$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 10, 2015

JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa

4 stars
View map of 74-855 Country Club Drive, 74-855 Country Club Drive, Palm Desert, CA 92260

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
68 out of 68
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Partying John
Couples
Redondo beach, CA
May 29, 2013

Great couples retreat

I would say I had a great time at this hotel for the most part. Only complaints would be the kids at the main pool and the room need to have a thorough cleaning lost of dust in the room. Also watch out for the 20 something valet charge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

Check out village pub in down town Palm Springs best place to hang out in the whole town.. Watch out for the jws night club it's awful.

Review of JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
screaming cockroach night
Family
palm desert
May 20, 2013

Father daughter get away

Nice hotel. Staff was outstanding! Only one problem, cock roaches in our bath room!! I awoke to my daughter screaming, and running out of bathroom due to the largest cockroach I have ever seen. Hotel compensated us with a $50.00 room credit. Hotel employees removed the roach that I squashed, but didn't clean up the SQUASH, so I had to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: In Hotel

Eat outside of resort, Rockwood grill is more of a buffet. Food is good, but it was like any other buffet food was Luke warm, and had been sitting awhile

Review of JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Newesue
Family
Rancho cucamonga
May 13, 2013

Hot in the Desert!

Such a beautiful oasis in the desert. Service, atmosphrere, amenities, everything was just perfect. 5 spectacular pools, beautiful lagoons with a gondola boat ferry to take you from one side of the resort to another. Expectacular views of the palm desert mountains and golf course A++++

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

El paseo for store browsing, retail shopping and great restaurants.

Review of JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kmob
Couples
Seattle
Mar 18, 2013

Quick vacation

Excellent property. Staff seemed prideful to be on site. Everyone we met enjoyed their job and I'd it well. We will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dombie
Couples
london
Jan 7, 2013

Lovely break

Staff great. Friendly and helpful. Wonderfullocation. Excellent massage and spa. Very food restauramts, if a bit expensive. Overall, a very good experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Joshua Tree Park a must!

Review of JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pikes Peak Judy
Couples
Monument, Colorado
Nov 25, 2012

Thanksgiving In Palm Springs

Outstanding experience. Rooms, restaurants, activities all top notch. A few items a bit overpriced (daily activity fee of $28 which I only used for self parking and internet access) but overall a good value..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Papa Dan's Italian Restaurant - 1.8 miles from hotel on Country Club Drive.

Review of JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Potzer37
Family
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 24, 2012

Best Girls Weekend!

Typically, I find that hotels go out of their way to be full service when they're brand new and rely on word of mouth to get more people to come stay. That is NOT the case with the JW Marriott, a hotel that not only has a trusted name in the hotel business, but a property that has been around since the 1980s (the "Saved by the Bell" gang stayed here for Jessie's father's wedding). That was what struck me the most. They went above and beyond their duties as if they needed word of mouth, but truly don't. There really is no reason to leave the hotel. The only reason we did was to go outlet shopping at Desert Hills, and Joshua Tree National Park. Otherwise, like I said, no reason to leave. Their restaurants are delicious. (Though, Fisherman's Landing was a little disappointing.) The Rockwood Grille has Belgian waffles that will change your life. Mikado offers an excellent Teppan experience. The Blue Star Lounge is a great place for a nightcap. I don't think there was anything the staff could've done to make our getaway better. We left feeling like VIPs and vowed to make this an annual trip. Vegas, who?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make a reservation at one of the restaurants accessible by boat and take the ride. You'll feel like royalty.

Review of JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
xdhn
Couples
california
Sep 20, 2012

Terrible, not worth the money

This was a overpriced, low class hotel. The actual hotel was nice enough, but it was the place you go to for spring break - that what it felt like to me. I thought for the price and the fact that it was a full service resort it would be more luxurious and relaxing - no way. It was overrun by about a million college age and 20-somethings partying all day and night. The hotel was no help - no inforcement of any of the rules, no security, nothing.... I couldn't sleep for 2 nights with the noise. And whose idea is it to have a bar in the lobby with rooms overlooking the lobby, and the bar is open til midnight??? Bad idea. Plus, there was alot of noise EVERYWHERE at 2, 3 o'clock in the morning. Found all kinds of broken glasses from the bar outside in the patio areas and parking lots, and a million cigarette butts. Where is security??? By the way, all over their website it says its A NONSMOKING property, which is why I booked there. Its NOT - non-smoking property means NO smoking ANYWHERE on the property... but guess what, people smoking on the balconies, on the grounds, by the pool, by the lobby... SECURITY??? As far as cleanliness, the bathroom was dirty, looked like they didn't wash the floor or the tub, BLACK MOLD in the shower -yuck! Never again, will take my money elsewhere next time...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sgt. Dukes
Couples
NY, NY
Sep 3, 2012

Palm Desert

We love this hotel. The property is beautiful and the rooms are clasic Mariott. When we checked in we were supposed to have a king room. The room they gave us had two queens. The Bell man called to the front desk and got us upgraded to a nicer view room and they gave us a $25 room credit. We are going to come back for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Riverside Mom
Couples
Riverside, CA
Aug 17, 2012

Recommend weekend stays, not week days!

The hotel has a boat in the lobby to take you on a ride in their lake or to their Japanese restaurant onsite. However, I was unaware at the time of booking my room for a Monday night stay that the boat only runs on Friday and Saturday nights and that the Japanese restaurant is closed on Monday nights. Their pools were also too hot (even at 11pm when we went swimming) and very cloudy. One pool was closed and there was a large construction area setup next to the others. Both of these factors were not indicated on their website, so I imagine if you want to make sure you have a nice view while sunbathing that you call first to ask if all pools will be open during your stay and that there is no construction going on. Their staff was exceptionally nice though. They have a Starbucks but a frappachino is going to cost you $5, just fyi. The rooms were nice but if you read the fine print of the room description they only wash their linens every 3 days! So you are sleeping on the same sheets as someone else from the day before. It says you can call the front desk and ask for them to be changed, but it was only luck that I happened to see the fine print notice in the book on the coffee table, so my guess is people are not aware they are most likely sleeping on dirty, used sheets. I'm all for re-using my own bath towel to conserve water, but I think sharing sheets with strangers is going a bit too far. Their showers in the standard room are exceptionally small. I am 5' 6" and the shower head at it's lowest angle was aimed right at my face. I actually ended up opening the shower door while the water was running just so I wouldn't get sprayed! In the lobby they have exotic birds in cages, I suppose to give it more ambiance. It was nice until I went to my room in the daytime because it was 108 outside, and wanted to rest a bit and all I could hear was the squawking. The birds are taken away to another location in the late afternoon though, so that was good. I will say the hotel was exceptionally quiet at nighttime. Could be because we stayed on a Monday night though. We ordered room service and they were very quick, polite and it was delicious. So there were pros/cons to staying at this hotel. I went on a Monday to save money. But I didn't know I would miss out on some of the hotel's amenities because of it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top