$69 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Howard Johnson Inn And Suites-Orange

2 stars
View map of 1930 E. Katella Ave, Orange, CA 92867

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
30 reviews
College visit

This was perfect for our visit to Chapman university. Easy access off the freeway and close to... See full review

  • Kathryn P.
  • Feb 9, 2015
One night trip.

Well the location was excellent for our trip. We went to the Honda Center for the PowerHouse... See full review

  • Chely123
  • May 26, 2015

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn And Suites-Orange also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Vending machines
Services
Security
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn And Suites-Orange

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
30 out of 30
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.4

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn And Suites-Orange

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bishop, CA
Mar 7, 2011

Not a happy experience

The hotel overall is very run down, and while the front desk staff is very friendly and helpful.. the room is in very bad condition. Bathroom sink did not drain, shower sprayed off, sticky stains on carpet, stains on walls. Needs a lot of work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn And Suites-Orange

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cambria, Ca.
Oct 4, 2009

Great price, rooms clean

Location of hotel very close to our sons home. Our room was large and clean. Served purpose well for the price we paid. Not enough parking, traffic out to street difficult but we would stay again for same price and to be near our son/family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Shopping and dining, unlimited choices with short drive, some in walking distance. Polly family bakery and restaurant was great for breakfast, lunch or dinner.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn And Suites-Orange

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jenna grace
Business
Anaheim California
Jul 30, 2014

meh

I wouldn't go back if I could afford otherwise. Place is a dump

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn And Suites-Orange

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Garrincha
Business
Michigan
Aug 13, 2014

Bad Mattress, Dirty Room

The mattress was awful. The floor and some other parts of the room were dirty. The safe didn't work and the staff didn't know how to make it work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many good restaurants within walking distance.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn And Suites-Orange

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lactosedept
Business
San Diego, CA
Oct 6, 2014

Smh

Found a couple roaches crawling around on the floor. I didn't bother complaining about it given I checked in just before 1am and just wanted sleep. The TV turned on my itself around 4am, that was odd. And the manager I checked out with that morning wasn't exactly the warmest. A lot of this I can let go but the roaches are definitely preventing me was ever wanting to come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The July thing this place had going got them was it's distance from Disney and the price

Review of Howard Johnson Inn And Suites-Orange

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pool Buddies
Business
Orange, California
Jun 22, 2012

Well.....

The good thing about the hotel, is that the maids are very nice, even though English is not their first language. The staff at the counter in the lobby could use a class in How To Satisfy Your Customers, without even trying. Breakfast time, is unwelcoming to the stiff staff member(s) at the counter. He made no effort to please any of the few requests I made. At first I thought he forgot, but i soon realized a few days later, that he truly did not like to do ANYTHING extra. The maids are awesome, as I said before. The pool, on the other hand, was beautiful to look at. However, the pool chairs should be melted down. They are dangerous, broken, unuseful, and very, VERY, dirty. Beautiful pool, we had to jump in the pool to get the dirt off our bodies! Better to have no chairs, than those chairs. Be good if we had pool towels, but sadly, towels were on strike I guess. We hope that we have made you laugh or smile when you read this comment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Many restaurants and quick eating places, short walk.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn And Suites-Orange

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Layton, UT
Jan 3, 2010

Good for the price

We reserved connecting rooms, one room with a king the other with a double, for my family. When we arrived late we were assigned two seperate rooms. The staff at the hotel reassigned us a room with two queens. The staff made up for it beautifully by giving us a suite with an adjacent double-bed room for the rest of our stay. The staff doesn't come across as being that friendly, but they worked with me beautiful. Of course for the price we paid we can't complain about a single thing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn And Suites-Orange

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mr. might or might not stay again.
Business
Might or might not recommend, Nevada
Jan 27, 2011

Visit Kids

The Continental Breakfast was some what lacking as compared to other places I have stayed. My wake up call was programed incorrectly. The refrigerator was dirty around the hinges and weather stripping - disgusting. The bed was just terribly sagging. It looked like a big square bowl. The room as a whole was fairly clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

The location was good to get to different areas by freeway.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn And Suites-Orange

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Antony traveling
Business
Indianapolis
Jun 23, 2014

Relaxing Trip

Need update in all room , bed to old TV to many issues to to much noise every morning

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn And Suites-Orange

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jets Fly the Globe
Business
USA
Jan 7, 2014

ok

Decent for the money and location, don't be expecting too much though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top