$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 14, 2015 Check-out: Jun 15, 2015

Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel

4 stars
View map of 888 Tahquitz Canyon Way, 888 TAHQUITZ CANYON WAY, Palm Springs, CA 92262

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
144 out of 144
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
El Director
Business
San Diego
Jun 27, 2013

not worth the money

The hotel itself was nice and clean, but definitely NOT worth the money we paid. Super thin walls that left little to our imagination. Heard every flush of the toilet, every song on the ipod, and extra noises I don't want to get into. The pool area was ok, but several times they were out of towels. I was super excited to see two fruit infused water self serve pitchers in the lobby area as we walked in. It was extremely hot so ice water for the hotel guests seemed like a wonderful idea. I guess it was a mirage since every single time I tried to get some, there was no water in either pitcher. I let the bar staff know, but when I returned hours later, it has still not been filled. The next day, it was gone all together. One of the nights we were there, we were dehydrated from sunbathing so I asked my husband to go get me some water at the vending machine. He returned 20 minutes later after having to go to 3 other floors to get it. I guess the machines don't get stocked frequently (out of everything including sodas) even when it's 102 degrees outside and no water available in the lobby. We decided to have a couple of drinks at the bar the next day. My husband had a beer, I had a horrible, bitter bloody mary, served by an unhappy, unfriendly female bartender. I'm disappointed having this experience at a Marriott hotel. I've stayed at several other and have never felt so robbed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EllieV
Business
Greensboro, NC
Jun 15, 2013

Beautiful view

Good Value, beautiful view. The room was very nice, the carpets showed some age. The view from the pool is beautiful. Not much night life at the hotel- my sons walked to town to a bar they found. We paid $10 for parking for the one night we stayed on our way from Las Vegas. Palm Springs was a smaller town than expected. We loved the hiking from the aerial tram to San Jacinto mountain. Our sons in their 20's were in awe of the views.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Aerial Tram to San Jacinto mountain

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kathe W
Business
Garden Grove, CA
Jun 11, 2013

Very nice hotel - great location!!

We had a great long weekend getaway here. The hotel staff was very professional and treated us like special guests....even though the President was in town, many of the Secret Service and Secretary Kerry and Mrs. Kerry were also hotel guests (along with many of the Chinese Press). I was impressed that the staff did not ignore the needs of the "regular people". Otherwise, the grounds and location were very nice and the SPA was AWESOME!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

it's only a 10 minute walk to Palm Canyon Drive!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
katy cakes
Business
Los Angeles
May 30, 2013

Great for Pets

Had a great time. Big pool for kids and adults. Dog friendly, people friendly. However, don't waste your money on breakfast or dinner in the hotel. You can get a much better meal for much less money in town. Overall good time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
RNmom2004
Business
San Diego, ca
Apr 23, 2013

Not great...

We've travelled quite a bit.... And been to some amazing resorts and nice hotels....this wasn't among them. It was a decent hotel with an okay pool. The service was terrible with ALL our interactions (check-in, room service, breakfast, etc...) we waited an extremely LONG time for service at every meal. After sitting down at the restaurant and waiting for 20 minutes without anyone coming to our table we left to walk into town. It is fairly close to "downtown" which was nice - but the Hilton is closer and I think I'd opt to stay there if we were to go to Palm Springs again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
M. Madeline
Business
Phoenix
Mar 10, 2013

girls week-end

this is the second time in less that 3 months I've stayed at this hotel, and both times it has been excellent!! The accomodations are stellar & the staff couldn't be any nicer or professional. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Palm Springs. If there is any negative, it would be a very small one which is $10/day parking fee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Th fabulous Palm Springs follies!!!! I've seen it twice in 2 months & absolutely loved it both times!! You do have to go in with an open mind & be prepared to laugh! When in Palm Springs, its a must!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ginger76
Business
Los Gatos, CA
Nov 9, 2012

Good first-time Palm Springs experience

This was our first trip to Palm Springs, so we didn't really have a good lay of the land. The Renaissance provided us with a good, comfortable experience though. It's close to downtown and many restaurants so that you can walk if the weather is okay. It's minutes from the airport too. We had a nice, spacious room with a seating area and a view of San Jacinto with no problems. Maybe one gripe would be that lots of people left their room service trays in the hall and they weren't readily picked up the night we were there; however, the room itself was perfectly clean when we checked in. Bottom line: this place isn't kitschy or "modern" like some of the boutique hotels in Palm Springs, but the amenities are clean, comfortable and reliable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Satisfied with Service...
Business
Owings Mills, MD
Sep 4, 2012

Great Service...

We visited this hotel for a short get away and overall the customer service was excellent!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Atirsamoht
Business
Pasadena, California
Jul 17, 2012

There are other great options that don't charge for parking.

This is a Marriot experience-which is always good. But 3 things were not a plus. 1. The pool was closed when we checked in on Sunday night for cleaning. It was hot and we had planned to swim. It was open the next morning and was great. 2. You pay for parking which i find absurd and greedy. I will not stay there again because of this. 3. I wanted to use a luggage cart to take things to our room myself and was told no luggage carts unless you use the porter to take them for you. Again, absurd and the hotel is just trying to get us to pay their employees wages. Reason 2 and 3 bothered me enough that I will not return there. And now I know to ask at all Marriotrs about their parking and about use of luggage carts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at Sherman's restaurant a short walk toward town. As close to a good Jewish deli as you will find on West coast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
digiyogi
Business
Los Angeles
Jun 11, 2012

5 year aanniversary Weekend

It was a nice hotel but nothing to write home about. We would probably try something smaller and or just rent a condo or house next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top