update but for the price, cannot be beat. Bathrooms very clean, comfortable bed, which is better then most of the Hotels that we have stayed at in the area. Nice that the room also has a microwave and refrigerator. Grounds are well taken care of. Billy Reeds is across the street and has Breakfast, Lunch and very good dinner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top