$229 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 2, 2014 Check-out: Nov 4, 2014

JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa

4 stars
74-855 Country Club Drive, 74-855 Country Club Drive, Palm Desert, CA 92260
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
68 reviews
Anniversary Celebration and Getaway

Nice clean room with a great view of Pools, Mountains, Golf course and Ponds. The service was great... See full review

  • bubett
  • Sep 10, 2014
Business/pleasure getaway

Great hotel and beautiful staff. The pool and outside is amazing. Only 2 restaurants, but rock wood... See full review

  • Aboroor
  • Aug 6, 2014
Palm Desert mountain area resort/spa/convention complex on 450 acres
When visitors walk the palm-lined path into JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa's newly refurbished lobby, they know they're in for a treat. A distinctive lobby bar welcomes guests with a backdrop of cascading water, a Starbucks and a sushi bar. JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa is full of personality and luxury, including everything from a private VIP spa suite to programmable desert rain showers. Making the resort experience complete are a pair of 18-hole golf courses, four restaurants, a nightclub, sparkling pools and on-site shopping. 

  • Newly remodeled lobby
  • Gondola service between waterways
  • On-site night club

JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa brings luxury to a new level. A variety of room and suite styles offer spacious, comfortable lodging and include custom bedding chosen by renowned sleep experts. Rooms include a birch armoire entertainment center with in-room movies, triple-sheeted beds, data ports and electrical outlets, Sony CD player, high-speed Internet access (fees apply) granite vanities and limestone floors.

The resort not only contains 20 tennis courts (15 hard-surface, three clay and two stadium grass), but it also offers lessons and clinics for guests.

Nestled in the Santa Rosa Mountains, JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa offers numerous dining and entertainment options. From a Japanese steakhouse to the Palm Desert nightclub, the JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa offers a variety of restaurants and lounges to satisfy visitors. And with more than 450 selections, the hotel's award-winning wine list the only desert resort to offer thematic wine tastings every week.

The Spa at Desert Spring features therapies that will help relax and rejuvenate guests from head to toe. Massages, facials, and body treatments have a European flair. Guests can indulge in the BlackBerry Massage, which targets the hands, thumbs and forearms and relieves overworked muscles. 

  • Palm Springs International Airport (11 mi/17.7 km)

  • Plaza de Monterey Shopping Center (1 mi/2 km)
  • El Dorado Golf Course (5 mi/9 km)
  • Rancho Mirage (6 mi/11 km)
  • Fish Traps Archaeological Site (21 mi/34 km)

  • 53,000 square feet of event space
  • Free high-speed Internet
  • 33 meeting rooms

Hotel Map

33.7551 -116.3625
Area served
Palm Desert
Nearby airports
Palm Springs International Airport, (PSP), 12.20, MI, SE; Los Angeles International Airport, (LAX), 135.00, MI, SE; LA/Ontario International Airport, (ONT), 82.20, MI, SE;
Area description
Resort, Location Type: Resort

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Children's activities
Golf
Jogging track
Tennis
Steam bath
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub
Wet bar

Dining

Rockwood Grill
Welcome to one of Palm Desert's newest and most exciting restaurants on-site at our resort. Enjoy a sensational array of food and drink amidst a chic garden terrace setting.
Mikado Japanese Steakhouse
One of the finest Palm Desert restaurants, the ancient tradition of the Samurai lives on at Mikado, where knife-twirling chefs use fire and steam to create mouthwatering culinary art from the freshest meats, seafood and produce.
Fisherman's Landing
The crew of Fisherman's Market & Grill, voted Best Seafood Restaurant each year for over a decade, presents exclusively for JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort.
Costa's Lounge
Dance the night away at Costa's! With a live DJ mixing the hottest tracks, this is the place to be to enjoy some Palm Desert nightlife. Costa's is a 21 and older only club, and cover charges apply on DJ Nights.
Starbucks®
Enjoy specialty coffees, teas, and other beverages, as well as assorted pastries. Open early.
The Lobby including The Lobby Bar and The Sushi Bar
The Lobby's contemporary design includes the L Bar, Sushi Bar, and ever present views of the surrounding landscape. In the center of the lobby is a 60 foot bar marked by a glass mosaic water wall in muted reds and browns.
Oasis Poolside Bar & Grille
No Shirt. No Shoes. Great Service! Enjoy a healthy wrap or traditional burger poolside. Listen to the lively music and let the cooling water misters energize you, while you sip frozen tropical drinks and sample tantalizing treats from our menu.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (68)

Ratings and reviews for JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
68 out of 68
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kmob
Business
Seattle
Mar 18, 2013

Quick vacation

Excellent property. Staff seemed prideful to be on site. Everyone we met enjoyed their job and I'd it well. We will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dombie
Business
london
Jan 7, 2013

Lovely break

Staff great. Friendly and helpful. Wonderfullocation. Excellent massage and spa. Very food restauramts, if a bit expensive. Overall, a very good experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Joshua Tree Park a must!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pikes Peak Judy
Business
Monument, Colorado
Nov 25, 2012

Thanksgiving In Palm Springs

Outstanding experience. Rooms, restaurants, activities all top notch. A few items a bit overpriced (daily activity fee of $28 which I only used for self parking and internet access) but overall a good value..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Papa Dan's Italian Restaurant - 1.8 miles from hotel on Country Club Drive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Potzer37
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 24, 2012

Best Girls Weekend!

