$51 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 1, 2015 Check-out: Jul 4, 2015

Royal Sun Inn

2 stars
View map of 1700 S. Palm Canyon Drive, Palm Springs, CA 92264

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
142 reviews
Unbelievable hotel for an unbelievable price

The staff was very friendly, and the price was fantastic, even on a Friday night. Every room has a... See full review

  • Phillip E.
  • May 26, 2015
Very Happy

We were very happy with this hotel and the services that they provided. Yes this is a two star... See full review

  • joel b
  • Dec 28, 2013
Comfortable, economical Palm Springs hotel near downtown and mountains

Royal Sun Inn boasts a prime Palm Springs location, close to downtown and nestled against the beautiful San Jacinto Mountains. Guests relax in the newly renovated pool and Jacuzzi area, enjoying the wide sun deck and breathtaking views. The hotel's budget-friendly amenities include free Wi-Fi, guest laundry area and complimentary breakfast. Rooms are comfortable and furnished in contemporary style, inviting guests to unwind after a day of sightseeing, hiking or shopping.

  • Close to downtown Palm Springs
  • Next to San Jacinto Mountains
  • Newly renovated pool and Jacuzzi area
  • Free Wi-Fi and free breakfast

Royal Sun Inn is close to numerous area attractions, including downtown Palm Springs, mountain hiking trails, Palm Springs Aerial Tramway, Joshua Tree National Park and Indian Canyons.

Guest rooms at Royal Sun Inn are designed for comfort, with contemporary furnishings and cozy chairs. Every room features a refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, in -room safe (fees apply) and free Wi-Fi. Rooms offer a private patio or balcony with views of the mountains.

Royal Sun Inn gives guests a great start to the day with a complimentary breakfast where guests can make their own waffles or indulge in homemade pastries. Guests can eat in either the cheerful dining room or poolside, where they can take in morning views of the nearby mountains.

The newly renovated pool and Jacuzzi area offers a spacious patio where guests can soak up the California sunshine. The area features an exercise room, two barbecue grills and picnic space.

  • Palm Springs International Airport (3.3 mi/5.3 km)

  • Moorten Botanical Gardens – across the street from Royal Sun Inn (0 mi/0 km)
  • Village of Palm Springs (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Knott's Soak City (4 mi/6.44 km)
  • Rancho Mirage, Cathedral City (5.5 mi/8.8 km)

  • Free Wi-Fi 

  • Guests must be at least 21 years old to check in

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal Sun Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Royal Sun Inn Rooms

Double Room
Double Room with 2 Queen Size Bed, Private Patio or Balcony with up close and personal views of the San Jacinto Mountains, Refrigerator, Microwave, Coffee Maker, Iron & Board, Hairdryer, Remote control cable TV, In room Safe(Charge for the Safe is $1.00 Per day + tax), High Speed Wireless Internet and breakfast are included. All Rooms are Non-smoking.
Single Room
Single Room with 1 King Size Bed, Private Patio or Balcony with up close and personal views of the San Jacinto Mountains, Refrigerator, Microwave, Coffee Maker, Iron & Board, Hairdryer, Remote control cable TV, In room Safe(Charge for the Safe is $1.00 Per day + tax), High Speed Wireless Internet and breakfast are included. All Rooms are Non-smoking.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Royal Sun Inn

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
142 out of 142
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.9
Value:
4

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Sun Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Phillip E.
Business
Fairfield
May 26, 2015

Unbelievable hotel for an unbelievable price

The staff was very friendly, and the price was fantastic, even on a Friday night. Every room has a balcony, and ours had a great view of the mountains. It's in a good location, and the moorten gardens are literally across the street. If you are going to take the tram (which I definitely recommend) buy the tickets from the front desk and you will save $2 on each ticket. We loved our palm springs visit and this hotel, and hope to come back soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Sun Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
James W.
Business
Miami
May 5, 2015

Affordable, clean hotel

I'd probably be repeating what others have said but this is a comfortable, clean, budget hotel with a nice pool and a location slightly off the beaten path. I was in Palm Springs to look for apartments and this place was my home base. Free continental breakfast included milk, coffee, tea, juice, donuts, various pastries, cereal, make it yourself waffles, apples and oranges. The pool was warm, comfortable temparture and very relaxing. The staff were accommodating (I called to say I would check in late and the front desk made sure I could check in). A clean, affordable stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Sun Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
steven m.
Business
NEW YORK
Apr 6, 2015

Come here if you like

An ok hotel with terrible internet service. When it was working, it was very slow. Oftentimes it wasn't working at all or was slower than a 8k modem. Entirely unacceptable in this day and age.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Sun Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ivy
Business
N/A
Apr 6, 2015

Cheer competition trip

I was expecting a little better from the description when I booked the room but it wasn't bad. Finding the small street that it was on was a bit confusing when we arrived but we made it. Checking in was easy, the front desk man was polite but not exactly friendly. There was a very small parking lot for the hotel wish they could expand the lot a little. As we were unloading our things, there was a suspicious man who kept standing nearby staring. I called the front desk to inform him and he sounded annoyed that I had called but still said he would take care of it. Whether he did or not, I have no idea. The room was clean and enough space. Our patio was small but it led directly to the pool and the breakfast room, so that was a plus. The ice machine was on the second floor so we had to take the elevator up, no big deal. The "breakfast" was very mediocre. The only good thing was the make your own waffle. Old fruit and old bread. There were different juices to choose from however. We only stayed for two nights. A plus for us was that there were lots of young college guys staying there and they weren't rowdy so it was eye candy. Friendliness from the employees would have made our stay better. We hung out downtown and that wasn't too far away, especially since we drove. Overall, we won't be staying at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Sun Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rose
Business
N/A
Apr 6, 2015

on the go

Arrived in the evening,staff was pleasant.. We had morning coffee and breakfast ☕ pool side ...enjoyed the patio ...good enough for passing thru.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Sun Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pierre v.
Business
N/A
Jan 26, 2015

beautiful view on the mountains

We been there before. We like the place, the room, the pool... The breakfast was ordinary... out of fruits one morning... Deceived,by the pool... empty pool while we were there... They had problems... changed the water... What we appreciate the most, is the balcony facing the mountains...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Nice room .Nice balcony. Very nice view on the mountains. 5 minutes drive from downtown. Price is ok when we compare.

Review of Royal Sun Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jeana r.
Business
Vista
Jan 20, 2015

girls getaway weekend

Our stay was stellar, awesome things included - in room "kitchenette" fridge & micro...fabulous pool & Jacuzzi. Location was great - just out of the happing part of town for peace and quiet. Breakfast buffet was adequate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

having an in room fridge and bringing your own snacks and beverages cuts costs and makes being in the room more fun.

Review of Royal Sun Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jatti
Business
Soegne
Dec 31, 2014

Bad

Breakfast is really bad, especially if you are a little late. The room was very cold, could not get it warmer than 71,5. The walls are very thin so you can hear your neighbor . The manager is rude......

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Sun Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mutant Press
Business
Burbank
Dec 30, 2014

My 14th time!

After a while, review of the same place you stay at seem redundant- but there are a few things I would like to see improved- The Royal Sun changed the TV's to flat screens- but the cable service is still mediocre- TWC is bad- they need AT&T. The breakfast is free and still good, the hot tub works great and Palm Springs added this new BUZZ trolley/bus- a free service from 11:00 am until 1:00 am Thursday to Sunday-to get to and from downtown- which is awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Sun Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Travelin Man118
Business
Grants Pass
Dec 23, 2014

Ok Place

It was quiet, not too far from the action. Good place to save money at.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top