$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 19, 2015 Check-out: Aug 20, 2015

Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel

4 stars
View map of 888 Tahquitz Canyon Way, 888 TAHQUITZ CANYON WAY, Palm Springs, CA 92262

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
126 out of 126
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kmaroney
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 21, 2010

Sexy Getaway

The hotel staff was so accomodating. We arrived 2 hours early and they checked us in when we were just going to wait by the pool for our room. Our room had all that we request, a king size bed and a refridgerator. The pool was fantastic. There were families there which is fine but they need to tell their children not to scream. So ridiculous. Other than that it was very pleasant. Also [...], the bartender was so sweet and lovely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You could walk a few blocks and be in the center of town with great options for food, drinks and nightlife.

Review of Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 20, 2010

Nice place, poor service

We were really excited to go because we got such a great deal. When we arrived the check-in staff and experience were great. There is one main pool which was very crowded. Chairs were hard to find by the time we arrived at 11 am. There is a small wading pool for kids about 6" deep. The pool staff seemed overwhelmed, asked for a menu, was told she would return and she never did. We eventually walked up to the bar to order and nobody wanted to take our order. When we did get our food the bill was wrong. We placed a drink order later, she never brought us the drinks. We had to walk up to her, she had forgotten.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gbshaun
Business
San Diego, CA
Jun 14, 2010

Nice, but did have a problem

Nice resort/hotel. Great location within easy walking distance to downtown Palm Springs. Terrific pool area. Nice lounge inside to hangout and watch sports on tv. BUT here was my problem: I had reserved and paid for a "Pool View Room". I checked in about 10:30am on Saturday (though didn't actually go to the room 'till 1pm) and was given 3175. Although it was a room on the pool side, the view was of the flat roof of another building. You couldn't actually see the pool. unlike the regular "pool view' rooms, & there was no balcony on this corner room. When i called they agreed to credit me the extra I paid (and of course when i checked out I had to request it again), however they KNEW this room had no pool view when they gave me the key. Why did he keep back real pool view rooms? I'm sure at 10:30 we were far from the last to check in. Maybe he was hoping to sell them later that day? I would rather he'd said "sorry sir, we have no more "pool view" rooms, the best i can do is this room which at least faces that direction (but has no view of the pool, or balcony) and refund you the extra".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Clemente, CA
Jun 14, 2010

great hotel

Great pool, great locaion, close to shops and restaurants, good price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ramona from Tucson
Business
Southern California
Jun 14, 2010

Palm Springs Friday night arrival

We arrived late Friday night after working a full day in the Los Angeles area. Traffic was not bad, but we stopped for dinner along the way. Hotel was impressive - large, clean, classy. Staff were very professional. Our room was quiet and clean. Bed was comfortable. Enjoyed the weekend in Palm Springs. Stopped to shop at outlet stores on Sunday before heading home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The outlet stores do not open until 10 am on Sunday and there are not many nice places for breakfast near the mall. Have breakfast in Palm Springs before you leave town.

Review of Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lake Forest, Ca
Jun 14, 2010

Palm Springs

Nice hotel. Room was nice but way too far away. Took forever to get to. Pool needs more supervision. People hold chairs early in the morning so that by the time we got out there no chairs available. No hot water in shower. They say non-smoking but I could smell smoke on my floor and saw people smoking at the pool. Room was not ready for us when we checked in and we even came late.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Redondo Beach, CA
Jun 6, 2010

Great Weekend

I got the hotel room for a decent price. The location was great, very close to downtown Palm Springs. Nice pool but very noisy and crowed. Cabanas are $100 even if they mistakenly tell you $80. It is a fun environment but I would not bring small children as you can drink in the pool... probably not a great small children spot, but fun with 25 year olds. My room was ready early which was fantastic, but it was not the correct room, I asked for a king and they wanted to give me 2 queens (not great for just a couple). Plus you HAVE to pay for parking ($10). One small thing... I hated the pillows on the bed, wish I brought my own.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jodi
Business
London
Jun 1, 2010

Oasis in the Desert

We booked this hotel the day before going (as we were in LA and is was unseasonally cold) and didn't do our normal level of research on it, but it was super. We were there mid week so it was practically empty and we had the pool to ourselves most of the time. It does get a lot busier Fri-Sun though. Service was great and when we were being kept awake by a noisy air con unit in the next door room, they immediately moved us (into a suite!).It's a couple of blocks (5 min walk) from the main strip where the bars and restaurants are and there's a great restaurant (Sherman's) adjacent that does good breakfast and cakes/pastries. The Regal cinema opposite was a great find as they have big comfy armchairs and again, we had the cinema all to ourselves as it was so quiet. The hotel is in a great location and very central to everything. You need a car to fully experience Palm Springs and the surrounding Desert cities though. For shopping I recommend the Westfield Shoppingtown in Desert Palms or the discount outlet on the I-10 (20 mins away heading back to LA). The weather was beautiful for May - a nice bearable 85/90 degrees - so not as hot as the summer months. We have stayed at many Palm Springs hotels, but this one is definitely our favourite and we shall be going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Westfield shoppingtown in Desert Palms (all the normal mall shops here) or outlet shopping on the I-10 heading back to LA (20 min drive away) - designer outlets plus the normal Gap/ Converse/ Nine West etc that all American outlets have.

Review of Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cerritos, CA
Jun 1, 2010

Wonderful Manager and courteous staff

We booked this hotel as a spur of the moment out of town trip for 1 night. We arrived late but the receptionist was able to accommodate our request for 2 queen beds pool view. The room was fabulous. The amenities included Aveda products. The pool water was warm at 8pm when we finally made it down there. The gym was fantastic for a quick work out & nice touches like apples to snack when you were done. The breakfast buffet was terrific! We had complimentary smoothies. Our waiter, [...], was so friendly!!!Check out flowed like a breeze. The Manager [...] was so professional and sincere. This is a great family destination!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

The hotel had everything we needed. There was no reason to leave!

Review of Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jodi
Business
London
Jun 1, 2010

Oasis in the Desert

We booked this hotel the day before going (as we were in LA and is was unseasonally cold) and didn't do our normal level of research on it, but it was super. We were there mid week so it was practically empty and we had the pool to ourselves most of the time. It does get a lot busier Fri-Sun though. Service was great and when we were being kept awake by a noisy air con unit in the next door room, they immediately moved us (into a suite!).It's a couple of blocks (5 min walk) from the main strip where the bars and restaurants are and there's a great restaurant (Sherman's) adjacent that does good breakfast and cakes/pastries. The Regal cinema opposite was a great find as they have big comfy armchairs and again, we had the cinema all to ourselves as it was so quiet. The hotel is in a great location and very central to everything. You need a car to fully experience Palm Springs and the surrounding Desert cities though. For shopping I recommend the Westfield Shoppingtown in Desert Palms or the discount outlet on the I-10 (20 mins away heading back to LA). The weather was beautiful for May - a nice bearable 85/90 degrees - so not as hot as the summer months. We have stayed at many Palm Springs hotels, but this one is definitely our favourite and we shall be going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Westfield shoppingtown in Desert Palms (all the normal mall shops here) or outlet shopping on the I-10 heading back to LA (20 min drive away) - designer outlets plus the normal Gap/ Converse/ Nine West etc that all American outlets have.

Back to menu Return to top