Typically, I find that hotels go out of their way to be full service when they're brand new and rely on word of mouth to get more people to come stay. That is NOT the case with the JW Marriott, a hotel that not only has a trusted name in the hotel business, but a property that has been around since the 1980s (the "Saved by the Bell" gang stayed here for Jessie's father's wedding). That was what struck me the most. They went above and beyond their duties as if they needed word of mouth, but truly don't. There really is no reason to leave the hotel. The only reason we did was to go outlet shopping at Desert Hills, and Joshua Tree National Park. Otherwise, like I said, no reason to leave. Their restaurants are delicious. (Though, Fisherman's Landing was a little disappointing.) The Rockwood Grille has Belgian waffles that will change your life. Mikado offers an excellent Teppan experience. The Blue Star Lounge is a great place for a nightcap. I don't think there was anything the staff could've done to make our getaway better. We left feeling like VIPs and vowed to make this an annual trip. Vegas, who?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make a reservation at one of the restaurants accessible by boat and take the ride. You'll feel like royalty.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
xdhn
Business
california
Sep 20, 2012

Terrible, not worth the money

This was a overpriced, low class hotel. The actual hotel was nice enough, but it was the place you go to for spring break - that what it felt like to me. I thought for the price and the fact that it was a full service resort it would be more luxurious and relaxing - no way. It was overrun by about a million college age and 20-somethings partying all day and night. The hotel was no help - no inforcement of any of the rules, no security, nothing.... I couldn't sleep for 2 nights with the noise. And whose idea is it to have a bar in the lobby with rooms overlooking the lobby, and the bar is open til midnight??? Bad idea. Plus, there was alot of noise EVERYWHERE at 2, 3 o'clock in the morning. Found all kinds of broken glasses from the bar outside in the patio areas and parking lots, and a million cigarette butts. Where is security??? By the way, all over their website it says its A NONSMOKING property, which is why I booked there. Its NOT - non-smoking property means NO smoking ANYWHERE on the property... but guess what, people smoking on the balconies, on the grounds, by the pool, by the lobby... SECURITY??? As far as cleanliness, the bathroom was dirty, looked like they didn't wash the floor or the tub, BLACK MOLD in the shower -yuck! Never again, will take my money elsewhere next time...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sgt. Dukes
Business
NY, NY
Sep 3, 2012

Palm Desert

We love this hotel. The property is beautiful and the rooms are clasic Mariott. When we checked in we were supposed to have a king room. The room they gave us had two queens. The Bell man called to the front desk and got us upgraded to a nicer view room and they gave us a $25 room credit. We are going to come back for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Riverside Mom
Business
Riverside, CA
Aug 17, 2012

Recommend weekend stays, not week days!

The hotel has a boat in the lobby to take you on a ride in their lake or to their Japanese restaurant onsite. However, I was unaware at the time of booking my room for a Monday night stay that the boat only runs on Friday and Saturday nights and that the Japanese restaurant is closed on Monday nights. Their pools were also too hot (even at 11pm when we went swimming) and very cloudy. One pool was closed and there was a large construction area setup next to the others. Both of these factors were not indicated on their website, so I imagine if you want to make sure you have a nice view while sunbathing that you call first to ask if all pools will be open during your stay and that there is no construction going on. Their staff was exceptionally nice though. They have a Starbucks but a frappachino is going to cost you $5, just fyi. The rooms were nice but if you read the fine print of the room description they only wash their linens every 3 days! So you are sleeping on the same sheets as someone else from the day before. It says you can call the front desk and ask for them to be changed, but it was only luck that I happened to see the fine print notice in the book on the coffee table, so my guess is people are not aware they are most likely sleeping on dirty, used sheets. I'm all for re-using my own bath towel to conserve water, but I think sharing sheets with strangers is going a bit too far. Their showers in the standard room are exceptionally small. I am 5' 6" and the shower head at it's lowest angle was aimed right at my face. I actually ended up opening the shower door while the water was running just so I wouldn't get sprayed! In the lobby they have exotic birds in cages, I suppose to give it more ambiance. It was nice until I went to my room in the daytime because it was 108 outside, and wanted to rest a bit and all I could hear was the squawking. The birds are taken away to another location in the late afternoon though, so that was good. I will say the hotel was exceptionally quiet at nighttime. Could be because we stayed on a Monday night though. We ordered room service and they were very quick, polite and it was delicious. So there were pros/cons to staying at this hotel. I went on a Monday to save money. But I didn't know I would miss out on some of the hotel's amenities because of it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Samus
Business
Irvine, CA
Aug 16, 2012

nearly perfect

It was a great experience. The only negative was that the pools were too hot, likely due to the Summer temperatures of Palm Desert. You won't be able to have a good lap swim workout due to the heat. However, if all you want to do is lounge in the pool, it's fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Eat at the Rockwood restaurant for breakfast. It's expensive but worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kathykatk
Business
Ventura, CA
Jul 29, 2012

Tranquil retreat

This is a great way to endure the trying heat off season. Treat yourself to a quiet oasis, with soft pillows and Starbucks in the lobby!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AAWJJW
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
Jul 24, 2012

Girls Trip to Palm Springs

We had 11 girls total in this trip celebrating 2 birthdays. The hotel staff was very accomodating in getting our rooms close together. And very helpful in everything we did as a group. The hotel is beautiful, clean & very large.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top